Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

views
     
Skylinestar
post Aug 24 2017, 12:18 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
does corsair still sell ssd locally?
Skylinestar
post Nov 1 2017, 04:57 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Oct 29 2017, 09:10 PM)
hi guys,

im on my way to upgrade my PC to an x299 platform and i've included a samsung 960 evo 250gb nvme ssd in the upgrades list.

what i'd like to know is should i use it as an OS ssd or as a game ssd for overall better performance? currently i have a lite-on mu3 240gb which i store my games, and my pc is usually idle when not in use; i rarely turn it off.

thanks for the advise in advance guys.
*
I have Windows in my slower SSD while Steam and other games are all loaded in my faster SSD. As games are so huge nowadays, you want the advantage of faster read speed.
Skylinestar
post Nov 3 2017, 01:58 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 3 2017, 12:38 AM)
Singapore
*
damn good price. we need bulk order from sg.
Skylinestar
post Jan 5 2018, 07:05 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
Great test to see the impact of the intel vulnerability patch
http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/windo...chmarked,1.html
Skylinestar
post Feb 10 2018, 09:37 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(KahLooN @ Feb 10 2018, 09:26 AM)
Hi sifu, I have question to ask about SSD. Currently my PC is only running on SATA 2 (3Gb/s), definitely I won't able to achieve the rated speed for SSD.

Will it benefit to add SSD to my system even-though only on SATA 2?
At the moment, I have a WD Velociraptor 1TB as my main drive.
notworthy.gif
*
yes
Skylinestar
post May 15 2018, 12:35 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 11 2018, 12:13 AM)
Cheapest SSD available online:
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...70d3&abbucket=8

RM627.30 including shipping to Malaysia

No local warranty though, have to send back to China if you want to RMA
*
why u worry? last time sell Crucial ram, no local warranty, have to send to USA if want RMA laugh.gif
Skylinestar
post May 19 2018, 06:09 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 19 2018, 03:23 PM)
Looking to replace my ailing WD Blue 1TB HDD with a 500GB SSD. Recommendations? Will purchase after 1st June.
*
Kingston UV400 480GB... low price brows.gif
Skylinestar
post Jun 10 2018, 08:14 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
What's the right way?
user posted image

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jun 10 2018, 08:14 PM
Skylinestar
post Jun 29 2018, 01:55 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
ICYMI
https://www.pcgamer.com/pro-overclocker-der...till-overclock/

Q (PCGamer): "Does M.2 vs. SATA have any impact on overclocking your system?"

A (Der8auer): "Actually we have a lot of trouble using M.2 drives. On Pinnacle Ridge, which is Ryzen 2, it has a negative impact. We saw that if we were running the Geekbench on a very highly overclocked system, and using the M.2 drive, we had a lot of stability issues. The CPU could not handle the M.2 drive. We never found out why, but using a SATA drive the system was a lot more stable. But this only applies to LN2 overclocking. We never saw this on [normal] overclocking."
Skylinestar
post Sep 5 2018, 09:32 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 4 2018, 10:12 PM)
Just wonder , anyone use ssd as VM before ? will it boot faster if both guest and host are using VM ?
Plan on getting a cheap kingston 480GB for VM.
*
i have linux in my guest machine. on ssd. any OS, either in host or guest, will benefit a lot from ssd.
Skylinestar
post Sep 5 2018, 07:33 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 5 2018, 07:11 PM)
Which linux guest ver you are using ? btw , to into swap will increase r/w on ssd ?
*
I'm using Ubuntu 16.04. I didn't allocate any swap space currently to my VM. You should worry much about excessive usage on swap unless you barely have enough ram.
Skylinestar
post Oct 21 2018, 08:54 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
will a fully filled SSD be slower than a HDD?
Skylinestar
post Oct 22 2018, 08:28 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(horns @ Oct 21 2018, 11:59 PM)
it could be slower, because the ssd controller will need to perform more taxing operations due to the lack of free space.
*
Sigh. Was thinking of upgrading my father's laptop to hdd. He normally fills up to 95% .
Skylinestar
post Nov 24 2018, 08:27 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 23 2018, 01:09 PM)
Another round of price drop.

[attachmentid=10119386][attachmentid=10119399]
*
Sigh. Ram still pricey.
Skylinestar
post Jul 21 2019, 08:59 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
Does anyone know if there's processing fee for warranty / RMA of Kingston SSD at Viewnet? The SSD is almost 3 years old.
Skylinestar
post Jul 22 2019, 03:54 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 22 2019, 02:15 PM)
last time for WD HDD, it was RM30
nearly a year ago
*
Cut throat

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 22 2019, 02:58 PM)
afaik kingston has a office in LYP ...
*
Amoda level 7. Convergent.

-------

Anyone install games on DRAM-less SSD? Any stutter?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 22 2019, 03:55 PM
Skylinestar
post Jul 22 2019, 05:13 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(edministrator @ Jul 22 2019, 03:58 PM)
Reading wise is smooth no issue, so as a game library or archive purposes is OK. Stutter only happens during writing when disk is almost full
*
Planning to use Kingston UV500 for my games.

---

First time installing M.2 SSD. Shall I worry about the temperature? It's next to my graphics card.
user posted image

compared to my 3.5" spinner
user posted image

Room ambient is 31°c.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 23 2019, 12:21 AM
Skylinestar
post Jul 31 2019, 05:10 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 23 2019, 03:40 PM)
wow, your sata m.2 almost run as hot as nvme m.2

but no worry the temperature la...even nvme m.2 will shoot up to 70°c then throttled.
*
close to 60°c during gaming. as the M.2 SSD is under the graphics card, it's receiving all exhaust sweat.gif

another thing, i have 2.5" SSD installed at the back side of the case (behind mobo tray). i don't understand why case manufacturers design SSD spot at such location. basically 0 airflow. are SSD designed to take such beating? it's 45ºc when idling.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 31 2019, 05:17 PM
Skylinestar
post Aug 5 2019, 09:32 AM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 5 2019, 09:04 AM)
Few of my local stores recommend me the Patriot NVME SSD, it's also cheaper compared to other brands.

I'm unfamiliar with this brand, any comments?
*
Patriot is a reputable memory maker, like Kingston.
Skylinestar
post Aug 10 2019, 12:09 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
8,159 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 31 2019, 07:16 PM)
Anyone interested in NVMe M.2 to PCI-e adapter?
I just received this today, but it doesn't suitable to my Gigabyte H97 mobo. Want to let go or swap with M.2 SATA to 2.5" SATA adapter.

Although it works in full speed, but got bug with my pc. I have to wait 30 seconds after shutdown my pc then only can press turn on again, else it won't be detected.
It seems like kind of auto jumper to switch between PCI-e Gen1 Gen2 Gen3 and cause incompatibility.

The adapter comes with 2 screws and a mini screwdriver.


Just Google around, maybe the problem is I didn't use any dedicated UEFI boot GPU.

user posted imageuser posted image
*
have you found out the actual cause? really uefi gpu?
my rig is per my siggy spec. will it support that adaptor?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Aug 10 2019, 12:10 PM

2 Pages  1 2 >Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.1202sec    3.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th August 2019 - 01:03 PM