QUOTE(khairi90 @ Oct 12 2013, 11:08 AM)
is it HR incharge during our SI will be the same to handle n monitor our application until we get offer letter?
yes..sama broWorking with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?
Oct 17 2013, 03:37 PM
351 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Selangor |
Oct 17 2013, 11:45 PM
1,042 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: pasir berdengung |
Oct 19 2013, 12:07 PM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Hi guys,
Ive been reading thru this entire forum but havent been able to find info relevant to me. I recently got offered to do an Industrial Training with Petroliam under the 'Strategic Communications' Department'. I am a Communications and Media Management student (final sem +required internship). I've looked thru the forms that were emailed to me but could not find any indication of allowance etc. Is there anyone who knows whether Petronas pays industrial trainees? And whether is it advisable to take up the offer as a Comms student in terms of future prospects? thanks for reading thru this, will appreciate any advice at all. - Sincerely grateful - |
Oct 19 2013, 12:50 PM
560 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Australia |
QUOTE(justinssyeo @ Oct 19 2013, 12:07 PM) Hi guys, Rm500/month if you are a non-Petronas scholar, RM700 or Rm800 (can't remember the exact figure) for Petronas scholar.Ive been reading thru this entire forum but havent been able to find info relevant to me. I recently got offered to do an Industrial Training with Petroliam under the 'Strategic Communications' Department'. I am a Communications and Media Management student (final sem +required internship). I've looked thru the forms that were emailed to me but could not find any indication of allowance etc. Is there anyone who knows whether Petronas pays industrial trainees? And whether is it advisable to take up the offer as a Comms student in terms of future prospects? thanks for reading thru this, will appreciate any advice at all. - Sincerely grateful - |
Oct 19 2013, 02:23 PM
107 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Hi all,
A novice here, dont know whether it has been mentioned in this forum, can I ask what is the offshore allowance daily for a field engineer in petronas. Say with 2-4 years experience ? Many thanks |
Oct 19 2013, 09:23 PM
469 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
i want to work at petronas...can anyone help me on how to apply?
Oct 19 2013, 09:32 PM
24 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Oct 9 2013, 10:44 PM) company discretion means many thing. one of it they would not even pay your bonus if you tender before the bonus cutoff (which is not declared anywhere in the executive handbook - unless they have updated, even if u serve full financial year, which many perm staff wait to jump ship after receive bonus by 24hr notice or 1mth notice. Yes, i have decided to leave this company. Looking at the positive side, i will learn new things in the new environment, stepping out from my comfort zone. The only issue is HR has yet to acknowledge my resignation, telling me that they want to talk to me first. Well, hope everything would go smoothly. Thanks for your insight bro. still worth it, than doing it nicely with 3mth notice. move on. you never test the outside environment, you never know what is your potential outside petronas. petronas environment is so toxic these days. Yes boss culture getting prevalent and those who work smart and hard found themselves not a valuable asset anymore. at least outside you do not need to do all the ridiculous initiatives and HSE audits as part of your KPI which do not bring value cos everyone are required to do so. Your senior colleague did went out and come back? If if its similar and in Msia, go for it. If Medical is one thing holding u, so be prepared to buy your own insurance , esp with family and kids. Nope the senior is a contract staff and he is still with the comp. but he worked at a few companies before joining pet. |
Oct 19 2013, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(zicco @ Oct 19 2013, 02:23 PM) Hi all, A novice here, dont know whether it has been mentioned in this forum, can I ask what is the offshore allowance daily for a field engineer in petronas. Say with 2-4 years experience ? Many thanks If you're office based, the offshore allowance is standard regardless of your experience. It was rm85/day last year and was revised to rm125/day recently. |
Oct 19 2013, 09:50 PM
1,120 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca! ....now SG |
QUOTE(xellesia70 @ Oct 19 2013, 09:32 PM) Yes, i have decided to leave this company. Looking at the positive side, i will learn new things in the new environment, stepping out from my comfort zone. The only issue is HR has yet to acknowledge my resignation, telling me that they want to talk to me first. Well, hope everything would go smoothly. Thanks for your insight bro. HR, you can ignore them. Just consider it is already accepted. Give them deadline to accept, by giving a official formal letter. Then they will act.Nope the senior is a contract staff and he is still with the comp. but he worked at a few companies before joining pet. Just that, if you love the company, leave with honor and reputation intact. Doors will open again, when the time is right. QUOTE(huskar88 @ Oct 19 2013, 09:23 PM) read the thread, it was mentioned many times on how people successfully applied.This post has been edited by keii-kun: Oct 19 2013, 09:52 PM |
Oct 20 2013, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(xellesia70 @ Oct 19 2013, 09:35 PM) If you're office based, the offshore allowance is standard regardless of your experience. It was rm85/day last year and was revised to rm125/day recently. thanks for the info, but I thought only offshore engineer are the only ones that entitled for offshore allowance? why does office based staff have offshore allowance? thanks again |
Oct 20 2013, 01:52 AM
15 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
QUOTE(xellesia70 @ Oct 19 2013, 09:35 PM) If you're office based, the offshore allowance is standard regardless of your experience. It was rm85/day last year and was revised to rm125/day recently. How many days does a Petronas field engineer usually work at offshore?This post has been edited by HXZ: Oct 20 2013, 05:40 PM |
Oct 20 2013, 10:29 AM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(ikitron @ Oct 8 2013, 10:08 PM) Finally got offer letter -.- Hi! I will be going for the same PIPE as yours. Which OPU did you get for your placement? This is why I'm so relieved: 1. Apply Discover Petronas: mid january 2013 2. Received SI appointment: end of march 2013 3. SI: 19 April 2013 (along with a hundred over other applicants I think) 4. SI result: end of May 2013 (just graduated from uni at same time) 5. Medical check letter: start of October 2013 (Submitted med result same day) 6. Offer letter: 8 Oct 2013 (report for PIPE 18 Nov 2013) Timeline from application --> Offer letter = 9 months. Mad torture for me....had no idea it will take that long. Maybe coz I'm a fresh graduate. I didnt read the previous posts in this thread so once i got result didnt bother applying anywhere....which left me 5 months on my part time job (took part time so if petronas came calling i can quit anytime). Only after reading posts from sifus here i decided to apply elsewhere, but thankfully Petronas got back to me As for Petronas HR, I dont think its fair to label them as extremely slow. Sure some are and some even rude, but I was very thankful to my HR manager who first handled my case. I'm pretty sure she had loads of other applicants to handle and whenever I called her to enquire she was always understanding and tried her best to communicate with my department. Should blame the atrocious filing system for Petronas.....even their own HR are complaining about it. Btw any Pipeline Engineer around here? If so can enlighten me about the job scope in petronas? Also anyone else attending PIPE next month?? |
Oct 20 2013, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(zicco @ Oct 20 2013, 12:36 AM) thanks for the info, but I thought only offshore engineer are the only ones that entitled for offshore allowance? why does office based staff have offshore allowance? Those who're based offshore are operation supervisor/maintenance supervisor and offshore installation manager (OIM)..(with operation technicians and contractors) They would be at offshore for 2 weeks and got 2 weeks off. The rest are office based such as operation engineers, maintenance engineers and all disciplines engineers. These engineers would go to offshore as and when required.thanks again |
Oct 20 2013, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(xellesia70 @ Oct 20 2013, 08:14 PM) Those who're based offshore are operation supervisor/maintenance supervisor and offshore installation manager (OIM)..(with operation technicians and contractors) They would be at offshore for 2 weeks and got 2 weeks off. The rest are office based such as operation engineers, maintenance engineers and all disciplines engineers. These engineers would go to offshore as and when required. Thanks again for the info. In that case, how much does a typical installation engineer's daily offshore allowance? say 2-4 years experience. Just want to get some rough idea. thanks |
Oct 20 2013, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(HXZ @ Oct 20 2013, 01:52 AM) It depends on you, your job scope/position and i would say your passion to learn.You could spend close to 1 month on your single trip offshore or as short as 2 days. If you're an operation engineer, ideally every month you need to go offshore. The rest would depends on their projects or maintenance work. You do need to balance it though as sometimes a lot of things need to be settled at office, i.e. Follow up with contractors, review sessions, procurement process, getting management's approval on your projects or works. |
Oct 20 2013, 08:35 PM
4,286 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(zicco @ Oct 20 2013, 03:26 PM) Thanks again for the info. In that case, how much does a typical installation engineer's daily offshore allowance? say 2-4 years experience. Just want to get some rough idea. I believe it's the same. Not sure if you will get the meal allowance of RM150 (I think). My brother went on a seismic vessel and he said he got RM125 for offshore allowance and 150 for meal allowance for a total of RM275 a day ....thanks |
Oct 21 2013, 04:30 PM
39 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Oct 19 2013, 09:50 PM) HR, you can ignore them. Just consider it is already accepted. Give them deadline to accept, by giving a official formal letter. Then they will act. hi,Just that, if you love the company, leave with honor and reputation intact. Doors will open again, when the time is right. read the thread, it was mentioned many times on how people successfully applied. u mean via discoverpetronas website? |
Oct 21 2013, 04:34 PM
39 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Oct 22 2013, 12:49 AM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
Oct 22 2013, 05:20 PM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Sigh..reading this thread really saddens me. I recently went for the SI and was informed that I was successful however they will get back to me on whether or not I am recommended on Friday however I've been trying to get in touch with the recruiter but to no avail.
I understand from some posts that the process can take up to 9 months for fresh grads but does the same apply to experienced hires positions? |
| Change to: | 0.0199sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:34 AM |