Nov 25 2017, 09:35 PM
78 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(desastar @ Nov 25 2017, 01:18 PM) Not sure if you are serious...... Actually, nothing much can go wrong with any bicycle.You are comparing two different things here and depending on who is pedaling. A Brompton world champion rider is probably faster than most riders on any bike. The electric bike would be much slower if the battery is about to expire. Depending on what is want the bike for. Neither may be suitable. Nothing much can go wrong with a Brompton. If you can't lubricate a chain, then there's the problem |
Nov 26 2017, 03:10 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
hey guys,
i'm looking where to buy tern kanga rack, rodalink, kimbell jaya and bb&s have no stock. anyone got lubang where to buy them? if not, got recommended alternative for kanga rack also nice |
Nov 27 2017, 08:39 AM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
happy holiday everyone!
![]() |
Nov 27 2017, 12:06 PM
36 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
need to source from overseas, rodalink stop bringing in all tern accessories.
QUOTE(abeite @ Nov 26 2017, 03:10 PM) |
Nov 27 2017, 06:09 PM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(lazyman@home @ Nov 25 2017, 09:08 AM) superb paint job, especially the front part. so much details to admire. Sorry for the delay. My line is out for the past few days. Easy to swap the cables, no need to take out the levers too. Just compress the two sides of the calipers and then take out the noodle (no need to loosen the cable clamp) . Once this is done, there will be freeplay of the cables and then you can take out the cables aligning the slot and then change sides and reverse back the procedure to put back the cables. Easy, assuming if yours is V-brakes , off course.sifu i want to ask, my bike come with brake setting that is not my favor, which is, right lever brake FRONT, and left lever brake REAR. What is the method to swap it? pull out the cables? BTW, how u paint the front part? so nice I described the painting job step by step on my previous comment. Just scroll back. I am suprised that no one here actually replied this question about reversing the brake levers side. Come lah, be a helpful community. |
Nov 27 2017, 07:42 PM
111 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Hey guys. Any recommended shops in Penang to change inner tube? Cause when I bought my Polygon Urbano 3.0 back in 2011 I rmb the uncle told me not many shops have the tubes for it?
Nov 27 2017, 07:53 PM
27 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(lazyman@home @ Nov 25 2017, 09:08 AM) superb paint job, especially the front part. so much details to admire. Just swap your brake lever...sifu i want to ask, my bike come with brake setting that is not my favor, which is, right lever brake FRONT, and left lever brake REAR. What is the method to swap it? pull out the cables? BTW, how u paint the front part? so nice |
Nov 27 2017, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Nov 27 2017, 07:53 PM) That's another way but you have to take off the shifters and then take off the brake levers to shift sides. This is easy but if you have those bar grips which are not lock on grips, meaning those that need to be screwed tight, it is a pain to get them off the handle bars without an air compressor. For me , easier to loosen the brake calipers and switch the cables. |
Nov 27 2017, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(chengyue @ Nov 27 2017, 07:42 PM) Hey guys. Any recommended shops in Penang to change inner tube? Cause when I bought my Polygon Urbano 3.0 back in 2011 I rmb the uncle told me not many shops have the tubes for it? Back in 2011, folding bikes are not popular but it is a different story now. It's available anywhere. Funny though, what your LBS fella says, those 'ah chim' bicycles are also 20 inch bikes and as far as I remember, the 20 inch inner tubes are available since my schooling days in Penang and that's 40 years ago. Although brands like Schwalbes or Maxxis or Panaracers might not be common but common ones are aplenty.It is also very certain that Penang LBS are selling inner tubes at a very expensive price. It's averaging about RM15 and sometimes RM12 can be had for a Kenda inner tube on the mainland but I have heard of Penang LBS selling at RM25 on the island. You should learn to change the tubes on your own as you will need that knowledge when you are riding. It's not hard, watch Youtube. This fella in Trengganu Road sells at RM17.50. https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/278204/kend...5-sv-valve-type |
Nov 28 2017, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(chengyue @ Nov 27 2017, 07:42 PM) Hey guys. Any recommended shops in Penang to change inner tube? Cause when I bought my Polygon Urbano 3.0 back in 2011 I rmb the uncle told me not many shops have the tubes for it? Not all tires are made the same. You need to know what tire size you are using. It is printed/moulded on the tire side wall.Come back with your tire size and we'll see how to fix it. #ps, tire size denotation is very confusing, for example 1.0 and 1 are not the same thing and 1.5 is not 1-1/2. You need to be very precise with the numbers. This post has been edited by KenC: Nov 28 2017, 01:29 AM |
Nov 28 2017, 11:14 AM
36 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i belong to the 90s generation of 20" wheel (mini) bike, we would soup it up and ride in gang of 50 plus around town.
i guess we are nuisance to public at that time. |
Nov 28 2017, 12:36 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
484 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 27 2017, 06:09 PM) Sorry for the delay. My line is out for the past few days. Easy to swap the cables, no need to take out the levers too. Just compress the two sides of the calipers and then take out the noodle (no need to loosen the cable clamp) . Once this is done, there will be freeplay of the cables and then you can take out the cables aligning the slot and then change sides and reverse back the procedure to put back the cables. Easy, assuming if yours is V-brakes , off course. Hi sifu etigge, I managed to swap it, using the same method as you said. Yes, is v brake. I also surprised by how easy it is. Maybe too easy so people don't bother to reply.. my fault for not looking at internet first. ,I described the painting job step by step on my previous comment. Just scroll back. I am suprised that no one here actually replied this question about reversing the brake levers side. Come lah, be a helpful community. |
Nov 29 2017, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 28 2017, 02:17 AM) Not all tires are made the same. You need to know what tire size you are using. It is printed/moulded on the tire side wall. Hi. Its 20 x 1.50 . So any recommendation on shops in Penang? Or reasonable price rangeCome back with your tire size and we'll see how to fix it. #ps, tire size denotation is very confusing, for example 1.0 and 1 are not the same thing and 1.5 is not 1-1/2. You need to be very precise with the numbers. |
Nov 29 2017, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(chengyue @ Nov 29 2017, 07:17 PM) 20x1.50" is very common. You sure your friendly neighborhood bicycle shop doesn't carry stock?Can always buy online. Ask a few more. Maybe you were unlucky the 1st time round. |
Nov 29 2017, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 29 2017, 09:15 PM) 20x1.50" is very common. You sure your friendly neighborhood bicycle shop doesn't carry stock? I don't think there's any around my neighborhood. I live in northern part of Pg. As I'm new to bike stuffs, I'm afraid I got overcharged.Can always buy online. Ask a few more. Maybe you were unlucky the 1st time round. |
Nov 29 2017, 09:26 PM
148 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
hi all, i have a Raleigh Ugo with 20 inch wheels n Shimano 7 rear Derailleur (no front Derailleur, front is 52T Alloy Crank). initially i was always using 4th to 5th gears for my normal flat road cycling. Thank god , after few months i have build some muscles and im always using the 7th gear now.
Problem is, i cant seem to go any faster now with my gears. i was thinking to modify my front to have a 3 gear Derailleur. or change the front crank to a bigger size. any advice? |
Nov 29 2017, 09:31 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Nov 30 2017, 03:23 AM
QUOTE(MechaLEE @ Nov 29 2017, 09:26 PM) hi all, i have a Raleigh Ugo with 20 inch wheels n Shimano 7 rear Derailleur (no front Derailleur, front is 52T Alloy Crank). initially i was always using 4th to 5th gears for my normal flat road cycling. Thank god , after few months i have build some muscles and im always using the 7th gear now. 3 things you can do to increase your speedProblem is, i cant seem to go any faster now with my gears. i was thinking to modify my front to have a 3 gear Derailleur. or change the front crank to a bigger size. any advice? 1) increase your cadance by spinning faster. (free of charge) 2) change your rear cog set to one with 11 teeth. (what is your rear cog set teeth? I presume it's 14-28t) will cost you money 3) increase your front chain ring to anything bigger than 52T. will cost you money too as you can see, using a 3 chain ring Crankset wasn't in the list. (unless one of the chainring is bigger than 52T.) number of speed doesn't make your bike faster… This post has been edited by KenC: Nov 30 2017, 03:42 AM |
Nov 30 2017, 03:27 AM
QUOTE(chengyue @ Nov 29 2017, 08:25 PM) I don't think there's any around my neighborhood. I live in northern part of Pg. As I'm new to bike stuffs, I'm afraid I got overcharged. Can't help you with that. let's see anyone in your neighborhood will drop a line here.I not familiar with Penang. *ps, BMX tire also use this tire size This post has been edited by KenC: Nov 30 2017, 03:39 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0312sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:19 AM |