128 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

pandikar
post Jun 12 2012, 12:58 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 12 2012, 12:18 PM)
Aiyoo, that is a story that you can write a book about. I think either in the Oil & Gas thread or this thread, I may have told part of the story.
Bro, mind telling us the whole story? hehe
ixus
post Jun 12 2012, 01:48 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 12 2012, 12:18 PM)
Aiyoo, that is a story that you can write a book about. I think either in the Oil & Gas thread or this thread, I may have told part of the story.
wish to know more about the story.. biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
eandi
post Jun 12 2012, 02:13 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(ixus @ Jun 12 2012, 01:48 PM)
wish to know more about the story..  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
Bro azraeil..pls tell us the story..before I join Pet..

Added on June 12, 2012, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(silverbolt143 @ Jul 2 2011, 07:46 PM)
Same case like me...i ditch their offer...they have cut off all the nice benefit for new comer....
hence the salary offered i have to normalise to minus RM700.

Petronas benefits vs (inside bracket my current company):
- no housing loan or car loan...(current company, housing loan interest subsidy - minus BLR 4% for up to RM450k loan, car loan-RM65k free interest loan)
- 15 days annual leave & 1 day paternity..(after confirmation 22 days AL, 3 days paternity)
- medical benefits: Outpatient RM 4k annually plus dependants, hospitalisation/major medical RM75k staff & RM20k each dependants (RM20k outpatient plus dependants, hospitalisation/major medical RM50k staff & RM50k each dependants)
- dental RM400 annually, no optical (dental RM1,400 each dependant, optical RM400 each dependant)
- unclear policy on reimbursable professional membership and study scholarship/assistance (memberships fees reimbursable up to 2 professional bodies annually, full scholarship for ACCA, ICAEW. partial scholarship for CIA, ESH/DOSH professional qualifications. max bonding period 3 years depends on amount of scholarship).

But petronas still have plus points in my case such as:
maternity 4k normal, 6k scissor......(none currently)
EPF employer contribution 19%  (my company 16%)

the above based on what HRM personnel informed to me via e-mail...coz apparently in my case they do not mail the employee term & benefits with the offer letter..After due consideration, i was of the opinion that the offer (within 35% increment) still does not able to compensate other benefits which ill lose if i leave current company...PLUS ive received several other offer from non-MNC company who willing to offered 35% increment as well but the benefits much more worse....
Guys, Is it above T&C still applicable for the new intake?

This post has been edited by eandi: Jun 12 2012, 02:20 PM
klein
post Jun 12 2012, 03:06 PM

311 posts

Nah all you guys need to do is use the search engine to search for bro azraeil's older posts in this subforum zzz
pandikar
post Jun 12 2012, 03:08 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(eandi @ Jun 12 2012, 02:13 PM)

EPF employer contribution 19%  (my company 16%)

A friend of mine said, "That is way too high".

azraeil
post Jun 13 2012, 01:02 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

The previous management gave too much power to HR and stressed that everyone contributes equally to the company so the remuneration scheme is the same across the board. This mentality is probably okay if you are working in government office but for an MNC to have this kind of mentality in the 21st century is suicidal.

The performance management review/assessment is also another factor. I mean, I worked my ass off and only got a rating of 3 because my boss expected me to work like a higher grade code because that's where he envisioned I would be in the future. How's that for a dumb ass reason for not giving me a good rating. Instead of ranking me against my peers, I am being ranked with my future self. That rating 3 is also given to those who ponteng kerja, who does drugs so basically in the grand scheme of things, I am not better than those people.

I worked 10 years and my gaji at the time was not even 7K. A middle east company offered me 6 times more and tax free. It was a no brainier. This is basically the same story that you will hear from a lot of ex-pet. A company that had delusions of grandeur and deaf and blind to staff's proposal and market movement in the industry.

If you talk to any headhunter, the current climate is called "Scarced Tecnical Professionals Market". So for PETRONAS at the time to NOT taking any steps was foolish and down right criminal.
azrene
post Jun 13 2012, 03:05 PM

161 posts

i got SI on friday morning...been to TA last thursday with HSE department....just wondering, if i pass SI means the position that will be offered to me will be permanent kan? coz during TA, the big boss told me the position is contract basis...or they just wanna test me if i doesnt mind with the contract basis?
budak kg
post Jun 19 2012, 02:22 AM

30 posts

hi there!!!
i`m interested to take internship with petronas... how i want to apply???
i`m business administration students with 3.1 CGPA...
anyone can help???
Bro azraeil plz help!!!!!!
syfirdaus
post Jun 19 2012, 05:03 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(budak kg @ Jun 19 2012, 02:22 AM)
hi there!!!
i`m interested to take internship with petronas... how i want to apply???
i`m business administration students with 3.1 CGPA...
anyone can help???
Bro azraeil plz help!!!!!!
Just go to their website, Discover Petronas.

Fill up the form, attach together with your mini transcript, CV, and cover letter from university.

They will only entertain online application. Good luck.
budak kg
post Jun 19 2012, 08:09 AM

30 posts

to syfirdaus...
is it different term internship and industrial training in petronas???
previously, i`ve apply for this internship... unfortunately, no answer...
is it another link for this job???
anyone can help

-best regards-
sitisitu
post Jun 19 2012, 09:03 AM

Hello

Just got offer from Petronas as drilling engineer. The hr said i will attend some sort of academy/training for 1 year. but she didn't explain further because she also don't really know about the training. so, anyone knows about it? really curious lah what type of training i'll be in.

Thank you biggrin.gif
eandi
post Jun 19 2012, 01:41 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(azrene @ Jun 13 2012, 03:05 PM)
i got SI on friday morning...been to TA last thursday with HSE department....just wondering, if i pass SI means the position that will be offered to me will be permanent kan? coz during TA, the big boss told me the position is contract basis...or they just wanna test me if i doesnt mind with the contract basis?
IMO, If got SI, then it will be permanent, unless u really choose contract basis..

azrene
post Jun 19 2012, 01:51 PM

161 posts

went to SI....macam tak dapat jer...the panel also felt boring when i answered....siap cakap , help us to help you...it was friday evening, and i guess everybody cant wait to end the day to enjoy weekend...well, the last word one of the panel said to me, doa banyak2....oh well, i've tried...now back to reality working till the end with our beloved goverment yeayyyy!!!
pinkyd
post Jun 19 2012, 02:29 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(azrene @ Jun 19 2012, 01:51 PM)
went to SI....macam tak dapat jer...the panel also felt boring when i answered....siap cakap , help us to help you...it was friday evening, and i guess everybody cant wait to end the day to enjoy weekend...well, the last word one of the panel said to me, doa banyak2....oh well, i've tried...now back to reality working till the end with our beloved goverment yeayyyy!!!
What position u were applying for?
DaRKMiSt
post Jun 19 2012, 02:50 PM

216 posts

what electronic engineer can work in petronas?
syfirdaus
post Jun 19 2012, 03:20 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(budak kg @ Jun 19 2012, 08:09 AM)
to syfirdaus...
is it different term internship and industrial training in petronas???
previously, i`ve apply for this internship... unfortunately, no answer...
is it another link for this job???
anyone can help
-best regards-
Both term implied the same meaning. If you're business administration students, perhaps you should tick department that relevant to your study, example of business planning, marketing, hr, supply chain management and so on. Don't go for technical department.

Usually they will give feedback thru email after few weeks. Stated whether your application are in process, not complete, or if have not getting response in two months considered it unsuccessful. If success, they might be calling you straight away.

In the meanwhile, try to find alternative company, gain more experience there and later apply Petronas once you have graduated.
firdaus87
post Jun 19 2012, 04:40 PM

207 posts

Any1 here will attend PIPE on 16 July?
diazzaid
post Jun 19 2012, 06:34 PM

28 posts

hi guys!

i was invited to attend Petronas technical assessment this Thursday @ KLCC. The position offered is Governance & Assurance under PCSB. any idea what dis position is all about? i hv a feeling that it is more towards auditing job. oh btw, i'm a chemical engineering grad with 4 yrs experience. thanx in advance for your help biggrin.gif
budak kg
post Jun 19 2012, 07:11 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(syfirdaus @ Jun 19 2012, 03:20 PM)
Both term implied the same meaning.  If you're business administration students, perhaps you should tick department that relevant to your study, example of business planning, marketing, hr, supply chain management and so on. Don't go for technical department.

Usually they will give feedback thru email after few weeks. Stated whether your application are in process, not complete, or if have not getting response in two months considered it unsuccessful. If success, they might be calling you straight away.

In the meanwhile, try to find alternative company, gain more experience there and later apply Petronas once you have graduated.
to sy firdaus
actually i`ve already graduated... can i apply to that position??? or can i apply to GRADUATES EMPLOYABILITY ENHANCEMENT SCHEME (GEES)???
anyone can help???
azrene
post Jun 20 2012, 08:31 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jun 19 2012, 02:29 PM)
What position u were applying for?
hse department....

128 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled