1384 Pages « < 240 241 242 243 244 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

JustcallmeLarry
post Aug 27 2018, 11:43 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Aug 27 2018, 11:21 PM)
well, imo, it goes like this:

Z-lineup -> H370 -> B360 -> H310

*The Z-lineup motherboards are the most versatile(being containing more ports, multiple PCI-E's, able to OC) as well as being the most priciest due to it being most future-proof. And if you take the number series into account, it would be something like Z390 is more superior than Z370.

*Then only followed by H370, B360 which considered suitable for those mid-gaming capabilities, and finally H310 is for those who only wants basic budget gaming capabilities, and of course, H310 is the most cheaper version out there.
So I will ask you the same thing I ask the guy. Should I add more money. I think it is rm100 ringgit more to get a b360 motherboard?
Is there a lot in difference between the h310 and b360???
Bcs the shop guy turn pretty arrogant. He seem sure the h310 is just as good. Some more from the reviews their customer service suppose to be really good.
Kanan Jarrus
post Aug 28 2018, 12:10 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 27 2018, 11:43 PM)
So I will ask you the same thing I ask the guy. Should I add more money. I think it is rm100 ringgit more to get a b360 motherboard?
Is there a lot in difference between the h310 and b360???
Bcs the shop guy turn pretty arrogant. He seem sure the h310 is just as good. Some more from the reviews their customer service suppose to be really good.
Well that depends on your use of PC. Are you a hardcore gamer that wants to squeeze every performance out of its PC? If yes, then I'd highly recommend you to get the B360, because it's also future-proof in the sense that if you wanna exchange your processor /gpu, you can do it without any worries (give & take 2-3years later). I know for a fact that if I'm powering on 1060 right now, I'd wanna go for 1070ti at the very least in next 3 years or so if I wanna make some upgrades on my graphic card.

Besides, if you really ask me, I'd go for B360 over H310 if I have the budget to do so. You basically would not lose anything at all. H310 is considered basic/rudimentary components in powering the whole thing, so yeah, cash in a few more ringgit for B360 would be my approach.

As for the shop, would you mind let me know the shop's name(or pm me if you don't mind)? biggrin.gif
JustcallmeLarry
post Aug 28 2018, 02:34 AM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 27 2018, 11:48 PM)
The difference between them is the features. It depends on what features you need (e.g. no. of usb ports, m.2 slots, pcie slots, ram slots). H310 is a very basic mobo and not many of them have m.2 slots and most only have 2 ram slots. Whereas B360M ups the game a tad bit. Some with 4 ram slots, m.2 slots and such. Not all B360 mobos have the same features too. Best is to check out the specific model online and look at the specs.
Thanks. If the difference is just the number of slots then I don't mind the the h310. Bcs the most maybe I will add in another 8gb of RAM and upgrade graphic card in future.

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Aug 28 2018, 12:10 AM)
Well that depends on your use of PC. Are you a hardcore gamer that wants to squeeze every performance out of its PC? If yes, then I'd highly recommend you to get the B360, because it's also future-proof in the sense that if you wanna exchange your processor /gpu, you can do it without any worries (give & take 2-3years later). I know for a fact that if I'm powering on 1060 right now, I'd wanna go for 1070ti at the very least in next 3 years or so if I wanna make some upgrades on my graphic card.

Besides, if you really ask me, I'd go for B360 over H310 if I have the budget to do so. You basically would not lose anything at all. H310 is considered basic/rudimentary components in powering the whole thing, so yeah, cash in a few more ringgit for B360 would be my approach.

As for the shop, would you mind let me know the shop's name(or pm me if you don't mind)? biggrin.gif
What with h310 cannot change the graphic card if I want to?
I won't mention the name maybe bcs it was my fault bcs I did tell him I want a budget pc.
JustcallmeLarry
post Aug 28 2018, 03:32 AM

1,363 posts

Guys also is it ok in my build I just have a 250gb SSD and no hdd in it???
jiant
post Aug 28 2018, 04:56 AM

1,785 posts

Any suggestion for midrange H110 which is Gen 7 CPU ready motherboard?
Pls: No need manually update BIOS.
mbr
post Aug 28 2018, 07:16 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 28 2018, 03:32 AM)
Depends on your usage. Remember that OS and basic apps can take up to 60-80GB. If for gaming, Steam and such might take up another 30-80Gb quickly And you will want to have at least 20-50GB free on your boot drive. So dont think it will be enough if you tend to keep lots of files. Cant keep game backups on the SSD and have to keep downloading them or offloading to other drives later.

QUOTE(jiant @ Aug 28 2018, 04:56 AM)
Any suggestion for midrange H110 which is Gen 7 CPU ready motherboard?
Pls: No need manually update BIOS.
Probably best to go to shops and see what they have, as H110 boards are not exactly easy to find. Probably the stores can help with BIOS update for a small fee (or free), if you are not keen on doing it yourself. Else, consider buying used from people who already proved their board working with Kabylake.
donavan1986
post Aug 28 2018, 07:53 AM

894 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 27 2018, 10:52 AM)
1) i5 8400 is a very popular choice
2) B360 mobo will be a good choice.
3 & 4) Yes, 8GB value ram is sufficient as it is the minimum requirement for most games these days.
Hi Kristal, I5-8400 why is it so popular? compare with I5-8600 it is more worth for the money? By the way, what is the different between ASUS TUF H370 Pro Gaming and ASUS ROG Strix H370? Been wondering which to choose.
TristanX
post Aug 28 2018, 09:16 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Aug 28 2018, 07:53 AM)
Hi Kristal, I5-8400 why is it so popular? compare with I5-8600 it is more worth for the money? By the way, what is the different between ASUS TUF H370 Pro Gaming and ASUS ROG Strix H370? Been wondering which to choose.
i5-8400 is the value king. 300mhz increase for the price on i5-8600 is not worth it.

If you go Asus' website, you can always check the spec. Look at USB ports, SATA ports, PCI Express slots, features like RGB and others. H370 definitely does not support overclocking but it is a high end non-OC chipset.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 28 2018, 09:17 AM
neverfap
post Aug 28 2018, 09:32 AM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 28 2018, 03:32 AM)
Currently have 250GB SSD in my rig. Almost used up after 3 months.
Its better to have a 1TB HDD in there for file storage smile.gif
Or 500 SSD if u want
exwan
post Aug 28 2018, 12:49 PM

Notice me Senpaiiiiii~
619 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 20 2018, 01:30 PM)
Good price.

HD 610 is more powerful, but don't expect it to play current games. It is still integrated graphics.

Stock cooler is usually more than enough for dual core CPUs.
No more g4560 and h110m-k on pc depot. They change to g5400 gold and h310m-k

249.99 for the proc and 318.99 for the mobo
And this is before sst price

Still one more month to go before i could fork out 1k for rebuilding my pc.
Maybe i could still search for the g4560 and h110m-k on other shop but dunno could get cheaper price or not.

it really better / worth it than the g4560 combo?
donavan1986
post Aug 28 2018, 12:57 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 28 2018, 09:16 AM)
i5-8400 is the value king. 300mhz increase for the price on i5-8600 is not worth it.

If you go Asus' website, you can always check the spec. Look at USB ports, SATA ports, PCI Express slots, features like RGB and others. H370 definitely does not support overclocking but it is a high end non-OC chipset.
So means that if I opp to choose I5 non OC edition, I should pick I5-8400 right? So the difference between ROG Strix and TUF gaming is just the ports and RGB features only is it?

So which should i choose...
I5-8400 - 715
Asus TUF H370 Pro Gaming - 575
16GB Corsair Vengence 2666 RGB CMR - 805
Phanteks P400s - 379
Total RM 2474

or

I5-8600K - 1015
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming - 749
16GB Corsair Vengence 3200 RGB CMR - 859
Phanteks P400s - 379
Total RM 3002

Hmm......
TristanX
post Aug 28 2018, 01:04 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(exwan @ Aug 28 2018, 12:49 PM)
No more g4560 and h110m-k on pc depot. They change to g5400 gold and h310m-k

249.99 for the proc and 318.99 for the mobo
And this is before sst price

Still one more month to go before i could fork out 1k for rebuilding my pc.
Maybe i could still search for the g4560 and h110m-k on other shop but dunno could get cheaper price or not.

it really better / worth it than the g4560 combo?
Thats what happens when you wait too long. New thing comes in, old ones goes out of stock.

G5400 is slightly faster.

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Aug 28 2018, 12:57 PM)
So means that if I opp to choose I5 non OC edition, I should pick I5-8400 right? So the difference between ROG Strix and TUF gaming is just the ports and RGB features only is it?

So which should i choose...
I5-8400 - 715
Asus TUF H370 Pro Gaming - 575
16GB Corsair Vengence 2666 RGB CMR - 805
Phanteks P400s - 379
Total RM 2474

or

I5-8600K - 1015
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming - 749
16GB Corsair Vengence 3200 RGB CMR - 859
Phanteks P400s - 379
Total RM 3002

Hmm......
You really need to go to the website instead of asking for spoon feeding.

Yes, i5-8400. What you choose depends on how much you wanna spend? 8600K also doesnt come with cooler.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 28 2018, 01:06 PM
Puteih
post Aug 28 2018, 01:42 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Hello all,
I'm looking to upgrade my rig, here's what I'm looking for:

[B][Budget] ~RM1K total

[Purpose] Upgrading

[Hardwares] Monitor, keyboard, and mouse

[Monitor resolution] Looking at 1440p, but can live with 1080p I guess

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Probably MOBA and FPS games, I'm looking at using the monitor as secondary monitor. Also, maybe I use it to watch movie at room

[Location] KL

Thank you in advance!
exwan
post Aug 28 2018, 01:55 PM

Notice me Senpaiiiiii~
619 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 28 2018, 01:04 PM)
Thats what happens when you wait too long. New thing comes in, old ones goes out of stock.

G5400 is slightly faster.

No choice. Need to use the money for other more important thing.

For the g5400 combo i saw from asus website the mobo only support win10. So, i cant use win 7?
TristanX
post Aug 28 2018, 02:07 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(exwan @ Aug 28 2018, 01:55 PM)
No choice. Need to use the money for other more important thing.

For the g5400 combo i saw from asus website the mobo only support win10. So, i cant use win 7?
Windows 7 no longer supported by Microsoft. Thats why. You could try your luck by searching online though.
Puteih
post Aug 28 2018, 02:36 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 28 2018, 02:03 PM)
You're looking to upgrade your entire sytem with 1k budget without reusing back any of your hardwares..? That's pretty impossible mate. Also, 1440p monitors arent cheap.
Oh no, what I meant was to upgrade those 3 only; 24inch monitor, Keyboard and Mouse. All other stuffs will be used (I already have a complete PC). Budget can be extended further (probably up to 2k?)

I'm looking at the new Logitech G Pro Wireless. Looks good but since it's still new no review yet. I have no idea for monitors and keyboards.
donavan1986
post Aug 28 2018, 03:14 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 28 2018, 02:06 PM)
It's up to your personal preference on the looks of the mobo since they both have pretty much the same features.

It depends on whether you want to fork out extra 1k for parts that can be OC'd. Are you planning to OC if you get 8600k?
Nope, I don't think will do that. I bought the I5-3570K last time but until now still using stock setting.

Will ROG more durable than TUF? I saw the description in the website mention about this. Now i plan to upgrade is because my Mobo USB can use 2 only. The computer shop tell me that it is the Mobo problem which when it detected some problem on the Mobo, it will automatic cut out the connection some sort.

If not i won't even want to change. the PC is still working perfectly now other than the USB problem. When i transfer for files more than 600mb it will get stuck and cause my USB thumb drive to be corrupted and all files gone.
TristanX
post Aug 28 2018, 03:21 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Aug 28 2018, 03:14 PM)
Nope, I don't think will do that. I bought the I5-3570K last time but until now still using stock setting. 

Will ROG more durable than TUF? I saw the description in the website mention about this. Now i plan to upgrade is because my Mobo USB can use 2 only. The computer shop tell me that it is the Mobo problem which when it detected some problem on the Mobo, it will automatic cut out the connection some sort.

If not i won't even want to change. the PC is still working perfectly now other than the USB problem. When i transfer for files more than 600mb it will get stuck and cause my USB thumb drive to be corrupted and all files gone.
You can always look for USB 3.0 PCIE x1 card.
donavan1986
post Aug 28 2018, 03:35 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 28 2018, 03:21 PM)
You can always look for USB 3.0 PCIE x1 card.
Oh, I don't know about that. let me explore on that.
TristanX
post Aug 28 2018, 03:58 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Aug 28 2018, 03:35 PM)
Oh, I don't know about that. let me explore on that.
Here, examples. Branded are more expensive.
https://www.lelong.com.my/catalog/all/list?...SB+%203.0%20PCI

Kindly take note your motherboard must have one free PCI Express X1 slot or PCIE x1 and a connector from the power supply if you wanna buy it. Ignore the PCIE x2 or x4 cards.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 28 2018, 04:17 PM

1384 Pages « < 240 241 242 243 244 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:03 PM