Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

etigge
post Mar 6 2018, 11:21 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Mar 6 2018, 02:11 PM)
from gombak to genting sempah no problem at all.but from genting sempah to janda baik,almost got mental breakdown.if its not because the newly upgraded crankset (53/39t),i wouldnt be there (last time single chainring 53t). biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=9634671]
It's hard to ride terrain where we are not prepared for. I usually will turn back blush.gif blush.gif Then again, we ride because we want to enjoy riding , right? If it is too torturing, I won't do it. Lessons I learned when I was scuba diving. PADI's motto, " If you don't enjoy it. don't do it !" Not that I never done it, I did and that was the last time I ride there again. I tried the Hulu Langat 18th mile to Titi ride. Started at 7.15am and the ride ended at 4.45pm in the evening. Like I said, I only did once. tongue.gif

Anyway, rides like this actually builds up your confidence. thumbup.gif
etigge
post Mar 6 2018, 11:26 PM

295 posts

Anyone remembered the Dahon Dash X20 ? I rode a Dash before and I then replicated the X20, even the limited yellow colour. I even changed the wheelset to 451. There's one Dash for sale , quite cheap in BBS now,
https://s10.postimg.org/42m9dunh5/dashx20.jpg

Anyone interested in folding velo should go for it. If you want to replicate the X20, let me know tongue.gif I have all the parts for it, right up to the wheelsets.
fatani
post Mar 7 2018, 04:17 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 5 2018, 07:54 AM)
Ya,thx bro...
Basically i am leaning towards d java pro 3 cause of it design...
Regarding d body frame,is it a bad quality one?
Coz i see it comes with a hollow crank,better specs with cheaper price?
Maybe plan to get a Dahon Speed Falco if available...
Coz from what i understand from d discussion...
Getting a better frame & a frame that i like is a better choice...
As we usually upgrade parts,not frame...

Importing fnhon might be my last choice if i am not urgent in getting one...
Just to share some insights i got from tonite's ride session. Luckily, one of my ride buddy bought a java ira. He previously only own one mtb. So, seeing his bike, i test rode it. Hehe. And he tested my dahon speed.

Even though the ira is made from chromoly, the same as my dahon speed, the ride quality is massively huge in difference.(and the ira is a lot lighter too, weighing only 10.5kg). Tbh, i think the ira's ride doesnt feel much of a difference than my victor, handling wise. The dahon speed provide more stabil ride, and obviously more comfortable. Having said that, the stock components and wheelset that came with the ira is sufficient enough that i think really doesnt needs any upgrading. 9 speed, sora rd/fd, but equipped with altus shifter. But hey, as long as it can shift smoothly, it's good enough rite?

About the ride quality of both bikes, both of us share the same opinion. Now he think he want to pass the bike to his wife and get himself a dahon. Haha. I told him to hold his horses, and use it first lah, since he only bought it. biggrin.gif

My bike on the left, the java ira on the right.
etigge
post Mar 7 2018, 09:02 AM

295 posts

Every bike has their own characteristics defined by their geometry. The Dahon Speed is actually the brainchild of Joshua Hon when he was still in his father's company. That was the best bike that came out from Dahon. Multi purpose and successful so much so that they are still making it. So much research was put inot it, They made it into a tourer, a usual folder, an UNO single speed....in fact most kinds. I had one before and took me for far rides with no problems. It was the best ride, it still is even compared to the Birdy I am riding now.

That was why, I suggested to Str33boy to pay an extra 200 to get that. But like I said, many will ask for suggestion and advice but when comes to the crunch, higher specs with lower price wins.

I have always dictate this mantra," Get the frame right first, any other parts can be changed and modified ".
Bujal.x
post Mar 7 2018, 09:14 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 6 2018, 11:21 PM)
It's hard to ride terrain where we are not prepared for. I usually will turn back  blush.gif  blush.gif  Then again, we ride because we want to enjoy riding , right?  If it is too torturing, I won't do it. Lessons I learned when I was scuba diving. PADI's motto, " If you don't enjoy it. don't do it !" Not that I never done it, I did and that was the last time I ride there again.  I tried the Hulu Langat 18th mile to Titi ride. Started at 7.15am and the ride ended at 4.45pm in the evening. Like I said, I only did once.  tongue.gif

Anyway, rides like this actually builds up your confidence.  thumbup.gif
i have no problem with route and climbing.when we arrived at janda baik's entrance there are 6 of us.but 3 of them gave up while there's only 7km left to the top.that really killed my mood sad.gif

btw "tak larat kayuh,tolak.tak larat tolak,rilek dulu sampai larat".i always hold on that. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Str33tBoY
post Mar 7 2018, 10:30 AM

1,874 posts

Thx bro fatani & etigge...
I skip java pro & fit already...

Btw,now i think to find a good frame...
And start from there,chromoly frame mostly...
Since ira ride quality is not that good,i will skip it mostly...
Unless i am able to fine a used unit with good price...

Now thinking to import fnhon storm / dahon speed i think...
Budget raise to rm2000...
Regarding d dahon speed,something like P8 / D7 / D8 / Falco...
How to differentiate ya?
And d falco is d best?

How much roughly itu will cost to custom folding bike?
If i plan to import fnhon strom frame & okok 451 wheelset(i suppose is d rim & sealed bearing),both at rm1000...
Is d leftover Rm1000 enuf for d remaining parts?

This post has been edited by Str33tBoY: Mar 7 2018, 10:42 AM
etigge
post Mar 7 2018, 11:03 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 7 2018, 10:30 AM)

How to differentiate ya?
And d falco is d best?
The Dahon Speed is not that expensive nowadays since Dahon moved their manufacturing to China. Many variations of the Dahon has surfaced and with Taobao marketing worldwide it has become a common model. P8 means 8 speed, D7 means 7 speed.........and so on. The Falco is the same speed with upgraded components for more sportier ride. Thinner tires and 451 wheels is the norm here and added with dual chain rings.

B lower end ... almost replaces C
D is deluxe
P is premium
X is all out awesomeness

P usually have better components, better rims and hubs, better groups etc.

If you look around, you can actually find a Dahon Speed , especially Gary in BBS, he is located in Kota Kemuning. He brings in Dahon Archer which is actually Speed and Mustang and Bullet which is actually Dahon Vitesse. They are around 1350 only. But lousy componentsts rclxub.gif

You are trying to absorb too much and it will eventually corrupt your decision rclxs0.gif Better if you just go get a bike and then do trial and error later. There's never a rider who buys only once and gets satisfied with that, those who are still riding after a year or so....I mean. No matter what, whatever bike you ride for the first time, no matter how much you pay for it...........you will still change your bike later on if you are still riding. There's something call "peer pressure" . I have riding friends changing from an 18 speed Java FIT to a 6 speed Brompton. Most of the kaki's are riding it so it is not a problem. The husband tried it and says, " The ride is terrible " tongue.gif and he then added another chainring and upgraded to 18 speed on his Dahon MU. The husband did not succumb to peer pressure and understood.

So, my point is, humans are never contented. Even a lady rider wants to change her bike after a year and the husband who can tackle the hills from Jerantut to Kuala Tahan on his single chainring MU P8 wants to upgrade to 18 speed with better RD and shifter (the Dahon's original twist shifter, the green one is really crappy BTW). After upgrading, riding was a breeze and he has full of praises for the upgrade and so eager to go for long rides.

So, we used to go for long rides and I will anticipate the wife will be facing problems....hahaaaa. But that's riding rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif GO GET A BIKE ALREADY !

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 7 2018, 11:05 AM
Bujal.x
post Mar 7 2018, 11:15 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 7 2018, 10:30 AM)

How to differentiate ya?
And d falco is d best?

How much roughly itu will cost to custom folding bike?
If i plan to import fnhon strom frame & okok 451 wheelset(i suppose is d rim & sealed bearing),both at rm1000...
Is d leftover Rm1000 enuf for d remaining parts?
fnhon storm frame will cost you around rm7xx iinm.and as for other parts from groupset to wheelset from rm1k to rm2k.unless if you got lubang to buy those parts at cheaper price i know a guy who sell complete fnhon bikes .bought my fnhon blast for rm2050 and the only upgrade i done is the dual chainring. smile.gif
KenC
post Mar 7 2018, 11:35 AM

78 posts

Custom build cost?
You will end up 3x your initial budget, disregard what budget you set out to achieve. tongue.gif
Just pick up any bike you can afford, you already lost 2 week of cycling time! You can borak how it ride later, and joint the sell-buy-sell-buy club. Don't waste any more! You life span is limited but money isn't!

This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 7 2018, 11:41 AM
gck
post Mar 7 2018, 11:40 AM

36 posts

i wholeheartly agree with a good frame, that's the most expensive parts in a folding bike. when i say frame, preferable with fork n headtube need to be of decent quality
The rest like ettige can be upgraded rather easily.
KenC
post Mar 7 2018, 11:44 AM

78 posts

Build own frame la. A good TIG welder set can get for 1k. Very affordable!

This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 7 2018, 11:45 AM
gck
post Mar 7 2018, 11:56 AM

36 posts

bamboo plus cable ties are cheaper.
fatani
post Mar 7 2018, 12:00 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 7 2018, 09:30 AM)
How to differentiate ya?
And d falco is d best?
sifu etigge has previously explained in detailed. but to cut it short, it's all the same frame! just differs in components and accessories.

The speed P8 is priced around 2k only. 8 speed.

Here's a suggestion (if u ever buy it la). Just use it as it is first (stock). See if the gear range is sufficient for you. If, by then, when you see it necessary, upgrade. the cheapest way is, add a smaller chainring to your crank. stock chainring is already 53t, add another 39t, and walah, u got 16 speeds edi. or can hunt for used double chainrings crank, mostly around rm100 oni for squared tapered one. but of course need fd/ fd adapter, left shifter and cable. still, it wont cost you too much. the stock cassette, the largest cog is edi 32t, which i think is more than enough for most people, to climb most hills. well at least, that is what i did to my bike previously. until a friend of mine sold his tiagra shifter to me cheap2, i then upgraded to a 10 speeder system. not that the previous 8 speed have any probs, but then i saja gatal2 tukar rclxs0.gif
fatani
post Mar 7 2018, 12:36 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Mar 7 2018, 10:44 AM)
Build own frame la. A good TIG welder set can get for 1k. Very affordable!
wah build stainless steel frame ka? laugh.gif
KenC
post Mar 7 2018, 01:52 PM

78 posts

Titanium also can. U build, u decide la.
KenC
post Mar 7 2018, 01:55 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Mar 7 2018, 11:40 AM)
i wholeheartly agree with a good frame, that's the most expensive parts in a folding bike. when i say frame, preferable with fork n headtube need to be of decent quality
The rest like ettige can be upgraded rather easily.
Frame is frame, fork is fork, head tube if you meant the tube where you cucuk the fork through is part of the frame.
desastar
post Mar 7 2018, 02:08 PM

42 posts

Buying a bike for its frame is the best option for those who dislike the standard components. As you will be stripping out those components anyway, I'd buy a secondhand one. Why? Unlikely you'd be able to sell the low spec components anyway so why pay for something you will not use?

Sure, there will be scratches here and there, unless they are real bad, but you can negotiate the price down. I have in the past managed to get Ultegra staff secondhand as well, low kms, so all up you end up with a very nice bike.

KenC's suggestions may suit him but not to most of us. I can't see the point with buying a cheap bike
to upgrade or actually building one from scratch. Maybe he has very good design and welding skills, which is great. But even so, what do you have at the end of the day? A unique bike only suitable to oneself. I'd much prefer one that has a wider pool of potential buyers so it will retain some value.

At the end of the day, we can discuss as much as we like, some comments will appeal to some but not others, vise versa.
Str33tBoY
post Mar 7 2018, 03:06 PM

1,874 posts

I like to do some survey before buying...
Although is quite time comsuming...
Almost adi lar,jz hope that someone selling their used one with nice price...
So that i can start from there...
Java pro 3,fit or ira...

Thx for all d info for dahon speed...
How bout comparing with speed falco?
Same frame? Limited edition?

Btw,how bout if i bought a used pro 3...
And a fnhon storm frame to change...
Izit ok?

This post has been edited by Str33tBoY: Mar 7 2018, 03:06 PM
fatani
post Mar 7 2018, 03:32 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 7 2018, 02:06 PM)
I like to do some survey before buying...
Although is quite time comsuming...
Almost adi lar,jz hope that someone selling their used one with nice price...
So that i can start from there...
Java pro 3,fit or ira...

Thx for all d info for dahon speed...
How bout comparing with speed falco?
Same frame? Limited edition?

Btw,how bout if i bought a used pro 3...
And a fnhon storm frame to change...
Izit ok?
up to you bro. u really need to make up your mind. laugh.gif in the end, we're all only sharing infos based on our experience, and preference. the final decision is yours. flex.gif

about the falco question, i think etigge already answered that in the previous post thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by fatani: Mar 7 2018, 03:32 PM
Str33tBoY
post Mar 7 2018, 04:26 PM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Mar 7 2018, 03:32 PM)
up to you bro. u really need to make up your mind.  laugh.gif in the end, we're all only sharing infos based on our experience, and preference. the final decision is yours. flex.gif

about the falco question, i think etigge already answered that in the previous post :thumbsup:
Thx a lot for pointing out bro...
Reali miss out that one...
Noted for that...

188 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:26 PM