Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

sirxl
post Mar 27 2017, 07:36 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 27 2017, 06:09 AM)
0.2650% is a really good rate. congrats.
only managed to get 0.2493%
kmarc
post Mar 27 2017, 08:16 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Mar 26 2017, 11:18 PM)
Very helpful reply, cheers for that  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

ETH lending rate is so low, probably due to large supply and circulation around the market. 0.003% is like 1% p.a. if successfully lending out everyday. If that's the case I then really no point doing this?

So if the guy return in a few hours then the rate is 0.003%* hours/24?
Ya, supply and demand. Yeah, 0.003% not really worth it but I lend it out anyway as I'm lending my other coins.

It's not even per hour. The interest starts the second the loan is taken up and updates every 20-30 seconds. Even if the loan is returned in 5 minutes, there will already be interest.

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 27 2017, 06:10 AM)
All of you should attend as Craig MacGregor - Lead developer of NAV Coin
is in town.

NAV price has been going through the roof the past 2 weeks:
https://poloniex.com/exchange#btc_nav
ATH at 12504 sats. Been following their project for the past 2 years and awaiting their Raspberry Pi staking image to rollout this week.

[attachmentid=8646474]

More info on NAVcoin and NAVtech:
http://www.financemagnates.com/cryptocurre...saction-system/
Special Promo Code for Lowyat readers.

Use promo code: CLBLOKTEX
to get 25% off the Conference tickets

To pay in bitcoin, please email admin@bloktex.com

KUALA LUMPUR BLOKTEX 2017 Fintech/Blockchain Conference (8/9 April)

The first ever large scale blockchain event in Malaysia featuring 12 industry experts.

Co-organised by Malaysia Industry-Government Group for High Technology (MIGHT) and supported by Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC).

Speakers:

1. Abdul Fattah - National Technical Committee of Department of Standards Malaysia
2. Adam Vaziri - Founder / CEO Diacle
3. Anson Zeall - CEO CoinPip / Chairman ACCESS
4. Craig MacGregor - Lead developer of NAV Coin
5. Dr. Pavel Kravchenko - Co-founder Distributed Lab
6. Jack C. Liu - Co-founder and CSO of OKLink
7. Lilia Vershinina - Co-founder Distributed Lab
8. Matthew Rajendra - CEO Green Data Center
9. Matthew Tan - Founder Etherscan.io
10. Rene Bernard - CEO LuxTag.io
11. Zain Tariq - Founder Urdubit
12. Pavel Matveev - Co-CEO Wirex Limited

Use promo code: CLBLOKTEX
to get 25% off the Conference tickets.

http://bloktex.com/conference/
Haiyaaa.... you didn't reply me earlier, whether NAVCOIN has the potential. I bought some to HODL but I think I will load up a bit more tonight.

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 27 2017, 07:36 AM)
only managed to get 0.2493%
Haha, supply and demand but it's a good rate. Some coin rates goes as low as 0.0001%!!! It might not last long but BTC is in demand so hopefully the rate stays. Dash has a good rate previously but not now. My dilemma now is whether I should channel more BTC out of cold storage later on. I don't hold much BTC now as most are channeled to altcoins. Haiz.... difficult...

I was actually considering the lending bot but it is 3rd party so I'm not comfortable with that in terms of security. No choice but to manually check on and off.

Going to do a guide on lending too!!! Oooo, I'm so excited!!

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 27 2017, 08:20 AM
sirxl
post Mar 27 2017, 11:27 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 27 2017, 08:16 AM)
Haiyaaa.... you didn't reply me earlier, whether NAVCOIN has the potential. I bought some to HODL but I think I will load up a bit more tonight.
Was away last week, so I could have missed it.
Well look at the NAV roadmap, they seem to have potential to go higher.
Check out the $NAV hashtags on twitter to monitor the market response.
kmarc
post Mar 27 2017, 12:45 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 27 2017, 11:27 AM)
Was away last week, so I could have missed it.
Well look at the NAV roadmap, they seem to have potential to go higher.
Check out the $NAV hashtags on twitter to monitor the market response.
Haha, it's ok. 6 of my coin holdings including NAV are >20% gain today. Last night it was DCR which was pumped to 150% before returning to earth's orbit. Too bad I don't do trading.

I did check out NAV previously. Will relook at it tonight. Thx!

Since you are an expert in this field and organizing all these conferences, can you check out siacoin (SC)? I bought some of it and I think it has potential. Currently low volume and only 50-60 satoshi. I think they are doing a good job so far with viable business model. Of course, whether they succeed or fail is still early to tell. Competitor is Storjcoin X, I think....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 27 2017, 12:57 PM
hitokai
post Mar 27 2017, 12:52 PM

350 posts

what are u using to buy bitcoin bro? what coin are u holding atm? Im only holding ETH at 48-50USD x.x just got my account yday
kmarc
post Mar 27 2017, 12:55 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Mar 27 2017, 12:52 PM)
what are u using to buy bitcoin bro? what coin are u holding atm? Im only holding ETH at 48-50USD x.x just got my account yday
For me, Ringgit Malaysia (MYR)! Check out first page for details. smile.gif
hitokai
post Mar 27 2017, 12:57 PM

350 posts

yea u r using luno atm?
kmarc
post Mar 27 2017, 01:06 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Mar 27 2017, 12:57 PM)
yea u r using luno atm?
Localbitcoin and remitano. Planning to use xbit Asia once I get money transferred there.
sirxl
post Mar 27 2017, 01:24 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 27 2017, 12:45 PM)
Haha, it's ok. 6 of my coin holdings including NAV are >20% gain today. Last night it was DCR which was pumped to 150% before returning to earth's orbit. Too bad I don't do trading.

I did check out NAV previously. Will relook at it tonight. Thx!

Since you are an expert in this field and organizing all these conferences, can you check out siacoin (SC)? I bought some of it and I think it has potential. Currently low volume and only 50-60 satoshi. I think they are doing a good job so far with viable business model. Of course, whether they succeed or fail is still early to tell. Competitor is Storjcoin X, I think....
You are right. siacoin (SC) is quite interesting and they have that new Minebox NAS presale.
If SJCX came out with a similar hardware box, the price might rise higher.

Info on their NAS box:
http://1stminingrig.com/honest-minebox-nas-review/

This post has been edited by sirxl: Mar 27 2017, 01:29 PM
luotang
post Mar 27 2017, 01:28 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 27 2017, 08:16 AM)
Ya, supply and demand. Yeah, 0.003% not really worth it but I lend it out anyway as I'm lending my other coins.

It's not even per hour. The interest starts the second the loan is taken up and updates every 20-30 seconds. Even if the loan is returned in 5 minutes, there will already be interest.
Haha, supply and demand but it's a good rate. Some coin rates goes as low as 0.0001%!!! It might not last long but BTC is in demand so hopefully the rate stays. Dash has a good rate previously but not now. My dilemma now is whether I should channel more BTC out of cold storage later on. I don't hold much BTC now as most are channeled to altcoins. Haiz.... difficult...

I was actually considering the lending bot but it is 3rd party so I'm not comfortable with that in terms of security. No choice but to manually check on and off.

Going to do a guide on lending too!!! Oooo, I'm so excited!!
Thanks for your reply. BTC lending rate is so good. Probably later when ETH sudden shot up and I sell ETH to hold BTC, then I can start lending then.

Thanks agian.
nibblerz
post Mar 27 2017, 05:18 PM

Been following this thread with great interest.

Couple of questions :
1a) I do not have a hardware wallet yet. Do you guys think it's safe to start purchasing ETH and keep them inside Poloniex?
1b) Can we actually store cryptocurrencies in Poloniex? Do we need to actually transfer them to some online wallet, say Coinbase, instead? If so, what are the best online wallets to use?
2) The shipping fee for Ledger Nano S is almost as expensive as the wallet itself...is there any better/cheaper method to get a wallet?
TSwengherng
post Mar 27 2017, 05:56 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(nibblerz @ Mar 27 2017, 05:18 PM)

Couple of questions :
1a) I do not have a hardware wallet yet. Do you guys think it's safe to start purchasing ETH and keep them inside Poloniex?
1b) Can we actually store cryptocurrencies in Poloniex? Do we need to actually transfer them to some online wallet, say Coinbase, instead? If so, what are the best online wallets to use?
2) The shipping fee for Ledger Nano S is almost as expensive as the wallet itself...is there any better/cheaper method to get a wallet?
Technically speaking, it is never ever safe to store your cryptocurrencies on online exchanges, as that's the first place any hacker will target.
However, it is a balanced risk, as you need to have some of your cryptocurrencies on the exchange if you were to want to trade easily, so you will have to balance between convenience and risk and find your own comfort zone.
But, I believe Poloniex keeps most of its ETH in cold storage so "at least" the risk is somewhat (just slightly) smaller.
In the absence of a hardware wallet, and you don't want to store them in paper wallets, then a dedicated online wallet would still be more preferable than an online exchange wallet.
I wasn't aware that shipping fees were so high......I was actually thinking about getting one myself. sad.gif

kmarc
post Mar 27 2017, 06:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Mar 27 2017, 01:24 PM)
You are right. siacoin (SC) is quite interesting and they have that new Minebox NAS presale.
If SJCX came out with a similar hardware box, the price might rise higher.

Info on their NAS box:
http://1stminingrig.com/honest-minebox-nas-review/
Wow! I didn't even find the NAS box link during googling. Only read their website and saw their video : http://sia.tech/

Among the coins I bought, SC is my dark horse pick, lowest satoshi, low volume with what I think is a good concept. Storjcoin X is already at 20k satoshi and I think the sky is unlimited. However, I also hold Storjcoin just to be on the safe side. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(luotang @ Mar 27 2017, 01:28 PM)
Thanks for your reply. BTC lending rate is so good. Probably later when ETH sudden shot up and I sell ETH to hold BTC, then I can start lending then.

Thanks agian.
We don't have the crystal ball so why not get both! smile.gif

QUOTE(nibblerz @ Mar 27 2017, 05:18 PM)

Couple of questions :
Adding to what wengherng replied, yeah, poloniex usually keep the coins in cold storage. When I withdraw my ETH to my hardware wallet, it showed that the transfer was from poloniex cold storage to my wallet. Should be safer but like wengherng said, not as safe as hardware wallet.

How much is the shipping fee? My Trezor hardware wallet cost USD 99 and the shipping USD 29 (express DHL). I previously searched lowyat.net garage sales but nobody is selling either one.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 27 2017, 07:12 PM
nibblerz
post Mar 27 2017, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 27 2017, 06:17 PM)
How much is the shipping fee? My Trezor hardware wallet cost USD 99 and the shipping USD 29 (express DHL). I previously searched lowyat.net garage sales but nobody is selling either one.
The price listed in their shopping cart :
PRODUCTS 58.00 €
SHIPPING PRICE 50.03 €
TOTAL (excl. tax) 108.03 €
kmarc
post Mar 27 2017, 09:52 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(nibblerz @ Mar 27 2017, 09:05 PM)
PRODUCTS 58.00 €
SHIPPING PRICE 50.03 €
TOTAL (excl. tax)  108.03 €
Wow! So expensive.

Googled and found this. Ships from Singapore? https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B01...8&condition=new
nibblerz
post Mar 27 2017, 10:21 PM

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 27 2017, 09:52 PM)
Wow! So expensive.

Googled and found this. Ships from Singapore? https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B01...8&condition=new
Looks good, pricing wise. Bulk buy anyone? tongue.gif
TSwengherng
post Mar 28 2017, 12:04 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 27 2017, 06:17 PM)
QUOTE(nibblerz @ Mar 27 2017, 09:05 PM)
PRODUCTS 58.00 €
SHIPPING PRICE 50.03 €
TOTAL (excl. tax)  108.03 €
EUR 108 is still cheaper than the USD 128 that kmarc paid...... brows.gif

wannmetal
post Mar 28 2017, 12:15 AM

26 posts

guys look at BitcoinDark (BTCD). suddenly so high.
kmarc
post Mar 28 2017, 12:28 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(nibblerz @ Mar 27 2017, 10:21 PM)
Looks good, pricing wise. Bulk buy anyone?  tongue.gif
I already have Trezor. Awaiting a hardware wallet that can accomodate more altcoins. Or even hoping Trezor comes up with support for other altcoins.

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 28 2017, 12:04 AM)
EUR 108 is still cheaper than the USD 128 that kmarc paid......   brows.gif
A necessary investment, no choice. bruce.gif

News from CNBC : http://www.cnbc.com/2017/03/27/bitcoin-wob...ain-future.html

It's been a volatile period for bitcoin investors, as holders of the cryptocurrency prepare for a potential 'fork' in the blockchain.

From Friday morning until Monday afternoon, bitcoin was trading under the $1,000 level, and even fell beneath $900 on Saturday. This is significant as, barring the weekend of March 18 and 19, bitcoin has traded above $1,000 since early February and hit a fresh all-time high of around $1,325 on March 10.

Bitcoin is currently back above the $1,000 handle, but is well off these recent highs, wiping billions off of its market cap value.
A stack of bitcoins stand on top of U.S. one dollar bills.
Chris Ratcliffe | Bloomberg | Getty Images

There are several causes for the recent volatility: Chinese regulators cracked down on bitcoin exchanges, while U.S. authorities rejected a proposal for a bitcoin-backed exchange-traded fund (ETF). The current concern is over the future of the bitcoin technology.

Bitcoin faces a scaling issue, where the number of bitcoin transactions that can happen on the blockchain at any one time is limited. This is creating a backlog of transactions that are needed to be processed and slowing down the system.

A group called Bitcoin Unlimited advocates for increasing the size of the blocks on the blockchain in order to process more transactions, but this has split the community. To increase the block size would involve splitting the blockchain, causing a fork and creating two major blockchains. This would effectively create two different coins and it's not clear which would become dominant.

As a result, investors are hedging their bets or selling out of bitcoin, waiting to see whether or not the fork will happen, and if so, which blockchain will be favored by the market.

Data from Bitfinex indicates around 49 million more coins have been sold than bought, or roughly 5 percent of total coins traded, in the last 30 days. Through March, the number of long bitcoin positions held by investors has decreased from 26,858 to above 23,142, while the number of short positions has increased from 9,820 to 14,731.

Meanwhile, the market cap of blockchain assets other than bitcoin, such as ether, dash and monero, has more than doubled since March 10 from $3.5 billion to more than $7 billion, according to Chris Burniske, blockchain products lead analyst at ARK Invest.

"At the same time, bitcoin's market cap has gone from $19 billion to $16 billion. Hence, bitcoin's market cap has lost $3 billion in value while the combined market cap of all other blockchain assets has added more than $3 billion," he told CNBC via email.

"Given these market indicators, it would appear investors are diversifying their blockchain asset holdings, positioning themselves for a generally rising tide in this emerging asset class."

Whether or not the fork happens is hard to tell, but it may harm bitcoin's brand, according to Jani Valjavec, co-founder of ICONOMI, a digital asset management platform for cryptocurrencies. Valjavec argues the brand is the main thing behind bitcoin's value.

"It has wide acceptance now, real world use cases, it can be a great store of value, and it is currently trusted by the community. Our understanding is that a hard fork, instigated by two parties with very competing interests, will primarily weaken the brand," he told CNBC via email.

"The next biggest brand in the distributed economy is ethereum, and that's why we believe it will benefit the most."

However, Fran Strajnar, co-founder & CEO of data and research company Brave New Coin, says the market is still within the parameters of a bitcoin bull cycle.

"The proposed contentious fork is unlikely but better to happen now than in the distant future. We would end up with the original bitcoin and remaining miners activating segwit (a well-designed package of system upgrades) and a new, much smaller, privatized alternative version of bitcoin," he told CNBC via email.

"The sum result of all the network fork (fear, uncertainty and doubt) is we are seeing investors hedge by buying into ether. We expect a price drop if there is a fork but a similar outcome to ethereum, where the long term market capitalization increases for both assets."
Meaning unload a bit of ether near the fork? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 28 2017, 12:30 AM
kmarc
post Mar 28 2017, 12:31 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wannmetal @ Mar 28 2017, 12:15 AM)
guys look at BitcoinDark (BTCD). suddenly so high.
All the useless coins that I crossed out are being pumped. Incredible! bangwall.gif

259 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0428sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:05 AM