Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

mizi28
post Mar 2 2018, 12:52 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 2 2018, 12:47 AM)
Thx for d advice bro...
I think i will skip d good folding mechanism thing...

Fnhon blast like not bad,but where to find @ 1.5k?
I see d specs with all entry mid-level parts is about rm2000++...

There u go

fatani
post Mar 2 2018, 07:49 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 1 2018, 05:40 PM)
Thinking to buy a folding bike very very soon...
Eye-ing on some model slightly towards long journey cycling,maybe like 10km to 20km...

TRS Victor(Cheapest + Better Shifter Den Fit? Maybe other component?)
Java Fit(Branded,Average Specs)
Java Pro 3(Slightly Better Specs Den Fit?)
Java IRA(Carbon Body,but Not Reali Matter? Better Wheel Bearing? Worth d price?)

Need some advice,and see which is d better buy for d money...
Someone mentioned Victor? biggrin.gif
TRS on stock unit is just ok. The groupset is more than adequate. Just need to ditch the wheelset (heavy) and the disc brake squeek like a sick cat. The only thing that remains stock on my victor is the frame.

For 2k, i'd rather take the dahon speed anytime anyday. Much more comfy.

Btw, 10-20km is not a lot of mileage on a bike. Any bike will take you through that distance no problem.
Str33tBoY
post Mar 2 2018, 09:58 AM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Mar 2 2018, 12:52 AM)
There u go

Ok,thx bro...
Might consider to import a fnhon top-specs,or maybe local java fit maybe...
Both around d same price...
Which is a better pick?
KenC
post Mar 2 2018, 10:37 AM

78 posts

Both are compatible. Import only if you can do your own bike maintenance, or your savings will evaporate after a few trip to your local bike shop.
Str33tBoY
post Mar 2 2018, 12:32 PM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Mar 2 2018, 07:49 AM)
Someone mentioned Victor? biggrin.gif
TRS on stock unit is just ok. The groupset is more than adequate. Just need to ditch the wheelset (heavy) and the disc brake squeek like a sick cat. The only thing that remains stock on my victor is the frame.

For 2k, i'd rather take the dahon speed anytime anyday. Much more comfy.

Btw, 10-20km is not a lot of mileage on a bike. Any bike will take you through that distance no problem.
Thx bro,if like wat u said...
Den trs victor is a no go?
Coz don't plan to upgrade or change d parts in near future if can...
And u said u jz keep d body onli,which i don't like d design also...
fatani
post Mar 2 2018, 03:57 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 2 2018, 11:32 AM)
Thx bro,if like wat u said...
Den trs victor is a no go?
Coz don't plan to upgrade or change d parts in near future if can...
And u said u jz keep d body onli,which i don't like d design also...
It's adequate enough for 20km. But, as most people do, once they got their fitness through cycling, they will want to cycle longer distance. By then, they'll wish they had a better bike.

Buy the best your money can buy. For me, the frame matters more than other parts. The TRS/JAVA/VOLCANO etc doesnt fold as neatly as the dahon/fnhon/tern. Personally, i'll choose the latter.

Having said that, l've done lots of mileage on my TRS, and it's still working just fine. If i one day think of upgrading it(again), i think i'll get a minivelo frame and transfer all the previous components to it. biggrin.gif
gck
post Mar 2 2018, 04:48 PM

36 posts

i got fnhon, i like it very much
Str33tBoY
post Mar 2 2018, 05:13 PM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Mar 2 2018, 03:57 PM)
It's adequate enough for 20km. But, as most people do, once they got their fitness through cycling, they will want to cycle longer distance. By then, they'll wish they had a better bike.

Buy the best your money can buy.  For me, the frame matters more than other parts. The TRS/JAVA/VOLCANO etc doesnt fold as neatly as the dahon/fnhon/tern. Personally, i'll choose the latter.

Having said that, l've done lots of mileage on my TRS, and it's still working just fine. If i one day think of upgrading it(again), i think i'll get a minivelo frame and transfer all the previous components to it. biggrin.gif
Ic,frame quality wise for java fit vs java pro 3 vs fnhon ka2018?
Btw,usually shop will charge how much and take how long to assemble a folding bike...
Coz need to count d total cost if i import one...
mizi28
post Mar 2 2018, 05:39 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 2 2018, 05:13 PM)
Btw,usually shop will charge how much and take how long to assemble a folding bike...
If u ask me ..ofc fnhon anytime because i just like chainstays which is absent on the java frame.

Shop charge not sure.usually i send to cycling friend oni ,belanja minum kawtim.if all component complete wont take so long.a day or two would do.

If u really interested in custom building a folding bike.i can suggest my friend.he is an enthusiast.

I belanja u photo of my ex-fnhon... Sold d tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mizi28: Mar 2 2018, 05:45 PM
gck
post Mar 2 2018, 05:41 PM

36 posts

i bought mine from taobao fully assembled. you have to get it checked by the bike shop. depending on the shop maybe below 50. for my case, i diy so it is free.
quality to price ratio is unmatchable.
even considering paying for rm150 shipping
fatani
post Mar 2 2018, 05:54 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 2 2018, 04:13 PM)
Java/trs/volcano etc frame will hold up pretty well. But ride quality will differs from those of dahon/tern/fnhon. This, unfortunately you have to test ride those bikes yourself to know the difference. It matters to some, it doesnt to others.

I got charged rm100 building my mtb from the frame and so on..donno how much for folding bike. Now i start investing in bike tools and try to learn DIYing meself. smile.gif
etigge
post Mar 2 2018, 07:09 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Mar 2 2018, 03:57 PM)

Buy the best your money can buy.  For me, the frame matters more than other parts. The TRS/JAVA/VOLCANO etc doesnt fold as neatly as the dahon/fnhon/tern. Personally, i'll choose the latter.

I have just put up my wife's mini velo frame for sale biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Want ?
etigge
post Mar 2 2018, 07:32 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 2 2018, 05:13 PM)
From what I observe from the comments here so far, I deduct that you are just starting on this folding bike path. Also I can also deduct that you are the type that who wants to only buy ONCE and use it till the end. You are also one of those who don't like to do modding of any kind. Custom building is one of the solution but then to do so, you need to know what components do you really like, what kind of rides you will do now and eventually. Slopes, flats or both? This will determine the proper gearings to get. Also, think, will you be still riding after 6 months or a year and how far you think you will go. Have you hear or have friends riding, are you excited to hear what they do or where they ride?

Custom building is NEVER cheap. They are usually over 2K or 3Ks even for just a simple custom job. If cheap components are considered , why bother customizing at all, right? hmm.gif Also, thinking ahead , you will need to consider road bike components or mountain bike components. To ask every question from the beginning onwards, it will take a long time before you decide tongue.gif From my experience in this forum, the number of questions I answered.........................they will eventually do something else the moment they enter the local bike shop, hahahaaa. Bike shops thinks of target, profit margin and surplus stocks they still have but they seem to be able to convince new buyers more easily than us here. blush.gif

I suggest you go for Java as this brand gives the highest specs for the lowest price with an acceptable frame and brand. Going for branded ones like Dahon, Terns with the same specs will almost double the price. Then there's the elite market which are Bromptons, Bike Fridays and Pacific Bikes which are priced even higher like someone always says here. " I rather go buy a kapcai ". tongue.gif Get the Java first and see how it goes after 6 months or a year later, then maybe you might go buy a Brompton straight away, many of my fellow rider friends did.

If you are in Perak, I can assemble the bike for you, no problem. Oh yeah, here's another suggestion on your choice of bike. Have you heard of Crius? For slightly over 2.5K , the dolphin shaped frame is equipped with the lightest and best specs. All components are made by Litepro.

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 2 2018, 07:33 PM
KenC
post Mar 2 2018, 07:47 PM

78 posts

I am that fella who always say "kapchai" tongue.gif
My bike is used chap ayam bike (rm400) with cheapest components mods (totalled 5~600) that does the job efficiently.
1.5years passed and still not bothered to change bike…
Yes, 20km is short ride.... very short rides are 10km… 5km is mamak stall supper ride…
Str33tBoY
post Mar 2 2018, 08:48 PM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 2 2018, 07:32 PM)
From what I observe from the comments here so far, I deduct that you are just starting on this folding bike path. Also I can also deduct that you are the type that who wants to only buy ONCE and use it till the end. You are also one of those who don't like to do modding of any kind. Custom building is one of the solution but then to do so, you need to know what components do you really like, what kind of rides you will do now and eventually. Slopes, flats or both? This will determine the proper gearings to get. Also, think, will you be still riding after 6 months or a year and how far you think you will go. Have you hear or have friends riding, are you excited to hear what they do or where they ride?

Custom building is NEVER cheap. They are usually over 2K or 3Ks even for just a simple custom job. If cheap components are considered , why bother customizing at all, right? hmm.gif Also, thinking ahead , you will need to consider road bike components or mountain bike components. To ask every question from the beginning onwards, it will take a long time before you decide  tongue.gif  From my experience in this forum, the number of questions I answered.........................they will eventually do something else the moment they enter the local bike shop, hahahaaa. Bike shops thinks of target, profit margin and surplus stocks they still have but they seem to be able to convince new buyers more easily than us here.  blush.gif

I suggest you go for Java as this brand gives the highest specs for the lowest price with an acceptable frame and brand. Going for branded ones like Dahon, Terns with the same specs will almost double the price. Then there's the elite market which are Bromptons, Bike Fridays and Pacific Bikes which are priced even higher like someone always says here. " I rather go buy a kapcai ".  tongue.gif  Get the Java first and see how it goes after 6 months or a year later, then maybe you might go buy a Brompton straight away, many of my fellow rider friends did.

If you are in Perak, I can assemble the bike for you, no problem. Oh yeah, here's another suggestion on your choice of bike. Have you heard of Crius? For slightly over 2.5K , the dolphin shaped frame is equipped with the lightest and best specs. All components are made by Litepro.

Ya bro,u hit almost all d things in my mind...
Ride on usual road mostly,flat maybe?
Budget will set around rm1500...
So is kinda limited for a new bike...
Jz java pro 3,fit and d shop strongly recommended trs victor...
As d specs is about like java fit,but cheap-out some other parts like handle foam & etc...

Btw,java pro seems to be cheapear by rm100...
I wonder y?
D specs seems almost d same,with hollow crank...
Not sure about others...
etigge
post Mar 2 2018, 11:24 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 2 2018, 08:48 PM)
Ya bro,u hit almost all d things in my mind...
Ride on usual road mostly,flat maybe?
Budget will set around rm1500...
So is kinda limited for a new bike...
Jz java pro 3,fit and d shop strongly recommended trs victor...
As d specs is about like java fit,but cheap-out some other parts like handle foam & etc...

Btw,java pro seems to be cheapear by rm100...
I wonder y?
D specs seems almost d same,with hollow crank...
Not sure about others...
If riding mostly flat roads, you can go for this , just add another RM200 to your budget.

https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/436916/daho...eed-falco-akibo

One of the best riding folding bike. Although 8 speed ( it is actually cheap for a branded bike ), it will not be hard to add another chain ring in future if you want to increase to 16 speed. Also, in the case if you really progress well and want to actually go for better bike, it is easier to sell off without much of a loss. Like I said, if flat road rides, 8 speed is more than enough. And if you want to tackle more hilly rides, it is also quite easy to change to a bigger range cassette. But as it is, I think the 11/32T cassette is enough to tackle a lot of roads already.
KenC
post Mar 3 2018, 12:09 AM

78 posts

My usual recommendation is to buy a bike that you don't mind giving it away to strangers...

Don't waste time on selecting your 1st bike, just get one, find out what you hate about it and figure out how to love it. If 6 month down the road and you still cycling, than you go about a better bike, be it upgrading or just junk the old bike and get a new "perfect" bike.

About perfect bike, don't worry, perfect bike is a myth or sales pitch, they don't exist in real life.

For most ppl, buying bike and mod bike is the main hobby, real cycling is just an excuse… so, what the fun in getting a "best bike" as your 1st bike? Leave some room for improvement la… *ps, "best bike" also don't exist…

It's a hobby, since when toys don't waste money?

This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 3 2018, 01:30 AM
azamunekurone
post Mar 3 2018, 09:02 AM

140 posts

i heard dahon speed were mention here.

also fnhon?

im starting out with rm200 cheap² folding bike. what do i feel after 20km and few month?i feel wobble and a lot of noise.

after few months, i buy the mongoose for rm800. good bike, less pain in ear. later im buying dahon vybe aluminium rm1k for my wife. at the same time i upgrade all the parts on the mongoose.

after few ride with my wife vybe, i do feel big different. the mechanism all different even the feel of riding more better. i sold my mongoose and buy the tern verge (that time i was searching for dahon vector but no stock).

the tern verge stay with me for a long time until now. i've been tested many type of folding bike (within ur budget) and u can go wrong with big names such as dahon, tern and much more. if ur damn rich, u cant go wrong with tyrell, brompton, alex moulton or bike friday.

if im buying a java, i will for java ira. they other frame are not that perfect (fit/pro/decaf/aria the same design like victor/xds) after testing it out 100km..

the fnhon i just add up just bcoz after i do some research they were made in the same factory as dahon (and some said exworker from dahon starts the fnhon). after nearly a year im using fnhon, they were different than dahon. fnhon is a good bike, but not the same like dahon. it feels like dahon but it wont be the same quality like dahon. its like a cheaper version of dahon but fully customized..

and yes, they will never be a perfect bike or perfect setup bcoz upgrades will never ends untill u drain ur pocket laugh.gif
KenC
post Mar 3 2018, 10:50 AM

78 posts

See, buy sell buy sell is a big part of the fun! smile.gif

Azamunekurone is a Wiseman, he always buy most expensive bike for the wife.
Happy wife, happy life.
Be like Azamunekurone.

This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 3 2018, 10:56 AM
fatani
post Mar 3 2018, 11:12 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 2 2018, 06:09 PM)
I have just put up my wife's mini velo frame for sale  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  Want ?
I will wait untill my frame crack or something before change frame. Hehe..but that groupset sure looks tempting though.

188 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:20 AM