Did my SI in august, got the result on 1 october (passed). Should I call them to ask about my placement?
This post has been edited by iamloco: Oct 11 2012, 11:20 AM
Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?
Oct 11 2012, 11:20 AM
780 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL |
Did my SI in august, got the result on 1 october (passed). Should I call them to ask about my placement?
This post has been edited by iamloco: Oct 11 2012, 11:20 AM |
Nov 9 2012, 09:48 PM
Any reservoir engineer from pcsb?
Nov 10 2012, 03:45 PM
Bro Azraeil,
Can you share the job scope and routines of Reservoir Engineers? Do they stay in the office all the time? |
Nov 11 2012, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 11 2012, 01:16 AM) Aiyoooo. That will take at least 2-3 paragraphs. I'll boil it down to this couple of sentences Thank you Azraeil. I was offered the position although I didn't include in my 3 choices during interview. Kinda blur about the job (didn't do research at all). Thanks anyway!They take care of the field in terms or reservoir management/performance so basically they are the subsurface leaders. |
Nov 12 2012, 06:34 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 11 2012, 11:45 AM) Reservoir engineer are one of the most sought after skill set in the industry. With 5-7 years experience in reservoir engineering, you will be very valuable in the industry. Is it true that RE are paid higher than other engineers in petronas?This post has been edited by iamloco: Nov 12 2012, 08:11 AM |
Nov 13 2012, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 12 2012, 01:10 PM) It's been a long time since I left the company and things must have changed but previously, yes, RE are given speciall skill allowance but I am told that allowance has been absorbed into the base pay (so technically existing technical staff do have a higher salary than other personnel in Petronas, but I'm not sure if this is true for incoming new staff). QUOTE(hj.pet @ Nov 13 2012, 11:12 AM) the skill group post that is petroleum engineering based (re, drilling, p tech) is classified as SKG10 while G&G related post (petrophysicist, geologist, geophysicist, sedimentologist, etc) is classified as SKG9. and both these classes are located on the top of the skill group pyramid level, tier 1. position such as mech eng, ee eng, structural eng is classified as SKG16 and they are located in tier 2 in the pyramid. iinm, they are 4 tier total in petronas. i couldnt remember all to discuss here unfortunately. Tq for the info! having said this, yes, being in tier 1 in petronas would be paid higher compared to other skill group in the organization. |
Nov 14 2012, 10:03 PM
The technical allowance is fixed or will keep on increasing?
What's the difference between the allowance and salary increment? |
Nov 15 2012, 10:30 PM
Now I'm jealous at my frens who got drilling. I thought reservoir got higher allowance
Nov 21 2012, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Nov 20 2012, 09:36 PM) Hmm..now I understand why. He was your boss i guess. Block C? Which tower is that? Still reading previous threads. A lot of history. I was surprised there were time people stayed until 9pm. Now 7pm, the office is cleared. Because so little people staying late (except for my boss, he stayed late (7-8pm) because he came late), I feel semacam when I am alone. So many stories I heard..especially in block C (that is where my office) |
Nov 26 2012, 06:39 PM
Is the forced ranking M3 still being used now?
Feb 1 2013, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(kripton888 @ Jan 31 2013, 10:27 PM) hey guys, If you're a PE then there's a slim chance u will be posted to SBO. But for PE in petronas, there will be a one year training for junior engineers, consists of 3 months attachment at regional office (SKO,SBO,PMO). If you're lucky maybe u can do ur attachment at SBO. Hehehafter a month from SI i got the result and im recommended, im from kl but i wan 2 be based in sabah (SBO) kk office. is there anyway to get the sabah placement? i asked the hr who told me my result she said the most they could do is put a note there. will it really help? btw im Petroleum Engineer fresh grad from utp. |
Feb 9 2013, 08:53 AM
wwrong post...
This post has been edited by iamloco: Feb 9 2013, 08:54 AM |
Feb 9 2013, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(kripton888 @ Feb 3 2013, 04:05 AM) Hi there, thanks for replying :-) - We have operations over there but we have ppl at region (usually production surveillance team) to liaise with. We communicate with them regarding any issue related to the production. Can i noe y PE Slim chance? They dun hav operations there anymore izit? Also the one year training the attachment izit a 1 time thingy? Meaning oni 1 regional office for 3 months then no more. Appreciate the info, ty :-) - Yup, the training is one time thing. |
Feb 14 2013, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(melobass @ Feb 13 2013, 03:12 AM) Hi there For PE, most probably YES.just curious, it is job that is offered by petrns strictly suit to your engineering discipline??as i am PE, if they were to offer me, will i only get job strictly relate to my background eg reservoir eng., petrleum economic, etc?? Tq. |
Jun 29 2013, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 19 2013, 01:10 PM) You can always try for Petroleum Engineering or Reservoir Engineering BUT, you will face competition with those who has a Petroleum Engineering degree. 7-8 years ago, Petronas was still taking in Chem E student and converting them to PE due to the shortage of people doing PE degrees. Now with UTP and a lot of students coming back with PE degrees, I think it would be difficult now but then again, I may be wrong. I second this. I'm a new RE and all of my newly-joined colleagues are from PE background, from UTP and around the world.For CE most of them will be sent to plants & regional offices but he might be put under Development Division in KLCC if he's lucky. A bunch of my CE batchmates are there This post has been edited by iamloco: Jun 29 2013, 11:38 AM |
Oct 25 2013, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 24 2013, 01:16 PM) PPA important woooo ... more important than your deadline coz your PPA ratings will affect your increment and your bonus and your promotion and your CEP ...... tu yang some people buat karangan 40 pages for his PPA .... oh man... i used bullet points for my PPA. |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:14 AM |