Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

ghodul
post Mar 3 2017, 01:05 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Mar 2 2017, 12:02 PM)
yes very sad that OCBC terms changed! sad.gif

i think UOB conditions are lesser. but need another credit card also not a wise choice.

furthermore, if we open both OCBC and UOB accounts, and split our savings, we also can't earn much interest in total right?

by the way, SGD rate is going up now. hopefully hit 3.5 this year  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
3.5?

Tambak Johor will roboh for sure. Nowadays oso jem like hell already...
ghodul
post Mar 8 2017, 03:58 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

Just wondering guys,

The requirement for EP got change huh? I'm currently on EP now. Yesterday, I just sign a new good offer, which is 25% from my current pay. But the new HR stated that she can't apply EP for me due to new requirement. She say that she will apply S-Pass for me instead...

Does downgrading ur pass affecting something here?
ghodul
post Mar 8 2017, 04:35 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(facade88 @ Mar 8 2017, 04:29 PM)
Yup, EP now starts at 3600..
No wonder.

It seems like i have to wait couple of years to get there...
ghodul
post Mar 8 2017, 04:41 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(SONYSONY @ Mar 8 2017, 02:24 PM)
Now current company counter offer me. 20% salary increment. Don't know what to do now.
QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 8 2017, 04:37 PM)
Shouldn't be that difficult, just compare your RM +20% salary vs the SGD offer you have
My opinion, usually 20% extra in RM isn't enough to compare (purely salary point of view)
Many other factors other than that of course
For me, I would not take any counter offer some some reason.

1. Pride maaa. Sudah throw mau jilat balik
2. If take, usually your department colleagues increment will be affected. Because the money comes from the same pool. Kesian them...
3. Your boss and colleagues usually will not be friendlier as before. Get ready for anything...
ghodul
post Mar 9 2017, 12:19 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 9 2017, 09:34 AM)
Will be having a phone interview with the hiring manager later. Few questions:
1) do you share salary details in MALAYSIA with the hiring manager? Weird right? No context.
Even in Malaysia I don’t feel like sharing it to the hiring manager. HR yes, not hiring manager lo.
2) How to find out the right salary range of my job scope, level and industry? Glassdoor? I think my headhunter told me a lower salary number to expect?
1. I will share, if he asked to. This is actually depends on the person himself.
2. You take 1:1 salary range with MY salary la. But usually kinda hard. I only manage to get 1:1 my last MY drawn salary after being here for 1.5 years...
ghodul
post Mar 10 2017, 11:00 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(HenDa @ Mar 9 2017, 01:49 PM)
I am 4 years here and not even one to one yet lol
My last MYR drawn is not that much pon. Typical Fresh Grad with 1 year exp. Around 3k-ish la...

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 9 2017, 02:47 PM)
Thanks for the reply...

but you two work in same job scope right? got naik level or similar??? cause if i change, i naik level kua. Just want to understand...

Cause frankly speaking my pay in malaysia rise abit slow la, so abit behind my peers lo.
Slightly similar la. But jobscope here is more more dynamic la.

Still, i dunno whats my new environment later. I'll be reporting in for the new job somewhere end of April.

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 9 2017, 02:52 PM)
i havent reach 1:1 of my msia salary yet also...
2 years soon...
Your last drawn MYR mesti banyak kan bro...

ghodul
post Mar 11 2017, 07:00 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 10 2017, 05:35 PM)
For Malaysians no difference. Malaysian no need to meet the $3600 requirement.

Can say that Hr bodo or not confident to get u EP, so get S pass.

Or maybe she told u that maybe u will get S pass because application form can tick both category and MOM decide which one for you.

But no difference to you also la. Company need to pay your levy not u fork out money to pay government also.

Maybe the company no more EP quota?

U very lucky ah 25% increment!
Ken consider lucky. I got more than what my expected salary mentioned inside my resume and also during interview
ghodul
post Aug 27 2020, 09:34 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

Few weeks back, I was newly diagnosed with Hypertension and Diabetes. My doctor at the Hospital issued me with the prescriptions as below,

1) Jardiance 10mg
2) Coversyl 5mg
3) Lipanthyl Penta 145mg
4) Janumet XR 100/1000mg
5) Lipitor 40mg

Since now I am residing in Singapore, I did not know on how to find this medications. Did you guys know on how to find this meds in SG? I do have the prescription letter by the doctor as a proof that I am on this medication.

For now, I only have 3 weeks of stocks. Wanted to stock up before entering but i heard ICA wont allowed it. Last time I was a daily traveler, so no problem buying it at MY...

This post has been edited by ghodul: Aug 27 2020, 09:35 AM
ghodul
post Sep 27 2020, 03:11 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

Does changing job affecting your PR application? Just apply last month and thinking to look for a new job once I got new cert that are related to my work now. My career has been stagnant for couple of years and I think I need a kickstart. Staying in a safe spots for too long kills you. Hahaha...

I apply by myself and not bring sponsored by my company

This post has been edited by ghodul: Sep 27 2020, 03:12 AM
ghodul
post Dec 5 2020, 10:31 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

When I was working in my previous company, my filipino colleague told me something.

It is better to apply PR 1 year before and 1 year after SG General Election. Because in that time, numbers of SG PR has converted to citizenship and the PR quota is free again.

That's what he told me la. Betul or not, i dunno. He basically share his experience along with his fellow filipinos...
ghodul
post Dec 9 2020, 01:38 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Dec 8 2020, 10:45 AM)
makes sense, as gahmen want to capture their votes. There's so many poster here that get their PR despite only staying 6 months in SG.

I stayed for 3 years before I decided to get PR..
I already working for 5 years, only now thinking about applying PR. Hopefully can get it.

QUOTE(new_norm @ Dec 8 2020, 12:41 PM)
Hi all, is it now difficult to get jobs at sg? applied to many job posting but none of it reply at all
As for current pandemic situation, they prefer to hire more Locals and PR.

Their hiring priority now,
1. Singaporean
2. PR
3. Foreigners who are currently in Singapore
ghodul
post Dec 19 2020, 08:47 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

Hi Guys,

I just get an email from ICA regarding my PR application.

Have you guys ever got this email during your PR application? This email arrived exactly on the 3rd month of my application. After submitting the docs, how long does it takes to wait again? Hahaha...

I hope that i have a chance on obtain one. Been work here for 5 years already...
ghodul
post Dec 19 2020, 08:48 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(insiderssss @ Dec 17 2020, 10:39 PM)
which field/sector has the best chance of getting jobs in Singapore?
As per now, IT and medical field.
ghodul
post Dec 19 2020, 06:02 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(henrytlh @ Dec 19 2020, 11:01 AM)
It’s normal, having said that those that are requested for additional information normally have a higher chance of getting their application approved.
Already submit the documents needed by them. Hope to hear good news from them soon.

If can setel before CNY, it would be a bonus. Hahaha...
ghodul
post Mar 26 2021, 01:36 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Mar 12 2021, 12:18 PM)
If I can enter Medishield declaration page with reference number from ICA is shown means approved right? MYICA has yet to update the status I think.

Anyway what is included in the medical check up for PR formality? Recently my doctor diagnosed me stage 1 hypertension, not sure if that will affect ICA’s final decision on my approval.
May I know on how to check this "Medishield declaration page with reference number from ICA"? Get your new IC number already?

I'm also applying for PR on the same date as you, but still pending for now...

Anyway, any of you guys here already completed the 5G enrollment by Bill Gates?

This post has been edited by ghodul: Mar 26 2021, 02:05 PM
ghodul
post Mar 27 2021, 07:56 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(henrytlh @ Mar 26 2021, 11:39 PM)
Both of your colleagues are correct but they did not give you the bigger picture.

You will be sent a letter with instructions for you on how to signup a new Singpass ID. Just wait for your mail, it took me around 1.5 weeks to receive my letter
When u do your new SingPass ID, the information from previous FIN will be carry forward or not?

Things such as Vaccination records, IRAS NOA and much more...
ghodul
post Mar 27 2021, 11:17 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Mar 27 2021, 11:07 AM)
Kinda urgently need to access my Singpass haha. Can I go to Singpass counter to ask them reset my new account password and just go from there? Can’t wait for the letter😅
Why? Wanna jobhubting via CareerFutureSG ka?

My friend gets his PR last December, now already got a job with 45% hike. He got it from there...
ghodul
post Mar 29 2021, 09:39 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 28 2021, 12:41 PM)
As of yesterday, the upload button is gone.

But can't pass the cpf yet. Hope all the best.
Waited 7 months now
May i know when did u apply your PR? Did ICA contacted you for any additional documents?
ghodul
post Mar 29 2021, 11:35 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 29 2021, 10:43 AM)
24 Aug. Not for me, didn't ask me to upload anything. All doc in original translation
Noted in that.

ICA did email me, asking for my Family Members CV, on the 3rd month. Already upload it and awaiting for the result...
ghodul
post Mar 29 2021, 01:22 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 29 2021, 11:39 AM)
your 3rd month from your first submission or after update?

looks like need wait 6-8 months or even longer. up to 1 year maybe  blush.gif
Applied on 18 Sept last year. Got an email from ICA, requesting for my family CV on 18 Dec. Uploaded to MyICA 3 days after the email.

Now already past 6 months from my application date. Hope to hear update from them soon...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3298sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:48 AM