31 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Against pirated games CD/DVD?, Government says No to Pirated CD/DVD!!

Kidicarus
post Jan 15 2010, 12:10 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 15 2010, 11:58 AM)
I believe digital distribution sites especially Steam is doing a very good job in providing those you mentioned, it's just that not much people are confident about Internet Purchases using you credit card.
Ya i agree steam does a really good job on that. Which is a shame because it just demonstrates how hard they are (not) trying on a regional/local level to improve and increase the levels of ori gaming. Was doing some market research on this previously and there is too much price fixing going on at a local level. It's no surprise that retail is where its at in malaysia.

The financial services industry in malaysia is pretty immature at the moment. Was used to banking in the UK previously and some of the things that they are still doing like charging for current accounts and things like that are just silly.

H@H@
post Jan 15 2010, 12:16 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jan 15 2010, 12:10 PM)
Ya i agree steam does a really good job on that.  Which is a shame because it just demonstrates how hard they are (not) trying on a regional/local level to improve and increase the levels of ori gaming.  Was doing some market research on this previously and there is too much price fixing going on at a local level.  It's no surprise that retail is where its at in malaysia.

The financial services industry in malaysia is pretty immature at the moment.  Was used to banking in the UK previously and some of the things that they are still doing like charging for current accounts and things like that are just silly.
I think the problem with our local market is that we are not actually getting the games directly, but via Singapore. Also, for some odd reason, MMOs are marginally higher priced than regular games.

I really don't care whether ppl want to pirate games anymore... I'm all about the "awareness" bit about caring for the developers, appreciating IP, etc.

I guess I'm getting old and am just naturally mellowing out.
Cheesenium
post Jan 15 2010, 12:56 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 15 2010, 11:45 AM)
Shift? as in Time Shift?
Plants and Zombies you better wait for sales, or if u really got extra$$, then you can get it. I remember it's $9.99 right?
It's NFS Shift.

Just waiting for it to be cheap,then,i'll buy an ori copy.

I want my Toyota Supra. drool.gif Only ori got that car. sad.gif

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jan 15 2010, 11:48 AM)
Also, I should be given an award for having so many original games.
Yeah,you should get an award for owning so many Steam games. laugh.gif

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 15 2010, 11:53 AM)
Anyway, this Malaysian mentality is pretty much screwed la..
If you cannot afford something, shouldn't you save your pocket money and buy? Isn't that what we've been doing since little kid? Or nowadays people are already being spoiled enuff by their parents to just ask money for everything they want?

It's not logic to ask "Woi LOWER PRICE LA! Tak mampu beli la!" That's pretty typical type of malaysian la, never thinks about karma.

Imagine if you're selling rice, and people complain, WOI expensive la, cannot afford, then go complain ask for lower price.

LOGIC? doh.gif
Im still doing that to be honest.Save till i can afford one.

Those pirated games i got are actually copy and paste from someone who have torrent it. Just give it a try when i have a chance to get my hands on.Other than that,i wont torrent it myself due to limited bandwidth or even buy a pirated copy as they are quite a headache to play.

Yea,one can try the "WOI LOWER PRICE LA!!!" on your favourite restaurant,shop or gym when the price increase.They will still pay but for a 15USD game,they cant be bothered.

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jan 15 2010, 12:10 PM)
Ya i agree steam does a really good job on that.  Which is a shame because it just demonstrates how hard they are (not) trying on a regional/local level to improve and increase the levels of ori gaming.  Was doing some market research on this previously and there is too much price fixing going on at a local level.  It's no surprise that retail is where its at in malaysia.

The financial services industry in malaysia is pretty immature at the moment.  Was used to banking in the UK previously and some of the things that they are still doing like charging for current accounts and things like that are just silly.
Steam has already trying very hard to increase the level of original gaming and most Steam sales are available in Malaysia.

Only retail is having a bit of problem,but they did come out with those RM39.90 budget copies.

Things are improving slowly,but the main thing is still education among the gamers.
Kidicarus
post Jan 15 2010, 01:01 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jan 15 2010, 12:16 PM)
I think the problem with our local market is that we are not actually getting the games directly, but via Singapore. Also, for some odd reason, MMOs are marginally higher priced than regular games.

I really don't care whether ppl want to pirate games anymore... I'm all about the "awareness" bit about caring for the developers, appreciating IP, etc.

I guess I'm getting old and am just naturally mellowing out.
you are right on that point - we are technically paying singapore prices (rather than Thai - sigh) due to the fact that while the income difference is vast it's difficult to differentiate geographically. Another thing, it's difficult for an independent to sell at a discounted price to the RRP if you're trying to maximise profits through volume because you will experience supply chain issues (unreliability, unwillingness to supply ordered quantity, refusal to trade etc).
kianweic
post Jan 15 2010, 02:09 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 15 2010, 12:56 PM)
It's NFS Shift.

Just waiting for it to be cheap,then,i'll buy an ori copy.

I want my Toyota Supra.  drool.gif Only ori got that car. sad.gif
Yeah,you should get an award for owning so many Steam games. laugh.gif
Im still doing that to be honest.Save till i can afford one.

Those pirated games i got are actually copy and paste from someone who have torrent it. Just give it a try when i have a chance to get my hands on.Other than that,i wont torrent it myself due to limited bandwidth or even buy a pirated copy as they are quite a headache to play.

Yea,one can try the "WOI LOWER PRICE LA!!!" on your favourite restaurant,shop or gym when the price increase.They will still pay but for a 15USD game,they cant be bothered.
Steam has already trying very hard to increase the level of original gaming and most Steam sales are available in Malaysia.

Only retail is having a bit of problem,but they did come out with those RM39.90 budget copies.

Things are improving slowly,but the main thing is still education among the gamers.
I have seen some very good bundle retail games in Melbourne on November.

Some of the prices were very reasonable for slightly older games.

Too bad during that time Steam was having it's holiday sale.
temptation1314
post Jan 15 2010, 02:20 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

I also hoping to get Shift in cheaper price... let's wait for it together tongue.gif

In the meantime, was planning to get prostreet. smile.gif
Cheesenium
post Jan 15 2010, 03:37 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 15 2010, 02:20 PM)
I also hoping to get Shift in cheaper price... let's wait for it together tongue.gif

In the meantime, was planning to get prostreet. smile.gif
Lets wait together then.

I'll definitely get if it's cheap.

T2 and T3 cars are damn fun to drive.

My bro wants to get Prostreet too,probably along with ME2.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 15 2010, 03:38 PM
noobfc
post Jan 15 2010, 05:10 PM

Peanuts
753 posts

i really like the way valve is marketing their games, its much effective.

see eclub its like 100 times better than SMM

now i still see war3 selling for RM 180 while latest multiplayer games from valve is RM 80 (tf2)

my advice is to those who want original games but cant afford one, save RM 1 a day. One year you can get minimum two games. I use this method as i am a student. It worked well. Valve/Steam also gave me more reasons to purchase ori, since i use to pirate last time. My city alone have 5 illegal dvd store, one nearby police station =.=
so buying ori is wayyyyyy better.

btw nice avatar cheese XD
linkin182
post Jan 15 2010, 05:18 PM

283 posts

@cheesenium : Ugh..its the playability..yeah..the 2 may have differences in terms of story line..but gameplay wise..still lookalike 3d space and jumps n stuff..u know what I mean?

Save RM1 a day! Diablo 3 wont be out so soon! the next wave to hit the stores! (am I promoting? o.0)

I wish there's World of Starcraft =P DIE ZERGS!!~~~
kirashin
post Jan 15 2010, 11:27 PM

108 posts

well...reason why pirate are still godly is because not all people will jam their head in multiplayer..some just wanted to play the story and next day gone from their comp...well if want to play multiplayer..go ori!! expensive or not..it that there just too many games...take online game example...let see..maple story...my friends been all playing it at sometime..(due to majority playing) started dumping cash on it..and finally find it boring...and..all money goes down the drain...so some might be like "what the point buying ori..it aint gonna stay in my computer for long!!" while some are like "hmm...i better appreciate this game..since i bought it for like rm100++ let enjoy it!!" and so...there always conflict for everything...
Cheesenium
post Jan 15 2010, 11:52 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Jan 15 2010, 05:10 PM)
i really like the way valve is marketing their games, its much effective.

see eclub its like 100 times better than SMM

now i still see war3 selling for RM 180 while latest multiplayer games from valve is RM 80 (tf2)

my advice is to those who want original games but cant afford one, save RM 1 a day. One year you can get minimum two games. I use this method as i am a student. It worked well. Valve/Steam also gave me more reasons to purchase ori, since i use to pirate last time. My city alone have 5 illegal dvd store, one nearby police station =.=
so buying ori is wayyyyyy better.

btw nice avatar cheese XD
Thats what i used to do too.

At the end of the year,i manage to bought WA which was my first ori.

kianweic
post Jan 16 2010, 09:12 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 15 2010, 11:52 PM)
Thats what i used to do too.

At the end of the year,i manage to bought WA which was my first ori.

What is WA?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 16 2010, 09:37 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

worms Armageddon? O_O
http://www.gamefaqs.com/computer/doswin/home/145855.html

+3kk!
post Jan 16 2010, 09:59 AM

8,275 posts

there is a somewhat irony in the arugument of piracy, while i do think that msot people here are against it i do condone it somehow.

piracy - morally its in a grey area and yet corporations never fail to make us think it is wrong. however when it comes to the other side of the fence, businesses being greedy and heavily inflating a market, it is ok.
Abyssio
post Jan 16 2010, 10:18 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 16 2010, 09:59 AM)
piracy - morally its in a grey area
No it is not. It is dead wrong.

"Pirate games to punish game company being greedy" -- I guess it is an excellent excuse to pirate games, which make pirates feels proud when doing so.
+3kk!
post Jan 16 2010, 10:32 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Abyssio @ Jan 16 2010, 10:18 AM)
No it is not. It is dead wrong.

"Pirate games to punish game company being greedy" -- I guess it is an excellent excuse to pirate games, which make pirates feels proud when doing so.
and why is it wrong? if granted i do share my games with a few friends i lose nothing and my friend loses nothing. the corporation however loses market share, now based on most proper business moral theories (im not talking about pendidikan moral) the above sentence doesnt seem wrong in anyway.

the same moral argument applies for corporate espionage and information stealing which happens pretty often in the B2B world (espically in technologically related items). these "exchanges" of information did build up industries, companies and threaten a bigger market share, however because its corporations dealing it we take it as a norm.

in simple terms, if we "steal" software and information it is piracy; if they do it its corporate espionage.

tango25
post Jan 16 2010, 12:48 PM

205 posts

no point discussing it anymore. both coexist.
Abyssio
post Jan 16 2010, 03:57 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 16 2010, 10:32 AM)
and why is it wrong? if granted i do share my games with a few friends i lose nothing and my friend loses nothing. the corporation however loses market share, now based on most proper business moral theories (im not talking about pendidikan moral) the above sentence doesnt seem wrong in anyway.

the same moral argument applies for corporate espionage and information stealing which happens pretty often in the B2B world (espically in technologically related items). these "exchanges" of information did build up industries, companies and threaten a bigger market share, however because its corporations dealing it we take it as a norm.

in simple terms, if we "steal" software and information it is piracy; if they do it its corporate espionage.
No analogy can justify the act of piracy. Wrong is wrong, piracy is wrong no matter how we put it. When authorities fail to clearly define technical terms to distinguish lawfully right or wrong still does not mean piracy is morally acceptable.

P/S: you know what im kinda getting tired rebutting all the piracy talks. I firmly believe this board stand against piracy, and therefore we do not need any more arguments to minimize the negative impact of piracy. Trying to stand up for piracy and spread the wrong idea around the board...is not really in the spirit of this board.

We are gamers, we love playing games and we show respect to game developers by (financially) supporting them. There's a catch line in TSB, says True Gamer Plays Original, while it is cheesy but it really show how we gamer do our part in this industry, not giving excuses to enjoy the work of labor of game developers for nothing.

Abyssio signing off.

This post has been edited by Abyssio: Jan 16 2010, 04:09 PM
+3kk!
post Jan 16 2010, 04:39 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(Abyssio @ Jan 16 2010, 03:57 PM)
No analogy can justify the act of piracy. Wrong is wrong, piracy is wrong no matter how we put it. When authorities fail to clearly define technical terms to distinguish lawfully right or wrong still does not mean piracy is morally acceptable.

P/S: you know what im kinda getting tired rebutting all the piracy talks. I firmly believe this board stand against piracy, and therefore we do not need any more arguments to minimize the negative impact of piracy. Trying to stand up for piracy and spread the wrong idea around the board...is not really in the spirit of this board.

We are gamers, we love playing games and we show respect to game developers by (financially) supporting them. There's a catch line in TSB, says True Gamer Plays Original, while it is cheesy but it really show how we gamer do our part in this industry, not giving excuses to enjoy the work of labor of game developers for nothing.

Abyssio signing off.
wrong? morally unacceptable? tell me why, personally ive been studing corporate responsibility and ethics for years and this sperads into a lot of industries and all. i can still not see how is it that wrong, it is only wrong however when the company doesnt liek it. (oxymoron)

well personally i dont give a damn of corporate propaganda, if buying original games make you feel more like a "true" gamer then so be it. personally when it comes to corporate dealings i refuse put morals into them, its like judging the devils work based on moral values.

but really, in a sense of it credit where credit is due is something i do have problems with. most of these games are made by teams of professionals that normally come underpaid while the corporate machine uses its earnings on acquisitions and CEO, CFO, etc etc spending. this theme works in almost every industry, thus the writers strike, musicians being underpaid, countless lawsuits on credit and so on.

as far as it goes, you might be against piracy but unlike you i condone it but not support it. simply because i dont hold corporations in good light. the rather ironic thing is that they would do the same just on a B2B level

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Jan 16 2010, 04:46 PM
secondrate
post Jan 16 2010, 04:52 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...4029&sec=nation

I wonder if this applies to games as well.

31 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0526sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:44 PM