QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 25 2017, 03:09 AM)
You don't need to drive on expressway to flush the clogged dpf. Just rev the car at a high rpm and hold for a few seconds. The high velocity will push the debris out.
Idle revving does have the same effect as driving the car high speed. But few seconds really enough? What i read and understand was that it takes time to really burn off the crap in the DPF. And hence an extended drive at least once a week is a good practice.
I'm not sure how much is the bluechem solution cost, but i personally used this before on every 5000km, the cost is reasonable :
http://www.fasmoto.com/bardahl-crdi-cleaner?search=bardahlQUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 25 2017, 08:33 AM)
I don't think they disabled regen , heck they didn't even bother to switch tail lamps leaving it one eyed jack reverse lamp ala euro style.
My train of taught is that our weather is so hot , the engine always reaches operating temperature and exhaust gases temperature also always remains high so the brains says well all is good.
It's true there were many cases of oil level increasing in Mazda but mostly due to too many interrupted active regen. Most of them report the car driven very short distance and seldom reaches operating temperature. It happens quite often in winter , summer is from Monday to Thursday one week a year.
To spot an active regen is easy , your instantaneous fuel consumption read out will jump up , start stop disabled and rpm will raise , just let it finish and you're fine.
To be fair almost no salesman ever says anything about the DPF , they don't even know it's there or what is it.
But if there's is no DPF at all even better , you don't have to worry about anything but if it's there also no big deal
Ah i see.....
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 25 2017, 09:05 AM)
I see. It makes sense as our temperature is too hot. I have been in a 1980s Mercedes at -4C - -12C in winter. Need 20 mins just to warm up car until full operating temp. If driving anything below that the car's temp will drop and the car will stall.
My work daily commute is about 20km in stop-start traffic. Only go back to kampung (500+ km) like 3 times a year. Is it advisable for a diesel?
Diesel engines work best at long distance cruises, and where the fuel economy is better than petrol. In stop/start heavy traffic, there is no significant fuel economy advantages against petrol. And further, there are no small diesel cars in malaysia market, further disadvantaging the fuel economy factor.
If it is the car you like, no harm getting it despite being diesel engined. But if you choose it mainly because of the fuel economy factor, you'll be kind of disappointed with your driving condition.
This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jul 25 2017, 09:38 AM