78 posts

https://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/h...-and-adjustment
KenC
post Feb 12 2018, 09:20 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 10 2018, 10:28 PM)
On a mountain bike, full suspension is really efficient. It will not bob, if we ride on a flat surface, presumably if all the settings (meaning air pressure is right and sag is correctly adjusted) are right. Only on hard knocks or maybe uneven roads or going over ruts  etc. the suspension levels out and made it easier to ride and most importantly make the tires stick to the trail. That is because when pedaling on a flat surface, especially going uphill, we are wasting effort bobbing up and down. That's why Giant has their Maestro system, Santa Cruz has their Virtual Pivot System and many more has more fancy systems but the most common is know as Horst Link. It is supposed to work where they should be. This is why many MTBs also have lock on their rear suspensions, to prevent the bike bobbing up and down when riding on levels roads.

In this Rhine case, the suspension is working too but not when pedaling hard as it bobs up and down, even though just an inch front and back. For offset this I have to set the right tensions on the front and back too. The settings is really good though for a normal ride as the suspension system offsets the bumpiness of the hard tarmac compounded by the high pressure of the folding bike tires and also because small wheels are hard and bumpy,especially on aluminium frame bikes, you don't feel it on the contact points, that is our hands and butts. That's an advantage over long rides.

So, that means, I have to set the optimum settings of the suspensions. When a suspension system is wasting your energy bobbing up and down, it means it is not working right.
When it involve spring and damper, weight is the key factor in suspension. Hence if anyone try to sell you any suspension bike promising no adjustment required… you either kiss you money good bye or say good bye to that person.

With car that's different, a car weights about a ton, unless you are 500kg heavy, your weight won't make any difference. But since on a bike, the bike is about 10~20% of the total weight… Your weight is the key factor…

This post has been edited by KenC: Feb 12 2018, 09:23 PM
azamunekurone
post Feb 13 2018, 08:39 AM

140 posts

my friend always said to me,..

dont upgrade ur ride, rides upgrade! laugh.gif

fatani
post Feb 13 2018, 12:05 PM

261 posts

"dont buy upgrade, rides up grade"

But, but, do both even better. Like you. Haha

ps: that mtb dude behind you, rilek jer ride. Downhill shirt summore. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fatani: Feb 13 2018, 12:07 PM
small_fish18
post Feb 13 2018, 03:54 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 12 2018, 12:35 PM)
Cycle to work Damn KTM Komuter charges RM2 for a BIKE fr KEPONG to KL SENTRAL

Bike + ME = RM4.20 per trip (Return 8.40) which is EXPENSIVE for a day journey!

Look like the plan to cycle to work have to scrap until MRT2 is ready..... such pity
Just cycle straight from kepong to Kl sentral, save all the money and time. The distance is do-able after a few ride.
azamunekurone
post Feb 13 2018, 10:10 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Feb 13 2018, 12:05 PM)
"dont buy upgrade, rides up grade"

But, but, do both even better. Like you. Haha

ps: that mtb dude behind you, rilek jer ride. Downhill shirt summore. biggrin.gif
that mtb guy is crazy.. very fast one woo.. all rb been left behind when he became crazy laugh.gif
etigge
post Feb 13 2018, 10:31 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Feb 13 2018, 10:10 PM)
that mtb guy is crazy.. very fast one woo.. all rb been left behind when he became crazy laugh.gif
Hahahaa, that's Lee Kok Soon from Gopeng. His group are mostly mountain bikers and crazy about downhilling. The terrain they ride is scary. I take 3 hours and they only need about an hour blush.gif Seldom ride with them nowadays as I am too slow, don't want them always waiting for me. blush.gif

azamunekurone
post Feb 14 2018, 08:13 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 13 2018, 10:31 PM)
Hahahaa, that's Lee Kok Soon from Gopeng. His group are mostly mountain bikers and crazy about downhilling. The terrain they ride is scary. I take 3 hours and they only need about an hour  blush.gif Seldom ride with them nowadays as I am too slow, don't want them always waiting for me.  blush.gif

yeah.. ur right bro..
i called him ah soon.. very fast liao...maintaining 35kmj on road its not a big problem for him rclxub.gif
etigge
post Feb 19 2018, 11:51 AM

295 posts

It seems the Cateye cyclo meter is going redundant. Now for the price of just a little bit more, you can get the Bryton Rider 10. You can get it for only RM230 from one of the sellers in BBS. Heck! the Garmin mountings, those little round mounts with O-rings is selling for over 80 bucks already cry.gif And now Bryton is only RM230 with all the mounts and also GPS units are more easier with multiple bikes. You don't need to attach the pesky magnet and sensor on the fork. Just attach the GPS unit to any bike you are using. Even worse, those days, I use those with a wire going all the way up to the handlebar.

Even better, you can view your activity map on the website after riding.

gataddhin
post Feb 19 2018, 12:30 PM

Due to favourable exchange rate, I ordered some items from AliExpress. Anyone bought ultrasonic dog repeller? Which brand is reliable?

Generally I have no issues with dogs but with one repeller, it is better.

KenC
post Feb 19 2018, 12:41 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 19 2018, 11:51 AM)
It seems the Cateye cyclo meter is going redundant. Now for the price of just a little bit more, you can get the Bryton Rider 10. You can get it for only RM230 from one of the sellers in BBS. Heck! the Garmin mountings, those little round mounts with O-rings is selling for over 80 bucks already  cry.gif And now Bryton is only RM230 with all the mounts and also GPS units are more easier with multiple bikes. You don't need to attach the pesky magnet and sensor on the fork. Just attach the GPS unit to any bike you are using. Even worse, those days, I use those with a wire going all the way up to the handlebar.

Even better, you can view your activity map on the website after riding.

Still waiting for this gps thingy to go under RM 200 tongue.gif
Non-essencial but great gadget to have.

Actually, gps meter without cadance and ANT+ connection cam be had under RM150 from taobao...

This post has been edited by KenC: Feb 19 2018, 12:46 PM
KenC
post Feb 19 2018, 12:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 19 2018, 12:30 PM)
Due to favourable exchange rate, I ordered some items from AliExpress.  Anyone bought ultrasonic dog repeller? Which brand is reliable?

I am the dog repeller… smile.gif tongue.gif

gataddhin
post Feb 19 2018, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(KenC @ Feb 19 2018, 12:43 PM)
I am the dog repeller… smile.gif tongue.gif
Ya, wait few dogs are chasing you. Hehehe

KenC
post Feb 19 2018, 01:00 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 19 2018, 12:55 PM)
Ya, wait few dogs are chasing you. Hehehe
Usually I chase them back.
etigge
post Feb 19 2018, 03:10 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 19 2018, 12:30 PM)
Due to favourable exchange rate, I ordered some items from AliExpress.  Anyone bought ultrasonic dog repeller? Which brand is reliable?

I also encounter a lot of dogs and sometimes even a whole pack of 10 and more of them. They are also born to sense your emotions and the more fearful you are the more brazen they get. If you just be calm and ride as usual ignoring them, they will bark and that's the most they do.
gataddhin
post Feb 19 2018, 05:57 PM

Yes I totally agreed with you. As I said, I have no issues with dogs. Just that sometimes 1 or 2 dogs that came too near.

Last April, I cycled 800km thru mostly village roads in Thailand. Just imagine how many dogs that I had met, worst was cycling thru rubber plantations, their territories.
gck
post Feb 20 2018, 08:48 AM

36 posts

dont run away from a chasing dogs, they will chase you even more aggressively. i usually turn back look at them straight in their eyes.
gataddhin
post Feb 20 2018, 12:24 PM

Last night, I sent an email to KTM regarding travel with folding bike from KL Sentral to Padang Besar. Just received a reply from KTM customer service.

Happy New Year Mr .....

Thank you for the interest on our rail service provided.
We are sorry to inform that effective from August 2016, bicycle (foldable/full size/component) is not allow to bring aboard the train. This consensus only attain after in depth consideration and judgment involving the managerial the level in KTM ETS. The ETS trains have a limited space for luggage/cases/boxes and no special allocation for bicycle which, potentially dangerous during peak hours because they have more sharp edges, should the train break in an emergency.
Bicycles (with a minimum charge) are only allowed for Komuter services – short distance journey :
1. All time for Northern Sector (Padang Rengas – Butterworth – Padang Rengas).
2. During off-peak hours for Klang Valley Sector

We hope the schedule attached and information below helps.

Senior Citizen : Malaysian, age 60yrs and above
Counter purchase : Bring the IC/photocopy of IC at the counter upon ticket purchase.
Online purchase : Do free registration account at our official website, www.ktmb.com.my and purchase ticket via KTM E Ticket/KTM Mobile Apps

Senior Citizen Fare : (KL Sentral – Padang Besar)
ETS GOLD = RM44.00
ETS PLATINUM = RM55.00

etigge
post Feb 20 2018, 02:24 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 20 2018, 12:24 PM)
Last night, I sent an email to KTM regarding travel with folding bike from KL Sentral to Padang Besar. Just received a reply from KTM customer service.

Happy New Year Mr .....

Thank you for the interest on our rail service provided.
We are sorry to inform that effective from August 2016, bicycle (foldable/full size/component) is not allow to bring aboard the train. This consensus only attain after in depth consideration and judgment involving the managerial the level in KTM ETS. The ETS trains have a limited space for luggage/cases/boxes and no special allocation for bicycle which, potentially dangerous during peak hours because they have more sharp edges, should the train break in an emergency.
Bicycles (with a minimum charge) are only allowed for Komuter services – short distance journey :
1.            All time for Northern Sector (Padang Rengas – Butterworth – Padang Rengas).
2.            During off-peak hours for Klang Valley Sector

We hope the schedule attached and information below helps.

Senior Citizen                  :              Malaysian, age 60yrs and above
Counter purchase            :              Bring the IC/photocopy of IC at the counter upon ticket purchase.
Online purchase              :              Do free registration account at our official website, www.ktmb.com.my and purchase ticket via KTM E Ticket/KTM Mobile Apps

Senior Citizen Fare        :              (KL Sentral – Padang Besar)
ETS GOLD = RM44.00
                                                                ETS PLATINUM  = RM55.00
That's our KTM tongue.gif You sure they also replied this, "should the train break in an emergency." Break or brake? hahahaa. 3 years ago, we did a Parit Buntar Ride. We took the ETS to Parit Buntar, ride to Bagan Tiang>Tg.Piandang>Kuala Kurau>Kuala Gula, continued by boat through mangrove swamp to Kuala Sepetang. I do admit that the space was crowded with 26 folded bikes all over the train. But instead of just taking the easy way by banning all bicycles, they can emulate the more developed country , even Thailand rail services allows, to allocate a coach or two for biking purposes.

I suspect that they do not have enough EMUs to actually service the routes. So, they rather take the easy way out. Just like the Komuter Northern Region (BM>Padang Besar), they totally banned bicycles because it was too crowded on weekends. They never ever actually tried putting more service frequency but just banned the whole idea. Imagine they actually invited cyclists for their " Ride and Ride Programme in 2014" . Calling for press conference and announcing their campaign like they are being responsible corporation. Then after some setbacks, they did a U=Turn and banned all bikes on ETS and then later even on the Northern Region Komuter services.

Back to the initial story, we reached Ipoh for our ETS ride back to KL Sentral. The scheduled 9.00pm train did not arrive at the scheduled time and we boarded the 9.00pm train at 10.30pm. Some of us actually are not confident with them , they hired taxis to return to KL even though they have tickets for the ETS. After we boarded and continued, the train stopped in Tg. Malim and it stopped there for almost 4 hours. We reached KL Sentral at dawn and another suprise sprang up, my parking charges was almost RM200.00 rclxub.gif for 3 days!

Till today, I still avoid KTM if possible, maybe until one day CRCC takes over the whole Malaysian Rail services.
gck
post Feb 20 2018, 04:35 PM

36 posts

they should have charge for folding bike and allow us to go.

188 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:34 PM