128 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

mangoman
post Jun 24 2013, 06:17 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 06:10 PM)
How to retain when they will be offered double or triple their compensation with Middle-East companies etc?
Totally agreed with you. At the end of the day, most of them left because they are frustrated with the current system and also want to be close to their family.
phyzoul
post Jun 24 2013, 06:44 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jun 22 2013, 12:18 PM)
Any HR Petronas in the house?
Just want to ask, I asked for my SI to be rescheduled when HR called me last month, due to my current job commitment. But never get the feedback since. Is it true that my application has been back to the bottom of the list of applicants?  sad.gif
not true, my SI was rescheduled 3 time and today is my SI (4th time) and i already go through it nicely. hope i will success on that SI...wish me luck smile.gif
acgerlok7
post Jun 24 2013, 06:49 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 01:18 PM)
Nope, I went to a State School in the Mid-West. Cheap and had loads of fun (too much fun actually). I got accepted to John Hopkins but decided not to go there because

1. It would be bloody expensive (though I was not paying it ... but had this thought that I "may" not want to work with Petronas for so long) and my 18 year old mind wanted to have a bit more fun than going to school with super geniuses in JH.

The total cost for the state school was less than RM180K at the time (or was it 150K) but guess what happened, I spent my entire 10 year bond with Petronas  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif so lesson learned, never trust an 18 year old person can make good judgement heh heh heh ...... (that's probably why Petronas now has the right to choose which unis you go to)

But still, I had loads of fun in my uni and I didn't turn out too bad  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Woah..haha, but at least you paid your bond and contributed so much to petronas, damn, you actually did them a big favor by helping them to save money since you went to a much cheaper state school.. haha. and the fun doesn't stops there, i do attest that you are still having alot of fun now, albeit with even more $$ with you right now tongue.gif

All in all, i think petronas is a company worth working for, despite all the negativities that has been rumoured around. it is after all a huge oil company in SEA, and arguably top 500 in the world. biggrin.gif

azraeil
post Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Jun 24 2013, 01:49 PM)
Woah..haha, but at least you paid your bond and contributed so much to petronas, damn, you actually did them a big favor by helping them to save money since you went to a much cheaper state school.. haha. and the fun doesn't stops there, i do attest that you are still having alot of fun now, albeit with even more $$ with you right now tongue.gif

All in all, i think petronas is a company worth working for, despite all the negativities that has been rumoured around. it is after all a huge oil company in SEA, and arguably top 500 in the world. biggrin.gif
It is a good company to work for. Excellent training bar none, and a fun place to work in. It all depends on the situation and opportunity you're faced with. I always told my friends that at the time when I left, if Petronas had been quicker in changing their remuneration scheme, if Petronas did not have the stupid "You are now a Manager tetapi diatas tangga gaji yang sama .... (effin stupidest policy ever)", I would have stayed and not entertained all the "marriage" proposals. But things were the way they were. Some of my contemporaries are now General Managers in Petronas and they are enjoying the fruit of their labor an loyalties. It may happen to a lot of you who joined.

My career path is different and may soon changed as well so I am enjoying the moment and maybe I'll return someday to Petronas smile.gif smile.gif
popopipi
post Jun 24 2013, 07:23 PM

if petronas, go ahead. if basf-petronas, just forget it. its just a joint venture and borrowing the name of petronas to lure new staff since the old staff kept going out. rate of turnover is very very high due to politics.
mirage91
post Jun 26 2013, 10:11 AM

27 posts

Not sure if fresh grads should register to BEM before or once after started working for PETRONAS. If the former is right where can a Professional Engineer be easily found to certify the degree scroll and transcript? laugh.gif
phyzoul
post Jun 26 2013, 08:55 PM

351 posts

Hello...anyone here go for SI and after that go for TA?
shadow_calamity
post Jun 26 2013, 09:07 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(mirage91 @ Jun 26 2013, 10:11 AM)
Not sure if fresh grads should register to BEM before or once after started working for PETRONAS. If the former is right where can a Professional Engineer be easily found to certify the degree scroll and transcript? laugh.gif
before join = own cost, need to find Ir. on your own
after join = company cost, Ir. inside company
HeReLiSm
post Jun 27 2013, 12:49 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Jun 24 2013, 06:44 PM)
not true, my SI was rescheduled 3 time and today is my SI (4th time) and i already go through it nicely. hope i will success on that SI...wish me luck smile.gif
Well, good luck to you smile.gif . may i know the time they responded back to you for new date? is it because of your request to reschedule or their's?
thanks.
GeorgeNicholas80
post Jun 27 2013, 01:50 PM

It is the responsibility of a Directional Driller to provide technical support to clients and crew members at the well site. They need to keep abreast of all directional drilling techniques and surveying methods. A Directional Driller should also develop expertise on advanced well planning techniques.
phyzoul
post Jun 27 2013, 11:03 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jun 27 2013, 12:49 PM)
Well, good luck to you  smile.gif . may i know the time they responded back to you for new date? is it because of your request to reschedule or their's?
thanks.
for the 1st 2nd n 3rd i cant make it due my commitment i think around 3 days...
N.G. Paprik
post Jun 28 2013, 01:54 AM

Hi all,

I am a Petronas scholar who is coming back to Malaysia to work at the end of this year. I studied finance and accountancy and have 4 years of working experience qualifying as a Chartered Accountant (ACA) in London.

I was advised by some friends a few years back that finding the right subsidiary/department in Petronas is very important as the work culture and level of professionalism is quite disparate across the company.

Any advice from current Petronas staff?

Also there are a few potential position such as internal audit, treasury, financial reporting, consolidation, M&A, project finance, tax etc. Which ones, in your knowledge offer more challenge and perhaps career progression?

Any inside information just PM me. Your help and guidance would be much appreciated.

N.G. Paprik

acgerlok7
post Jun 28 2013, 11:52 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM)
It is a good company to work for. Excellent training bar none, and a fun place to work in. It all depends on the situation and opportunity you're faced with. I always told my friends that at the time when I left, if Petronas had been quicker in changing their remuneration scheme, if Petronas did not have the stupid "You are now a Manager tetapi diatas tangga gaji yang sama .... (effin stupidest policy ever)", I would have stayed and not entertained all the "marriage" proposals. But things were the way they were. Some of my contemporaries are now General Managers in Petronas and they are enjoying the fruit of their labor an loyalties. It may happen to a lot of you who joined.

My career path is different and may soon changed as well so I am enjoying the moment and maybe I'll return someday to Petronas  smile.gif  smile.gif
Yeah. smile.gif Home is still the best place to be, btw bro azraeli, since you're at Aramco, wanted to clarify some doubts regarding the middle east.. Is oil supply running out very soon in saudi arabia?
alhakam88
post Jun 29 2013, 08:34 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM)

My career path is different and may soon changed as well so I am enjoying the moment and maybe I'll return someday to Petronas  smile.gif  smile.gif
Salam Bro Azraeil,

I met one of your collegue now in EPTC working as value assurance as RE. I bet you know him. He is like you. But is he working with your previous boss. These days doc N not as hard as u went thru. Last time during town hall, he is complaining few of his staff has less than 8 hours. That comes to his attention only when hr inform him. But his words be sakit telinga. Maki n fu is normal. Just tahan la.

Maybe one day you will rejoin petronas back. Prsb??
iamloco
post Jun 29 2013, 11:33 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 19 2013, 01:10 PM)
You can always try for Petroleum Engineering or Reservoir Engineering BUT, you will face competition with those who has a Petroleum Engineering degree. 7-8 years ago, Petronas was still taking in Chem E student and converting them to PE due to the shortage of people doing PE degrees. Now with UTP and a lot of students coming back with PE degrees, I think it would be difficult now but then again, I may be wrong.
I second this. I'm a new RE and all of my newly-joined colleagues are from PE background, from UTP and around the world.
For CE most of them will be sent to plants & regional offices but he might be put under Development Division in KLCC if he's lucky. A bunch of my CE batchmates are there

This post has been edited by iamloco: Jun 29 2013, 11:38 AM
iriahkluz
post Jun 29 2013, 07:03 PM

25 posts

Hi all sifu, how to apply job in petronas (most effective way)? Is there any chance for me to get the interview offer(any position)?
-2 years exp in non-ONG company
-eng. degree, cgpa very low 2.5 (hate to say this).
phyzoul
post Jun 29 2013, 08:37 PM

351 posts

hello...anyone here know the job description or what the BUSINESS ANALYSIS do? hv no idea about this for upcoming TA session.. TQ
alhakam88
post Jun 30 2013, 12:10 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Jun 29 2013, 11:33 AM)
I second this. I'm a new RE and all of my newly-joined colleagues are from PE background, from UTP and around the world.
For CE most of them will be sent to plants & regional offices but he might be put under Development Division in KLCC if he's lucky. A bunch of my CE batchmates are there
Good to know u. Are in reservoir studies? I may need to find outside resources especially those in PED for my capability development. Maybe in the future i may need to bertapa in ped if my boss allowed.
azraeil
post Jun 30 2013, 07:06 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Jun 29 2013, 03:34 AM)
Salam Bro Azraeil,

I met one of your collegue now in EPTC working as value assurance as RE. I bet you know him. He is like you. But is he working with your previous boss. These days doc N not as hard as u went thru. Last time during town hall, he is complaining few of his staff has less than 8 hours. That comes to his attention only when hr inform him. But his words be sakit telinga. Maki n fu is normal. Just tahan la.

Maybe one day you will rejoin petronas back. Prsb??
I guess he's changed a lot and probably because if you look closely, almost all technical staff who worked under him has left the company entirely (not even transferring to another OPU) so I guess he must have figured it out that he needs to change if he wants to retain good people.

I am making another move soon but not to Malaysia yet whistling.gif whistling.gif

Even if I do return, I prefer to work in either PCSB or PMU, PRSB is too research oriented for my taste.
azraeil
post Jun 30 2013, 07:10 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Jun 28 2013, 06:52 PM)
Yeah. smile.gif Home is still the best place to be, btw bro azraeli, since you're at Aramco, wanted to clarify some doubts regarding the middle east.. Is oil supply running out very soon in saudi arabia?
Short answer .... NO. We are still producing close to 10 million barrels of oil per day (that's close to 20 times what Malaysia is currently producing) and there is a lot more in the ground. We have been producing at this rate close to 20 years ... giler ... The problem is that the domestic consumption is growing at an extremely fast rate and there are analyst (you can google Saudi Arabia domestic oil consumption) and you get some scary prediction ...

The thing is ... the harder it is to find the oil, the higher it is the company will pay you (as the price of oil will spike). Fundamentals of Supply and Demand in Economics 101.

128 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:33 AM