QUOTE(90929155 @ Nov 18 2017, 06:28 PM)
Yes. Not only JR Rail Pass. There are alot more pass that required purchase outside of Japan.Travel To Japan V10
Travel To Japan V10
Nov 18 2017, 08:43 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
Nov 19 2017, 10:34 AM
1 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Nov 19 2017, 11:15 AM
92 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 17 2017, 11:17 PM) you can still use the bus pass for traveling within the pass covered area in Kyoto and for those non coverage area, you may use your ic card/one way subway ticket to pay. the one day bus pass will be pay off only if you travel at least 3 rides or more. actually there are a few routes to arashiyama.. but for easier access, it's better to take the train Ok. Mayb can consider that. QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 18 2017, 11:58 AM) There r busses until arashiyama so dun worry, u won't need to top up anything. Just Google map the bus route n change accordingly. So were there any additional payments for out of sentral kyoto? Did you use pass with money or just pay money?The only time I use subway in Kyoto is to go fushimi Inari. Rest of the places I just use the unlimited bus pass. Edit: I just Google map check n from Kyoto station bus stop u can take 嵐山本線 bus straight to arashiyama. It's about 20+ stops |
Nov 19 2017, 11:52 AM
Ok. After much tinkering this is how my itinerary going to look like for now:
Day 1: Fly to KIX reach at 945pm leave airport by airport bus to Kyoto Station Day 2: Kiyomizu-dera temple Sannen-Zaka and Ninen Zaka Street Chion In Temple Shore in Temple Nishiki Market Fushimi Inari Mayb gion for dinner Day 3 : Arashiyama Tenryuji Temple Bamboo Forest Okochi Sanso Villa Kinkakuji Temple Daitokuji Temple Day 4: Ginkakuji Temple Honen In Temple Path of Philosophy Eikando Temple Head to Osaka Day 5: Hiroshima + Miyajima Day Trip Day 6: USJ Day 7 Spend day in Osaka (Not sure yet what to do) Day 8: Take train to Kanazawa Take bus to Takayama Chill out in Takayama Hida Folk Village Illumination Day 9: Shirakawa Half Day Tour (Package) Shirakawa Light Up Tour (Package) Day 10: Takayama Walk Around Head back to Osaka Day 11: Last minute sightseeing/Shopping Fly back to KL. Any comments on the above and any idea where to go in Osaka.. Nothing really popping out at me to go see so far except the aquarium.. mayb the castle.. More like makan place i think. |
Nov 19 2017, 02:49 PM
2,169 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: PJ | Seoul |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « are you planning to buy any passes? |
Nov 19 2017, 07:11 PM
Nov 20 2017, 01:35 AM
Nov 20 2017, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 20 2017, 01:35 AM) But both pass is for 5 days which imho your itinerary doesn't fully utilize the pass. why don't you focus either one? just my 2 cents but it's up your preferences The Kansai Hiroshima is for first 5 days and the last 5 days is covered by the Takayama Hokuriku Pass which covers all of the trip there. Thats based on my discussion with HIS and JTB. |
Nov 20 2017, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(imran85 @ Nov 20 2017, 10:10 AM) The Kansai Hiroshima is for first 5 days and the last 5 days is covered by the Takayama Hokuriku Pass which covers all of the trip there. Thats based on my discussion with HIS and JTB. yes i know it's covered. what i mean is that your day first 5 days is mostly in Kyoto/Osaka based on your itinerary which use less Jr lines. same as the last 5 days.. as you did take up tour on day 9 which transportation already covered.. just my views but anyway that is your trip.. decision is on yours |
Nov 20 2017, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 20 2017, 11:02 AM) yes i know it's covered. what i mean is that your day first 5 days is mostly in Kyoto/Osaka based on your itinerary which use less Jr lines. same as the last 5 days.. as you did take up tour on day 9 which transportation already covered.. just my views but anyway that is your trip.. decision is on yours Yeah true. Just need to calculate my costs for the first pass and see if it covers. The train to Hiroshima is expensive I guess might cover with that and can use it for train to Kyoto from airport I guess?.. |
Nov 20 2017, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(imran85 @ Nov 20 2017, 11:59 AM) Yeah true. Just need to calculate my costs for the first pass and see if it covers. The train to Hiroshima is expensive I guess might cover with that and can use it for train to Kyoto from airport I guess?.. you can use hyperdia to calculate your cost. yes the train to hiroshima itself is expensive. so if you have round trip, it's already pay off. kansai hiroshima area pass can't be use on shinkansen from kyoto to osaka or vice versa but you can use it on jr conventional train line. you mentioned that your arrival time is 9.45pm so i'm not sure whether you wanna activate your pass on that day itself or not.This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Nov 20 2017, 12:48 PM |
Nov 20 2017, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 20 2017, 12:47 PM) you can use hyperdia to calculate your cost. yes the train to hiroshima itself is expensive. so if you have round trip, it's already pay off. kansai hiroshima area pass can't be use on shinkansen from kyoto to osaka or vice versa but you can use it on jr conventional train line. you mentioned that your arrival time is 9.45pm so i'm not sure whether you wanna activate your pass on that day itself or not. Yup2 considering that. But since if I dont use it the subsequent date is USJ which i dont think i can utilize the cards too so may not have any difference. haha I am more worried i screw up usage of passes. |
Nov 20 2017, 03:03 PM
437 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Hi, I will be traveling to Japan in March next year. Thus, here is the big picture of my itinerary.
This trip, I am more focus balance of city and scenery environment. Mix of both worlds. Any recommendations? Also when comes to JR Line Pass - I saw it cost RM1k plus and must be purchased in Malaysia right? Day 1 -Haneda Airport (Landing @ night 9.30pm). -Hotel @ Shibuya (I am open to other recommendation for cheap yet cheerful accommodation). -Roam freely around Shibuya surroundings for supper. Day 2 -Breakfast at Shibuya area. (See See) -Hachiko Status , Shibuya Crossing, Museum of Yebisu Beer & Garden Place. -Cat Street, Tsutaya Daikanyama, Shopping areas -Harujuku – Surrounding (see see) -Snoopy Museum at Roppongi (Night). Day 3 – (Saturday) -Ginza – shopping and see see -Ikebukuru -Shinjuku (Metropolitan Building –Night) Day 4 – (Sunday) -Trip to Yokohama -Visit Cup Noodle Museum -China Town, Hakkeijima Sea Paradise, Moto Machi Shopping Street, Lalaport, Red Brick Warehouses -Yokohama Ramen Museum -Mount Fuji (TBC) OR (Another Option) – But traveling going to be time-consuming & costly. Ibaraki Prefecture -Fukurade Falls – 2hours from Tokyo -Oarai Iso Sakis Shirine -Hitachi Seaside Park Day 5 – (Monday) -Disneyland (Whole day?) -Surrounding of Odaiba / Chiba Prefecture Day 6 -Ueno District & Asakusa -Ueno Park, Ueno Izayaka-Machi, Kyu-Iwasaki-tei Garden, Nadeshiko Asakusa Ekimise, -Asakusa Culture & Toursim Center, Sensoji Shrine. Day 7 – Mostly tag along the JR Yamato (Line) -Shinjuku, -Ikebukuro - Kit Kat Store, Seibu Dept Store. -Roppongi Day 8 - Flight is night flight (11pm) -So thinking to tag around Hadena area. This is my first time to Japan and hopefully, there are some recommendations. There are also a few places under my list but I am not sure whether is worth to go. 1. Tobu World Square, 2. Kusatsu Onsen 3. Railway Museum 4. Kamakura 5. Kawogoee This post has been edited by incredibless: Nov 20 2017, 03:24 PM |
Nov 20 2017, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(imran85 @ Nov 20 2017, 01:58 PM) Yup2 considering that. But since if I dont use it the subsequent date is USJ which i dont think i can utilize the cards too so may not have any difference. haha I am more worried i screw up usage of passes. that's why you need to plan your itinerary properly beforehand.. else USJ you can put it on your day 10? or as i mentioned go for either one. because if you didn't utilize the pass, it's kind of wasted. for eg. kansai hiroshima area pass, beside going to hiroshima/miyajima, there are still others places that worth to visit. such as himeji, nara, uji, kurashiki, wakayama, tottori, okayama, okunoshima, etc |
Nov 20 2017, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 20 2017, 03:15 PM) that's why you need to plan your itinerary properly beforehand.. else USJ you can put it on your day 10? or as i mentioned go for either one. because if you didn't utilize the pass, it's kind of wasted. for eg. kansai hiroshima area pass, beside going to hiroshima/miyajima, there are still others places that worth to visit. such as himeji, nara, uji, kurashiki, wakayama, tottori, okayama, okunoshima, etc Nah. Cant really put on day 10. The ride back to Osaka will reach around 6pm. But Hiroshima and back is worth it already I think. Seems pretty packed as it is already. |
Nov 20 2017, 08:24 PM
485 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(incredibless @ Nov 20 2017, 03:03 PM) Hi, I will be traveling to Japan in March next year. Thus, here is the big picture of my itinerary. Your day 5 Disneyland will be a whole day and even then it’s doubtful you will finish the whole park. Plan your fastpass tickets carefully. U intend to skip DisneySea?This trip, I am more focus balance of city and scenery environment. Mix of both worlds. Any recommendations? Also when comes to JR Line Pass - I saw it cost RM1k plus and must be purchased in Malaysia right? Day 1 -Haneda Airport (Landing @ night 9.30pm). -Hotel @ Shibuya (I am open to other recommendation for cheap yet cheerful accommodation). -Roam freely around Shibuya surroundings for supper. Day 2 -Breakfast at Shibuya area. (See See) -Hachiko Status , Shibuya Crossing, Museum of Yebisu Beer & Garden Place. -Cat Street, Tsutaya Daikanyama, Shopping areas -Harujuku – Surrounding (see see) -Snoopy Museum at Roppongi (Night). Day 3 – (Saturday) -Ginza – shopping and see see -Ikebukuru -Shinjuku (Metropolitan Building –Night) Day 4 – (Sunday) -Trip to Yokohama -Visit Cup Noodle Museum -China Town, Hakkeijima Sea Paradise, Moto Machi Shopping Street, Lalaport, Red Brick Warehouses -Yokohama Ramen Museum -Mount Fuji (TBC) OR (Another Option) – But traveling going to be time-consuming & costly. Ibaraki Prefecture -Fukurade Falls – 2hours from Tokyo -Oarai Iso Sakis Shirine -Hitachi Seaside Park Day 5 – (Monday) -Disneyland (Whole day?) -Surrounding of Odaiba / Chiba Prefecture Day 6 -Ueno District & Asakusa -Ueno Park, Ueno Izayaka-Machi, Kyu-Iwasaki-tei Garden, Nadeshiko Asakusa Ekimise, -Asakusa Culture & Toursim Center, Sensoji Shrine. Day 7 – Mostly tag along the JR Yamato (Line) -Shinjuku, -Ikebukuro - Kit Kat Store, Seibu Dept Store. -Roppongi Day 8 - Flight is night flight (11pm) -So thinking to tag around Hadena area. This is my first time to Japan and hopefully, there are some recommendations. There are also a few places under my list but I am not sure whether is worth to go. 1. Tobu World Square, 2. Kusatsu Onsen 3. Railway Museum 4. Kamakura 5. Kawogoee This post has been edited by chaos32: Nov 20 2017, 08:26 PM |
Nov 20 2017, 09:58 PM
50 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hi Friends,
Just to share my last April 2017 itinerary when visit Tokyo and Osaka. [/U]Day 1 Arrive in Narita Airport, active JR Rail Pass. From Narita to Tokyo by Narita Express. Then Tokyo to Osaka by shinkansen then check in hostel at Namba. Day 2 Go Universal Studio Osaka. Night go Shinsekai. Day 3 Run anti-clockwise with JR Osaka loop line for a) Shitennoji Temple (Tennoji Station) b)Osaka Castle (Osakajokoen Station) c) Sakuranomiya Park for cherry blossom d) Umeda Sky Building, Pokemon Centre, HEP Five (osaka station) e) Back to Namba and go Dontodori Day 4 Go to kyoto by haruka train. Visit as below a)Saga-Arashiyama b)Kiyomizu-dera c)Fushimi Inari Before back, stop at Tennoji Station and go to Abeno Harukas Department Store.. Day 5 Wake up early and breach tokyo at 1pm. Drop luggage at Shibuya. Anticlockwise for yamanote line. Visit a) Akihabara b) Ueno Park c) Shinjuku Day 6 Disney sea + Shibuya Day 7 Go to odawara by shinkansen and buy hakone pass. Hakone 1 day trip. Go Owakudani, Souzan, Hakone Ropeway...... and Kowakien Yunessun for Red Wine, Green Tea, Coffee onsen…. Day 8 Tokyo tower, Shinsoji Temple, Tokyo Sky Building. (Tokyo Subway 1 day ticket). Go to haneda airport, flight departure at 2330.... <<END>> And really miss Japan....... |
Nov 20 2017, 10:34 PM
437 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(chaos32 @ Nov 20 2017, 08:24 PM) Your day 5 Disneyland will be a whole day and even then it’s doubtful you will finish the whole park. Plan your fastpass tickets carefully. U intend to skip DisneySea? Yes will only focus Disneyland. Where can i purchase the tickets in advance besides klook? Fast pass tickets? Care to share more about it? |
Nov 20 2017, 11:18 PM
485 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(incredibless @ Nov 20 2017, 10:34 PM) Yes will only focus Disneyland. Where can i purchase the tickets in advance besides klook? Fast pass tickets? Care to share more about it? I have always bought my tickets at the hotel since I prefer to stay there for the duration I am in Disney so I am afraid I cant help you with the cheaper ticket part. The advantage of staying at the Disney Hotel's is I am guaranteed tickets and other privileges. FastPass is essential especially if you are attempting to try to finish Disney in a day. Read more at this link - http://www.tokyodisneyresort.jp/en/help/tds_fastpass.html |
Nov 21 2017, 10:11 AM
4,277 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 地獄だ |
QUOTE(incredibless @ Nov 20 2017, 03:03 PM) Hi, I will be traveling to Japan in March next year. Thus, here is the big picture of my itinerary. Seems pretty complete and nicely done. Just some suggestions:» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1. Day 3 - Ginza - be there around 12noon onwards to experience Pedestrian's Heaven. - Tokyo Metropolitan Building : check the time before you go. They close around 6 or 7pm if I'm not mistaken. 2. Day 4 - Personally I'll choose either Yokohama or Mt Fuji as Ibaraki area is nice to explore - and suggest to stay overnight there for a 2-days-1-night thing. 3. Day 5 - After Disneyland go Odaiba? It'll take you around 40min-1 hour. But seemed like a long day. Sure you have enough energy to do Odaiba? - Suggest you do a half-day trip to Odaiba instead as there are 2-3 malls, new Gundam and Fuji broadcast tower worth checking out. Others - Not so sure bout Onsen and Railway but I heard Kamakura is beautiful. Didn't manage to cover it in my previous trip but will be going in my next one. - Kawagoe is just alright. It's very touristy with narrow lanes to walk. Been there once and it's off my list - not planning to go back unless there's major changes to the place. This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Nov 21 2017, 10:11 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0346sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:44 PM |