Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

IIRC you need 64bit driver
Dry Pillow
post Aug 17 2008, 02:58 PM

623 posts

What if I set the laptop with a 4GB thumbdrive for that booster thingy? Will it speed up considerably?
astria
post Aug 17 2008, 03:43 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(Dry Pillow @ Aug 17 2008, 02:58 PM)
What if I set the laptop with a 4GB thumbdrive for that booster thingy? Will it speed up considerably?
slightly, but not alot...

prefer to get 4GB RAM instead...
FarCry3r
post Aug 17 2008, 04:16 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Aug 17 2008, 03:43 PM)
slightly, but not alot...

prefer to get 4GB RAM instead...
anyway, what type of thumbdrive can be used as ReadyBoost? I'm kinda confused. I have 256mb thumbdrive and Vista allow me to use it as ReadyBoost, but it won't with my 8GB thumbdrive... hmm.gif
astria
post Aug 17 2008, 04:30 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Aug 17 2008, 04:16 PM)
anyway, what type of thumbdrive can be used as ReadyBoost? I'm kinda confused. I have 256mb thumbdrive and Vista allow me to use it as ReadyBoost, but it won't with my 8GB thumbdrive... hmm.gif
it really depends...

i also ve an unknown brand 256MB that works, but my Imation and Toshiba 2GB dun work at all...

currently using SanDisk Extreme II SD 1GB for ReadyBoost
FarCry3r
post Aug 17 2008, 04:42 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Aug 17 2008, 04:30 PM)
it really depends...

i also ve an unknown brand 256MB that works, but my Imation and Toshiba 2GB dun work at all...

currently using SanDisk Extreme II SD 1GB for ReadyBoost
so, is there any "unknown" thumbdrive that can work with ReadyBoost?
desmond1310
post Aug 20 2008, 12:39 AM

231 posts

Hi, I'm using a desktop PC.

I want to ask Vista Ultimate 32bit SP1 users here.. can you play CS 1.6 on it?

And.. will there be any problems if I use 3GB of RAM instead of 2GB on 32 bit?

Will programs like PSpice and 8051 programmer work on Vista anyway?

I'm pretty much confused between 32 bit and 64 bit.
How much advantage does 64 bit have over 32 bit in terms of gaming? Apart from having 4GB of RAM space that is. I'm still a student.

This post has been edited by desmond1310: Aug 20 2008, 10:01 AM
someone_stupid
post Aug 20 2008, 06:24 AM

1,205 posts

hello here, i juz gt my laptop a few days ago n ive juz transfered my songs frm desktop to my laptop bt the weird thing is the album art seemed to have a problem, all my songs are frm the same artist! i mean the album cover all the same wan even though it's nt! can tell me is there anyway to solve tis?
astria
post Aug 20 2008, 01:52 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Aug 20 2008, 12:39 AM)
Hi, I'm using a desktop PC.

I want to ask Vista Ultimate 32bit SP1 users here.. can you play CS 1.6 on it?

And.. will there be any problems if I use 3GB of RAM instead of 2GB on 32 bit?

Will programs like PSpice and 8051 programmer work on Vista anyway?

I'm pretty much confused between 32 bit and 64 bit.
How much advantage does 64 bit have over 32 bit in terms of gaming? Apart from having 4GB of RAM space that is. I'm still a student.
3GB is alright, in fact most ppl find 3GB to be the sweet spot for Vista x86

Vista x64, imho, seems to run better and faster, and even more stable than Vista x86... compatiability is not a problem too, most, if not all, 32-bits programs run as per normal... main advantage is, of course, the amount of RAM u can use... 8 or 12GB are not a problem... drool.gif
desmond1310
post Aug 20 2008, 10:23 PM

231 posts

astria, thanks for the reply. Its quite tempting about such a large amount of RAM for 64 bits.. Thinking to get another 2GB/4GB kit now tongue.gif I'm so poisoned. BTW, is 4GB of RAM considered a minimum OR perfect OR alot for a x64?
And what is WOW64? Does it solve the compatibility issues for 32bits programs?

This post has been edited by desmond1310: Aug 21 2008, 08:11 AM
FarCry3r
post Aug 21 2008, 11:40 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Aug 20 2008, 10:23 PM)
astria, thanks for the reply. Its quite tempting about such a large amount of RAM for 64 bits.. Thinking to get another 2GB/4GB kit now tongue.gif I'm so poisoned. BTW, is 4GB of RAM considered a minimum OR perfect OR alot for a x64?
And what is WOW64? Does it solve the compatibility issues for 32bits programs?
4GB is considered OK for 64-bit system. But if you're running some heavy 3d applications, video encoding or CAD/CAM apps, the more RAM you have the merrier rclxm9.gif

WOW64 is used to emulate 32-bit applications running on 64-bit OS, so it does solve the compatibility issues for almost all 32-bit applications. However, running 64-bit applications would be faster as it support 64-bit instructions natively...
desmond1310
post Aug 21 2008, 11:52 AM

231 posts

I see. FarCry3r, what do you think of x86 one? I'm still a student though. My rig for gaming. Not doing any video encoding stuff etc etc.
FarCry3r
post Aug 21 2008, 12:16 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Aug 21 2008, 11:52 AM)
I see. FarCry3r, what do you think of x86 one? I'm still a student though. My rig for gaming. Not doing any video encoding stuff etc etc.
then 32-bit is enough. Get 512mb GC and 3GB of RAM is sufficient for your gaming need. No need for 64-bit, really...
desmond1310
post Aug 21 2008, 12:41 PM

231 posts

Thanks for the advice FarCry3r!
FarCry3r
post Aug 21 2008, 12:43 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Aug 21 2008, 12:41 PM)
Thanks for the advice FarCry3r!
you're welcomed. I see that your spec already cun for gaming thumbup.gif
MojA_VieW
post Aug 23 2008, 12:22 PM

▐ LivE IS GooD▐
965 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 15 2008, 01:51 AM)
need to buy la sayang
the free upgrade/update is vista to vista sp1 smile.gif
like cikgu daa.. smile.gif smile.gif ..
erm what about vista home premiun to vista ultimate or business?
i think just upgrade it?? hmm.gif hmm.gif
ob8
post Sep 1 2008, 03:21 PM

48 posts

"The file is possibly corrupt. The file header checksum does not match
the computed checksum."

I tried to install vista on my new rig. when the system try to boot from cd/dvd, the above phrase appears. anyone can help? i tried googled it but got no concrete answer. some say its the ram. but i test my new ram on my frens rig, and it got no problem what so ever. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
linkinstreet
post Sep 1 2008, 09:10 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

DVD is corrupt lol? Or try changing your DVD Drive
ob8
post Sep 1 2008, 11:16 PM

48 posts

dvd drive is fine. sad.gif
FarCry3r
post Sep 1 2008, 11:51 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(ob8 @ Sep 1 2008, 03:21 PM)
"The file is possibly corrupt. The file header checksum does not match
the computed checksum."

I tried to install vista on my new rig. when the system try to boot from cd/dvd, the above phrase appears. anyone can help? i tried googled it but got no concrete answer. some say its the ram. but i test my new ram on my frens rig, and it got no problem what so ever. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
If your DVD drive is OK, then sure your Vista DVD is corrupted. Try getting new Vista installation disc...

80 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:04 AM