Any comments/reviews on the Travelo FS-S 20speed touring bike?
Riding a Dahon Speed P8 currently.
Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion
Dec 21 2017, 09:47 AM
4 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Any comments/reviews on the Travelo FS-S 20speed touring bike?
Riding a Dahon Speed P8 currently. |
Dec 21 2017, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 21 2017, 10:30 AM) It's basically a Tern Verge frame (could be the same or even a lookalike) with full Litepro components and Shimano Deore mountain bike components. It model is actually the 10 speed based and if you want 20, they add in the front derailleur and extra chain ring. I don't know how they describe it as touring bike but that's not impossible to do it with the Travelo. I do know a fact hat Litepro components are usually made for weight weenies , although good , they can never stand the harshness of touring. The Deore is a proven component for touring though, it's rugged. Can't expect it to not be as it is made for mountain biking Thanks for the write up! Much appreciated. I rather get the Lite Pro components (touring friendly ie. front/back rack) or the Biologics and get the Shimano roadbike crank and slap tougher chain rings and choose the cassette which should be 11/36T for touring and mod it on the Speed P8. One thing the Travelo can't beat the Speed P8 is the frame which is chromoly and this is the wonder metal for touring. If the reason is ANOTHER bike for touring while keeping the former as a ride around bike, I rather get another sportier model, maybe like a real Tern Verge and mod the Dahon as a tourer. Come to Taiping, there's still a place where you can slap in the SRAM dual drive ,3 gear rear hubs and convert your Dahon into the Dahon tourer 24 speed. Only RM1200 for the conversion. ![]() I biked from Pittsburgh to DC and 8 speed works for that trip. Still thinking about upgrading the speed. I'll think about it for a bit more. No plans to really tour now. Maybe short trips like Osaka to Kyoto, etc and Busan to Seoul. I think current set up works for trips like these. How long will the conversion take? Just in case I decided to go ahead and I'll have to make the trip. |
Dec 23 2017, 03:33 PM
Jan 4 2018, 01:29 PM
Heart itchy, feel like getting another foldie (Brompton). Please tell me that my Dahon Speed P8 is the best and that I shouldn't spend money on another foldie!
How useful is a (Tern) chain guide? This post has been edited by dilgoh: Jan 4 2018, 01:46 PM |
Jan 4 2018, 05:00 PM
I went to have a look at the Brompton during my lunch hour. I held it and it doesn't feel lighter than the Speed P8. Actually, no pull factors for me to get the Brompton also. Just thinking.... Just thinking.... I think I'll save my money
Jan 17 2018, 08:40 PM
etigge, you wanna build a new foldie for me?
I want a foldie like the Dahon Speed P8 but small enough to fit into the Ikea Dimpa bag! Basically I want a good touring bike which is comfortable and compact enough to check in for flights (max overall dimension 158cm). |
Jan 18 2018, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 17 2018, 09:32 PM) Frankly though. for a person like myself, I can actually half dismantle the folding bike and fit everything in a Samsonite case. Just take off two wheels, release the handlebar (make sure you get QC type). Fold or take out the pedals. Use 1 inch thick sponge (like those used for tiling works, sold in hardware stores) and sandwich to prevent scratching or dents. Easy to push around and no worries for baggage handling. You just need to know some bike maintenance, that's all. Can be easily learned. I'll PM you. A hard case don't work for me. My start and end points are always different. I brought my foldie to the US. Biked from Pittsburgh to DC. Carrying the bicycle + luggage/backpack after a long flight, from the airport to the apartment, on the subway was exhausting!If you want me to do up a bike, I am all for it. Very free nowadays. I want to bike in Europe and the cheaper fares are on the European carriers and they have a strict baggage overall dimension of 158cm. If I can afford to take Singapore Airlines, I won't have to worry about the baggage dimension. Then, I rather pay for oversized baggage on the airline than to pay so much more for a Brompton! This post has been edited by dilgoh: Jan 18 2018, 11:06 AM |
Jan 19 2018, 02:55 PM
Jan 20 2018, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(KenC @ Jan 20 2018, 02:02 AM) Dilgoh never specify price, he only mention specific bag. PikaT is only 2+k usd cheaper than a trip to Europe or US. Lol. My 10 to 14 days to Europe has always been less than S$2k all inclusive. My last trip to the US (3 months) was less than S$4k all inclusive. I don't want to spend on a brompton thus I want/intend to cuatom build a smaller foldie.This post has been edited by dilgoh: Jan 20 2018, 11:58 AM |
Jan 25 2018, 09:40 AM
etigge, you have done Busan to Seoul or Seoul to Busan? Which direction is 'easier'? I read that there's some climbing.....
Jun 26 2018, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(Jase @ Jun 25 2018, 10:29 AM) Hi all sifu, I don't believe in which is better. You have to try the bikes for yourself and see which one you prefer/like.My and wife decided to try cycling with foldies. Visited Kimbell Jaya last saturday and then I started reading up as much as I could here. A young chap at Kimbell was pushing Dahon and he said they are better than Tern and Java. After visiting more shops...i.e. USJ, JW, and 2 shops in Pandan/Ampang area...I found myself even more confused. Too many choices -dahon, tern, XDS, Java, trinx, 360, etc. Just curious, are Kimbell and Bike Malaysia the same people? Was checking BBS as well. Location seems to be similar but wondering why marketed under different name. I have tried Brompton, Dahon, Tern, and others and eventually settled on a Dahon as I like the comfort of the bike I eventually bought. Even if another brand has better specs but you don't feel comfortable on it, it's not 'better'. |
Dec 20 2018, 05:31 PM
Anyone uses the Carradice Camper Longflap without a mount, on his/her folding bike?
I want to get the Camper Longflap but not sure if I should get the Bagman mount. |
| Change to: | 0.1186sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:24 PM |