QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Mar 23 2010, 08:08 PM)
ooo, tat is bad, den i think i better dun purchase it from playasia edi.
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
| Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
Mar 23 2010, 08:53 PM
122 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Seri Kembangan |
Mar 24 2010, 01:22 PM
221 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: los angeles,US,france,asia |
hie
my friends from US was sending me his used lens for camera... but the pronlem are he go n declare it for the value of usd800 for the 2used lens... will i be having tax for the lens then!!! if yes..its no point i collected it right since he declare the value so high... crazy of him:) any advise??thanks |
Mar 26 2010, 05:23 PM
1,416 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
anyone can tell me how to apply for SIRIM AP permit??
can apply online or not... i ordered phone from US and DHL called me asking for SIRIM permit. how much it cost? |
Mar 27 2010, 08:28 AM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Mar 26 2010, 05:23 PM) anyone can tell me how to apply for SIRIM AP permit?? kindly use search button,can apply online or not... i ordered phone from US and DHL called me asking for SIRIM permit. how much it cost? QUOTE(maxximus @ Jul 15 2008, 12:36 AM) I bought PDA phone from HK few months back, and was hold back by custom and was told to apply the AP from Sirim. SIRIM BranchesWent to Sirim and filled up a form and paid RM350/= for the AP. It is very simple, they will give u a sample form as reference, u just follow the sample to fill up the application form. The following day, I called up Sirim and inform them my file no and over the phone they give me my AP no and with that AP number, I went to custom to clear the item. And settle everything without any problem. Initially I though they will require the device for testing or what, but surprisingly no one request the device from me during my present at Sirim office and also when I called up for the AP no. BUT, roughly one month after I cleareed the item and are happily using it, I rcv a letter from Sirim saying that my application still pending due to I did not submit the device for testing... I wonder why I rcv this letter from Sirim, and if really the procedure that Sirim require the device for testing before approving and issuing the AP, then why in the first place they approved it and issued the AP to me without testing the device Anyway, just to share my experience... |
Mar 27 2010, 08:32 AM
In the event that you need to import a "questionable item" falling under the "Telecommunications Category", you may need to consider two (2) factors : (a) AP (Approved Permit) from SIRIM, & (b) Import Tax
(a) Import Permit (aka AP, Approved Permit, SIRIM Permit, JK69, etc) -Buy JK69 Form from any SIRIM branches in Malaysia -Print out the JK Form legibly -Since the model you're bringing in has not been certified (Type Approval Application) by SIRIM, you have to list it as "Sample for Testing" -SIRIM charges a nominal fee of either RM30 (permit would be ready for collection after 3 days) or RM60 (permit can be collected within 24 hours) (b) Import/Customs Tax -Classification/Declaration on the Importation Form (whichever courier company you used) is important. -PDAs would not be taxed. -Mobile phones would be taxed 10% -GSM/Phone PDA is subjective (chances of tax is there) So in total tax + SIRIM = 10% + RM30 or RM60 only Most international couriers such as Fedex, or DHL etc CAN assist you with the release of the product(s) - aka as Direct Release = No Tax. UPS Express has the tendency to declare everything and you would be taxed. |
Mar 27 2010, 10:36 AM
1,416 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 27 2010, 08:32 AM) In the event that you need to import a "questionable item" falling under the "Telecommunications Category", you may need to consider two (2) factors : (a) AP (Approved Permit) from SIRIM, & (b) Import Tax mine using DHL...last time buying phone from US...no need sirim permit..(a) Import Permit (aka AP, Approved Permit, SIRIM Permit, JK69, etc) -Buy JK69 Form from any SIRIM branches in Malaysia -Print out the JK Form legibly -Since the model you're bringing in has not been certified (Type Approval Application) by SIRIM, you have to list it as "Sample for Testing" -SIRIM charges a nominal fee of either RM30 (permit would be ready for collection after 3 days) or RM60 (permit can be collected within 24 hours) (b) Import/Customs Tax -Classification/Declaration on the Importation Form (whichever courier company you used) is important. -PDAs would not be taxed. -Mobile phones would be taxed 10% -GSM/Phone PDA is subjective (chances of tax is there) So in total tax + SIRIM = 10% + RM30 or RM60 only Most international couriers such as Fedex, or DHL etc CAN assist you with the release of the product(s) - aka as Direct Release = No Tax. UPS Express has the tendency to declare everything and you would be taxed. but this time custom asked for permit and i have checked DHL tracking, apparently they have tried 2 times to clear the custom but still failed. for DHL, they required us to prepaid the taxes which is 10% of the goods value. if applying for sirim permit is too much of a hassle and cost too much i'd rather ask DHL to return the phone and claim the refund Added on March 27, 2010, 10:38 am QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 27 2010, 08:32 AM) In the event that you need to import a "questionable item" falling under the "Telecommunications Category", you may need to consider two (2) factors : (a) AP (Approved Permit) from SIRIM, & (b) Import Tax thanks for your info but i'm still confused which one is right..some people said cost RM200, some people said RM350.(a) Import Permit (aka AP, Approved Permit, SIRIM Permit, JK69, etc) -Buy JK69 Form from any SIRIM branches in Malaysia -Print out the JK Form legibly -Since the model you're bringing in has not been certified (Type Approval Application) by SIRIM, you have to list it as "Sample for Testing" -SIRIM charges a nominal fee of either RM30 (permit would be ready for collection after 3 days) or RM60 (permit can be collected within 24 hours) (b) Import/Customs Tax -Classification/Declaration on the Importation Form (whichever courier company you used) is important. -PDAs would not be taxed. -Mobile phones would be taxed 10% -GSM/Phone PDA is subjective (chances of tax is there) So in total tax + SIRIM = 10% + RM30 or RM60 only Most international couriers such as Fedex, or DHL etc CAN assist you with the release of the product(s) - aka as Direct Release = No Tax. UPS Express has the tendency to declare everything and you would be taxed. This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Mar 27 2010, 10:38 AM |
Mar 27 2010, 01:26 PM
So in total tax + SIRIM = 10% + RM30 or RM60 only
depends on how u talk with the "coffee drinker". |
Mar 27 2010, 03:28 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
hi,
is used items taxable too? i'm thinking of importing used toys from uk or us. anyone can share some knowledge? thanks!! |
Mar 27 2010, 03:53 PM
1,835 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
yes.brand new or used,all oso will kena taxed if the stuff is taxable
Mar 27 2010, 11:44 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
thanks nanakopy87
Mar 31 2010, 03:09 PM
1,900 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Mental Asylum |
i'm currently waiting for my vinyl records to arrive which is less than rm500 per shipping.
is it taxable? |
Mar 31 2010, 03:12 PM
268 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
This post has been edited by seesawseen2k: Mar 31 2010, 05:24 PM |
Mar 31 2010, 04:34 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,688 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Outer Space |
Mar 31 2010, 04:51 PM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kepong |
Mar 31 2010, 05:38 PM
1,900 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Mental Asylum |
QUOTE(joey85 @ Mar 31 2010, 04:51 PM) yeap agree but somehow if the sender declared higher rate (more than RM500 including shipping) custom will tax u on it... thanks for the clarificationi have asked the sender to put it as gift & stated a very low price on the item. hopefully it will come through... |
Apr 1 2010, 09:10 AM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kepong |
Apr 1 2010, 05:44 PM
64 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 28 2007, 04:37 PM) Many of us has purchase things online, many from Amazon, eBay, playasia, yesasia and etc... Can you please guide me. Many of my customers ask me if my business is legitimate. I buy goods from China and sell it here. But I do not have any importing license as I am a small timer. So is my business really legitimate. If I go to collect my items from customs will they detain me if they come to know I sell these items?As a regular online buyer, you should know sometimes your goods will be held by the custom, and require you to pay tax in order for them to release the items. If such case happened, do you know how much you'll need to pay? or do you need to pay at all? So guys, here's a useful site that you can refer to in case your items are withheld by the custom. You should find out in advance first how much you need to pay, and avoid being slaughtered by the corrupt custom officers. So here's the link: http://www.customs.gov.my/kastam/ How to search: Go under the first field on top menu "Customs" Then select "Customs Duties Order 1996" or "AHTN Duties Order 2004" Select "Schedule 1" from the submenu Do a search on right hand column Bear in mind that not all of the search will end up with a positive result Here's some of the things I found out from there: - cameras of all kind like non-digital/digital cameras/video camera are totally tax free (heading 8525), same with camera accessories like lenses or flash (heading 9001) - Video games console are taxable with 10% import tax (heading 9504) - Video projectors are tax free (heading 8528) - Blank CD/DVD are tax free (heading 8523) - Figurines are taxable with 5% import tax (heading 9502 and 9503) btw, I still can't find what's the actual tax for movie/games disc. Appreciate if anyone can find the info and put it here. |
Apr 2 2010, 09:23 PM
221 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: los angeles,US,france,asia |
QUOTE(madeleine_1406 @ Mar 24 2010, 01:22 PM) hie hurray i got my parcel from US from my friends at last..my friends from US was sending me his used lens for camera... but the pronlem are he go n declare it for the value of usd800 for the 2used lens... will i be having tax for the lens then!!! if yes..its no point i collected it right since he declare the value so high... crazy of him:) any advise??thanks it reach me fast indeed as i doesnt have any tax on it at all as my crazy friends declare the lens more than usd800..shock me... collected it at postlaju office |
Apr 4 2010, 10:06 PM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
hello guys..
I live in malaysia, i wanted to buy this asus g73jh-a1 laptop but since its not available here, I would like to buy it from ebay or if possible singapore. but i dont know the custom and any other cost of importing it here from US, Canada or Singapore, if you guys can help me here regarding the custom or import cost of buying it online? does anybody here has this laptop? can tel me if its available in malaysia where to find it? on the website ebay it says "Postage and handling" cost US $139.00 so does it cover everything? custom cost and import tax etc? if anyone knows and experienced it please let me know... thank you very much.. |
Apr 5 2010, 12:37 AM
357 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 工口 |
laptop no tax
| Change to: | 0.0202sec