134 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

nafra
post Nov 17 2009, 02:56 PM

I'm planning to get dairy farm supplies from New Zealand which cost around rm1400, seller use DHL, wanna know if I'll be taxed for such items. Size is quite big, if that matters.
rebel_azri
post Nov 17 2009, 08:19 PM

22 posts

hey guys need some advice.im planning to buy around 6 football jersey which around 50 pound=rm400 sumthin.i'll ask my friend from uk to buy the jersey first.after dat i'll probably ask my fren to cut the tag and post them here.do customs will taxed the jersey?
Raralu85
post Nov 18 2009, 03:06 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(rebel_azri @ Nov 17 2009, 08:19 PM)
hey guys need some advice.im planning to buy around 6 football jersey which around 50 pound=rm400 sumthin.i'll ask my friend from uk to buy the jersey first.after dat i'll probably ask my fren to cut the tag and post them here.do customs will taxed the jersey?
Maybe as long as u proposed the parcel containing 2nd hand shirt, will not taxed.. By the way, kastam implemented the tax if let say ur parcel statement are like below:

Cost: rm400
Shipping:100 so total is rm500... Sure kena tahan and tax...

For risk and wont kena tahan custom, just make sure ur statement are below rm400 including cost+shipping.. But sometime even rm300 kena taxed... No guarantee bout it ya.. Just wanna share my experience..

FYI, if kena taxed, still can nego the price or no need pay at all (depend how you settle it with the officer)...

Oh ya, Batik from others country are forbidden item... (Have to protect Malaysian local batik 'they' say)
Sham903n
post Nov 18 2009, 12:20 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Nov 17 2009, 11:26 AM)
which one safe n fast n which one got provide tracking number? EMS or DHL?
both got tracking number... EMS you can call up POS malaysia or the KLIA Pos/kurier number for tracking if you have the number or just check at the origin country ems webpage tracker.. for DHL just call the local DHL call centre..dhl webpage tracker also can

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(nafra @ Nov 17 2009, 02:56 PM)
I'm planning to get dairy farm supplies from New Zealand which cost around rm1400, seller use DHL, wanna know if I'll be taxed for such items. Size is quite big, if that matters.
if you put there - dairy machinery - 0% tax/duty,
but due to high value you will need to declare the item, pos malaysia will act as agent and prepare the declaration form and charge you RM18 sumthing sumthing.. if you go to klia and collect your self

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Nov 17 2009, 12:56 AM)
well, the item is a japanese bamboo flute.
is a musical instrument.

The item cost 440USD.

Can i ask the seller to put the price as 50USD to bluff the kastam?
only sale tax 10%, remember under declare for the purpose to cheat the goverment is breaking the law.. better keep that idea to your self

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(NgYanFei @ Nov 13 2009, 03:49 PM)
I just bought 3 shoes for rm2700..I will get tax for sure?
RM2700 x 25%duty, RM2700 x 10%sale tax

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Nov 18 2009, 12:35 PM
BelowAverage
post Nov 20 2009, 06:45 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 18 2009, 12:20 PM)
both got tracking number... EMS you can call up POS malaysia or the KLIA Pos/kurier number for tracking if you have the number or just check at the origin country ems webpage tracker.. for DHL just call the local DHL call centre..dhl webpage tracker also can

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:25 pm
if you put there - dairy machinery - 0% tax/duty,
but due to high value you will need to declare the item, pos malaysia will act as agent and prepare the declaration form and charge you RM18 sumthing sumthing.. if you go to klia and collect your self

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:30 pm

only sale tax 10%, remember under declare for the purpose to cheat the goverment is breaking the law.. better keep that idea to your self

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:34 pm

RM2700 x 25%duty, RM2700 x 10%sale tax
so my flute will only get 10% tax?

why this girl shoe get 25% duty while i dont have 25% duty?

and this girl shoe is 2700+(2700X25%)+(2700+10%)=XX

sorry for the question but im new in international shipping
Sham903n
post Nov 20 2009, 07:05 PM

491 posts

well if you get to meet the customs officer later, you will see they refer to the thick book... I would not know why they will charge my 10year old used motor cycle parts with 30% duty..and not 10% or 5% or 1%.. (but if you refering to how do I get the figures.. well its in the kastams malaysia web page, bear in mind its not user friendly),, regards to the shoe.. theres duty tax and sales tax.. so 2 charges, actually you must inclued the shipping charges too in the calculation.. so, wallaa...

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Nov 20 2009, 07:11 PM
BelowAverage
post Nov 20 2009, 07:10 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 20 2009, 07:05 PM)
well if you get to meet the customs officer later, you will see they refer to the thick book... I would not know why they will charge my 10year old used motor cycle parts with 30% duty..and not 10% or 5% or 1%.. (but if you refering to how do I get the figures.. well its in the kastams malaysia web page, bear in mind its not user friendly)
the kastam website i've been to=.="
spended 1 hour there, in the end, i didnt even find what i want=.="

So as long as i maintain the price of the item below rm500, the kastam check my item, see the price of item, then will close back, and the item will come to my house right?

time to change whistling.gif
Sham903n
post Nov 20 2009, 07:12 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Nov 20 2009, 07:10 PM)
the kastam website i've been to=.="
spended 1 hour there, in the end, i didnt even find what i want=.="

So as long as i maintain the price of the item below rm500, the kastam check my item, see the price of item, then will close back, and the item will come to my house right?

time to change whistling.gif
Shipping+item price = < RM500 after foreign exchange conversion
blossom86
post Nov 20 2009, 08:04 PM

56 posts

Hello, what happen if I track my package & it mentioned 'Required Official Custom declaration' I ordered good from Gmarket & 1st time encounter this problem sad.gif
Will they call u? Do I need to go collect mmy package? I really don't know what to do ler? Hope someone can help me with it. Thanks!
Sham903n
post Nov 20 2009, 08:23 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(blossom86 @ Nov 20 2009, 08:04 PM)
Hello, what happen if I track my package & it mentioned I ordered good from Gmarket & 1st time encounter this problem sad.gif
Will they call u? Do I need to go collect mmy package? I really don't know what to do ler? Hope someone can help me with it. Thanks!
if you have the invoice and tracking number and you know its already in lcct/klia Pos & Kurier office awaiting for declaration.. then you can go there or wait for the letter from Pos tell you that you can assign them as agent to declare on your behalf
bring your invoice and tracking number if you self collect and bring enough cash if its going to be taxed.. or you can always walk to lcct and use the ATM machine there

but 'Required Official Custom declaration' hmmm probably its still not cleared custom checking... if its within few hours.. gotta wait..

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Nov 20 2009, 08:25 PM
blossom86
post Nov 20 2009, 08:28 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 20 2009, 08:23 PM)
if you have the invoice and tracking number and you know its already in lcct/klia Pos & Kurier office awaiting for declaration.. then you can go there or wait for the letter from Pos tell you that you can assign them as agent to declare on you behalf
bring your invoice and tracking number if you self collect and bring enough cash if its going to be taxed.. or you can always walk to lcct and use the ATM machine there
Do you mean I don't hv to wait for their call?
Anyway, here's my tracking no. sent by gmarket cs [editted]
Do you think I'll be taxed by them? My shipment fee is about RM250+ after conversion & mostly inside are diary planners.

This post has been edited by blossom86: Nov 20 2009, 09:12 PM
Sham903n
post Nov 20 2009, 08:39 PM

491 posts

Customs retention reason : High-value goods - Official customs declaration required

Means it need to be declared.. due to item value high.. like my laptop.. even thou its 0% duty/tax i need to declare...

what you can do now is just go there and collect your self.. they will prepare your declaration letter and charge you RM18 or 22 i forgot..
if you want the pos malaysia act on your behalf.. then have to wait for the letter..

what item is it? is it 0% tax ?

You can find it beside LCCT, it has the big sign MEL & KURIER with the pos malaysia logo.
1. go to guard house, pass your driving licence and they will give you a visitor pass.( you can drive in )
2. go to inside the building ask for the pos malaysia-kastam-office (pos malaysia staff)
3. go to the counter. wait for the people to entertain you while they are bz picking up calls and scribling something at the work desk.
4. once they entertain you, they will say "pickup consignment?", give your EMS tracking number and later they will ask for your IC
5. then they will ask you to sit down and wait, after they finish preparing the work paper, they will call you to the counter and pass it to you
6. you will need to go to counter 5 if im not mistaken, with the red sign number and pass the paper and your Visitor Pass to the person there, he will ask for your ic again, and collect your box and put it on the conveyour for you to collect.
7. he will ask to go to kastam inspection counter with the box and there you will be given a knife to open the box.
8. once inspected, they will say go to the next counter with the officer inside a cubical
9. the officer will ask you what item and check his/her thick book to make sure 0% tax, after that will say "oh this is high value item,no tax, need to declare"
10. you will be ask to go to the Pos-kastam-office again and tell them "Kastam minta buat declaration kerana high value -tiada tax (if there is no tax)", they will ask you to sit down again and once ready they will call you and ask to pay for the declaration letter RM18-22( i dont remember)
11. go back to the kastam counter and give the letter.. youre almost done... officer give you back the letter with his chop and signiture..
12. after that go back to the counter where you collect your box and pass all the paper work and he will pass you back your visitor pas.
13. you can walk out with your box now towards the security stop and collect your driving licence.
14. the end.

All the time dont leave your item unattended.. if its too big just leave at the inspection counter.. ask the officer to watch over
TOTAL time "ping pong around more less 1 hour"

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Nov 20 2009, 11:09 PM
blossom86
post Nov 20 2009, 09:11 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 20 2009, 08:39 PM)
Customs retention reason : High-value goods - Official customs declaration required

Means it need to be declared.. due to item value high.. like my laptop.. even thou its 0% duty/tax i need to declare...

what you can do now is just go there and collect your self.. they will prepare your declaration letter and charge you RM18 or 22 i forgot..
if you want the pos malaysia act on your behalf.. then have to wait for the letter..

what item is it? is it 0% tax ?
ok thanks for ur help =) where is the place i should go for collection ya? and will they open on sat?

This post has been edited by blossom86: Nov 20 2009, 09:12 PM
Sham903n
post Nov 20 2009, 09:14 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(blossom86 @ Nov 20 2009, 09:11 PM)
ok thanks for ur help =) where is the place i should go for collection ya? and will they open on sat?
my answer on previous post.. smile.gif good luck
saturday I dont remember... only first week saturday "day off" if not mistaken..
week days till 6pm (need to reconfirm this) .. ill check and update later when im home

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Nov 20 2009, 09:25 PM
blossom86
post Nov 20 2009, 09:35 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 20 2009, 09:14 PM)
my answer on previous post.. smile.gif good luck
saturday I dont remember... only first week saturday "day off" if not mistaken..
week days till 6pm (need to reconfirm this) .. ill check and update later when im home
oo wow so lenghty haha biggrin.gif thank you very much for ur kind help

This post has been edited by blossom86: Nov 20 2009, 09:35 PM
ineser
post Nov 21 2009, 04:32 AM

1,068 posts

Hello,
if I buy food supplement/dietary like liver oil in capsules from New Zealand cost around RM500, will I get tax?
Which category I fall into?
I'm in Kuching btw
Sham903n
post Nov 21 2009, 07:47 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Nov 21 2009, 04:32 AM)
Hello,
if I buy food supplement/dietary like liver oil in capsules from New Zealand cost around RM500, will I get tax?
Which category I fall into?
I'm in Kuching btw
do you know that, the secret is in the declaration.
If you declare it as "food supplement" = 5% sales tax
if you declare as "fish liver oil" = 5% duty tax
if you declare as "vitamins" = 0% tax /duty/ sales tax

good luck thumbup.gif

If value no more than 1k but 0% tax.. you should receive your item without any inspections i guess

This post has been edited by Sham903n: Nov 22 2009, 10:37 AM
ineser
post Nov 21 2009, 05:47 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 21 2009, 07:47 AM)
do you know that, the secret is in the declaration.
If you declare it as "food supplement" = 5% sales tax
if you declare as "fish liver oil" = 5% duty tax
if you declare as "vitamins" = 0% tax /duty/ sales tax

good luck thumbup.gif
Oh wow didnt know that, thank you for the info...
Its how you declare eh. Will they open the box for inspection?
deadfish
post Nov 24 2009, 12:20 PM

161 posts

Hi guys,

I won a bid from eBay for a pair of Oakley sunglasses...
It costs USD200.
Do you think it will kena tax if sent directly to me in Malaysia via USPS Express Intl Mail???

AskarPerang
post Nov 24 2009, 12:34 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(deadfish @ Nov 24 2009, 12:20 PM)
Hi guys,

I won a bid from eBay for a pair of Oakley sunglasses...
It costs USD200.
Do you think it will kena tax if sent directly to me in Malaysia via USPS Express Intl Mail???
I bought 3 pairs of sunglasses the other day. Send in using a small box from the US. The kastam didnt even open and check. Guess depends on luck whether they check or not.

134 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:08 PM