Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

ghodul
post Dec 16 2022, 12:12 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(15cm @ Dec 15 2022, 05:11 PM)
hi i just got an interview offer from singapore... but when he press me for an expected salary i am unable to give him right away.

may i know how much is the median salary of a software engineer with 5 year experience ?
Just give your current MYR rate, and convert it to SGD.

Lets say yours now is MYR7k, just ask for SGD7k lor. You can also press your luck by demanding extra 10% to 20%...

Got a friend, fullstack. He gets SGD12k, last draw in MY is MYR9.5k...
Eve_1989 P
post Dec 16 2022, 02:16 PM

Probation

QUOTE(strategist @ Dec 15 2022, 12:18 PM)
FirstCoach. One Utama - Novena.

VERY limited seats. Clean, high quality, and i remember always got 2 drivers.

Seat booking opens one month in advance, always sold out on weekends trips. Better book right when they open
Alright next time will try this too, since my sis lives near One U! Thank you 🙏
HP Computer
post Dec 26 2022, 07:46 AM

183 posts

i need to get additional vaccination shot in Singapore.

anyone could share what is the procedure for getting vaccination in Singapore? ep holder.
xxQue_Sera_Seraxx
post Dec 26 2022, 04:17 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(HP Computer @ Dec 26 2022, 08:46 AM)
i need to get additional vaccination shot in Singapore.

anyone could share what is the procedure for getting vaccination in Singapore? ep holder.
Covid-19 vaccination? Wait for the MOH sms to schedule your booster dose at your desire location.
jian5481
post Jan 4 2023, 11:47 PM

781 posts

What is the fastest way to cross the border now? Used to park at JB and take the bus, but it's usually very crowded and will take few hours depending on time.

Also, if it's going to be on a weekday after lunch time, is it still busy?
JasonTheGreat
post Jan 5 2023, 04:57 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Dec 16 2022, 12:12 PM)
Just give your current MYR rate, and convert it to SGD.

Lets say yours now is MYR7k, just ask for SGD7k lor. You can also press your luck by demanding extra 10% to 20%...

Got a friend, fullstack. He gets SGD12k, last draw in MY is MYR9.5k...
so lucky. in semicon kena tekan kau kau. 12k myr prolly 8k sgd
NGV22
post Jan 9 2023, 06:03 PM

614 posts

not sure if these have been asked before. But in your current opinion, what you all think of contract jobs? I am in the tech industry and it is so common. My main concern is the job security as from what I heard normally if retrenchment, contractors are to go away first.

VinluV
post Jan 10 2023, 11:53 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Jan 9 2023, 06:03 PM)
not sure if these have been asked before. But in your current opinion, what you all think of contract jobs? I am in the tech industry and it is so common. My main concern is the job security as from what I heard normally if retrenchment, contractors are to go away first.
take it as projects. After the project is finished, then you either need to move to another project or client.
starting out in contract is fine to get lots of exposure and high annual salary.

In Singapore Job Security for tech is rather stable provided your skills are constantly updated, the caveat is like Shopee case; where you can foresee critical role will be kept while non-essential or outsourcable roles will be axed.
If possible try to hop from contract to permanent roles in your mid-late 30s and try to get core roles in your 40s.
KilJim
post Jan 10 2023, 02:24 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Different companies use contractors differently, so there's no simple answer
But you always want to get a permanent position. Security, benefits and progression will be better
weicuenbb
post Jan 10 2023, 05:18 PM

87 posts

hello, i will be starting my first job in SG soon, may i know what sites can I use to find accommodation? I have seen many property website online but not sure which is a more trustable/better one.
Find The Way
post Jan 10 2023, 08:54 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Jan 9 2023, 06:03 PM)
For typical kind of developer jobs, I can't think of any advantage contractor has over permanent position. The latter is better in all aspects I aware of, at least for those well funded tech companies in SG.

This post has been edited by Find The Way: Jan 11 2023, 09:15 AM
bengang15
post Jan 22 2023, 04:53 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Jan 4 2023, 11:47 PM)
What is the fastest way to cross the border now? Used to park at JB and take the bus, but it's usually very crowded and will take few hours depending on time.

Also, if it's going to be on a weekday after lunch time, is it still busy?
i also park at JB... but the fastest is still bus 170. depending on timing too
Smoothpow
post Jan 25 2023, 11:46 AM

30 posts

Is there really no cons of working in SG in terms of earnings? For example if i am an accountant earning RM 15k in a small company in Msia, can I really find a similar salary range in SG?
KCY3701
post Jan 25 2023, 02:50 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jan 7 2022, 02:19 PM)
with the current tight restriction for the workpass application, Eg : EP need 4500$ salary these day based on the requirement, the rest will be on Spass or Wpass.

I would suggest work a while in Malaysia first.
How about in 2023? About to graduate this year with a Business and Finance degree in Malaysia, and looking to land a job in Singapore.
bellion
post Jan 25 2023, 08:54 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Jan 25 2023, 02:50 PM)
How about in 2023? About to graduate this year with a Business and Finance degree in Malaysia, and looking to land a job in Singapore.
I would say your chances is about zero to land a corporate job unless you have a strong lubang to get you into a company

This post has been edited by bellion: Jan 25 2023, 08:54 PM
SUSsomewhataut
post Jan 28 2023, 12:00 PM

289 posts

I wonder if anyone can answer my question abt financial planning

What is your salary and what kind of car you drive?

If i make 3000SGD fixed, can i afford the new peugeot 2008 that costs RM 135000?

KilJim
post Jan 28 2023, 05:44 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jan 28 2023, 12:00 PM)
I wonder if anyone can answer my question abt financial planning

What is your salary and what kind of car you drive?

If i make 3000SGD fixed, can i afford the new peugeot 2008 that costs RM 135000?
It depends, can you give us your monthly expenditure in THB and other commitments in IDR?
SUSsomewhataut
post Jan 28 2023, 11:18 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jan 28 2023, 05:44 PM)
It depends, can you give us your monthly expenditure in THB and other commitments in IDR?
That sarcasm was unnecessary

i will state them in sgd and rm

900sgd rent
400sgd food
50sgd transport
RM1300 parents

That leaves me RM4000, is it safe to buy a RM135000 car

Loan tends to approve whenever monthly instalment is 1/3 of the your income

Does it make sense to apply the same rule to full SGD income, RM9000/3=RM3000? I can afford a RM3000 instalment car with an ordinary 3000SGD?

If i use what i have left RM4000/3=RM1333, it is about the same as the instalment for Peugeot 2008, but is it safe? can i really afford such expensive car with an ordinary 3000SGD

In case i lose my job, what is the worst situation i could be in
coolguy99
post Jan 29 2023, 07:03 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jan 28 2023, 11:18 PM)

900sgd rent
400sgd food
50sgd transport
RM1300 parents

Does it make sense to apply the same rule to full SGD income, RM9000/3=RM3000? I can afford a RM3000 instalment car with an ordinary 3000SGD?

If i use what i have left RM4000/3=RM1333, it is about the same as the instalment for Peugeot 2008, but is it safe? can i really afford such expensive car with an ordinary 3000SGD

I would say no bro. Getting a car is not just about paying installments. You still have yearly road tax, car insurance, service and maintenance to pay for.

Given that you are living in SG, there are more to the budget that you still need to pay for (phone, entertainment etc), which you did not include in the budget. Your expense in SG will be much more than what you have included in your budget.

I'm not going to go into calculations as I don't really do financial planning, but my advice is to get a local car that has cheaper insurance and cheaper service fees.
crazy25kid
post Jan 31 2023, 04:02 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jan 28 2023, 11:18 PM)

900sgd rent
400sgd food
50sgd transport
RM1300 parents

Why specifically that car?
Who is using the car when most of the time, you are in SG?

512 Pages « < 496 497 498 499 500 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:13 PM