128 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

azraeil
post Nov 20 2012, 12:46 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(shervink @ Nov 19 2012, 10:33 PM)
Thanks Azraeil for the info and advise. I am so happy to have this wonderful opportunity to working in Malaysia for Petronas.  Are you currently working at Haliburton?biggrin.gif

I have another questions, what about training? Does the Company provide training for new employees during their contract?

Ciao
Usually, training will be provided for staff especially new ones to allow you to familiarize yourself with how the company operates.

Good luck & Ciao!

Added on November 20, 2012, 1:16 pmNo, I'm not working with Halliburton. I'm with an NOC in the Middle East.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Nov 20 2012, 01:16 PM
mhas12
post Nov 20 2012, 08:54 PM

I've been offered Contract Management Exec post. I've done my SI in sept and submitted my medical checkup last month. last two weeks I called HR & they told me that the offer letter is not yet ready to be collected. It has been almost a month since I submitted my medical report. Now I'm wondering whether I got the job or not or I just need to wait a lil bit longer. Hope that everything is going to be good.
Enclave Recruit
post Nov 20 2012, 09:30 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(mhas12 @ Nov 20 2012, 08:54 PM)
I've been offered Contract Management Exec post. I've done my SI in sept and submitted my medical checkup last month. last two weeks I called HR & they told me that the offer letter is not yet ready to be collected. It has been almost a month since I submitted my medical report. Now I'm wondering whether I got the job or not or I just need to wait a lil bit longer. Hope that everything is going to be good.
When did you apply for the job?
alhakam88
post Nov 20 2012, 09:36 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 13 2012, 01:02 PM)
The previous management gave too much power to HR and stressed that everyone contributes equally to the company so the remuneration scheme is the same across the board. This mentality is probably okay if you are working in government office but for an MNC to have this kind of mentality in the 21st century is suicidal.

The performance management review/assessment is also another factor. I mean, I worked my ass off and only got a rating of 3 because my boss expected me to work like a higher grade code because that's where he envisioned I would be in the future. How's that for a dumb ass reason for not giving me a good rating. Instead of ranking me against my peers, I am being ranked with my future self. That rating 3 is also given to those who ponteng kerja, who does drugs so basically in the grand scheme of things, I am not better than those people.

I worked 10 years and my gaji at the time was not even 7K. A middle east company offered me 6 times more and tax free. It was a no brainier. This is basically the same story that you will hear from a lot of ex-pet. A company that had delusions of grandeur and deaf and blind to staff's proposal and market movement in the industry.

If you talk to any headhunter, the current climate is called "Scarced Tecnical Professionals Market". So for PETRONAS at the time to NOT taking any steps was foolish and down right criminal.
Hmm..now I understand why. He was your boss i guess. hmm.gif

Still reading previous threads. A lot of history. I was surprised there were time people stayed until 9pm. Now 7pm, the office is cleared.

Because so little people staying late (except for my boss, he stayed late (7-8pm) because he came late), I feel semacam when I am alone. So many stories I heard..especially in block C (that is where my office) sad.gif .

This post has been edited by alhakam88: Nov 20 2012, 09:44 PM
mhas12
post Nov 21 2012, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ Nov 20 2012, 09:30 PM)
When did you apply for the job?
I'm a fresh grad. Applied via petronas discovery in August.
Enclave Recruit
post Nov 21 2012, 12:58 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(mhas12 @ Nov 21 2012, 12:40 AM)
I'm a fresh grad. Applied via petronas discovery in August.
That wasn't so long ago. Lucky you :-)

I applied not too long ago, hope my cv gets noticed
engrfeez
post Nov 21 2012, 01:53 AM

Ironman
316 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Nov 20 2012, 09:36 PM)
Hmm..now I understand why. He was your boss i guess.  hmm.gif

Still reading previous threads. A lot of history. I was surprised there were time people stayed until 9pm. Now 7pm, the office is cleared.

Because so little people staying late (except for my boss, he stayed late (7-8pm) because he came late), I feel semacam when I am alone. So many stories I heard..especially in block C (that is where my office) sad.gif .
I dunno why people like working in Petronas, maybe because of the famous KLCC or what no so sure. I think this company was underpaid unless you are blue ocean eyes of the company. There are lot of people hardworking get the rating 3 and 4 but the selected employees normally geng boss will get the rating 1 or 2.

When I was interviewed with Petronas they said they will pay my salary lower than SapuraKencana and asked me to accept because I want to work for national company. What a shame. Then i decided not to continue looking any jobs with this local company.
azraeil
post Nov 21 2012, 03:12 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Nov 20 2012, 08:53 PM)
I dunno why people like working in Petronas, maybe because of the famous KLCC or what no so sure. I think this company was underpaid unless you are blue ocean eyes of the company. There are lot of people hardworking get the rating 3 and 4 but the selected employees normally geng boss will get the rating 1 or 2.

When I was interviewed with Petronas they said they will pay my salary lower than SapuraKencana and asked me to accept because I want to work for national company. What a shame. Then i decided not to continue looking any jobs with this local company.
I enjoyed my time in Petronas and I will always be grateful for the experience gained especially the skill that I was exposed to and the network that I established inside the company and outside of it. I left because it was time to go but if I were able to return (which I do hope someday that I will), Petronas will be my first choice.

The rating system, well it will happen in most companies not just Petronas. There is no company that will be able to reward everyone and once this happens, then all sort of tensions will arise. Of course they chant the mantra we reward performance, but that is all just management consultant bullshit in every company.

Added on November 21, 2012, 3:15 am
QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Nov 20 2012, 04:36 PM)

I know one friend who stays till 11 everyday when he was involved in the Bayan project, Now he's happy in QP smile.gif

Ahh Block C, 1st floor I assume because that where the Petroleum Engineering group is. I was in in Fourth Floor smile.gif brings back memories.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Nov 21 2012, 03:15 AM
mangoman
post Nov 21 2012, 06:47 AM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Nov 21 2012, 01:53 AM)

Because PETRONAS offer the best and most extensive training to the new staffs or fresh grads. And it is a good place to gain experience. Yes, the rating system is debatable but hell, the knowledge and experience that you gained are invaluable and they will definitely increase your market value after 5years, 10years or so. smile.gif Sometimes yes we do think about the monetary issue, but there are other things that cannot be bought by money. icon_rolleyes.gif
iamloco
post Nov 21 2012, 09:50 AM

780 posts

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ Nov 20 2012, 09:36 PM)

Block C? Which tower is that? sweat.gif
Karen Mok
post Nov 21 2012, 10:40 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(mi_kit49 @ Mar 14 2007, 03:11 PM)
i heard rumour said non-bumi hardly can get promotion.
is that true?
For Petronas, I have no idea. I involved in Shell company last time. For Shell, they will recruit any races, as long as you have ability.
alhakam88
post Nov 21 2012, 10:43 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Nov 21 2012, 09:50 AM)
Block C? Which tower is that?  sweat.gif
Block C is petronas research (prsb), not in klcc. It is linked by sky bridge to block B. So we do have sky bridge in prsb. thumbup.gif

coolherzero
post Nov 21 2012, 11:42 AM

22 posts

Petronas also got scary story??

Added on November 21, 2012, 11:47 am
QUOTE(Jirie @ Nov 19 2012, 01:03 PM)
Ok. That is not a good new. I still not receive any info about the delay.
Call PLC and ask whether ur name in the list or not smile.gif

This post has been edited by coolherzero: Nov 21 2012, 11:47 AM
azraeil
post Nov 21 2012, 12:27 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Karen Mok @ Nov 21 2012, 05:40 AM)
For Petronas, I have no idea. I involved in Shell company last time. For Shell, they will recruit any races, as long as you have ability.
Nonsense. A lot of my friends now are in senior management positions. Some of my non-bumi subordinates are now managers and senior managers as well. If you perform, you will be noticed and you will be rewarded. Same as any other MNCs.

Added on November 21, 2012, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(mangoman @ Nov 21 2012, 01:47 AM)
Because PETRONAS offer the best and most extensive training to the new staffs or fresh grads. And it is a good place to gain experience. Yes, the rating system is debatable but hell, the knowledge and experience that you gained are invaluable and they will definitely increase your market value after 5years, 10years or so. smile.gif Sometimes yes we do think about the monetary issue, but there are other things that cannot be bought by money.  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I Like!! That is so true. As I said previously, if not for the training and the network that I developed in Petronas, I would not be where I am today.

In any other companies, you will have the same issues and you will face the same dilemma of balacing family life vs professional life, I chose to ensure that my kids get a whole new experience so that was one of the reason I left but I will take the first opportunity to return to Petronas once my kids go to college.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Nov 21 2012, 12:30 PM
raymones89
post Nov 21 2012, 04:49 PM

281 posts

Hi all, I am new over here in this thread. Nice to meet you all.

I have been offered recently as Executive (Production) under pcsb. Anyone knows the jobscope, skill group and also tier? Will I have the opportunity to go offshore as well?

Thanks for the kind advises, cheers!
engrfeez
post Nov 21 2012, 05:20 PM

Ironman
316 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 21 2012, 12:27 PM)
Nonsense. A lot of my friends now are in senior management positions. Some of my non-bumi subordinates are now managers and senior managers as well. If you perform, you will be noticed and you will be rewarded. Same as any other MNCs.

Added on November 21, 2012, 12:29 pm

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

I Like!! That is so true. As I said previously, if not for the training and the network that I developed in Petronas, I would not be where I am today.

In any other companies, you will have the same issues and you will face the same dilemma of balacing family life vs professional life, I chose to ensure that my kids get a whole new experience so that was one of the reason I left but I will take the first opportunity to return to Petronas once my kids go to college.
If looking to settle down yes, this GLC is a good company to balance family life and professional life but if looking monetary and more challenges handling the project I would suggest to have abroad experiences. I also planning join back local company once got all experiences here.
mangoman
post Nov 21 2012, 06:59 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Nov 21 2012, 04:49 PM)
Hi all, I am new over here in this thread. Nice to meet you all.

I have been offered recently as Executive (Production) under pcsb. Anyone knows the jobscope, skill group and also tier? Will I have the opportunity to go offshore as well?

Thanks for the kind advises, cheers!
Bro, there are a lot of positions under the production executive, you have to be specific then only we can tell you. But you will be under SKG 16, so tier 2. Offshore frequency is based on your position.
hj.pet
post Nov 21 2012, 10:48 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 21 2012, 03:15 AM)
I know one friend who stays till 11 everyday when he was involved in the Bayan project, Now he's happy in QP smile.gif

Ahh Block C, 1st floor I assume because that where the Petroleum Engineering group is. I was in in Fourth Floor smile.gif brings back memories.
that's my floor, 4th floor. n i just had a conversation with my boss about those scary things especially in fourth floor. muahahaha. sooooooo scary. plus it's raining almost every evening makes it even scarier.

care to share some stories bro azraeil? biggrin.gif

alhakam88
post Nov 21 2012, 11:31 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ Nov 21 2012, 10:48 PM)
that's my floor, 4th floor. n i just had a conversation with my boss about those scary things especially in fourth floor. muahahaha. sooooooo scary. plus it's raining almost every evening makes it even scarier.

care to share some stories bro azraeil? biggrin.gif
Patut la boss marah balik awal...he don't want to be alone after office hours.
raymones89
post Nov 22 2012, 12:20 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Nov 21 2012, 06:59 PM)
Bro, there are a lot of positions under the production executive, you have to be specific then only we can tell you. But you will be under SKG 16, so tier 2. Offshore frequency is based on your position.
Thanks for your response bro. In my offer letter, it only states production executive, so I'm not very sure which position under it haha.

Looking forward to join Petronas to start my OnG adventure! rclxms.gif

128 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:28 PM