[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Gigabit
post Feb 28 2024, 10:21 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(carvajal18 @ Feb 28 2024, 09:43 AM)
Hello,

I'm trying to build a rig for my simulator game Football manager, no exactly graphic intense game & already figure out some of the stuff I want as below as I've seen recommendation by expert here except a few that I cant decide. I will get most of it from shopee and pay someone here to install for me,  I'm from Kuching, Sarawak so certain stuff like Casing I think I just get it here cos shipping is expensive for big stuff. Budget to keep below RM3k only for PC only

CPU confirmed!
Core i5-12400F - 599

MOBO can't decide between this 2, worth extra RM200 to justify the wifi feature or there is extra feature that worth it? I'm using ethernet but nice to have wifi incase I move my setup.

MSI B760M-E or MSI PRO B760M-A WIFI DDR4

RAM confirmed! Someone recommend me Apacer Nox instead, any different?
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184

SSD Confirmed!
Adata SX8200 Pro 512GB - 199

GPU
I will get a used gpu from my area saw a few selling RX6600 around RM700- RM800 from Facebook marketplace, I'm open for suggestion though.

PSU I need recommendation! Saw TristanX recommend MSI A650BN but I can't find it on shopee.

Casing I'll shops around my area or any recommendation from shopee I also dont mind.

Cheers and Thanks in advance!
For Mobo, from my experience as user, choose MSI PRO B760M-A WIFI DDR4, you can either use LAN or WIFI

For SSD, unless you have a separate drive to store your files, 512gb is not enough

Casing, depends whether you want airflow type or basic type depending on your usage

hpares
post Feb 28 2024, 01:07 PM

530 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 27 2024, 11:56 PM)
Stay away from Giga mobo (backdoor bios), Giga PSU (exploding bomb), Giga Eagle GPU (noisy & subpar cooling)

For high FPS games, better to have bigger VRAM to reduce game stutter.

Nvme to kingston nv2 - very bad idea. DRAMless crap SSD if going to use as OS bootdrive.

Psu to  FSP HV PRO 550w - not so good idea, FSP HV PRO also got 650W unit so bare minimum 650W

160 hz, while dell se2722h is 75 hz - monitor is overspec as the system will not able to push up to 165FPS on 1080P native resolution. Perhaps a 144Hz monitor can be cheaper

Where are you? If around klang valley, sifu Myway can help.
Thanks bro. Then i stick to 650 watt. When i try to use online psu calculator, it seems around 400 watt only do i assume 550 watt should be enough. I have no idea though nvme got two type, probably will try to get the with Dram one.

hpares
post Feb 28 2024, 01:20 PM

530 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 28 2024, 12:07 AM)
Like I said, low budget. Very hard to pick parts....The issue with buying everything from same shop is some parts are overpriced.

Do not listen to salesman. RTX 4060 8GB... Still giving 8GB on 2024. Games getting really hungry with VRAM. Viewnet has some RTX 3060 12GB in stock. Rather sacrifice a bit of performance for VRAM. When you run out of VRAM, you get slideshow, or crap looking graphics.

Watch 8GB part here:

Kingston NV2? No Value V2! Forgettable SSD. SX8200 Pro will laugh at it even with PCIE 3.0. Go for WD SN580. Its the best DRAMless SSD available.

This is a rig suggestion thread. Asking for monitor is off topic. I don't really keep track with monitors, just randomly pick one.
Thanks bro. Den i stick with 3060 probably go with zotac brand if unable to find the recommended brand.

For ssd i try to find from other shop for sx8200. Just knew nvme got 2 different type, and viewnet price list doesnt seems to indicate which one with dram and which one without.

weiilunz
post Feb 28 2024, 02:58 PM

42 posts

sorry for late reply ,guys!
last few days i did commented and some of you give me the rig recommendations. really appreciate.

but things change, i decided to top up my budget to RM 8k!

[Budget] Up to RM 8k

[Purpose] 100% Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 27" 165hz monitor mostly 1440p gaming

[Monitor resolution] 27" 165hz monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
GAMES
1. Ark
2. ⁠Monster Hunter iceborne
3. ⁠Resident evil 4 remake
4. ⁠Resident evil 8 village
5. ⁠Horizon
6. ⁠The last of us 1 remastered
7. ⁠God of War

[Personal preferences]
graphic card hits RTX 4070 super is fine. Please recommend others valuable parts to hit RM 8k budget . hopefully rig can last longer 5-7 years+
2 TB SSD required. 32gb ram required. no need fancy rgb .

Thanks guys !
myway1985
post Feb 28 2024, 03:38 PM

12,090 posts

QUOTE(weiilunz @ Feb 28 2024, 02:58 PM)
last few days i did commented and some of you give me the rig recommendations. really appreciate.

[Budget] Up to RM 8k

[Purpose] 100% Gaming

GAMES
1. Ark
5. ⁠Horizon
7. ⁠God of War

[Personal preferences]
graphic card hits RTX 4070 super is fine. Please recommend others valuable parts to hit RM 8k budget . hopefully rig can last longer 5-7 years+

Thanks guys !
march price will up.. so u only left 1 day to decide

I7 13700 - 1900
B760m MSI mortar wifi D4- 899
32gb 3200mhz adata value - 330
2tb KC3000 - 929
Colorful rtx 4070 super nb - 3250
1st player 850 gold steampunk - 399
1st player mi7a black - 200
Thermalright pa 120 se - 170

RM8077..

if buy by tomolo... price still can adjust.. march confirm over this price
TristanX
post Feb 28 2024, 07:01 PM

Where is my stars?
24,347 posts

Hello,

I'm trying to build a rig for my simulator game Football manager, no exactly graphic intense game & already figure out some of the stuff I want as below as I've seen recommendation by expert here except a few that I cant decide. I will get most of it from shopee and pay someone here to install for me,  I'm from Kuching, Sarawak so certain stuff like Casing I think I just get it here cos shipping is expensive for big stuff. Budget to keep below RM3k only for PC only

CPU confirmed!
Core i5-12400F - 599

MOBO can't decide between this 2, worth extra RM200 to justify the wifi feature or there is extra feature that worth it? I'm using ethernet but nice to have wifi incase I move my setup.

SSD Confirmed!

GPU
I will get a used gpu from my area saw a few selling RX6600 around RM700- RM800 from Facebook marketplace, I'm open for suggestion though.

PSU I need recommendation! Saw TristanX recommend MSI A650BN but I can't find it on shopee.

Casing I'll shops around my area or any recommendation from shopee I also dont mind.

Apacer Nox is 3 years warranty. Kingston is Lifetime warranty.

MSI A650BN?
https://shopee.com.my/MSI-MAG-A650BN-650-Wa...831.19620104879

QUOTE(hpares @ Feb 28 2024, 01:20 PM)
Thanks bro. Den i stick with 3060 probably go with zotac brand if unable to find the recommended brand.

For ssd i try to find from other shop for sx8200. Just knew nvme got 2 different type, and viewnet price list doesnt seems to indicate which one with dram and which one without.
You can try this...
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1B27...2gT4/edit#gid=0
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 28 2024, 03:38 PM)

I7 13700 - 1900
2tb KC3000 - 929

RM8077..

That CPU price... Might as well go 13700K or 14700K.

Samsung 990 Pro 2TB laughs at KC3000 with the price of RM849.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 28 2024, 07:32 PM
myway1985
post Feb 28 2024, 07:11 PM

12,090 posts

QUOTE(weiilunz @ Feb 28 2024, 02:58 PM)

[Budget] Up to RM 8k

[Purpose] 100% Gaming

GAMES
1. Ark
5. ⁠Horizon
7. ⁠God of War

[Personal preferences]

Thanks guys !
Decide b4 Fri.. can change to 2tb Samsung 990 n cheaper
babylon52281
post Feb 28 2024, 10:48 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(hpares @ Feb 28 2024, 01:07 PM)
Thanks bro. Then i stick to 650 watt. When i try to use online psu calculator, it seems around 400 watt only do i assume 550 watt should be enough. I have no idea though nvme got two type, probably will try to get the with Dram one.
RTX30series well known for transient spikes that can shutdown PC at best and fry something at worse. See my post in this tered
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5441097

You want something that has capacity to soak the transients.

If you lazy to find out, try see what are the SSDs reco by sifu Myway & Tristanx
babylon52281
post Feb 28 2024, 10:51 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 28 2024, 03:38 PM)

I7 13700 - 1900
2tb KC3000 - 929

RM8077..

Why Adata value ram? Value rams usually have really bad timings even if it officially supports up to 3200MHZ. Kingston Fury Beast or Corsair Vengence LPX

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Feb 28 2024, 10:55 PM
babylon52281
post Feb 28 2024, 10:54 PM

2,695 posts

Hello,

CPU confirmed!
Core i5-12400F - 599

SSD Confirmed!

GPU

I have nothing but bad experience with Apacer. 3 thumbdrives & 2 microSD frequently corrupts and total data loss. I since never use Apacer products again. Its not like any much cheaper so why???
Ichitech
post Feb 29 2024, 12:51 AM

196 posts

Hi All, looking for budget PC for daily office use, must be able to support win 10.. possibly below RM400 for
Processor
Mobo
Ram
Rest of hardware will be migrated from old pc

This post has been edited by Ichitech: Feb 29 2024, 12:52 AM
TristanX
post Feb 29 2024, 07:31 AM

Where is my stars?
24,347 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Feb 29 2024, 12:51 AM)
Hi All, looking for budget PC for daily office use, must be able to support win 10.. possibly below RM400 for
Processor
Mobo
Ram
Motherboard alone already more than half of the budget minimum. Good luck!
myway1985
post Feb 29 2024, 08:50 AM

12,090 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 28 2024, 10:51 PM)
Why Adata value ram? Value rams usually have really bad timings even if it officially supports up to 3200MHZ. Kingston Fury Beast or Corsair Vengence LPX
U no oc no Push ram... different 1 second won't affect much rite.. fury beast rm360.. I dun think worth the price ...

N value ram no xmp headache
babylon52281
post Feb 29 2024, 12:02 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Feb 29 2024, 12:51 AM)
Processor
Mobo
Ram
LOL RM400! Bro have you seen how shitty our RM lately? Thats just enough to get RAM only.

You might have better luck looking at used stuff but even then its unlikely you can get all that for 400. (thats like <USD 100 today doh.gif )
babylon52281
post Feb 29 2024, 12:17 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 29 2024, 08:50 AM)
U no oc no Push ram... different 1 second won't affect much rite.. fury beast rm360.. I dun think worth the price ...

N value ram no xmp headache
Value RAM CL22 vs XMP RAM CL16 is quite a big difference in some use like games is most sensitive to RAM latency. Since OP PC will be 100% gaming, there will be some differences in FPS.

CS:GO. Mind you this is for CL16 vs CL18. CL22 will be even slower

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Feb 29 2024, 12:17 PM
myway1985
post Feb 29 2024, 12:42 PM

12,090 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 29 2024, 12:17 PM)
Value RAM CL22 vs XMP RAM CL16 is quite a big difference in some use like games is most sensitive to RAM latency. Since OP PC will be 100% gaming, there will be some differences in FPS.

CS:GO. Mind you this is for CL16 vs CL18. CL22 will be even slower
he no reply.. let him de la.. tomolo price up not our problem de.. requote only
Aivihc
post Feb 29 2024, 12:51 PM

466 posts

hi, can recommend which RTX 4070 super to get? planning to get two fan version only
AthrunIJ
post Feb 29 2024, 01:03 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Aivihc @ Feb 29 2024, 12:51 PM)
hi, can recommend which RTX 4070 super to get? planning to get two fan version only
If in budget.

Standard non oc 4070 is enough.

If ada duit. Any lol
babylon52281
post Feb 29 2024, 01:46 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(Aivihc @ Feb 29 2024, 12:51 PM)
Just not Giga Eagle https://www.techspot.com/review/2791-nvidia...rtx-4070-super/
"We also have the Gigabyte Eagle OC, another base model using a compact triple-fan cooler. This cooler, previously used on their standard RTX 4070, was one of the worst performers in our 4070 roundup, reaching a peak GPU hotspot temperature of 73°C at nearly 2,000 RPM.

Predictably, using this same cooler on a higher-powered GPU hasn't improved the results; in fact, it's even worse. The junction temperature hit 70°C, close to the hot spot temperature of the FE model, which is problematic as it resulted in a hotspot temperature of 85°C for the GPU. This is not ideal, and it's exacerbated by a high fan speed of 2,100 RPM, making this card both hot and loud at 38 dBA."

Oh wait 2fan only? Will be hotter & noisier. Do reconsider.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Feb 29 2024, 01:46 PM
Aivihc
post Feb 29 2024, 02:28 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Feb 29 2024, 01:03 PM)
If in budget.

Standard non oc 4070 is enough.

If ada duit. Any lol
How about warranty in case of faulty (brand reliability), so far I never face any issue previous gc, a bit of concern

1386 Pages « < 1210 1211 1212 1213 1214 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:56 AM