Investors Club V10, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

Cubalagi
post Oct 19 2019, 12:16 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 19 2019, 12:11 PM)
oh yeah, I forgot. The companies are based in the US. So basically, there's no tax advantage?
Not from US WHT
moosset
post Oct 19 2019, 12:30 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 19 2019, 12:16 PM)
Not from US WHT
In that case, maybe I'll invest in HangSengIndex while the riot is still on-going.
Cubalagi
post Oct 19 2019, 07:14 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 19 2019, 12:30 PM)
In that case, maybe I'll invest in HangSengIndex while the riot is still on-going.
That will be either 2800, 2833 or 3115. All very low cost.
jack2
post Oct 21 2019, 09:46 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

still got ppl invest in KLSE stocks? My portfolio is still in -30% loss since 10 years until now...

luckily i can recover from bitcoin investments.
Kar Weng
post Oct 22 2019, 03:37 PM

Kar Weng | Physiotherapist
840 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 21 2019, 09:46 PM)
still got ppl invest in KLSE stocks? My portfolio is still in -30% loss since 10 years until now...

Still in the red for 30% over 10 years? Is it seriously that bad? What's your portfolio like?
Yggdrasil
post Oct 22 2019, 11:12 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 21 2019, 09:46 PM)

You're better off with index ETF.
jack2
post Oct 24 2019, 05:35 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Oct 22 2019, 03:37 PM)
Still in the red for 30% over 10 years? Is it seriously that bad? What's your portfolio like?
bjtoto, may bulk (this is the worst)

ytl
ytlpower
many... dividends stocks
~Curious~
post Oct 31 2019, 11:41 PM

1,744 posts

is affin hwang the only 1 offering this kinda deal? (lending and borrowing securities in ur portfolio)?
Cubalagi
post Nov 1 2019, 01:27 AM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Oct 31 2019, 11:41 PM)
is affin hwang the only 1 offering this kinda deal? (lending and borrowing securities in ur portfolio)?
Yes.. But I hear Kenanga IB will launch this service by end of this year.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 1 2019, 01:28 AM
~Curious~
post Nov 1 2019, 10:04 AM

1,744 posts

ooh coz affin hwang brokerage is very very high
Yggdrasil
post Nov 1 2019, 02:24 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Oct 31 2019, 11:41 PM)
I'm sure all investment banks offer this. Maybank has it too.

AmBank:

Ambank's minimum requirement is 50,000 units.

Anyone knows how much IB pays if we lend securities?
Cubalagi
post Nov 1 2019, 02:39 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Nov 1 2019, 02:24 PM)
I'm sure all investment banks offer this. Maybank has it too.

Anyone knows how much IB pays if we lend securities?
No they don't. If they have perhaps to institutions only, but don't offer to retail. If u call them, they will be clueless. U can check if u want.

Im told u can get like 2% per annum but the rate will depend on the counter n market conditions. Liquid volatile shares will have higher rate. Illiquid n steady shares, you may not even get any.
mrbigggyyy
post Nov 1 2019, 04:41 PM

124 posts

waa nice
djhenry91
post Nov 1 2019, 07:21 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

SBL?
moosset
post Nov 4 2019, 12:53 PM

1,917 posts

Cubalagi

Singapore also has ETF to track S&P500 [SGX:S27].
How does it compare to the Ireland domiciled ETF and the US domiciled ETF?
Cubalagi
post Nov 4 2019, 02:13 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 4 2019, 12:53 PM)
Cubalagi

Singapore also has ETF to track S&P500 [SGX:S27].
How does it compare to the Ireland domiciled ETF and the US domiciled ETF?
The SGX one is the SPY listed in the US, cross listed in SGX. Thts why it's only tradable Iin USD.

The HKEX one is a Vanguard fund domiciled in HK investing in the US SnP500 stocks. Tradable in HKD, USD n RMB.

The SGX is slightly cheaper.

But actually it's investing in the same thing n both are reputable asset managers. So not much difference really.

~Curious~
post Nov 5 2019, 12:15 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Nov 1 2019, 07:21 PM)
SBL?
CIMB offers SBL?
moosset
post Nov 5 2019, 09:02 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 4 2019, 02:13 PM)
The SGX one is the SPY listed in the US, cross listed in SGX. Thts why it's only tradable Iin USD.

The HKEX one is a Vanguard fund domiciled in HK investing in the US SnP500 stocks. Tradable in HKD, USD n RMB.

The SGX is slightly cheaper.

But actually it's investing in the same thing n both are reputable asset managers. So not much difference really.
sorry, noob question: while I can understand the term cross-listing, I'm not familiar as to how it works. How does it follow tightly the counterpart in US? Surely, you can't trade the SGX one while SGX is closed, right? Then how does it follow the US counterpart?

Another question, I was trying to find your previous posts. What were the benefits of HK domiciled ETF again, as opposed to Ireland domiciled and US domiciled ETF? I can't remember.
Cubalagi
post Nov 5 2019, 03:45 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 09:02 AM)
sorry, noob question: while I can understand the term cross-listing, I'm not familiar as to how it works. How does it follow tightly the counterpart in US? Surely, you can't trade the SGX one while SGX is closed, right? Then how does it follow the US counterpart?

Another question, I was trying to find your previous posts. What were the benefits of HK domiciled ETF again, as opposed to Ireland domiciled and US domiciled ETF? I can't remember.
Im assuming u know how ETF pricing works, the ETF "market pricing" as opposed to end of day NAV pricing of unit trust.

The ETF pricing will closely track(but may not exactly be the same as) the NAV of the underlying stocks e.g. The 500 US large cap of the S&P500.

In this case, when SGX open, US market will be closed. The NAV of the ETF will be the closing prices of the US stocks the day before (actually early morning SGX time).

So the etf price in SGX will trade around this NAV but won't be the same. Esp because while the US equity market is closed, the US S&P 500 Futures (i.e. their FKLI) is actually still trading in the night in US. So this may create discount or premium to NAV which is "old".

On the tax, Ireland has the most advantage. US Ireland tax treaty WHT on dividend from US is 15%, not 30%.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 5 2019, 03:53 PM
moosset
post Nov 5 2019, 07:07 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 5 2019, 03:45 PM)
Im assuming u know how ETF pricing works, the ETF "market pricing" as opposed to end of day NAV pricing of unit trust.

The ETF pricing will closely track(but may not exactly be the same as) the NAV of the underlying stocks e.g. The 500 US large cap of the S&P500.

In this case, when SGX open, US market will be closed. The NAV of the ETF will be the closing prices of the US stocks the day before (actually early morning SGX time).

So the etf price in SGX will trade around this NAV but won't be the same. Esp because while the US equity market is closed, the US S&P 500 Futures (i.e. their FKLI) is actually still trading in the night in US. So this may create discount or premium to NAV which is "old".

thanks! It is as I suspected.

the Ireland domiciled ETF is not a kind of cross-listing, right? How does it move in relation to the US S&P500 ETF?

250 Pages « < 235 236 237 238 239 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:52 AM