Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

XiuKeong
post Apr 30 2017, 08:35 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,440 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Apr 30 2017, 12:31 PM)
Guess what popped up in the mailbox today?

A letter from ICA... Application of PR. Submitted on 20+ Nov.

That's just like few days pass 5 months. Cool...
Btw... If I have just renewed my EP last September (09/16), only required to take HIV blood test but not X-ray, do I still have to go and take the medical examination or just fill in the declaration?

Next step in life... Easier employment biggrin.gif
Less than 2 years result still can use
justified
post Apr 30 2017, 08:48 PM

121 posts

Got offer letter from the firm .. They will process my EP .. May I know what is the difference between in principal approval and EP?

How long will I get the permit usually? Should I start looking for room now? What is I have made payment for room but my EP application fail (touch wood)?
IwanAGP
post Apr 30 2017, 09:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(justified @ Apr 30 2017, 08:48 PM)
Got offer letter from the firm .. They will process my EP .. May I know what is the difference between in principal approval and EP?

How long will I get the permit usually? Should I start looking for room now? What is I have made payment for room but my EP application fail (touch wood)?
IPA means they confirm give you the EP liao but with conditions.

The condition here refers to mostly health conditions. That's why you have to do medical check when you're here. So if you confirm you no TB and HIV, should not be a problem and don't need to be worried.

I'm not sure whether there's other conditions though. AFAIK it's just the medical check.
knwong
post Apr 30 2017, 10:03 PM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Apr 30 2017, 05:22 PM)
what is the minimum years of working to try to get a PR?

ALSO

If I were to print the Form 4A, can I print it double sided? or should it be single sided? Does it matter?
Hearsay is that, apply after you paid your first income tax.
TheReaderReads
post Apr 30 2017, 11:20 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 30 2017, 10:03 PM)
thx for this good hearsay

meaning I have to wait for another year afterall only been in sg for almost a year now and seem like I didn't get tax last yr
KilJim
post May 1 2017, 09:59 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 30 2017, 10:03 PM)
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Apr 30 2017, 11:20 PM)

meaning I have to wait for another year afterall only been in sg for almost a year now and seem like I didn't get tax last yr
Right after the first few income tax payment worked for me too
Remember you need to book your appointment at least 6 months ahead, so do some planning

As for your other question on printed double sided or single sided, always choose the safer choice when dealing with SG gov, they can be quite anal about certain things
In this case, go for single sided
IwanAGP
post May 1 2017, 10:02 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 1 2017, 09:59 AM)
Remember you need to book your appointment at least 6 months ahead, so do some planning

As for your other question on printed double sided or single sided, always choose the safer choice when dealing with SG gov, they can be quite anal about certain things
I paid just once. I mean tax.

Not really 6 month. Just login at midnight can get some open slots within next 1-2 month.

Got mine just 3 weeks before my appointment date.
justified
post May 1 2017, 11:43 AM

121 posts

I just signed the offer letter that the company sent to me. Why haven't I signed other form like form 8 etc? How is the process like ?
TheReaderReads
post May 1 2017, 12:04 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ May 1 2017, 09:59 AM)

Thx! crystal clear thumbsup.gif
fcuk90
post May 1 2017, 12:52 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 30 2017, 08:35 PM)
Less than 2 years result still can use
EP renewal didnt do medical check on the x-ray iinm
fcuk90
post May 1 2017, 12:53 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(justified @ May 1 2017, 11:43 AM)
I just signed the offer letter that the company sent to me. Why haven't I signed other form like form 8 etc? How is the process like ?
i dont think you need to sign anything, just wait for your IPA letter and then start to look for room.

you also can check on MOM website for your EP approva statusl by key in your passport number laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fcuk90: May 1 2017, 12:53 PM
heyamazingpeople
post May 1 2017, 12:54 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 29 2017, 08:59 AM)
Walking by foot to both Tuas and Woodlands checkpoint is not allowed. You have to be dropped off either by bus, cab for Tuas

https://www.ica.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?nid=11611
Ya, i just walked on this Saturday from woodland to johor, then on sunday johor to woodland.
The queue is crazy on both days.
Halfway through the bridge, i did notice the signage saying no walking. But still see a lot of people walking.
One of the worst jam that i have ever experienced.

The weird thing is on the bridge, it doesnt seem so bad. Probably bus couldnt go from singapore to johor as slightly more jam there.. so less bus getting to johor side.

On side note, can we have a kopitiam thread to discuss about the traffic condition for people who travelling frequently from woodland to johor? or there is already one somewhere?
IwanAGP
post May 1 2017, 01:33 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ May 1 2017, 12:54 PM)
Ya, i just walked on this Saturday from woodland to johor, then on sunday johor to woodland.
The queue is crazy on both days.
Halfway through the bridge, i did notice the signage saying no walking. But still see a lot of people walking.
One of the worst jam that i have ever experienced.

The weird thing is on the bridge, it doesnt seem so bad. Probably bus couldnt go from singapore to johor as slightly more jam there.. so less bus getting to johor side.

On side note, can we have a kopitiam thread to discuss about the traffic condition for people who travelling frequently from woodland to johor? or there is already one somewhere?
You mean 29/4 and 30/4?

Or last week?

Yesterday should be quite loose isn't it. The second day of long weekend normally not much peeps going out/in laugh.gif
heyamazingpeople
post May 1 2017, 02:33 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 1 2017, 01:33 PM)
You mean 29/4 and 30/4?

Or last week?

Yesterday should be quite loose isn't it. The second day of long weekend normally not much peeps going out/in  laugh.gif
29th and 30th April lo.
Ya, thinking to avoid crossing the border today as everyone will be coming back to singapore.
But i guess apparently many others also planning the same thing. To go back sg on Sunday instead of Monday.
The queue to the bus start right after u cross the msia custom. It was about 9 / 9.30pm the time i scanned my passport.

KilJim
post May 1 2017, 03:16 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 1 2017, 10:02 AM)
I paid just once. I mean tax.

Not really 6 month. Just login at midnight can get some open slots within next 1-2 month.

Got mine just 3 weeks before my appointment date.
Hmm...you submitted your application in Nov and that was after paying just 1 month tax?
Meaning you started paying tax in Oct? That's a weird time frame
WallChecker
post May 1 2017, 03:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Apr 30 2017, 05:22 PM)
what is the minimum years of working to try to get a PR?

ALSO

If I were to print the Form 4A, can I print it double sided? or should it be single sided? Does it matter?
There is no minimum but at least 6 months and above as one of required doc is 6 months payslip. From what I heard, Malaysian have higher chance of getting PR compared to other countries as our culture, language, etc are almost the same which is an advantage to assimilate and localise to SG.
Print one side, it does matter. Formal doc should not be in two sided, exception e.g. appendix, glossary etc.
For myself, I submitted few months ago and not even close to one year in SG, result is still pending so can't say its right choice but good luck to me. Haha.

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Apr 30 2017, 11:20 PM)

I don't think it works this way. Unless your YE2016 income is less than SGD22k? Otherwise, its mandatory to file your tax return. I saw u mentioned u worked almost a year in SG, assuming 9 months x 2.5k = 22.5k.
Nevertheless, suggest u to read up SG tax and at least basic knowledge, it doesn't work the same as MY tax except the progressive part.

This post has been edited by WallChecker: May 1 2017, 03:43 PM
TheReaderReads
post May 1 2017, 03:49 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ May 1 2017, 03:41 PM)
There is no minimum but at least 6 months and above as one of required doc is 6 months payslip. From what I heard, Malaysian have higher chance of getting PR compared to other countries as our culture, language, etc are almost the same which is an advantage to assimilate and localise to SG.
Print one side, it does matter. Formal doc should not be in two sided, exception e.g. appendix, glossary etc.
For myself, I submitted few months ago and not even close to one year in SG, result is still pending so can't say its right choice but good luck to me. Haha.
I don't think it works this way. Unless your YE2016 income is less than SGD22k? Otherwise, its mandatory to file your tax return. I saw u mentioned u worked almost a year in SG, assuming 9 months x 2.5k = 22.5k.
Nevertheless, suggest u to read up SG tax and at least basic knowledge, it doesn't work the same as MY tax except the progressive part.
well I done all those SingPass sign-up and etc. To date, not receive anything from company or them after validating my sms notification

during that period, my gross income definitely higher than 22k but no indication that I am tax. strange...

This post has been edited by TheReaderReads: May 1 2017, 03:52 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 1 2017, 03:56 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ May 1 2017, 03:49 PM)
well I done all those SingPass sign-up and etc. To date, not receive anything from company or them after validating my sms notification

during that period, my gross income definitely higher than 22k but no indication that I am tax. strange...
Singapore does not have a monthly deduction. (though u can set up giro to do sth to that effect)
Tax is paid yearly on a preceding year basis. (ie whatever u pay now is for last years income)
TheReaderReads
post May 1 2017, 04:08 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ May 1 2017, 03:41 PM)
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 1 2017, 03:56 PM)
Singapore does not have a monthly deduction. (though u can set up giro to do sth to that effect)
Tax is paid yearly on a preceding year basis. (ie whatever u pay now is for last years income)
I just login to SingPass and just link it with my mobile.

Done that which I was suppose to do last couple of weeks but forgetten after registering for 2FA.

I log into IRAS using my SingPass.

Check my tax status. "No Filing Services" for Assessment Year of 2017. I wonder where is 2016 year...

check through INDIVIDUAL tab.

"You are not required to file your current year Income Tax Return.

Your Notice of Assessment for Year of Assessment 2017 will be sent to you based on the income information transmitted to IRAS by your employer and your relief claims for last year, if any.

Generally, most taxpayers should receive their Notice of Assessment by September."

anyway, yea I would do a giro auto deduction if possible. paying tax for the whole year can be rather painful...eventho sg tax is much lower if im not mistaken as compare to msia.
WallChecker
post May 1 2017, 04:10 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ May 1 2017, 03:49 PM)

Then u are definitely tax payer this year. Perhaps u should find out more from your friends, or colleagues or HR on this matter. U need to find out is your company under auto-inclusion scheme and are u on no-filling service. If u are on no-filling service, then no action is require until u receive notification of assessment. U will know how much payable tax for last year that time.

512 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:36 PM