Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

justified
post Apr 13 2017, 01:59 PM

121 posts

Hello all. Am new to workforce and will be having final interview round with prospective boss in Singapore next week..

A couple noob question

Will be working in a start up, relatively small company. Is it by law, that employer has to cover employee health insurance/benefit?

Secindly, since we don't get cpf unless you are PR, does the company usually reimburse you in a form of cash, allowance etc?

Thirdly, is yearly bonus provided mandatorily?

Any other sort of information that you think I shld be aware of when discussing about working contract?

Thank you all 😊
justified
post Apr 30 2017, 08:48 PM

121 posts

Got offer letter from the firm .. They will process my EP .. May I know what is the difference between in principal approval and EP?

How long will I get the permit usually? Should I start looking for room now? What is I have made payment for room but my EP application fail (touch wood)?
justified
post May 1 2017, 11:43 AM

121 posts

I just signed the offer letter that the company sent to me. Why haven't I signed other form like form 8 etc? How is the process like ?
justified
post May 2 2017, 05:55 PM

121 posts

So I signed my offer letter..assuming the HR process my IPA application today Tuesday, when will I receive my ipa? How long does it take usually? Also, do u guys get 13, 14 month bonus(es) usually ?

This post has been edited by justified: May 2 2017, 05:56 PM
justified
post May 4 2017, 03:17 PM

121 posts

is my company still legally bound to employ me given that the offer letter has been sent out and signed by me >?

This post has been edited by justified: May 4 2017, 03:41 PM
justified
post May 4 2017, 04:59 PM

121 posts

Ep application will take some Time I was told, worried- has anyone ep application gt rejected before??

This post has been edited by justified: May 4 2017, 05:22 PM
justified
post May 4 2017, 05:44 PM

121 posts

When u guys say ep, it means IPA right?
justified
post May 5 2017, 10:58 AM

121 posts

How long does it take for the IPA to be approved? Say hr launch on Monday...
justified
post May 9 2017, 03:28 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ May 8 2017, 11:53 PM)
When they contacted me, I turned them down politely coz I was happy with my present position. I'm still happy working at my current company.
I rarely apply for jobs through websites. Usually I get job offers via networking & recommendation. Faster & easier, plus good career progression after that.
I work at a tertiary institution as an academic. Looking for edu jobs. Maybe I'm overqualified; some SG employers require min. 2 years and some min. 5 yrs experience. FYI, I'm 6 years in the industry & have worked for various institutions from primary up to tertiary level, taught kids as young as 5 y.o. up to students as old as 25 y.o., local & international students...

... yet can't even get a job at secondary schools or education centres in SG... despite my work experience & qualifications. I don't think it's because of my age either. I'm 28 this year but my resume is impressive; have been approached by local international schools, tertiary institutions, MNCs as well. I don't doubt my work performance & competence as I'm one of the top employees who are close to the top management + working for another higher institution (also via recommendation).

Anyway, haven't tried my best yet coz still waiting for my Master's cert. Plan to apply for academic positions in SG when I have it.

Just enjoy myself in M'sia first. I have 31 days of leave per year. Can travel to meet bf; not in a hurry.  smile.gif
ohh sounds very good.. mind I asking which college are you attached to and what is your teaching area? I am considering joining college too in near future..
justified
post May 15 2017, 11:03 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ May 15 2017, 10:51 PM)
I just got mine at end of march, it took around 5 working days. No need to check every 4 hour, if I'm not wrong they update every night, so just check on morning. Last time when I check around 5-6pm its pending but next day early morning I check, it become approved.
How did u check ur ep status? I thought HR handle ur application? Did they provide u some pin number after applying in ur behalf?
justified
post May 16 2017, 10:42 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ May 15 2017, 11:12 PM)
I google "Employment Pass Status" then I fill in the field accordingly. It's recommend you keep check yourself and update HR about it, my HR did not check my status, I let them know it's approved they only aware of it and help me to process IPA.
is it this website ?

https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLUAMT0...isplayAction.do

beside ur passport/IC number and full name, it requires FIN as well right ?
justified
post May 16 2017, 11:05 AM

121 posts

ohh,, upon filling up my IC and name, i have 3 options,

1st is FIN
2nd is travel doc
3rd is application number

so u chose the 2nd one right?

sorry noob dare not try in advance scared it will affect my application ==
justified
post May 19 2017, 05:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ May 19 2017, 04:43 PM)
you get your ep ady? I wonder why it take so long, last time I 2 days ady get my IPA letter.
when was 'last time' ?
justified
post May 19 2017, 05:17 PM

121 posts

owh that was quite recent tho.. my understanding is that the ep policy has become more tight since 2014 for foreigner...

2 days is damn quick lehhh

This post has been edited by justified: May 19 2017, 05:17 PM
justified
post May 19 2017, 08:10 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ May 16 2017, 11:01 AM)
This website https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLENQM0...isplayAction.do

Nope, FIN not require. First you need to enter your Malaysia IC number, and if I remember correctly, it will prompt your passport for verification.
does the application reflect instantly on the website (i.e. HR apply today, the system will show up immediately when i check myself?) it shows record not found when i check myself
justified
post May 22 2017, 11:31 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ May 22 2017, 11:23 AM)
Yes!! my ep approved after 8 working days.....January I just apply for ep, now May apply again so scare they will reject....

Love you MOM...Good monday smile.gif
thats good ! congratz ! is ur company MNC or local company ? and before they employ u, did they advertise on jobs bank ?
justified
post May 22 2017, 11:44 AM

121 posts

ya when they wan apply for me, only realise about jobs bank. waste 2 weeks waiting...

edit: im surprise there are HR who duno abt the rules ==

This post has been edited by justified: May 22 2017, 11:47 AM
justified
post May 26 2017, 12:25 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(wongwongwong123 @ May 25 2017, 11:02 PM)
Malaysian freshie can earn 3k in sg o ? Then i'm too way underpaid  cry.gif
I thought EP criteria need at least 3.6k sgd to qualify ?
justified
post May 26 2017, 11:18 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(wongwongwong123 @ May 26 2017, 10:49 AM)
MOM actually loose the requirements for Malaysian, 2.2k is enough to issue a S pass, although many company dont want coz got levy and quota
isnt 2.2k the qualifying criteria for S-pass as stated on MOM website
justified
post May 26 2017, 11:57 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 26 2017, 02:03 AM)
I never get 3k when I first stepped foot here. But is possible.
3.6k wayang for non-Malaysian biggrin.gif

Malaysian 2.4k also can get EP with Degree cert. Confirm + chop.
so usually with a recognised degree cert, EP should be able to get it? how about work experience (for fresh grad)

0.0205sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:38 PM