Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Announcement

New user registrations disabled until further notice.

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom
Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

marfccy
post Aug 24 2017, 12:10 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,815

Joined: Nov 2011


QUOTE(horns @ Aug 23 2017, 11:49 PM)
hopefully everything will be fine for you. yeah luckily it's not the issue of 950 pro smile.gif
i need more horse power for work at home. if it's not about work i will not get 960 pro actually lol (i'm actually very happy with sm951 already)

for gaming 4790k is still ok; gpu is more important.

oh a note about ssd and work (with work loads that involve intensive writes): always choose mlc ssds for this. i noticed total host writes are relatively higher with tlc drives compared to mlc drives.
*
TLC chugs once the SLC cache is filled, thats how bad TLC is in terms of performance consistency

so far all TLC drives point towards fast and burst power, but fails compared to MLC in terms of sustained performance

yeah good CPU. just hot af sweat.gif

using Noctua L9x65, idling at like 45-55C. but at least doesnt exceed 95C for load. this is on Giga's default setting for CPU, where it can chug up to 140W at its peak. i reach 95C point with even 104W
Skylinestar
post Aug 24 2017, 12:18 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,651

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
does corsair still sell ssd locally?
horns
post Aug 24 2017, 12:49 AM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 24 2017, 12:10 AM)
TLC chugs once the SLC cache is filled, thats how bad TLC is in terms of performance consistency

so far all TLC drives point towards fast and burst power, but fails compared to MLC in terms of sustained performance

yeah good CPU. just hot af sweat.gif

using Noctua L9x65, idling at like 45-55C. but at least doesnt exceed 95C for load. this is on Giga's default setting for CPU, where it can chug up to 140W at its peak. i reach 95C point with even 104W
*
yeah tlc drives are really meant for client usage, or those with a lot of reads but relatively few writes. in those areas, they will do fine.

i wonder what will happen when qlc drives start to populate.

--

for cpu, go water if possible; invest on at least a 240 aio. my cpu is always at 35c at idle, and still below 75c under long-hour gaming sessions and loads after all the years.

(it's the same aio; never changed it; i do maintain it like annually to clean up rad and fans for dust)





horns
post Aug 24 2017, 12:52 AM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 24 2017, 12:18 AM)
does corsair still sell ssd locally?
*
i think they do. i still can find it at idealtech's priice list.
marfccy
post Aug 24 2017, 01:38 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,815

Joined: Nov 2011


QUOTE(horns @ Aug 24 2017, 12:49 AM)
yeah tlc drives are really meant for client usage, or those with a lot of reads but relatively few writes. in those areas, they will do fine.

i wonder what will happen when qlc drives start to populate.

--

for cpu, go water if possible; invest on at least a 240 aio. my cpu is always at 35c at idle, and still below 75c under long-hour gaming sessions and loads after all the years.

(it's the same aio; never changed it; i do maintain it like annually to clean up rad and fans for dust)
*
mITX case laugh.gif

could squash it in, but a very tight fit

but for the price i paid for the noctua.. i couldve went AIO 120mm like H45 :sweat

horns
post Aug 24 2017, 02:18 AM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 24 2017, 01:38 AM)
mITX case laugh.gif

could squash it in, but a very tight fit

but for the price i paid for the noctua.. i couldve went AIO 120mm like H45 :sweat
*
oh, maybe it's too tight.

it's better to stay air-cooled if the other option is 120 aio. (120 aio is ok for gpu, but not cpu)

--

talking about tlc drives again, i might be thinking too much. i forgot that tlc nand technology is now multiple-layer 3d/v-nand (the currently populating tlc nand is 64-layer; 960 evo has the 48-layer) they have much better relative endurance than the previous versions.

well, time will tell.



sHawTY
post Aug 24 2017, 09:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,456

Joined: Jul 2005


Even changing the PSU doesn't do a damn thing doh.gif

Next week on long holiday gonna remove all the hardwares & fans then install part by part
Really need to find the source of this flickering

Could it be the casing that's causing this? Afterall, the flickering starts 4 days after I switch casing mega_shok.gif

List of the things I've tried:
1. Change motherboard, processor & RAM - flickering
2. Change graphic card - flickering
3. Fresh format to Windows 7 - flickering
4. Use older radeon drivers - flickering
5. Change PSU - flickering
6. Change monitor - flickering
7. Use a SATA SSD - flickering
8. Transfer my R9 390X & RX550 to a different PC - No flickering, so it's definitely my PC sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 24 2017, 09:18 PM
Maxieos
post Aug 24 2017, 11:36 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,786

Joined: May 2008
QUOTE(horns @ Aug 16 2017, 09:38 PM)
er it's better to check bios and other dependencies first. ssd runs on ahci or raid mode in sata operations. (most sata ssds require ahci mode to do firmware upgrades or maintenance) in terms of performance, it's better to use at least sata2. (sata1 is slow) of course you can still leverage on its high iops, but i'm not sure of its effective performance boost compared to sata3.

about bios compatibility, maybe the user manual for your dell model can help.

as for the intel ssd, the current one is 540s. from reviews its performance is bad in general. you should choose others tbh.
*
Thanks , sorry for the late reply. I don't think there's an SSD bios.Hope you can help a hand here.
Dell inspiron year before 2010 , check it had ACHI.

What are the cheapest SSD year around yet reliable ? Samsung ? I remember last time intel 320 with 5 years warranty which really good.
Storage at lease 160GB.
Thanks again smile.gif
horns
post Aug 25 2017, 12:55 AM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 24 2017, 09:10 PM)
Even changing the PSU doesn't do a damn thing doh.gif

Next week on long holiday gonna remove all the hardwares & fans then install part by part
Really need to find the source of this flickering

Could it be the casing that's causing this? Afterall, the flickering starts 4 days after I switch casing mega_shok.gif

List of the things I've tried:
1. Change motherboard, processor & RAM - flickering
2. Change graphic card - flickering
3. Fresh format to Windows 7 - flickering
4. Use older radeon drivers - flickering
5. Change PSU - flickering
6. Change monitor - flickering
7. Use a SATA SSD - flickering
8. Transfer my R9 390X & RX550 to a different PC - No flickering, so it's definitely my PC sweat.gif
*
well, good luck man; it's really frustrating. i don't really think it's the pc case but who knows?

in another computer, did you use the freesync display and turn freesync on?

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 24 2017, 11:36 PM)
Thanks , sorry for the late reply. I don't think there's an SSD bios.Hope you can help a hand here.
Dell inspiron year before 2010 , check it had ACHI.

What are the cheapest SSD year around yet reliable ? Samsung ? I remember last time intel 320 with 5 years warranty which really good.
Storage at lease 160GB.
Thanks again smile.gif
*
from what you have highlighted, i think your laptop is ok for a ssd since the bios has ahci. it's most probable that you will reuse the ssd when you replace the laptop, so i think a 240gb range ssd should be good for you in future.

samsung 850 evo is still the better sata-based mainstream option imo. unless you have a tight budget, go with 850 evo 250gb at least.

edit: the sweet spot since last year is supposed to be 512gb in terms of capacity. (meaning same price of a 240gb range for last year but its capacity doubles; in fact in the US, the sweet spot is 1tb this year) here it sort of happened, but just not really what we want. (weak currency make us consumers buy expensive stuff for no reason)




This post has been edited by horns: Aug 25 2017, 03:43 AM
sHawTY
post Aug 25 2017, 07:38 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,456

Joined: Jul 2005


QUOTE(horns @ Aug 25 2017, 12:55 AM)
in another computer, did you use the freesync display and turn freesync on?
I did. Triple check to make sure it's my own PC's fault, not the power line of my house or the external cables
horns
post Aug 25 2017, 12:05 PM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 25 2017, 07:38 AM)
I did. Triple check to make sure it's my own PC's fault, not the power line of my house or the external cables
*
.. pening :/

there are a few more options that you might wanna try:
1. put the gpu into different pcie slots;
2. connect the display cable to different gpu ports;
3. change display cable;
4. reset mobo bios to default.

i found this, https://community.amd.com/thread/216401 it's like related to your situation. amd guy said there is an open issue about freesync and flickering (except for the last part of your previous diagnosis)

edit: for now, i think it's better to turn freesync off first, until amd confirmed there is a proper fix for this via driver updates. if not, you can create a thread for this, because i really think it requires attention to other users as well.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 25 2017, 12:08 PM
sHawTY
post Aug 25 2017, 12:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,456

Joined: Jul 2005


QUOTE(horns @ Aug 25 2017, 12:05 PM)
there are a few more options that you might wanna try:
1. put the gpu into different pcie slots;
2. connect the display cable to different gpu ports;
3. change display cable;
4. reset mobo bios to default.
1. Done. Both my Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming G1 & ASUS X99-Pro has multiple PCI-e ports, tested all of them, still flickering
2. Done. Bought a new RX 550 just to test this matter, 100% new, not used unit, still flickering
3. Done. Done, bought a new premium DP cable, still flickering
4. Done. Done for both motherboards, still flickering

Still flickering away like there's no tomorrow laugh.gif

Nevermind, I'm just gonna wait until 31st October to strip out everything and install part by part
Also gonna try to run the system naked to see if the HAF XB Evo is the fault for this issue
horns
post Aug 25 2017, 01:07 PM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 25 2017, 12:44 PM)
1. Done. Both my Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming G1 & ASUS X99-Pro has multiple PCI-e ports, tested all of them, still flickering
2. Done. Bought a new RX 550 just to test this matter, 100% new, not used unit, still flickering
3. Done. Done, bought a new premium DP cable, still flickering
4. Done. Done for both motherboards, still flickering

Still flickering away like there's no tomorrow laugh.gif

Nevermind, I'm just gonna wait until 31st October to strip out everything and install part by part
Also gonna try to run the system naked to see if the HAF XB Evo is the fault for this issue
*
.. good luck. it's a bad experience, even not as owner. it's been a long while that i need to solve something without positive outcomes lol

edit: seriously made me think twice to get that all-amd setup for now. it's really too bad.



This post has been edited by horns: Aug 25 2017, 01:14 PM
Mr.7
post Aug 25 2017, 02:49 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,132

Joined: Sep 2013
From: Quantum Universe

Anyone using nvme m.2 in the mobo slot here? Can advise me on the temperature? Does it get heat easily?
sHawTY
post Aug 25 2017, 03:43 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,456

Joined: Jul 2005


QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Aug 25 2017, 02:49 PM)
Anyone using nvme m.2 in the mobo slot here?  Can advise me on the temperature? Does it get heat easily?
I am. It depends on your casing airflow actually

On ASUS X99-Pro, the temperatures when I use my 950 Pro on the built-in M.2 slot are actually lower than using the 950 Pro on ASUS Hyper M.2 X4 riser
Take note that I am currently using Cooler Master HAF XB EVO where the motherboard is installed horizontally
horns
post Aug 25 2017, 03:50 PM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Aug 25 2017, 02:49 PM)
Anyone using nvme m.2 in the mobo slot here?  Can advise me on the temperature? Does it get heat easily?
*
no i am using pcie adapter with heat sinks.

for safer operations with m.2 slots, i suggest using this, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4350658

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 25 2017, 03:43 PM)
On ASUS X99-Pro, the temperatures when I use my 950 Pro on the built-in M.2 slot are actually lower than using the 950 Pro on ASUS Hyper M.2 X4 riser
*
i thought this one is a pcie adapter without heat sinks? i have 2 of these, older version, never used them before.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 25 2017, 03:50 PM
Mr.7
post Aug 25 2017, 04:34 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,132

Joined: Sep 2013
From: Quantum Universe

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 25 2017, 03:50 PM)
no i am using pcie adapter with heat sinks.

for safer operations with m.2 slots, i suggest using this, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4350658
Thanks for the clarification. Can u suggest any pcie adapter with heat sinks? Searched lelong doesnt seem to have it.
horns
post Aug 25 2017, 04:41 PM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Aug 25 2017, 04:34 PM)
Thanks for the clarification. Can u suggest any pcie adapter with heat sinks? Searched lelong doesnt seem to have it.
*
i don't think there is one selling locally. there is an alternative with active cooling, https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=85912253

mine is this one, http://www.bplus.com.tw/Adapter/M2P4A.html (ugly, but it works well)

NightFelix
post Aug 26 2017, 09:38 AM

Samsung Exynos
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,166

Joined: May 2008
From: Malaysia



Parking on the new SSD V6 thread. biggrin.gif

Just wondering, if RM500 budget, best bang for buck could get right now is Samsung EVO 850 256GB right?

Second question, what to check when buying a refurbished (or possible used but not refurb) of SSD?
horns
post Aug 26 2017, 12:10 PM

\m/
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,910

Joined: Nov 2009
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 26 2017, 09:38 AM)
Parking on the new SSD V6 thread. biggrin.gif

Just wondering, if RM500 budget, best bang for buck could get right now is Samsung EVO 850 256GB right?

Second question, what to check when buying a refurbished (or possible used but not refurb) of SSD?
*
welcome back biggrin.gif

1. yes i believe 850 evo 250gb is still the best bang for buck if you compared price points of other ssds of similar capacities; in c-zone price list:

GALAX V100T 240GB (warranty: 3yrs) - 407
KINGSTON UV400 240GB (warranty: 3yrs) - 422
PNY CS900 240GB PNY (warranty: 3yrs) - 405
PNY CS1311B 256GB (warranty: 3yrs) - 432
SAMSUNG 850 EVO 250GB (warranty: 5yrs) - 487
WD GREEN 240GB (warranty: 3yrs) - 405
WD BLUE 250GB (warranty: 3yrs) - 454

from the list above it's like the most expensive one; if i factored in longer warranty, and rapid mode feature, it's better.

2. for used drives, i suggest check at least its total host writes with crystal diskinfo. it must be fully functional, and can be verified with manufacturer's toolbox software. however it's more about mutual trust mostly. honest sellers will usually tell you more about how they used the drives, and are confident and kind enough to give you a short period of personal warranty. just don't abuse it; honest people are very rare.

edit: my sm951 was a used one, in very good shape. the seller is a nice guy. he even took the initiative to follow up after the deal was long done. i am very thankful for that.

This post has been edited by horns: Aug 26 2017, 12:17 PM

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0871sec    5.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st May 2018 - 10:55 PM