6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

using normal diesel for euro 5 diesel vehicle, What happens?

rcracer
post Jul 25 2017, 09:48 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Actually DPF regen is not dependant on exhaust velocity but temperature , the regen is about burning off the deposits not blowing it out

Truck regens are more sophisticated and they will have a pre DPF and post DPF temperature sensor , differential pressure sensor but not exhaust velocity sensor

In an active regen , the engine revs up between 1500-2000 rpm only not more. Driving on highway achieves the same conditions , constant RPM and enough exhaust temperature under load. These highway runs do not use extra injected fuel , just the temperature is sufficient.

In a stationary regen extra diesel is injected because at idle the engine doesn't have enough load so some extra diesel is needed to boost the temperatures
TSmystvearn
post Jul 26 2017, 01:58 PM

6,639 posts

I finally found an owner of the new Carnival using Euro2M almost exclusively in Kelantan. 6k km (2 months), nothing wrong with vehicle. So I guess the 2.2L engine can withstand abuse?
wkc5657
post Jul 26 2017, 02:11 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 26 2017, 01:58 PM)
I finally found an owner of the new Carnival using Euro2M almost exclusively in Kelantan. 6k km (2 months), nothing wrong with vehicle. So I guess the 2.2L engine can withstand abuse?
My family owned santa fe diesel used euro2 diesel for the 1st 60k+ km (4+ years), no problem pun. Being diesel, the engine oil go black very fast (saturated with more soot).

So either change engine oil more frequently, or use good quality diesel engine specific engine oil.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jul 26 2017, 02:12 PM
TSmystvearn
post Jul 26 2017, 02:32 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 26 2017, 02:11 PM)
My family owned santa fe diesel used euro2 diesel for the 1st 60k+ km (4+ years), no problem pun. Being diesel, the engine oil go black very fast (saturated with more soot).

So either change engine oil more frequently, or use good quality diesel engine specific engine oil.
How frequent compared to petrol car?
wkc5657
post Jul 26 2017, 02:48 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 26 2017, 02:32 PM)
How frequent compared to petrol car?
Under warranty, so change every 5000km. The last change was around 7500km, using 15w-40 ZIC semi synthetic HDEO. After that, used Kendall Super-D 10w-30 semi synthetic for 8000km before selling the car off.
TSmystvearn
post Jul 26 2017, 03:04 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 26 2017, 02:48 PM)
Under warranty, so change every 5000km. The last change was around 7500km, using 15w-40 ZIC semi synthetic HDEO. After that, used Kendall Super-D 10w-30 semi synthetic for 8000km before selling the car off.
wkc5657
post Jul 26 2017, 03:11 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 26 2017, 03:04 PM)
In short, other than mazda skyactive diesel range and some continental diesels, 99% of the rest would work fine with euro2 diesels.

Euro2 exhaust stinks more and can see more smoke.

While euro5 exhaust is less smelly and the exhaust smoke is much reduced.
TSmystvearn
post Jul 26 2017, 05:00 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 26 2017, 03:11 PM)
In short, other than mazda skyactive diesel range and some continental diesels, 99% of the rest would work fine with euro2 diesels.

Euro2 exhaust stinks more and can see more smoke.

While euro5 exhaust is less smelly and the exhaust smoke is much reduced.
oh well. What to do laugh.gif . Thanks everyone for all the feedback
lurvep34c3
post Dec 5 2017, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 25 2017, 03:09 AM)
All diesel can work with conventional euro 2m. It does not mean if you use euro 2m it's a direct death to the engine. My group has a owner who shares the same engine as the new sorento and clocked over 300k with mix fuel both euro 5 and 2m. Engine is still strong pushing out close to 600nm and 230hp. So the myth for instant death is debunked.

Running euro 5 means you will provide a cleaner fuel to minimize clogs on high impedance piezo injectors. The engine for sorento, is same as Santa Fe and same as karnival shares the same design of injector where it is non serviceable. You can try to use those ultrasonic cleaners but most people would recommend a full set change which is costly. Again this can be mitigated by using bluechem injector cleaners. Hyundai is offering this product as base cleaner during each service interval.

For dpf, the carbon sludge is subjected to high heat to be burnt off as carbon powder. You don't need to drive on expressway to flush the clogged dpf. Just rev the car at a high rpm and hold for a few seconds. The high velocity will push the debris out.

Lastly EGR do no operate when the engine is on load. So if you're on idle or cruising and using a cleaner fuel, there is much lesser smog being inhaled back. Ultimately you can reflash to delete egr or use the crude way of blanking off the egr from the intake.

To ts, there is nothing to worry about Diesel engine.
However the conventional euro 2m is still a slow death? seeing euro 5 can minimise future damage to the injectors?
or that depends on the type of car and engine one have to know if it should be euro 2m or euro 5?
hushushhush
post Dec 5 2017, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(Quebuscas @ Dec 5 2017, 02:56 AM)
No, but pointless

Euro 5 means the sulphur ppm, after burning less soot or smoke

Only new cars with vgt, egr, dpf required euro 5

If put euro 2, the soot will be problematic in modern diesel

Make the vgt stuck, egr blocks  dpf block, engine oil more black

Putting high rpm isn't the way to purge the soot out, because no load

Best way is go genting full throttle
'Only new cars with vgt, egr, dpf required euro 5'
but how about older cars then? Euro 5 or just euro 2
since engine is already old so euro 2 save money right
worst is just overhaul
b4d4a55
post Dec 5 2017, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(roocarroll @ Jul 21 2017, 10:41 PM)
I normally use Euro5 in my Ranger but it's not always available. I don't notice any difference driving on Euro2 but I guess it's not good for the engine or environment.

If a car only takes Euro5, I wouldn't buy it. You can't be sure that you can get it in Malaysia and you don't want to run out of fuel in a diesel.
nobody would want to be stuck nowhere without any fuel
regardless petrol or diesel, still inconvenient for any drivers
though euro 2 is easily available but seems latest diesel tech is always preferable
roocarroll
post Dec 5 2017, 09:00 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(b4d4a55 @ Dec 5 2017, 04:29 PM)
nobody would want to be stuck nowhere without any fuel
regardless petrol or diesel, still inconvenient for any drivers
though euro 2 is easily available but seems latest diesel tech is always preferable
Running out of diesel is much worse than running out of petrol. If you run out of petrol, you can get some more and your vehicle will run just fine. If you run out of diesel, the entire fuel system needs to be bled by a mechanic.
Vervain
post Dec 5 2017, 11:23 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Quebuscas @ Dec 5 2017, 02:56 AM)
No, but pointless

Euro 5 means the sulphur ppm, after burning less soot or smoke

Only new cars with vgt, egr, dpf required euro 5

If put euro 2, the soot will be problematic in modern diesel

Make the vgt stuck, egr blocks  dpf block, engine oil more black

Putting high rpm isn't the way to purge the soot out, because no load

Best way is go genting full throttle
Incorrect. It's newer common rail direct injection recommends Euro 5 fuel as the engine operates at complex magnitude and controlling precise curling to ensure minimal smog. They can still run conventional euro 2.

QUOTE(lurvep34c3 @ Dec 5 2017, 03:35 PM)
However the conventional euro 2m is still a slow death? seeing euro 5 can minimise future damage to the injectors?
or that depends on the type of car and engine one have to know if it should be euro 2m or euro 5?
Its just like smoking. You know it's bad. But the side effect differs to people. Preventive measures like running injector cleaners etc can help prolong the life span but does not ensure longetivvity.

QUOTE(hushushhush @ Dec 5 2017, 04:18 PM)
'Only new cars with vgt, egr, dpf required euro 5'
but how about older cars then? Euro 5 or just euro 2
since engine is already old so euro 2 save money right
worst is just overhaul
You rarely see diesel cars overhaul due to long mileage because they don't run like normal petrol piston ring. The higher the pressure, the greater the seal.

QUOTE(roocarroll @ Dec 5 2017, 09:00 PM)
Running out of diesel is much worse than running out of petrol. If you run out of petrol, you can get some more and your vehicle will run just fine. If you run out of diesel, the entire fuel system needs to be bled by a mechanic.
No such nonsense. Just pump in euro 2. Nothing is going to fail. Don't be paranoid, even fifth gear also confirm that diesel engine can run on petrol. If you accidentally pour in gasoline, don't worry. Top up more diesel. You will feel your car run smoother but slight less power. After bleeding out all the gasoline, it will just run like normal.

I think everyone here has a misconception on modern diesel car. They are not as taufu as you think. You can run a full tank diesel on idle till it runs out of fuel under the hot sun, and still you won't risk on getting your engine gasket burn. Euro 2 is like smoking cigar, while euro 5 is like vape. I can say the most fragile part of the modern diesel engine is the injectors. Because they operated at high parameters and electronically controlled by fast pulse.
Eternalgl0ry
post Dec 6 2017, 01:21 AM

463 posts

euro 5 diesel will benefit

First your exhaust smoke will be more cleaner instead black. Going in Singapore will need euro 5 diesel only and the moment you get caught farting with black smoke. Prepare to get fine when you leave the singapore customs

My friend fetch me back from the airport back to malaysia and happened to him. The fine is SGD $ 150

You want proof and evidence ? they will show you on the spot with VIDEO also.

Second euro 5 diesel will be more better for your engine

If you use euro 2 diesel on euro 5 emission standard vehicle will most likely cause problems. Too many list from black smoke , dirty black stuffs stuck in the hoses and etc

This post has been edited by Eternalgl0ry: Dec 6 2017, 01:23 AM
rcracer
post Dec 6 2017, 06:41 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Quebuscas @ Dec 5 2017, 11:48 PM)
Anyone here wants to share where do you guys service your diesel engine? Particularly diesel injector and diesel fuel pump?

The workshop usually specializes in big lorry engine, but for sedan or 4x4 are quite rare

Especially, audi tdi, BMW diesel, Mercedes cdi, peugeot diesel.
Common rail system nothing much to service , if anything fails need to change because tolerances are too too fine , once the part has worn out you can't rebuild it

TSmystvearn
post Dec 6 2017, 07:34 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 5 2017, 11:23 PM)
Incorrect. It's newer common rail direct injection recommends Euro 5 fuel as the engine operates at complex magnitude and controlling precise curling to ensure minimal smog. They can still run conventional euro 2.
Its just like smoking. You know it's bad. But the side effect differs to people. Preventive measures like running injector cleaners etc can help prolong the life span but does not ensure longetivvity.
You rarely see diesel cars overhaul due to long mileage because they don't run like normal petrol piston ring. The higher the pressure, the greater the seal.
No such nonsense. Just pump in euro 2. Nothing is going to fail. Don't be paranoid, even fifth gear also confirm that diesel engine can run on petrol. If you accidentally pour in gasoline, don't worry. Top up more diesel. You will feel your car run smoother but slight less power. After bleeding out all the gasoline, it will just run like normal.
I think everyone here has a misconception on modern diesel car. They are not as taufu as you think. You can run a full tank diesel on idle till it runs out of fuel under the hot sun, and still you won't risk on getting your engine gasket burn. Euro 2 is like smoking cigar, while euro 5 is like vape. I can say the most fragile part of the modern diesel engine is the injectors. Because they operated at high parameters and electronically controlled by fast pulse.
Thanks for the info
rcracer
post Dec 6 2017, 08:30 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Quebuscas @ Dec 6 2017, 07:13 AM)
I asked before the parts can rebuild

Injector and pump

The worn parts need to trade in
If selling the car I think is okay, if keep long term just replace even if costly

I think old style mechanical injectors can be rebuilt but new piezo ultra fine ultra high pressure multi injection capable type can't be rebuilt

Same for ultra high pressure injection pump

This post has been edited by rcracer: Dec 6 2017, 08:33 AM
roocarroll
post Dec 6 2017, 09:50 AM

32 posts

You obviously didn't read my post but replied to it anyway.
wkc5657
post Dec 6 2017, 10:52 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(fakrulll @ Dec 4 2017, 09:29 PM)
how about pump euro5 diesel for old diesel engine vehicle?
will it damage the engine??
On the long term, maybe. Sulfur acts as lubricant for those older engineering.

even fifth gear also confirm that diesel engine can run on petrol. If you accidentally pour in gasoline, don't worry. Top up more diesel. You will feel your car run smoother but slight less power. After bleeding out all the gasoline, it will just run like normal.

Diesel is heavier than petrol, so it sits below petrol in the fuel tank where the fuel pump pickup usually sits. For those who actually did misfueld petrol into a diesel engine (small amounts, less than 25%), please continue to keep the tank above half and constantly top it up with diesel until the petrol portion fully vapourise (could take a few months). Diesel and petrol will not mix unless you add additives (usually those fuel system cleaners) that will mix them up.

Petrol and diesel lubricity is different, will damage the components if too much.
Vervain
post Dec 6 2017, 10:17 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Quebuscas @ Dec 5 2017, 11:48 PM)
Anyone here wants to share where do you guys service your diesel engine? Particularly diesel injector and diesel fuel pump?

The workshop usually specializes in big lorry engine, but for sedan or 4x4 are quite rare

Especially, audi tdi, BMW diesel, Mercedes cdi, peugeot diesel.
Service or cleaning injectors there are a few specialist whom have the machine. Some injectors can be rebuild however some arent. You have to be specific. My recommendation is to just replace new injectors if possible.

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 6 2017, 10:52 AM)
On the long term, maybe. Sulfur acts as lubricant for those older engineering.
Diesel is heavier than petrol, so it sits below petrol in the fuel tank where the fuel pump pickup usually sits. For those who actually did misfueld petrol into a diesel engine (small amounts, less than 25%), please continue to keep the tank above half and constantly top it up with diesel until the petrol portion fully vapourise (could take a few months). Diesel and petrol will not mix unless you add additives (usually those fuel system cleaners) that will mix them up.

Petrol and diesel lubricity is different, will damage the components if too much.
By density yes if you're stationary. But not during motion.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0209sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:55 PM