32 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Kia Optima GT 2017 at rm179k

TSjayraptor
post Jul 24 2017, 09:07 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 23 2017, 03:19 PM)
Prof Jay is getting harder to babysit lately, agree with him also Salah .disagree give him explaination he will deem u as salesman for the other party (which ever he says no good). Then he will use all his "fact" to win u based on his experience
You agree in sarcastic way together with dares. Trying to divert me away from car talk that will make wkc5657 and his members cry is it? Since this is Optima GT thread, you are free to compare this to other D segment namely Camry, Accord, Matsuda 6, Passat or cars that are priced around that range. Both of you not tied to Korean car company unlike the few guys , you can post any flaws, pros and cons.

New Camry launching in America followed by new Accord. Both beats Sonata & Optima in FC sending Korean car sales slumping in America followed by whole world.

Do you think the local korean marketing with brains that cannot understand how turbocharger works can bring up the Korean sales without spoonfeeding from car enthusiast gang anymore? I see them losing more and more shares ever since the group of car enthusiasts have joined prominent Japanese companies.

Put aside Toyota Honda Mazda, the Korean marketing failed against VW that was bogged down by DSG gearbox and also against boring with weak outdated tech Nissan. Now Subaru also overtaking Korean cars.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 24 2017, 09:14 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 24 2017, 09:15 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 24 2017, 09:07 PM)
You agree in sarcastic way together with dares. Trying to divert me away from car talk that will make wkc5657 and his members cry is it? Since this is Optima GT thread, you are free to compare this to other D segment namely Camry, Accord, Matsuda 6, Passat or cars that are priced around that range. Both of you not tied to Korean car company unlike the few guys , you can post any flaws, pros and cons.

New Camry launching in America followed by new Accord. Both beats Sonata & Optima in FC sending Korean car sales slumping in America followed by whole world.

Do you think the local korean marketing with brains that cannot understand how turbocharger works can bring up the Korean sales without spoonfeeding from car enthusiast gang anymore? I see them losing more and more shares ever since the group of car enthusiasts have joined prominent Japanese companies.

Put aside Toyota Honda Mazda, the Korean marketing failed against VW that was bogged down by DSG gearbox and also against boring with weak outdated tech Nissan. Now Subaru also overtaking Korean cars.
Eh, I'm no longer salesman ah?
U sure boh? U r the one whom tie me to car manufacturer previously worked... Am I fired? Sad
dares
post Jul 24 2017, 09:25 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 24 2017, 08:59 PM)

I just checked Google where you guys get source, none of them show anything about the plenum that works similar to VIS.
Explain so much I too bodo to understand.

Why don't u google a diagram that has what you described, easier lah.
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 24 2017, 09:29 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 24 2017, 09:25 PM)
Explain so much I too bodo to understand.

Why don't u google a diagram that has what you described, easier lah.
Eh. I just found out u also not salesman d ah?
Mana kerja now bro?
TSjayraptor
post Jul 24 2017, 09:29 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Remnant_T @ Jul 22 2017, 05:41 PM)
I am impressed at u guys, still can layan him until now.
If this thread is opened by Sam Loo, sure people won't layan because he doesn't post much facts that could help in improving or harming sales. Facts that I have posted especially related to strategies, car company could use, customers shopping for cars can take precautions.

while car companies that are getting negative comments from me, they can whine coz I purposely chose not post anything that can help them. This is why they came and post irrelevant stuffs. So far, still very few new 2017 models sold to individual buyers on the road. You can see how things like without spoonfeeding from ace strategists and 2010-2013. They asked for it, their choice to hire wimps. That's why they end up bringing in wrong spec wrong model to sell. Customers who bought will suffer in the end because of these wimps they hired as consequences. The new Rio is worst Korean car ever brought in for engine weaker than old Korean cars looking at the torque to weight ratio.

If you look at Sam Loo today, even his comments have improved with some points. Reason?
TSjayraptor
post Jul 24 2017, 09:34 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 24 2017, 09:15 PM)
Eh, I'm no longer salesman ah?
U sure boh? U r the one whom tie me to car manufacturer previously worked... Am I fired? Sad

Mana kerja now bro?
I never said you're related to any car company. Mod shop maybe.

Already retired, kerja rumah or keje kebunlah. What else.

@dares
I tried Google and search YouTube a while just now, can't find any that describes the plenum housing in detailed. Some more this internet belongs to buddy's phone. Now need to return back to him. Logging out...
dares
post Jul 24 2017, 09:36 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 24 2017, 09:29 PM)
Mana kerja now bro?
Oh I promoted to regional marketing manager for Honda dy, I didn't tell u meh?

I always come here to read up marketing and product planning tips from professor(s). Oh a dude named Sebastian often email me with tips, dunno if he is from here anot hmm.gif
constant_weight
post Jul 24 2017, 10:25 PM

916 posts

case with turbo, at low rpm masuk bypass inlet, higher rpm masuk turbo inlet.
Everything you said seems to be ok until you mentioned this. Bro, wastegate is not just simple on/off trigger by engine rpm. It is a close loop control system by constantly reading input from boost sensor aka barometer. It serve to protect the mechanical components from over-stress, it can open at high rpm also when turbo pressure reach the limit set by manufacturer. Same thing at low rpm, it will close too when the engine start to let the turbo spin up. Even at engine idle it will spin up to an equilibrium point of very little or no boost.

When you lift off slightly at high rpm, wastegate go into work to regulate the pressure. When you lift of completely, intake side or cold side of the turbo get back pressure when the throttle butterfly close. Air has no where to go, this is when BOV come into the picture. Else hot side and cold side both pushing at opposite direction which slow down the turbo and create huge stress.

wastegate or blowoff or diverter all of them are pressure based. Your knowledge isn't as bad even though everyone making fun of you.

If you don't stubbornly believe to the 3 things below, I think you are pretty much doing good.
1) turbo deactivated/activated according to fixed rpm.
2) turbo not spinning at idle, only activate at specific starting rpm.
3) Turbo only get peak torque as random single point, just one specific rpm like the NA engine.

Turbo torque curve is really flat or near flat my friend in the range specified, not just one point.

Don't be stubborn already, don't need long talk of theory for this, please go test drive or do your torque test or put car on dyno yourself. You don't like Korean, you can try any German/American/Japanese modern turbo car.
constant_weight
post Jul 24 2017, 10:39 PM

916 posts

Guys, I'm trying my best not to be sarcastic this round, but if he still living in his own world, I'm giving up. Just hope he refrain himself from spreading false information to the community about turbo on/off (activate/deactivate) like a switch.

I see you guys are really patients, maybe having fun too. It's been a pleasure.
TitanRev
post Jul 24 2017, 10:40 PM

I just checked Google where you guys get source, none of them show anything about the plenum that works similar to VIS. I doubt you'll understand, better I downgrade further to your primitive level. You breathe and eat through your throat, how come food doesn't go into your lung? Because the epiglottis and glottis valves that will close the trachea when you swallow food, it goes into esophagus then into your stomach behind your big belly. Same case with turbo, at low rpm masuk bypass inlet, higher rpm masuk turbo inlet.
Bro. Not to pick on you but again to correct your mistake. Turbo Inlet side only have 1 route which is through the compressor fin. There's no bypass on inlet side only on exhaust side. Inlet side you only have BOV or the BPV which functions when throttle is closed momentarily during shifting or throttle lift off. Other time it is closed or shut. When no boost the compressor fin will still turn but at a much lower speed. The compressor fin is driven by the impeller on the exhaust side so as engine RPM goes up the compressor speed gradually picks up and hence boost builds up gradually until it reach peak boost then the wastegate opens to maintain/hold the boost.

Just sharing from experience. No hard feelings
constant_weight
post Jul 24 2017, 10:54 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(TitanRev @ Jul 24 2017, 10:40 PM)
Bro. Not to pick on you but again to correct your mistake. Turbo Inlet side only have 1 route which is through the compressor fin. There's no bypass on inlet side only on exhaust side. Inlet side you only have BOV or the BPV which functions when throttle is closed momentarily during shifting or throttle lift off. Other time it is closed or shut. When no boost the compressor fin will still turn but at a much lower speed. The compressor fin is driven by the impeller on the exhaust side so as engine RPM goes up the compressor speed gradually picks up and hence boost builds up gradually until it reach peak boost then the wastegate opens to maintain/hold the boost.

Been trying hard to tell him this in various way for the past few pages. I'm giving up.

BTW, I've been guessing one thing for long time. My guts tell me that RaceChip for turbo car more or less change the wastegate threshold of the pressure sensor in the programming to increase the boost pressure. I'm just guessing, if you can share your experience, I'm grateful. Thanks.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Jul 24 2017, 11:01 PM
AlexLee277
post Jul 24 2017, 11:39 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

I've stop visiting lyn forum due to all this never-ending argument by stubborn people who think he is right. Only until just now where my friend shared a screenshot of jayraptor rediculous "theory". Gosh man, i might get warning or something for talking something OT or flaming someone, but c'mon man. Spreading false information as if you know it, putting into words as if you know it is not helping the community at all. People with little or zero knowledge might read up to his over-simplyfied and believe it because it is easier to understand and digest, but then a false fact is still a false fact. I'm not trying to condemn jayraptor or anything, but seriously man, keep your mouth shut and learn before you comment, thats how you will contribute to the community.

*fly off with jetpack*
wkc5657
post Jul 25 2017, 12:01 AM

577 posts

I just checked Google where you guys get source, none of them show anything about the plenum that works similar to VIS. I doubt you'll understand, better I downgrade further to your primitive level. You breathe and eat through your throat, how come food doesn't go into your lung? Because the epiglottis and glottis valves that will close the trachea when you swallow food, it goes into esophagus then into your stomach behind your big belly. Same case with turbo, at low rpm masuk bypass inlet, higher rpm masuk turbo inlet.
Wah....playing the trump card that he kept to "laugh us off"...VIS...fuhyo :

http://www.gtfours.co.uk/what/tvis/tvis.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T-VIS

This obsolete liao lar.....where got any modern diagram will show this? None of the modern Toyota engines apply this anymore.

Did you try thinking why isn't this implemented now since it was so ground breaking? ....the answer is very obvious, and you mentioned it yourself many times before indirectly. Didn't you realise that??

40 years of industry experience shouldn't be a difficult to figure out.

QUOTE(TitanRev @ Jul 24 2017, 10:40 PM)

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jul 24 2017, 10:54 PM)
Been trying hard to tell him this in various way for the past few pages. I'm giving up.

Haven't we tried? Tried doing it in a polite manner, kena categorise as fanboy immature; tried explaining in long length; kena tembak kantoi; give alternative opinions, means you work for the koreans; post video don't believe; show diagram, consider fake news.

He's really good at spec analysis, and maybe pretty good at sales and marketing tactics. But so much so in the way that is distorting, undue amplification, misinforming, misleading and at time downright ridiculous. It is so damn hard to believe that someone with this level of automotive knowledge is a strategist.

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jul 24 2017, 11:39 PM)
*fly off with jetpack*
No need fly off with jetpack, if he hantam you with what you say, some serious reflection on his end is seriously needed.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Jul 25 2017, 12:07 AM
AlexLee277
post Jul 25 2017, 12:12 AM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 25 2017, 12:01 AM)
No need fly off with jetpack, if he hantam you with what you say, some serious reflection on his end is seriously needed.
Cannot fly off, i got the lancer jetpack which got a 50kg rear arb instead of the inspira jetpack.

I just dont like the fact that inaccuste or distorted knowledge is being shared, and to the fact that he is so confident at everything. It might affect new comers who are looking forward to learn.

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Jul 25 2017, 12:13 AM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 25 2017, 12:32 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jul 24 2017, 10:25 PM)
Everything you said seems to be ok until you mentioned this. Bro, wastegate is not just simple on/off trigger by engine rpm. It is a close loop control system by constantly reading input from boost sensor aka barometer. It serve to protect the mechanical components from over-stress, it can open at high rpm also when turbo pressure reach the limit set by manufacturer. Same thing at low rpm, it will close too when the engine start to let the turbo spin up. Even at engine idle it will spin up to an equilibrium point of very little or no boost.

When you lift off slightly at high rpm, wastegate go into work to regulate the pressure. When you lift of completely, intake side or cold side of the turbo get back pressure when the throttle butterfly close. Air has no where to go, this is when BOV come into the picture. Else hot side and cold side both pushing at opposite direction which slow down the turbo and create huge stress.

wastegate or blowoff or diverter all of them are pressure based. Your knowledge isn't as bad even though everyone making fun of you.

If you don't stubbornly believe to the 3 things below, I think you are pretty much doing good.
3) Turbo only get peak torque as random single point, just one specific rpm like the NA engine.

Turbo torque curve is really flat or near flat my friend in the range specified, not just one point.

Don't be stubborn already, don't need long talk of theory for this, please go test drive or do your torque test or put car on dyno yourself. You don't like Korean, you can try any German/American/Japanese modern turbo car.
Wastegate is triggered by pressure, but still only exceeded certain rpm there's the pressure. Just to clarify few things:

>> Twinscroll turbocharger in BMW only starts to assist the engine from 1200rpm onwards, anything wrong if I said "that turbo activate at 1200rpm to none tech savvy person. Maxus g10 turbo kicks in from 1800 or 2000rpm, test done by 1 forumner here and put wkc5657 to shame where he probably tested on his Optima GT product and proved true.

>> I never mentioned the turbo spool doesn't spin at idle. Make it clear it is wkc5657 who twisted my comment and said that I mentioned that. You can see my old foes came to back his twisted comments up to defame my points.

>> Depends on situation, if it mentioned 350Nm@1500~4500rpm, it is not always you get 350nm at 1500rpm. Not to mention factors that cause lag in turbo unless you owned Volvo or cars that have electronic assist compressed air to pump into exhaust manifold to spin the spool faster.

There are few types of turbochargers, even active electronic powered ones. Some just brought up VGT or the old single turbocharger to generalise all as the same. Twinscroll has 2 inlets, I talk about twinscroll, wkc5657 whose product has only VGT will think of something else.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 25 2017, 12:49 AM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 25 2017, 12:46 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jul 24 2017, 11:39 PM)
I've stop visiting lyn forum due to all this never-ending argument by stubborn people who think he is right. Only until just now where my friend shared a screenshot of jayraptor rediculous "theory". Gosh man, i might get warning or something for talking something OT or flaming someone, but c'mon man. Spreading false information as if you know it, putting into words as if you know it is not helping the community at all. People with little or zero knowledge might read up to his over-simplyfied and believe it because it is easier to understand and digest, but then a false fact is still a false fact. I'm not trying to condemn jayraptor or anything, but seriously man, keep your mouth shut and learn before you comment, thats how you will contribute to the community.

*fly off with jetpack*
You should attack wkc5657 first who said turbo can assist below it's operating rpm. I dare you and the few who supported him to try this Optima GT vs Mazda 6 2.5L at 1300rpm. Based on wkc5657, the optima gt turbo assist from idle rpm which means Optima GT would have more power and torque than Mazda 6 from idle. So who is lying now?

So the person who lost resorting to twisting comments claiming that I said things that I've never said, you support? 1 sided is it? If so clever, you should stick to car topic on pros of Optima GT or flaws of this car compared to Japanese rivals. Not fleeing from topic diverting elsewhere like that wkc5657. He's venting his anger mainly because he failed to market his products against winning rivals that are headed by my members.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 25 2017, 12:51 AM
dares
post Jul 25 2017, 01:05 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 25 2017, 12:32 AM)
anything wrong if I said "that turbo activate at 1200rpm to none tech savvy person.
So let's say, a 1.6l turbocharged engine, the earliest the turbo "activates" is 2,500 RPM.

Before 2,500RPM it will only produce as much power as a typical 1.6NA?

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 25 2017, 01:29 AM
Vervain
post Jul 25 2017, 03:32 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 22 2017, 09:23 AM)
There is no chart that can show fixed turbocharged engine torque. Your first test vs 2nd, 3rd, 4th and so on will give you different reading especially on a car that is moving on the road. The wastegate valve opens at fixed rpm eg. Twinscroll turbocharger at 1200rpm, yes it'll open whenever reaching 1200rpm. The max torque however varies at no fixed rpm which is why turbo engine specs put 1200-4000rpm depends on situation. Any turbo engine specs chart that show flat peak torque from wastegate valve open rpm 1200-4000. If you read the chart as fixed peak torque, then you're not reading the chart correctly.
Wastegate do not open based on rpm. Wastegate works by vacuum/intake pressure activation. Spring setting (external wastegate determine which atm pressure to open the valve and prevent over boost. There are other ways of managing or forcefully activating the actuator by ebc or internal ecu air pump activation (some complex cars)

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 22 2017, 01:16 PM)
Wastegate doesn't activate turbo, what were you thinking. The word waste already clear means thrash to dump excess air out. It's the valve in plenum that opens where air is drawn in by the spool on intake side. This valve opening is what people said turbo activates. Still want to help that korean fanboy?
Wastegate is sitting at the exhaust port. It's function is to bypass the exhaust gas from flowing to the turbo and generating more boost. The part where you say it dumps air is called blow off valve. The difference in pressure for after throttle body and before throttle body will activate the valve to relieve pressure.

Damn I'm late for the party.

And for goodness sake. Turbo never activates. Electric clutched superchargers do. Turbo works on load and spool basis. Turbo spins all the time so it's always spooling. It's dimension, cfm, pressure, load, weight of the centrifugal impellers and exhaust volume plus velocity determines the rate of boost.
K3nnYkl82
post Jul 25 2017, 06:36 AM

2,479 posts

Wahlan eh u all really so free to feed him with actual facts , lol..

I don't even bother to read his reply.
dares
post Jul 25 2017, 07:16 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 25 2017, 12:01 AM)
Wah....playing the trump card that he kept to "laugh us off"...VIS...fuhyo :
http://www.gtfours.co.uk/what/tvis/tvis.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T-VIS
This obsolete liao lar.....where got any modern diagram will show this? None of the modern Toyota engines apply this anymore.

Did you try thinking why isn't this implemented now since it was so ground breaking? ....the answer is very obvious, and you mentioned it yourself many times before indirectly. Didn't you realise that??

40 years of industry experience shouldn't be a difficult to figure out.

Actually T-VIS has nothing to do with Turbo also rclxms.gif
Unless he thought T = Turbo

32 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:15 AM