128 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

eandi
post Jun 25 2012, 02:14 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(azrene @ Jun 19 2012, 01:51 PM)
went to SI....macam tak dapat jer...the panel also felt boring when i answered....siap cakap , help us to help you...it was friday evening, and i guess everybody cant wait to end the day to enjoy weekend...well, the last word one of the panel said to me, doa banyak2....oh well, i've tried...now back to reality working till the end with our beloved goverment yeayyyy!!!
Azrene, nvm..u got 2 weeks for the result..so,doa & tawakal..

Guys, I forgot to ask HR, what is the office hour for Petronas @ KLCC. is it 8 to 5, or 9 to 5p.m?

pandikar
post Jun 25 2012, 04:39 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Jun 25 2012, 02:14 PM)
Azrene, nvm..u got 2 weeks for the result..so,doa & tawakal..

Guys, I forgot to ask HR, what is the office hour for Petronas @ KLCC. is it 8 to 5, or 9 to 5p.m?
9 hours working, flexible time if I'm not mistaken.

If you come at 9am, go back at 6pm then.
vostroxe
post Jun 25 2012, 06:25 PM

768 posts

got these two choice to do my internship..both give me allowance rm500. However if work at petronas are more costly to me..my friend said that both sime darby n petronas give almost the same job scope. N if long term, sime darby are more better in absorbing trainee to staff. Petronas much2 more harder to absorb. So dilemma right now to choose which one. If petronas harder to absorb trainee to staff, is it worth my time and money?
xellesia70
post Jun 25 2012, 09:25 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 13 2012, 01:02 PM)
The previous management gave too much power to HR and stressed that everyone contributes equally to the company so the remuneration scheme is the same across the board. This mentality is probably okay if you are working in government office but for an MNC to have this kind of mentality in the 21st century is suicidal.

The performance management review/assessment is also another factor. I mean, I worked my ass off and only got a rating of 3 because my boss expected me to work like a higher grade code because that's where he envisioned I would be in the future. How's that for a dumb ass reason for not giving me a good rating. Instead of ranking me against my peers, I am being ranked with my future self. That rating 3 is also given to those who ponteng kerja, who does drugs so basically in the grand scheme of things, I am not better than those people.

I worked 10 years and my gaji at the time was not even 7K. A middle east company offered me 6 times more and tax free. It was a no brainier. This is basically the same story that you will hear from a lot of ex-pet. A company that had delusions of grandeur and deaf and blind to staff's proposal and market movement in the industry.

If you talk to any headhunter, the current climate is called "Scarced Tecnical Professionals Market". So for PETRONAS at the time to NOT taking any steps was foolish and down right criminal.
Bro Azraeil,

Care to share your experience when you left petronas and joined other company? What was it like?
I'm seriously thinking of leaving too..But still trying to convince myself that the grass would be greener on the other side.
it has been 7 years and and i think i reach my limit.
pinkyd
post Jun 25 2012, 11:48 PM

120 posts

Efficient : I've got a phone call saying my SI was successful and I have gotten the job, 4 days after my SI.

Not efficient : Took a week plus for HR to send the black & white offer letter. They even send me the wrong one which was suppose to be for another person.

vostroxe
post Jun 26 2012, 01:24 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jun 25 2012, 11:48 PM)
Efficient : I've got a phone call saying my SI was successful and I have gotten the job, 4 days after my SI.

Not efficient : Took a week plus for HR to send the black & white offer letter. They even send me the wrong one which was suppose to be for another person.
yep..they really take long time to produce offer letter.
azraeil
post Jun 26 2012, 02:47 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(xellesia70 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:25 PM)
Bro Azraeil,

Care to share your experience when you left petronas and joined other company? What was it like?
I'm seriously thinking of leaving too..But still trying to convince myself that the grass would be greener on the other side.
it has been 7 years and and i think i reach my limit.
It was hard to leave the only company that I have known since I graduate. Change is always difficult but change is also good. One thing you need to know is what you want in life. I have to say that I moved mostly because I want the best for my 2 young kids. By moving to another opportunity, I was able to give them things that I couldn't while I was working in Petronas. Work life balance in Petronas and in Malaysia especially is non existent. My slave driver of a boss once asked me why I am leaving early and that was 7PM at night! He leaves office at 9PM every night and he expects his subordinate to do the same. I only get to see my kids for half an hour before they go to bed and I leave the office about 15 minutes after they wake up.

Over here where I am working, No one is expected to stay past 4PM and I get to spend so much time with my family, I bring them to swimming, ballet, cub scouts (heck I can even be the troop leader), Karate etc etc. When I am on leave for 30 days, I am not expected to answer any calls or any emails. I drop everything when I am on leave and that is okay. Try doing that in Malaysia and your boss will give you the evil eye once you come back to the office.

Don't expect to climb the career ladder though. Being an expat, you get the excellent pay and great work life balance but you will never be a boss and personally I am okay with that. Of course once in a while I do look back and think about what I would be now if I had stayed. Almost all my friends are now either a GM or an SGM in Petronas. I am happy for them but also looking at what I have for the last 6 years, I won't change it for anything.

Good Luck!
pinkyd
post Jun 27 2012, 09:17 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 26 2012, 02:47 AM)
It was hard to leave the only company that I have known since I graduate. Change is always difficult but change is also good. One thing you need to know is what you want in life. I have to say that I moved mostly because I want the best for my 2 young kids. By moving to another opportunity, I was able to give them things that I couldn't while I was working in Petronas. Work life balance in Petronas and in Malaysia especially is non existent. My slave driver of a boss once asked me why I am leaving early and that was 7PM at night! He leaves office at 9PM every night and he expects his subordinate to do the same. I only get to see my kids for half an hour before they go to bed and I leave the office about 15 minutes after they wake up.

Over here where I am working, No one is expected to stay past 4PM and I get to spend so much time with my family, I bring them to swimming, ballet, cub scouts (heck I can even be the troop leader), Karate etc etc. When I am on leave for 30 days, I am not expected to answer any calls or any emails. I drop everything when I am on leave and that is okay. Try doing that in Malaysia and your boss will give you the evil eye once you come back to the office.

Don't expect to climb the career ladder though. Being an expat, you get the excellent pay and great work life balance but you will never be a boss and personally I am okay with that. Of course once in a while I do look back and think about what I would be now if I had stayed. Almost all my friends are now either a GM or an SGM in Petronas. I am happy for them but also looking at what I have for the last 6 years, I won't change it for anything.

Good Luck!
So you are saying there is no work-life balance in Petronas? Or does that depends on which dept. u are working in..
azrene
post Jun 27 2012, 10:36 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jun 25 2012, 11:48 PM)

hai pinkyd, when did you went for your SI?
pinkyd
post Jun 27 2012, 02:28 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(azrene @ Jun 27 2012, 10:36 AM)
hai pinkyd, when did you went for your SI?
15 Jun
azraeil
post Jun 27 2012, 04:59 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jun 27 2012, 04:17 AM)
So you are saying there is no work-life balance in Petronas? Or does that depends on which dept. u are working in..
Probably depends in what department you are in and also depends on what kind of boss you get.
maninyellow
post Jun 27 2012, 06:57 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jun 27 2012, 09:17 AM)
I would say depends on which department you're working in, got 2 friends, A and B. B joined high workload department, working 9-10 everyday, sat and sun exclusive. A joined department with lighter workload, only busy on certain days of the month , after that, can clocked in early, cabut early. As of me, My boss's philosophy is, as long as you fulfill flexi working hours, working 7-4, 8-5,9-6 also can. While My friend from across department's culture quite diff, his boss practise " engineer should work late" mindset. he's been working 7-7 everyday, sat and sun inclusive since march. He suffered low morale dy......

This post has been edited by maninyellow: Jun 27 2012, 06:57 PM
xellesia70
post Jun 28 2012, 12:12 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(maninyellow @ Jun 27 2012, 06:57 PM)
I would say depends on which department you're working in, got 2 friends, A and B. B joined high workload department, working 9-10 everyday, sat and sun exclusive.  A joined department with lighter workload, only busy on certain days of the month , after that, can clocked in early, cabut early. As of me, My boss's philosophy is, as long as you fulfill flexi working hours, working 7-4, 8-5,9-6 also can. While My friend from across department's culture quite diff, his boss practise " engineer should work late" mindset. he's been working 7-7 everyday, sat and sun inclusive since march. He suffered low morale dy......
yes..depends on which department that you're in..you could be in department that acts like they're the bosses or could be in department where you are the scapegoat to others.. sad thing is the teamwork is no longer there..people tend to care about their KPIs a little bit too much.. the effort put is no longer important as long as the KPIs are achieved. I'm not saying that KPI oriented is bad but there are cases where the requirement is getting ridiculous and we ended up doing things that is unnecessary just for the sake of ensuring the KPIs are good.

But again, this does not apply to all.. sweat.gif

Bro azraeil, thanks for your sharing..appreciate it..
mohdyakup
post Jun 28 2012, 01:06 AM

4,351 posts

In Petronas, to excel in your career, its all depend on your boss... #truestory

Problem is, most of the bosses jaga KPI sendiri sahaja, anak buah terkapai-kapai... & anak-anak buah penat kejar target kasi KPI boss cantek, tapi boss tak defend anak buah during MYPC...

I think the so-called forced ranking phenomena really screwed Petronas teamwork across department
azraeil
post Jun 28 2012, 04:03 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 27 2012, 08:06 PM)
In Petronas, to excel in your career, its all depend on your boss... #truestory

Problem is, most of the bosses jaga KPI sendiri sahaja, anak buah terkapai-kapai... & anak-anak buah penat kejar target kasi KPI boss cantek, tapi boss tak defend anak buah during MYPC...

I think the so-called forced ranking phenomena really screwed Petronas teamwork across department
True story ..... I guess in Petronas if you want to go high then you really need to know how far in you're wiling to stab somebody in the back. How the hell can my boss get a rating of 1 when everybody else under him gets a 3?

You really need to have thick skin and really be willing to be cut-throat to go up the career ladder. Some people are made of doing all that ... I'm not one of them.
eandi
post Jun 28 2012, 09:53 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 28 2012, 04:03 AM)
True story ..... I guess in Petronas if you want to go high then you really need to know how far in you're wiling to stab somebody in the back. How the hell can my boss get a rating of 1 when everybody else under him gets a 3?

You really need to have thick skin and really be willing to be cut-throat to go up the career ladder. Some people are made of doing all that ... I'm not one of them.
Now, I'm getting afraid to Join Pet..
Last time I was afraid to attend the Interview..
Not sure how's the condition there, but I'm pretty sure it will be better than my current employer..

pandikar
post Jun 28 2012, 12:02 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Jun 28 2012, 09:53 AM)
Not sure how's the condition there, but I'm pretty sure it will be better than my current employer..
Join first, bro. Think, evaluate and decide later smile.gif
azrene
post Jun 29 2012, 09:45 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jun 27 2012, 02:28 PM)
15 Jun
so which department did u get? i went on 15 jun also and now i guess, i failed the SI... what time is your SI on that day? coz i saw a lady waiting for SI after my session around 4 plus...
diazzaid
post Jun 29 2012, 04:08 PM

28 posts

hi there!

i attended my TA on 21st June 2012.

On Monday (25th June 2012) i received a phone call from HR to attend SI on the next day (26th June 2012).

My case study was about R&D. I enjoyed the session very much but since the interviewer always asked for more answers to every question given, i came to a point where i became blank doh.gif

& to make things worse, during the 3rd stage where they required me to describe my experience based on a situation given, i screwed up by telling them how i hv bypassed my boss approval to commence a project without sufficient budget. the interviewer pulled a long face shakehead.gif & a bit distracted by my explanation. sweat.gif

now is already friday & i hv yet to receive any phone call from them. pls pray for me guys! i badly need dis job icon_question.gif

mohdyakup
post Jun 29 2012, 05:15 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Jun 28 2012, 09:53 AM)
Rilek bro. Join dulu. Built networking. Accumulate experience. Itu yang penting icon_rolleyes.gif

128 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:23 PM