General Vista Discussion - V2, Welcome to the vista-tiam
deathbringer
May 9 2007, 11:44 AM
thanks for the article.
but i'm afraid the problem still persists. my wifi is already at "maximum performance". it's not like i can't connect to my existing wireless connections. it's just that new ones just won't show up on my "connect to..." window, even if Vista indicates that there r wireless connections available.
sigh...
james_yap
May 9 2007, 03:35 PM

windows vista home basic or windows media center more better?
linkinstreet
May 9 2007, 03:40 PM
Red Bull Addict
Mana got media center edition Vista Basic Vista Home Basic Vista Home Premium Vista Business Vista Ultimate
Go for home Premium
xin
May 9 2007, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(james_yap @ May 9 2007, 03:35 PM) windows vista home basic or windows media center more better? got ..windows media center is windowsxp loaded with media center .. if comapre home basic and media center ..then media center better but if got home premium then home premium better coz home premium comes with media center too ..
wewa25
May 10 2007, 01:56 AM

yup. agree vista home premium is a much better choice.
home basic is ala windows xp home.
home premium is windows xp pro+media centre
This post has been edited by wewa25: May 10 2007, 01:56 AM
mystical zero
May 10 2007, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(deathbringer @ May 9 2007, 11:44 AM) thanks for the article. but i'm afraid the problem still persists. my wifi is already at "maximum performance". it's not like i can't connect to my existing wireless connections. it's just that new ones just won't show up on my "connect to..." window, even if Vista indicates that there r wireless connections available. sigh... Since that's the case, go "Start" and type cmd at the search box. Press <Enter>. At the prompt, type in netsh wlan show networks. <Enter>. Verify whether there is any SSID detected in the output. Else, at the command prompt, type in netsh wlan show all > "%userprofile%\Desktop\test.txt"&"%userprofile%\Desktop\test.txt". Press <Enter>. You will be presented with a text file. Post the output here.
aidlover
May 11 2007, 04:14 AM
hi,
i want to ask. i have activated my vista business on my PC. however i plan to change/upgrade a new pc. can i activate the vista on the new PC? i plan not 2 use the vista on my current pc.
toughnut
May 11 2007, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(aidlover @ May 11 2007, 04:14 AM) hi, i want to ask. i have activated my vista business on my PC. however i plan to change/upgrade a new pc. can i activate the vista on the new PC? i plan not 2 use the vista on my current pc. if OEM version, cant transfer account. if retail version, can do. depend on your version. btw, the upgrade u meant the whole pc or just components? if u change the mobo, meant u need to transfer account already. correct me if wrong
deathbringer
May 11 2007, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(mystical zero @ May 10 2007, 10:09 PM) Since that's the case, go "Start" and type cmd at the search box. Press <Enter>. At the prompt, type in netsh wlan show networks. <Enter>. Verify whether there is any SSID detected in the output. Else, at the command prompt, type in netsh wlan show all > "%userprofile%\Desktop\test.txt"&"%userprofile%\Desktop\test.txt". Press <Enter>. You will be presented with a text file. Post the output here. thanks for the help, though i got a little impatient b4 i read this post and resetted my C: back to factory settings (i.e. format), since i just got my lappy during PC Fair, so nothing much to back-up for now. it has solved my problem. but i dun think the netsh command will do any good to me, coz whether the router/AP broadcasts any SSID or not, it still wun show on my "connect to" windows. i'm sure TMNET hotspots and the Starbucks/Coffeebean wifi hotspots do have SSID. i had my TMNET hotspot account saved on my lappy and it did connect automatcially whenver i'm in Starbucks or near an AP, but it just will not show up on my PC. even the official Windows Vista community forum @ Microsoft's site were baffled at my problem. i guess it's one of those hidden bugs in Vista.
cupz
May 11 2007, 07:45 PM

how do you check whether the vista i have is the 32-bit or 64-bit? on the cover it says 32 and 64 ? does that mean it has both? and what about the product key? will the product key work regardless of 32 bit or 64bit ?
This post has been edited by cupz: May 11 2007, 07:55 PM
aidlover
May 11 2007, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ May 11 2007, 08:11 AM) if OEM version, cant transfer account. if retail version, can do. depend on your version. btw, the upgrade u meant the whole pc or just components? if u change the mobo, meant u need to transfer account already. correct me if wrong erm. retail version. upgrade whole pc. how 2 transfer account?
linkinstreet
May 11 2007, 08:25 PM
Red Bull Addict
By transferring account he meant going online activating it. Just install in the new PC and activate. It's that simple. You cannot do this for OEM because the licence is tied for one PC only.
aidlover
May 11 2007, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 11 2007, 08:25 PM) By transferring account he meant going online activating it. Just install in the new PC and activate. It's that simple. You cannot do this for OEM because the licence is tied for one PC only. oh ok thanks. i thought it cant activate cause i have already activated it on the previous PC. thanks
toughnut
May 12 2007, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(cupz @ May 11 2007, 07:45 PM) how do you check whether the vista i have is the 32-bit or 64-bit? on the cover it says 32 and 64 ? does that mean it has both? and what about the product key? will the product key work regardless of 32 bit or 64bit ? does microsoft make vista 32bit and 64bit on single dvd? or your dvd pressed by Jack Sparrow? @aidlover sorry for confusion. the account i meant is the activation. if retail, can activate few times but only one will be activated if installed on multiple pc. just like ol' XP
cupz
May 12 2007, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 12 2007, 08:59 AM) does microsoft make vista 32bit and 64bit on single dvd? or your dvd pressed by Jack Sparrow? @aidlover sorry for confusion. the account i meant is the activation. if retail, can activate few times but only one will be activated if installed on multiple pc. just like ol' XP the vista i got is the one that is distributed during campus launch. on the dvd it says 32 and 64 bit. so i got confused by this. i was wondering if the product key can be used for both 32 and 64 bit..
wewa25
May 12 2007, 10:45 AM

oh, either bit edition can use the cdkey (business edition)..but u must select based on ur system la..either x86 or 64bit..
seruzz2003
May 12 2007, 11:20 AM
*edited cause wrong topic
This post has been edited by seruzz2003: May 12 2007, 12:46 PM
sHawTY
May 12 2007, 09:38 PM
Help! Anyone know how to remove the stupid big shortcut arrow on the shortcut icons? It's freakin' ugly!
linkinstreet
May 13 2007, 06:17 AM
Red Bull Addict
Right click on desktop --> view --> classic icon
sHawTY
May 13 2007, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 13 2007, 06:17 AM) Right click on desktop --> view --> classic icon That doesn't remove the shortcut arrow ler. Anyway, problem solved, thanks to Nocturnal. This post has been edited by sHawTY: May 13 2007, 12:41 PM