Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

acgerlok7
post Jun 20 2013, 11:12 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 19 2013, 01:10 PM)
You can always try for Petroleum Engineering or Reservoir Engineering BUT, you will face competition with those who has a Petroleum Engineering degree. 7-8 years ago, Petronas was still taking in Chem E student and converting them to PE due to the shortage of people doing PE degrees. Now with UTP and a lot of students coming back with PE degrees, I think it would be difficult now but then again, I may be wrong.
Hi bro azraeli, nice to see you back again! smile.gif judging from what you just mentioned, what position does petronas has shortage(ciritical shortage) now? Since PE is abudant in supply alrd for them(UTP grads, overc grads) ? Are they still having shortage for geologist/geophysicist? Bcos i wouldnt want to study PE and if i were to come back, the job market is already overloaded. :S
acgerlok7
post Jun 24 2013, 12:47 PM

492 posts

Wow...tht applies if these scholars are sent to top schools like A & M, colorado school of mines right? Just wondering, for usa unis right, usually where does petronas send their scholars to?
acgerlok7
post Jun 24 2013, 12:55 PM

492 posts

yeah..colorado is like the harvard for petroleum engineering. I shut that out of my choice once i researched on the fees, cheaper and value-for-money unis are good enough for poor chaps like me. sad.gif
acgerlok7
post Jun 24 2013, 01:03 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 12:52 PM)
The scholars will be given a coice of 5 unis to apply to and Petronas will have the final say where they should go. CSM, Texas Austin are usually top notch schools for PE and will be in the lists. Not all will be accepted and CSM is bloody expensive. Tuition fees etc will cost upwards of 55K USD per year.
I guess you were from one of these schools too? wink.gif texas Austin is super good but bloody expensive. Same goes with Colorado school of Mines. I wonder why CSM charges such an exorbitant rate to their students since its a publich research uni, thought it should be cheaper, compared to other private unis like the Ivy leagues : harvard, Dartmouth etc etc.
acgerlok7
post Jun 24 2013, 06:49 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 01:18 PM)
Nope, I went to a State School in the Mid-West. Cheap and had loads of fun (too much fun actually). I got accepted to John Hopkins but decided not to go there because

1. It would be bloody expensive (though I was not paying it ... but had this thought that I "may" not want to work with Petronas for so long) and my 18 year old mind wanted to have a bit more fun than going to school with super geniuses in JH.

The total cost for the state school was less than RM180K at the time (or was it 150K) but guess what happened, I spent my entire 10 year bond with Petronas  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif so lesson learned, never trust an 18 year old person can make good judgement heh heh heh ...... (that's probably why Petronas now has the right to choose which unis you go to)

But still, I had loads of fun in my uni and I didn't turn out too bad  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Woah..haha, but at least you paid your bond and contributed so much to petronas, damn, you actually did them a big favor by helping them to save money since you went to a much cheaper state school.. haha. and the fun doesn't stops there, i do attest that you are still having alot of fun now, albeit with even more $$ with you right now tongue.gif

All in all, i think petronas is a company worth working for, despite all the negativities that has been rumoured around. it is after all a huge oil company in SEA, and arguably top 500 in the world. biggrin.gif

acgerlok7
post Jun 28 2013, 11:52 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM)
It is a good company to work for. Excellent training bar none, and a fun place to work in. It all depends on the situation and opportunity you're faced with. I always told my friends that at the time when I left, if Petronas had been quicker in changing their remuneration scheme, if Petronas did not have the stupid "You are now a Manager tetapi diatas tangga gaji yang sama .... (effin stupidest policy ever)", I would have stayed and not entertained all the "marriage" proposals. But things were the way they were. Some of my contemporaries are now General Managers in Petronas and they are enjoying the fruit of their labor an loyalties. It may happen to a lot of you who joined.

My career path is different and may soon changed as well so I am enjoying the moment and maybe I'll return someday to Petronas  smile.gif  smile.gif
Yeah. smile.gif Home is still the best place to be, btw bro azraeli, since you're at Aramco, wanted to clarify some doubts regarding the middle east.. Is oil supply running out very soon in saudi arabia?
acgerlok7
post Jul 1 2013, 12:05 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 30 2013, 07:38 PM)
No, 10 million barrels of oil only ..... we produce another 9 BScf of Gas or was it 15 Bscf (can't really remember) per day for domestic consumption. Estimated total reserve boleh google. Bahaya kalau bagitau .... tak pasal pasal kena buang kerja.
Thanks for the input bro... Definitely will find out more about it by myself. the energy/resources industry is so interesting. biggrin.gif

0.0197sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:36 AM