If wired, this 1 looks promising (with the price) ..
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.cxUpd
LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc
Feb 16 2021, 07:48 PM
1,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sepang - Putrajaya - Cyberjaya |
Mar 1 2021, 08:55 PM
72 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
I came accros somethine like this in shopee https://shopee.com.my/product/126615509/202...98-1614602978.9 does it reliable, just for weekend diy project, mainly just to drill wood.
Dont really need pro grade one. |
Mar 1 2021, 09:08 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(aq_admiral2020 @ Mar 1 2021, 08:55 PM) I came accros somethine like this in shopee https://shopee.com.my/product/126615509/202...98-1614602978.9 does it reliable, just for weekend diy project, mainly just to drill wood. Use as screwdriver/Drill wood small bits <5mm should be OK.Dont really need pro grade one. The max torque on that (0-25Nm) is just up to the 1st gear level (21Nm) in 18V bosch drill driver. It should work on non-impact application (screwdriving and wood ONLY) - NOT for drilling any kind of wall. If use as screwdriver.. get one of these impact bits enough.. they last much longer than the normal bits. 110mm more useful if there is some stuff blocking direct angle to the screw. 65mm if you have tight space limitation for total length. https://shopee.com.my/Milwaukee-Shockwave-I...9774.4648983994 --- Alternatively, if want a cheap and good one, forgo the cordless feature, a corded drill which is more powerful (still can core out 20mm in wood) will last you many years for light duty use is about RM90 only - https://shopee.com.my/MAJU-Hikoki-Electric-...7111.7058115603 This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 1 2021, 09:16 PM |
Mar 1 2021, 09:50 PM
72 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 1 2021, 09:08 PM) Use as screwdriver/Drill wood small bits <5mm should be OK. Thank for the input. I think ill go for the corded drill since I'm doing work on the bench and not need the mobility.The max torque on that (0-25Nm) is just up to the 1st gear level (21Nm) in 18V bosch drill driver. It should work on non-impact application (screwdriving and wood ONLY) - NOT for drilling any kind of wall. If use as screwdriver.. get one of these impact bits enough.. they last much longer than the normal bits. 110mm more useful if there is some stuff blocking direct angle to the screw. 65mm if you have tight space limitation for total length. https://shopee.com.my/Milwaukee-Shockwave-I...9774.4648983994[/urone --- Alternatively, if want a cheap and good one, forgo the cordless feature, a corded drill which is more powerful (still can core out 20mm in wood) will last you many years for light duty use is about RM90 only - [url=https://shopee.com.my/MAJU-Hikoki-Electric-Drill-450W-D-10VSTA-Hitachi-GBM-Drilling-Wood-Steel-Mesin-Gerudi-Bor-Tebuk-Kayu-Besi-i.18237111.7058115603]https://shopee.com.my/MAJU-Hikoki-Electric-...7111.7058115603://https://shopee.com.my/Milwaukee-Sho...7111.7058115603 One thing bothered me about the cordless one is the battery endurance. ceo684 liked this post
Mar 2 2021, 08:12 AM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(aq_admiral2020 @ Mar 1 2021, 09:50 PM) Thank for the input. I think ill go for the corded drill since I'm doing work on the bench and not need the mobility. I think this would be wise choice to begin with. Maybe only later when you need a cordless one and at that time it can be charged wirelessly One thing bothered me about the cordless one is the battery endurance. |
Mar 2 2021, 09:41 AM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(aq_admiral2020 @ Mar 1 2021, 08:55 PM) I came accros somethine like this in shopee https://shopee.com.my/product/126615509/202...98-1614602978.9 does it reliable, just for weekend diy project, mainly just to drill wood. 12v will be ok for screw and softwood drill. Dont really need pro grade one. The main issue is the accuracy and trustworthy of rating since this is china brand’s rating. For hobbyist and general diy, get a 12-14.4v cordless for screw/light drill and an wired impact drill for wall drilll is good enough. Dont buy all in one go, buy as you need. Get cordless for drill ya. This post has been edited by chamelion: Mar 2 2021, 09:42 AM |
Mar 2 2021, 08:22 PM
1,520 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Hello sifus. I’m planning to buy a power tool mainly for wall drilling to hang frames, mirror, wall clock & etc and to assemble furniture like IKEA’s.
Which brand and model should I go for? Preferably established brands, not China ones. And cordless. Budget probably around RM500. This post has been edited by blanket84: Mar 2 2021, 08:22 PM |
Mar 2 2021, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 2 2021, 08:22 PM) Hello sifus. I’m planning to buy a power tool mainly for wall drilling to hang frames, mirror, wall clock & etc and to assemble furniture like IKEA’s. Three questions.Which brand and model should I go for? Preferably established brands, not China ones. And cordless. Budget probably around RM500. 1. What wall material? Concrete/RC/AAC block or just normal red clay bricks (exclude concrete beams)? This is impt as concrete need rotary hammer. For clay bricks (exclude beams) still can hack it with impact drill. 2. Wall plug size only? Torque control (screwdriving) is best done with 12V or 18V drill driver. It also boils down to Q1 whether a drill driver can be used or not for your wall material. 3. if you need rotary hammer Cordless cannot do with this budget if don't have existing 18V battery and charger system Rotary hammer, Bosch will be the cheapest or 2nd cheapest Bosch - Tool only (GBH180LI sans battery and charger) is 350-400 for rotary hammer. Full set with 4AH procore battery and fast charger 777. Worx - Full set rotary hammer also 719 Corded rotary hammer around 2xx-4xx If drill driver only then yes whole set under 500 definitely (tool alone about 220) This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 2 2021, 08:41 PM |
Mar 2 2021, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 2 2021, 08:34 PM) Three questions. 1. Clay bricks & sand bricks only. No RC.1. What wall material? Concrete/RC/AAC block or just normal red clay bricks (exclude concrete beams)? 2. Wall plug size only? 3. Cordless cannot do with this budget if don't have existing 18V battery and charger system. Tool only (GBH180LI sans battery and charger) is 350-400 for rotary hammer. Full set with 4AH procore battery and fast charger 777. 2. Only wall plug I could think of at the moment. 3. How much should I allocate to make it doable? RM500 is what I had in mind. I could top up a bit if I must. It must be cordless since I would be using more for furniture assembly than actually drilling into walls. This post has been edited by blanket84: Mar 2 2021, 08:42 PM ceo684 liked this post
Mar 2 2021, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 2 2021, 08:41 PM) 1. Clay bricks & sand bricks only. No RC. This makes life easier. 2. Only wall plug I could think of at the moment. 3. How much should I allocate to make it doable? RM500 is what I had in mind. I could top up a bit if I must. https://shopee.com.my/Bosch-GSB-180-LI-Cord...3852.2681304023 1. 18V Bosch GSB180-LI Bosch GSB (B for bang=impact) GSB180LI will suit your needs. Do not get the GSR (R for reversible, NO impact function) = The machine (solo tool only) is about 220-230 About 450 for complete set with briefcase. About 500 for complete set with the fisherman toolbox and extra drill/screwdriver bits. I would suggest take the cheaper one and add the milwaukee impact bits is better idea. 2. Makita 18V Cordless Driver Drill 13mm DDF453SFX7 c/w 1Pc 3.0Ah Battery & 1Pc Std. Charger for about 544 (generally costs more vs Bosch) 3. Others can consider are the drill drivers from Worx, Stanley/Dewalt, Hikoki (Hitachi power tools) 18V confirm can handle wall well 12V more towards light duty screwdriver 10.8V class around 12V 3.6V toys for kids. This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 2 2021, 09:00 PM |
Mar 2 2021, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 2 2021, 08:47 PM) This makes life easier. Thank you for confirming my choice https://shopee.com.my/Bosch-GSB-180-LI-Cord...3852.2681304023 Bosch GSB (B for bang=impact) GSB180LI will suit your needs. The machine (solo tool only) is about 220-230 About 450 for complete set with briefcase. About 500 for complete set with the fisherman toolbox and extra drill/screwdriver bits. I would suggesttake the cheaper one and add the milwaukee impact bits is better idea. Do not get the GSR (R for reversible, NO impact function) = I was actually looking at exact model that you proposed, hence how the RM500 budget was set. I just wasn’t sure if it is good enough to drill into bricks as it was advertised to be used on wood & metal only. This post has been edited by blanket84: Mar 2 2021, 09:00 PM |
Mar 2 2021, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 2 2021, 09:00 PM) Thank you for confirming my choice It'll work up to 10mm in bricks (masonry) according to spec sheet.I was actually looking at exact model that you proposed, hence how the RM500 budget was set. I just wasn’t sure if it is good enough to drill into bricks as it was advertised to be used on wood & metal only. https://www.bosch-pt.com.my/my/en/products/...0-li-06019F83L0 Have the same myself, just on bigger battery shared with cordless rotary hammer (for concrete), but this works well for 6mm wall plugs in brickwalls. This has also been abused as a "mini grinder" to polish out socket backbox holes in brickwalls. Usually for me I use it for tile bits around 6mm, it works well (as tile bit cannot use at >500 rpm). This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 2 2021, 09:07 PM |
Mar 2 2021, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 2 2021, 09:03 PM) It'll work up to 10mm in bricks (masonry) according to spec sheet. Owh. I didn't check the page for spec sheet yet. Only saw the advertisement in Youtube. I guess the local page confirmed that it could be use for masonry drilling. I think 10mm should be good enough for my intended application.https://www.bosch-pt.com.my/my/en/products/...0-li-06019F83L0 Have the same myself, just on bigger battery shared with cordless rotary hammer (for concrete), but this works well for 6mm wall plugs in brickwalls. This has also been abused as a "mini grinder" to polish out socket backbox holes in brickwalls. Usually for me I use it for tile bits around 6mm, it works well (as tile bit cannot use at >500 rpm). ceo684 liked this post
Mar 3 2021, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 2 2021, 09:13 PM) Owh. I didn't check the page for spec sheet yet. Only saw the advertisement in Youtube. I guess the local page confirmed that it could be use for masonry drilling. I think 10mm should be good enough for my intended application. Should be plentiful (since its 18V class tool) |
Mar 14 2021, 06:58 PM
1,643 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: U n k o L a n d |
Not sure if this is the right place to ask but does anyone know where i can get Danish Oil? I searched around in so many hardware stores and 4 ACE hardwares. They dont seem to have it
Mar 14 2021, 11:42 PM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Mar 16 2021, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Nov 11 2020, 10:11 AM) How's the performance?QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 11 2020, 10:20 AM) So, you get to know what blade brand compatible to the unit? I can tell you that the oscillating tool is something very convenient for difficult to reach place. QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 11 2020, 01:53 PM) QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Nov 11 2020, 02:44 PM) QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 11 2020, 04:07 PM) Hi all sifu sekalian For scope of work to cut a nice looking square manhole in the plaster ceiling ("drywall" or gypsum board), any difference between cordless/corded performance? Coz other than cutting manhole in plaster ceiling, I may not use the oscillating tool much (have existing 18V bosch batt). Any corded worx/bosch/makita oscillating tool circa 250-300W should be plentiful enough, or it will be a hopeless scenario like using the "impact drill" in RC wall? Read somewhere that circular saw not a good idea coz it will produce a desert storm of dust. This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 16 2021, 09:35 PM |
Mar 17 2021, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 16 2021, 09:32 PM) How's the performance? Gypsum board, Plaster ceiling is easily should be no problem. For me, corded or cordless is just fine. I have a corded one. You may think that you might use it less but when facing tight space or other difficult situation, you wish you've had one.Hi all sifu sekalian For scope of work to cut a nice looking square manhole in the plaster ceiling ("drywall" or gypsum board), any difference between cordless/corded performance? Coz other than cutting manhole in plaster ceiling, I may not use the oscillating tool much (have existing 18V bosch batt). Any corded worx/bosch/makita oscillating tool circa 250-300W should be plentiful enough, or it will be a hopeless scenario like using the "impact drill" in RC wall? Read somewhere that circular saw not a good idea coz it will produce a desert storm of dust. This video probably make you don't think twice to own one. ceo684 liked this post
Mar 17 2021, 10:16 AM
1,704 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 16 2021, 09:32 PM) How's the performance? not using yet ...Hi all sifu sekalian For scope of work to cut a nice looking square manhole in the plaster ceiling ("drywall" or gypsum board), any difference between cordless/corded performance? Coz other than cutting manhole in plaster ceiling, I may not use the oscillating tool much (have existing 18V bosch batt). Any corded worx/bosch/makita oscillating tool circa 250-300W should be plentiful enough, or it will be a hopeless scenario like using the "impact drill" in RC wall? Read somewhere that circular saw not a good idea coz it will produce a desert storm of dust. ceo684 liked this post
Mar 17 2021, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Mar 17 2021, 10:16 AM) The good thing about oscillating tool to cut is being able to perform more precise cut. Since it is oscillating back and forth, you can concentrate on being precise since it has no tendency to pull your hand to certain direction like grinder or circular saw. ceo684 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0403sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:19 PM |