Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

azamunekurone
post Jun 20 2018, 11:26 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 19 2018, 03:01 PM)
Just to share a bit of experience, even though you guys might get a good riding angle on the web,  you still need to test it out riding the bike. I tested mine on the roller, and after a while, i started to feel pain on my shoulder and my lower back, which indicates that the stem is probably too long. You have to take account on how much your elbow is bent becoz that will determine how relaxed your shoulder will be.

I switched back to shorter stem and adjust the fore aft of the saddle to get a better angle of my wrist-shoulder-hip. Recommended angle is 90°. Hip-knee-ankle should be around 25-30°, but some fitter recommended 33-48° which i find more comfortable for higher cadence pedalling.

50mm 5° stem.
In the drop and on the hood. My shoulder is more relaxed and the aero position isnt too bad.
u were lucky bro nowdays very easy to find DiY bike fitting software or atleast find a good bike fitter locally. last 5 years ago when i need to fitting my bike, i dont have any software to do it. i ask many cyclist, pro-rider, bike mechanics and even local shop sellers. it took me nearly 2-3 years to understand fully what i need on my 1st bike setup.

last time i just done basic measurement from saddle to handlepost & handlebar. after that i measure the seatpost to handlepost. my race fitting is 53cm with 11cm stem (that is 64cm from seatpost to handlebar) but i drop around 2-6cm for comfort setup (fyi my height is 178cm)

all my handlepost are low for more aero and i cant use upright position/relaxed.if ur getting low aero position handlepost, dont used longer stem as it will give u more pain at the back. the setup for dropbar a bit different coz got reach and drop measurement besides the sizing. my best measurement for dropbar is by calculating the distance from seatpost to shifter hood. all my flatbar also already been cut to suite me.

as for leg (cleat/shoe etc) and saddle setup, i just plug in and later test it whats the best position for me..

i usually test the setup over 100km or at least 50km. why test so far?this becoz, after 50/100km u will feel the pain as ur body already drain all ur energy and need the best position to continue the journey.

after the hard work, time and money consume over the years i had acheive good setup by expirience that suites me even though i still need to learn many things about fitting. as for now i've done basic bike fitting (my own style) to all of my bike.

IMHO, besides software and all those professional bike fitter consultancy, the best setup is through testing on the road and later u will gain expirience and understand more.l what is ur need.
fatani
post Jun 24 2018, 10:20 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 20 2018, 10:26 PM)
IMHO, besides software and all those professional bike fitter consultancy, the best setup is through testing on the road and later u will gain expirience and understand more.l what is ur need.
Agreed. finally got the chance to test ride it today. My shoulder is fine, no pain, comfortable, but my back is still suffering. Now scratching my head thinking of what more i need to adjust, or whether it was due to my body still not getting used to the new riding posture. Got a bit knee pain ( front area), but i think by setting up the seat height and cleat would probably fix the issue. What trouble me is the backache prob. Im already on the shortest stem. Fening
Jase
post Jun 25 2018, 10:29 AM

100 posts

Hi all sifu,

My and wife decided to try cycling with foldies. Visited Kimbell Jaya last saturday and then I started reading up as much as I could here. A young chap at Kimbell was pushing Dahon and he said they are better than Tern and Java.

After visiting more shops...i.e. USJ, JW, and 2 shops in Pandan/Ampang area...I found myself even more confused. Too many choices -dahon, tern, XDS, Java, trinx, 360, etc.

Just curious, are Kimbell and Bike Malaysia the same people? Was checking BBS as well. Location seems to be similar but wondering why marketed under different name.

dilgoh
post Jun 26 2018, 06:36 PM

QUOTE(Jase @ Jun 25 2018, 10:29 AM)
Hi all sifu,

My and wife decided to try cycling with foldies. Visited Kimbell Jaya last saturday and then I started reading up as much as I could here. A young chap at Kimbell was pushing Dahon and he said they are better than Tern and Java.

After visiting more shops...i.e. USJ, JW, and 2 shops in Pandan/Ampang area...I found myself even more confused. Too many choices -dahon, tern, XDS, Java, trinx, 360, etc.

Just curious, are Kimbell and Bike Malaysia the same people? Was checking BBS as well. Location seems to be similar but wondering why marketed under different name.
I don't believe in which is better. You have to try the bikes for yourself and see which one you prefer/like.

I have tried Brompton, Dahon, Tern, and others and eventually settled on a Dahon as I like the comfort of the bike I eventually bought. Even if another brand has better specs but you don't feel comfortable on it, it's not 'better'.
Justin.Loong
post Jun 27 2018, 09:02 AM

8,327 posts

QUOTE(Jase @ Jun 25 2018, 10:29 AM)
Hi all sifu,

It depends on your preference and requirements actually.
And also your rapport with the LBS. biggrin.gif
I eventually bought a Tern Eclipse because it has an 11 speed cassette with Ultegra RD, disc brakes and big wheels. brows.gif nod.gif
azamunekurone
post Jun 27 2018, 06:47 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 24 2018, 10:20 PM)
Agreed. finally got the chance to test ride it today. My shoulder is fine, no pain, comfortable, but my back is still suffering. Now scratching my head thinking of what more i need to adjust, or whether it was due to my body still not getting used to the new riding posture. Got a bit knee pain ( front area), but i think by setting up the seat height and cleat would probably fix the issue. What trouble me is the backache prob. Im already on the shortest stem. Fening
which side of back u got pain?
usually upper back bcoz of ur handle/stem position. but if on lower back, maybe the inseam calculation or saddle position.

try n error bro, thats why i said need to cycle more than 50km to feel the impact..
fatani
post Jun 27 2018, 10:09 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 27 2018, 05:47 PM)
which side of back u got pain?
usually upper back bcoz of ur handle/stem position. but if on lower back, maybe the inseam calculation or saddle position.

try n error bro, thats why i said need to cycle more than 50km to feel the impact..
a lil bit upper than lower back. yeap, i already shortened the length of the seatpost and tilt the saddle a lil bit. man, it's kinda upright now. i guess i couldnt make my riding position more agressive anymore, due to the seat height is almost level with the handlebar. just have to make do with endurance style fitting..haha.. havent got the chance to test ride yet.

rb jugak la nnt kan. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by fatani: Jun 27 2018, 10:11 PM
Str33tBoY
post Jul 7 2018, 11:07 AM

1,874 posts

Thinking of getting another better better folding bike with better parts...
Prefer d dolphine type frame as it look very nice...
Which brand produced d better dolphine frame ya?
azamunekurone
post Jul 9 2018, 08:19 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jul 7 2018, 11:07 AM)
Thinking of getting another better better folding bike with better parts...
Prefer d dolphine type frame as it look very nice...
Which brand produced d better dolphine frame ya?
complete bike?
dahon vigor & tern verge/eclipse

frame only?
fnhon tornado & crius
azamunekurone
post Jul 9 2018, 08:45 PM

140 posts

nothing beats the good vybe from weekend workout

thinksimple
post Jul 10 2018, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 9 2018, 08:19 PM)
complete bike?
dahon vigor & tern verge/eclipse

frame only?
fnhon tornado & crius
Are Tern frames worthwhile to get the full bike versus Fnhon frames?

Currently I have a foldie. Thinking of switching to dolphin frame too.

This post has been edited by thinksimple: Jul 10 2018, 12:19 PM
azamunekurone
post Jul 10 2018, 05:59 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(thinksimple @ Jul 10 2018, 12:18 PM)
Are Tern frames worthwhile to get the full bike versus Fnhon frames?

Currently I have a foldie. Thinking of switching to dolphin frame too.
can ask tcb2010

he already got the fnhon tornado frame. i also had setup fnhon tornado for my friend.feel good and on par with the tern accept on the handlepost part.

imho,
u can get the cheapest verge frame that is verge n8 or get the used verge bike. swap the component and sell ur current folding bike. the best part about tern is the 3d handlepost. its heavy, but very sturd, stable and stiff compare to others. other than that, the locking mechanism are better than dahon. other part is not a big deal for me.

if u dont want to get the verge, u also can get the 3d handlepost at rodalink with cost less than rm600. whistling.gif
Str33tBoY
post Jul 10 2018, 11:08 PM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 10 2018, 05:59 PM)
can ask tcb2010

he already got the fnhon tornado frame. i also had setup fnhon tornado for my friend.feel good and on par with the tern accept on the handlepost part.

imho,
u can get the cheapest verge frame that is verge n8 or get the used verge bike. swap the component and sell ur current folding bike. the best part about tern is the 3d handlepost. its heavy, but very sturd, stable and stiff compare to others. other than that, the locking mechanism are better than dahon. other part is not a big deal for me.

if u dont want to get the verge, u also can get the 3d handlepost at rodalink with cost less than rm600. whistling.gif
Thx bro...
Ya,looking for frame only...
Thinking to slap a latest 105 groupset in it...
Maybe a 406 wheelset,cause feel like d 451 on my java pro3 is kinda limited for d route...
Btw,where to get d Fnhon Tornado Frame for Cheap?

This post has been edited by Str33tBoY: Jul 10 2018, 11:31 PM
tcb2010
post Jul 11 2018, 10:35 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jul 10 2018, 11:08 PM)
Thx bro...
Ya,looking for frame only...
Thinking to slap a latest 105 groupset in it...
Maybe a 406 wheelset,cause feel like d 451 on my java pro3 is kinda limited for d route...
Btw,where to get d Fnhon Tornado Frame for Cheap?
Hi Str33tboy,

Saw Sifu Azam mentioned bout me gotten the frame.
It's also partly due to Azam posted the Fnhon Tornado that he setup earlier that got me interested as well.

Yeah, its a great looking frame..love the Verge looks, and as i can't afford a Verge, this is the closest i can get to it.
So far has been using it like maybe 3 weeks ..and i dont have any issues with it like creaks, flexy or poor fold mechanism.
I ride almost everyday on it on short distance (total +/-200km so far) ..so i have a bit of run time on it to comment a little.

Compared to my Dahon Vitesse, i felt its more agile, feels lighter on foot and definitely stiffer. Can't say if that is actually better but different. Geometry is a bit different.

I also inspected the the frame and its folding clasp, and i can say that i like the construction of the frame and feels up there with my Dahon..based on my limited experience. I agree with what Azam said about the good quality of the frame.
Only time will tell if it holds up well, but even Dahons still faced creaks issue and need tuning once a while.

I was tinkering with 451 wheelset idea for future, and ur thinking the other swithing to 406..haha.

You can PM me anytime if u wanna know more and will gladly help. I also gain knowledge from the sifus here.
I bought the frame from a FB seller, and i can direct you to him if ur interested in Fnhon Tornado or Crius Velocity.

Also, Azam's recommendation on getting the cheaper Verge variant sounds good too, if u really want a Tern name on it.

Str33tBoY
post Jul 11 2018, 11:54 AM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jul 11 2018, 10:35 AM)
Hi Str33tboy,

Saw Sifu Azam mentioned bout me gotten the frame.
It's also partly due to Azam posted the Fnhon Tornado that he setup earlier that got me interested as well.

Yeah, its a great looking frame..love the Verge looks, and as i can't afford a Verge, this is the closest i can get to it.
So far has been using it like maybe 3 weeks ..and i dont have any issues with it like creaks, flexy or poor fold mechanism.
I ride almost everyday on it on short distance (total +/-200km so far) ..so i have a bit of run time on it to  comment a little.

Compared to my Dahon Vitesse, i felt its more agile, feels lighter on foot and definitely stiffer. Can't say if that is actually better but different. Geometry is a bit different.

I also inspected the the frame and its folding clasp, and i can say that i like the construction of the frame and feels up there with my Dahon..based on my limited experience. I agree with what Azam said about the good quality of the frame.
Only time will tell if it holds up well, but even Dahons still faced creaks issue and need tuning once a while.

I was tinkering with 451 wheelset idea for future, and ur thinking the other swithing to 406..haha.

You can PM me anytime if u wanna know more and will gladly help. I also gain knowledge from the sifus here.
I bought the frame from a FB seller, and i can direct you to him if ur interested in Fnhon Tornado or Crius Velocity.

Also, Azam's recommendation on getting the cheaper Verge variant sounds good too, if u really want a Tern name on it.
we discuss in pm bro...
thinksimple
post Jul 11 2018, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 10 2018, 05:59 PM)
can ask tcb2010

https://i.imgur.com/0KkpB2K.jpg 

imho,

Will settle for fnhon 3d handlepost instead. Haha

This post has been edited by thinksimple: Jul 11 2018, 01:34 PM
azamunekurone
post Jul 11 2018, 02:55 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(thinksimple @ Jul 11 2018, 01:33 PM)
Will settle for fnhon 3d handlepost instead. Haha
tested the fnhon 3d handlepost, not as stiff like tern.. also my friend experience the squeeking sound sweat.gif
Str33tBoY
post Jul 11 2018, 04:29 PM

1,874 posts

Btw,how bout crius frame?
As d boss pushes me crius frame,tornado currently out of stock...
But can order...
tcb2010
post Jul 11 2018, 05:53 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jul 11 2018, 04:29 PM)
Btw,how bout crius frame?
As d boss pushes me crius frame,tornado currently out of stock...
But can order...
Looks very close to Tornado frame..maybe made by the same factory.

Check out this site : The guy is currently building this frame set

https://handsonbike.blogspot.com/p/crius-aev20.html
Str33tBoY
post Jul 11 2018, 08:46 PM

1,874 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jul 11 2018, 05:53 PM)
Looks very close to Tornado frame..maybe made by the same factory.

Check out this site : The guy is currently building this frame set

https://handsonbike.blogspot.com/p/crius-aev20.html
ic,design wise...
i think fnhon is slightly better...
and i dun like red...
so maybe will skip crius...
tern verge in SG is kinda cheap...
i think dis 2 might be main option,leaning toward to tornado...

188 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0441sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:29 AM