General Vista Discussion - V2, Welcome to the vista-tiam
caspersky
Sep 6 2008, 02:19 PM
You give up on the genuine Vista and use XP instead? How waste...XP might get this problem as well so it doesn't matter which OS you use.
By the way linksinstreet thanks for the tips for alternative way of deleting a file, haha.
astria
Sep 6 2008, 02:21 PM
Vista Business OEM has the option of downgrading to XP Pro...
purplecrystal00
Sep 7 2008, 08:17 PM
-deleted-
This post has been edited by purplecrystal00: Sep 7 2008, 08:22 PM
FarCry3r
Sep 7 2008, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(purplecrystal00 @ Sep 7 2008, 08:17 PM) hi, just reformatted my pc with vista business... still playin around with the features. i noticed, i dun hv that 3D flip thingy when i pressed alt+TAB (when i hv many windows open), but instead, the standard one (refer image below) altho's not a big issue, but i wud to see this in my pc. anyone can help? thanks one of many vista's feature - 3D flip, i dun see this when i press alt+tab  if you have enabled Aero glass theme already, you can use 3D Flip using WINKEY + Tab or click on the 2nd icon on the Quick Launch toolbar named Switch between windows...
purplecrystal00
Sep 7 2008, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Sep 7 2008, 08:21 PM) if you have enabled Aero glass theme already, you can use 3D Flip using WINKEY + Tab or click on the 2nd icon on the Quick Launch toolbar named Switch between windows... thanks. i'll check later  am not another pc currently.
matyrze
Sep 16 2008, 06:58 AM
hi everyone..need help here i installed vista home premium on my pc using my friend's oem cd..my friend has already used its product key, and he is still using it..so i cant activate my vista as the product key has been used..my question is if i contact microsoft to ask for a new key, will they disable my friend's registration key? if yes then i guess i should get a new one..so my question is what version should i buy?i saw cycom pricelist listed 2 types of vista home premium with different prices (RM255 and RM320)..i dont know which 1 should i buy thx for helping
KiddoKit
Sep 17 2008, 06:55 PM
Gonna buy an original Vista Home Premium later,just wanna ask some questions. There's alot of different ones in the market,like the retail and the OEM's one.Which one should I buy and would cost me how much? Does it comes with service pack 1 too?
astria
Sep 17 2008, 09:36 PM
OEM if u re going to use that copy on one and only one computer, else take retail...
SP1, even if dun ve, can be downloaded from MS
FarCry3r
Sep 18 2008, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(astria @ Sep 17 2008, 09:36 PM) OEM if u re going to use that copy on one and only one computer, else take retail... SP1, even if dun ve, can be downloaded from MS but it will be a hassle afterward when you're cleaning up. better get Vista with SP1 preintegrated, save time to download humongous SP1 update and the mess it make later...
linkinstreet
Sep 18 2008, 09:32 AM
Red Bull Addict
IIRC, all OEM Vista sold out there is not preinstalled with SP1
caspersky
Sep 18 2008, 10:28 AM
No, there is, my OEM Vista comes with integrated SP1.
KiddoKit
Sep 18 2008, 01:20 PM
the OEM vista that comes with SP1 cost how much?
linkinstreet
Sep 18 2008, 01:46 PM
Red Bull Addict
for which? there is Home Premium, which IIRC cost around RM300
Thrust
Sep 21 2008, 10:51 AM
Bro, is there anyway to use DX9 environment under Vista?? DX10 is very demanding and I wish to revert to DX9 for certain games. Please advise.
dopodplaya
Sep 21 2008, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 21 2008, 10:51 AM) Bro, is there anyway to use DX9 environment under Vista?? DX10 is very demanding and I wish to revert to DX9 for certain games. Please advise.  that depends on the game - I think you can choose to launch it on DX9 setting and DX10 setting vice versa. refer the game manual for that...
linkinstreet
Sep 21 2008, 11:35 AM
Red Bull Addict
QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 21 2008, 10:51 AM) Bro, is there anyway to use DX9 environment under Vista?? DX10 is very demanding and I wish to revert to DX9 for certain games. Please advise.  Some games have different exe so that you can run the game in either DX10 or DX9 mode. Try looking in the game directory. And what game may I ask is this? Because there are limited DX10 games out there. And DX10 is backward compatible so that they can emulate DX9 if the game cannot be run in DX10
astria
Sep 21 2008, 05:31 PM
lol, Aero is already DX9...
FarCry3r
Sep 24 2008, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(sallreen @ Sep 24 2008, 02:32 PM) Windows Vista SP1 Release Candidate a try. It's now available as a free download for developers, IT Pros, and other tech professionals. There are three ways to get the product. Use Windows Update Download the standalone packages Get it from MSDN. -------------------- Sally Viral Marketing huh? are you dreaming or what? SP1 reached final status months ago...
prasys
Sep 24 2008, 05:49 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(KiddoKit @ Sep 17 2008, 06:55 PM) Gonna buy an original Vista Home Premium later,just wanna ask some questions. There's alot of different ones in the market,like the retail and the OEM's one.Which one should I buy and would cost me how much? Does it comes with service pack 1 too?  I'm just wondering how did the OEM boxes drop. Its weird though. Anyhow , its recommended for you to buy Retail rather then OEM boxes. The difference , well you can't tell. You can activate both of them but I would recommend Retail over OEM at all times , its just to be extra safe. Its still a mystery how they marked OEM Windows Vista (Did it from off from Dell Store ?)
FarCry3r
Sep 24 2008, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 24 2008, 05:49 PM) I'm just wondering how did the OEM boxes drop. Its weird though. Anyhow , its recommended for you to buy Retail rather then OEM boxes. The difference , well you can't tell. You can activate both of them but I would recommend Retail over OEM at all times , its just to be extra safe. Its still a mystery how they marked OEM Windows Vista (Did it from off from Dell Store ?) It does not have fancy boxes, license is not transferrable, that maybe the reason OEM boxes sales way cheaper. Looks at Visual Studio 2008, they're giving it free at uni/colleges students, and believe me, Microsoft will do anything to get people to use Vista... Added on September 24, 2008, 6:50 pmyay, Microsoft released new Ultimate Extras! QUOTE Microsoft ® Tinker : Microsoft Tinker is a casual game that provides players with short puzzle game play sessions set in a warm, calming environment.
Ultimate Extras Sounds from Microsoft Tinker: Based on the positive feedback we received from the release of additional Windows Sound Schemes in April, we've integrated the unique audio sounds from Microsoft Tinker into a new sound scheme.
Windows ® DreamScene Content Pack #4 Windows DreamScene Content Pack #4 which adds three additional nature-setting Windows DreamScenes. source: WindowsVistaBlogThis post has been edited by FarCry3r: Sep 24 2008, 06:50 PM