LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

blanket84
post Apr 5 2021, 11:07 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:44 AM)
I think this is quite a good deal, there may be some TnG credit promo to claim (current ongoing) IIRC.
For the solo unit nowadays very expensive already. So it may not be so worth to buy piecemeal like my rotary hammer, 2021 combo meal cheaper laugh.gif

Seems like everything went up RM50..
GBH180 rotary hammer solo also around 450 nowadays..
GSB180 impact drill solo was 219/229 (briefcase/fisherman) last year.. was 180 but earlier seller I ordered from didn't want to ship out from March till May

Fisherman box itself also worth RM50 on its own coz its a very nice toolbox for the price laugh.gif

For your question..
usually I use CYL-9 for tiles https://shopee.com.my/MAJU-Quality-CYL-9-Ce...37111.192248145
You can also use Makita glass bits but cost a bit more https://shopee.com.my/MAKITA-GLASS-DRILL-BI...6835.9004738524

It will need 5 min, use slow mode (gear 1) on your GSB180 on drill mode only (without the hammer!)
Slower you go the longer the bits last. They wear out crazy fast /break easily if you rempit them.
After the hole passed the tile already, change to the cheaper masonry bit, and impact mode the mortar behind the tile.
Thanks. I saw people selling two models of bosch tiles drill bits, CYL-9 and HEX-9.

Then I found this video.

What do you think. It looks fast but what are the disadvantages?
SUSceo684
post Apr 5 2021, 12:20 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 5 2021, 11:07 AM)
Thanks. I saw people selling two models of bosch tiles drill bits, CYL-9 and HEX-9.

Then I found this video.

What do you think. It looks fast but what are the disadvantages?
It looks like an improvement over the old CYL 9 ceramic, seems to have more than one cutting edge so its like a mini TBM (tunnel boring machine).
Shank wise being hex shank can go into any drill or impact driver which kinda makes good sense in terms of maximising tool compatibility since to work this tile bit you just need something that rotates (NO impact).

The only potential caveat I see in HEX-9 is the tip is not as sharp pointed as the previous CYL 9, so care need to be taken to hold the drill precisely otherwise it might skitter horizontally, you can solve this easily with masking tape and drawing a dot for the hole.

For all tile bits the heat kills the bit so although they say cooling not required, you can make a single bit last longer if you constantly cool it with a trickle of water (if it doesn't make a mess such as in bathroom, no issue with wetting the place). Bits can be used dry mode also but don't rempit them until smoke come out. My POV is either run it pure wet all the time or just pure dry mode as frequent hot cold hot cold stress the bit tip and more prone to cracking in the case of CYL-9.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 5 2021, 12:25 PM
SUSceo684
post Apr 5 2021, 12:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Apr 5 2021, 09:32 AM)
No it won't. You can't physically tighten the butterfly plug infinitely. These plugs are designed for the thickness of sheetrock, but go ahead and be the typical M'sian installer, and use the wrong item for the task.

Maybe you'll get lucky and the butterfly plug will hold by the very tips of the wings, and you can repeat your anecdotal story "it worked for me for 30 years...!", but it still is the wrong fastener for this use case.

I prefer to do things the right way, especially if I am DIY-ing. I DIY not just because I want to just save money (and the truth is, it often is more expensive all in. Just ask the serious DIYs like ceo684 who buy their tools how much they spend to DIY and "save money"  tongue.gif  ) but also because I want it done right, not by some bangla (apologies, I refer to the working culture, not the person) "Ok bos, boleh bikin", and have it fall off in 3 months after he has taken the money and disappeared. But you do you.
Hahaha it does "save money" especially for smaller jobs like install shelves and curtain rails. I think I made enough from a few small paid jobs (neighbours and friends) to pay for the rotary hammer itself tongue.gif as compared to calling contractors which naturally won't be too inclined to show up for minor minor jobs.

For Ikea kitcab as I did need to invest in additional tool i.e. circular saw to chop the countertop and cut out the sink hole it was just over half of what the usual installation fee circa RM600 would cost.
Ignoring the cost of the rotary hammer since other jobs already paid for it biggrin.gif
Zot
post Apr 5 2021, 01:07 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:31 PM)
Hahaha it does "save money" especially for smaller jobs like install shelves and curtain rails. I think I made enough from a few small paid jobs (neighbours and friends) to pay for the rotary hammer itself tongue.gif as compared to calling contractors which naturally won't be too inclined to show up for minor minor jobs.

For Ikea kitcab as I did need to invest in additional tool i.e. circular saw to chop the countertop and cut out the sink hole it was just over half of what the usual installation fee circa RM600 would cost.
Ignoring the cost of the rotary hammer since other jobs already paid for it biggrin.gif
I cannot agree more. It saved money at least initially. It is true pay contractor is more for than to buy cheap drill. I owned the hammer drill and it still cost less after few jobs around the house. Then you find out you need more specific tools for specific job because it is easier than older tool. Like rotary hammer drill can do jobs 1/10 faster than hammer drill in certain job.

At the end I have many tools. that I probably used once or twice in a year, like circular saw, planer, etc. Still restraining my self from buying table saw laugh.gif

Tools cost probably more now than paying contractor but I still get satisfaction by doing myself because I do work more careful than contractor. More neat tongue.gif
blanket84
post Apr 5 2021, 01:28 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:20 PM)
It looks like an improvement over the old CYL 9 ceramic, seems to have more than one cutting edge so its like a mini TBM (tunnel boring machine).
Shank wise being hex shank can go into any drill or impact driver which kinda makes good sense in terms of maximising tool compatibility since to work this tile bit you just need something that rotates (NO impact).

The only potential caveat I see in HEX-9 is the tip is not as sharp pointed as the previous CYL 9, so care need to be taken to hold the drill precisely otherwise it might skitter horizontally, you can solve this easily with masking tape and drawing a dot for the hole.

For all tile bits the heat kills the bit so although they say cooling not required, you can make a single bit last longer if you constantly cool it with a trickle of water (if it doesn't make a mess such as in bathroom, no issue with wetting the place). Bits can be used dry mode also but don't rempit them until smoke come out. My POV is either run it pure wet all the time or just pure dry mode as frequent hot cold hot cold stress the bit tip and more prone to cracking in the case of CYL-9.
Thanks. I'm worried about the drill skidding in the beginning of the job looking at the shape of the drill bit, but then probably masking tape would solve the problem.

I think I would buy HEX-9 first and try in places where I only need one hole. If it skid so badly, then probably I would buy CYL-9 for multiple holes job (to make sure everything is perfectly level)

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:31 PM)

How much do you normally charge for drilling a hole? I need to justify my purchase by calculating holes x price per hole laugh.gif
Zot
post Apr 5 2021, 02:28 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 5 2021, 01:28 PM)
Thanks. I'm worried about the drill skidding in the beginning of the job looking at the shape of the drill bit, but then probably masking tape would solve the problem.

I think I would buy HEX-9 first and try in places where I only need one hole. If it skid so badly, then probably I would buy CYL-9 for multiple holes job (to make sure everything is perfectly level)
How much do you normally charge for drilling a hole? I need to justify my purchase by calculating holes x price per hole laugh.gif
Whatever ceo684 is charging, I offering 50% less thumbsup.gif
stormer.lyn
post Apr 5 2021, 03:50 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 5 2021, 02:28 PM)
Whatever ceo684 is charging, I offering 50% less  thumbsup.gif
lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif
blanket84
post Apr 5 2021, 04:26 PM

1,520 posts

Whatever ceo684 is charging, I offering 50% less  :thumbsup:
Whatever ceo684 is charging, I am charging 50% more to myself to justify my purchase laugh.gif
blchee
post Apr 5 2021, 07:51 PM

31 posts

hello all sifus, i am new to the thread, any recommendation for home DIY usage, budgeted & not so branded is acceptable.
May not use so frequent but perhaps for concrete drill & screw driver.

SUSceo684
post Apr 5 2021, 08:37 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 5 2021, 01:28 PM)

Hahaha the HEX-9 seems to be a newly launched product. I think you can get by with one HEX-9 bit alone.
Price actually quite variable for jobs as tile drilling take more time (5-10mins ea) and bits cost more (CYL-9) already 12-15 bucks and they wear out pretty fast.

Whatever ceo684 is charging, I offering 50% less  thumbsup.gif
Hahahahha I should hire you to do my house drilling!

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Apr 5 2021, 03:50 PM)
lol.gif  lol.gif  lol.gif
Hard to cari makan for "tool funding" like this jor laugh.gif

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 5 2021, 04:26 PM)
Whatever ceo684 is charging, I am charging 50% more to myself to justify my purchase laugh.gif
Generally on masonry where wall plug bits are cheap, pretty cheap per hole.
If customer makes life super easy i.e. does most of the legwork i.e. premeasured and marked, I do not need to do extensive measurement and just final check levelling, and stays in same project all I have to do is basically close one eye and get the hole done it can be even cheaper

Costs more if I need to climb up and down for curtain rails.. as the measurement is a pain to get perfect level.
Tile drilling or TV bracket with drop in anchor are the expensive ones laugh.gif but usually it evens out the cost to about RM8-25 per hole average.
I think it will safely cover your HEX-9 bits tongue.gif

QUOTE(blchee @ Apr 5 2021, 07:51 PM)
hello all sifus, i am new to the thread, any recommendation for home DIY usage, budgeted & not so branded is acceptable.
May not use so frequent but perhaps for concrete drill & screw driver.
I see keyword "concrete"
To avoid "misery" when drilling concrete.. use rotary hammer, nowadays not that expensive already, for a confirmsure can drill a wall plug size hole.
Misery is defined as using an underpowered drill that takes 5-10 minutes per tiny hole and it is almost the end for permitted hours to drill.
With rotary hammer, you can do 8 holes easily (including climbing up and down ladder, moving the ladder, depth finetuning, pick up wall plug) within 10 mins in concrete wall. Coz each hole takes only 6 seconds for 2" 5.5mm.

199-230 bucks got choice of Daewoo, Stanley, Total..
320 bucks gets you a Bosch rotary hammer. Some seller may bundle with SDS masonry bits for few bucks more.
If neighbour need some drilling done you can go over for a fee and have them contribute to the "power tool tabung"  laugh.gif
See for more details on rotary hammer:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100415833

Drill driver
if Bosch can look for GSB120LI or GSR120LI if for light usage, more towards a cordless screwdriver rather than a drill (since the above-mentioned rotary hammer will cover all heavy drilling work). It is a capable screwdriver.
GSB = B for bang (impact) can drill brick wall a little bit. Has impact mode. Has reverse function. Cost bit more than GSR.
GSR = R for reverse. Has reverse function. Cheaper than GSB.

Those china amoi electrician also get by with the GSB120 - https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=211347934082616

Equivalent in the 12V class would be
STANLEY SCD121S2K - RM239 on Lazada

Cordless Tool wise its not that expensive for the tool, cost about the same as corded/wired tool for drills, the one that makes it expensive are the batteries (+charger).

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 5 2021, 08:53 PM
blchee
post Apr 5 2021, 09:52 PM

31 posts

I see keyword "concrete"
To avoid "misery" when drilling concrete.. use rotary hammer, nowadays not that expensive already, for a confirmsure can drill a wall plug size hole.
Misery is defined as using an underpowered drill that takes 5-10 minutes per tiny hole and it is almost the end for permitted hours to drill.
With rotary hammer, you can do 8 holes easily (including climbing up and down ladder, moving the ladder, depth finetuning, pick up wall plug) within 10 mins in concrete wall. Coz each hole takes only 6 seconds for 2" 5.5mm.

199-230 bucks got choice of Daewoo, Stanley, Total..
320 bucks gets you a Bosch rotary hammer. Some seller may bundle with SDS masonry bits for few bucks more.

See for more details on rotary hammer:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100415833

Thanks for the advise.
Kieff
post Apr 23 2021, 12:33 PM

80 posts

Hi I need some advise. I m a swiftlet farmer, I m thinking of adding grooves to the overhead wood planks. Shall I buy makita m1902b planer or bosch gho 6500? I'm going to use the blade that make grooves.
Zot
post Apr 23 2021, 01:30 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Kieff @ Apr 23 2021, 12:33 PM)
Hi I need some advise. I m a swiftlet farmer, I m thinking of adding grooves to the overhead wood planks. Shall I buy makita m1902b planer or bosch gho 6500? I'm going to use the blade that make grooves.
I like my Stanley
STEL630 with 700W and 2 year warranty
Makita M190 580W 1year(?)
Bosch GHO6500 650W and 6 months
CoffeeDude
post May 27 2021, 02:26 PM

1,609 posts

I bought a Stanley angle grinder and an angle grinder stand with sliding function smile.gif
Very nice biggrin.gif

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1209760...s131474369.html

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1726814...6602506416.html

the sliding function of the stand is really good
with a 4" wood cutting disc, I used it to cut 4" wood planks.
SUSceo684
post May 27 2021, 08:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ May 27 2021, 02:26 PM)
I bought a Stanley angle grinder and an angle grinder stand with sliding function  smile.gif
Very nice  biggrin.gif

I think using angle grinder as a wannabe circular saw even stand mounted is highly dangerous coz they operate very differently, the grinder is too high rpm to cut wood safely.
Why not get a circular saw instead?

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 27 2021, 08:04 PM
lyt25_1234
post May 27 2021, 08:33 PM

1,152 posts

I bought a Stanley angle grinder and an angle grinder stand with sliding function  smile.gif
Very nice  biggrin.gif

Get this -> https://shopee.com.my/Worx-Professional-Too...b0aAhkwEALw_wcB
Zot
post May 28 2021, 08:13 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 27 2021, 08:04 PM)
I think using angle grinder as a wannabe circular saw even stand mounted is highly dangerous coz they operate very differently, the grinder is too high rpm to cut wood safely.
Why not get a circular saw instead?
With stand probably still okay. The wood to be cut is still small size. Acting more like miter saw.

If hand held, then very dangerous cut like using cutting disc to cut sheet metal. It is impossible to hold firmly perpendicular to cut material and any twist will break the cutting disc flying all on=ver the place. Most contractor just ignore the cover and even safety goggle for convenience.

A twist when using saw blade with hand will snap the grinder off your hand and can land anywhere. shakehead.gif
lucifah
post May 28 2021, 09:41 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

Very nice  biggrin.gif

angle grinder + wood cutting disc = recipe for disaster...

please avoid at all cost. it is just worth the risk.

one hand slip or even just one time the wood got stuck, it usually ends in injuries
CoffeeDude
post May 28 2021, 09:42 AM

1,609 posts

Okay thanks for the advice everyone
lyt25_1234
post May 28 2021, 10:09 AM

1,152 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ May 28 2021, 09:42 AM)
Okay thanks for the advice everyone
I have seen contract workers using angle grinder without protection and cut their fingers off and also blind after the blade chip off.
So don't play play with angle grinder...it's a disaster awaiting to happen if not handle properly.

234 Pages « < 201 202 203 204 205 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:29 AM