Does no gst now is a good time to buy new rig? Beside ram and gpu.
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
May 27 2018, 05:59 PM
530 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Does no gst now is a good time to buy new rig? Beside ram and gpu.
May 29 2018, 09:03 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Is current pc price still include gst of the shop willing to rebate 6 %?
May 29 2018, 06:28 PM
Plan to buy something with 3k budget on 1st June for a brand new cpu. For gaming only. Anything to recommend? Maybe i skip the gpu first as the price is still insane right even without gst? Gpu maybe wait until gtx 11xx release. And for ssd, sandisk seems to be quite cheap rm 250 for 250gb, worth buying? And when sst come back, will it Influence pc price ?
May 29 2018, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(Kristal.S @ May 29 2018, 08:20 PM) How are you gonna game without a GPU now though? GPU prices almost back to normal. Thanks. Plan to use my old gpu gtx 660 until gtx 11xx come out. Should be soon right? Any reason to choose intel over ryzen? Heard it is pretty cheap compare to intel. Still have around 600, what should i get or upgrade? I7 or ryzen 7? Have different budget for gpu later.CPU: INTEL CORE I5-8400 RM 733.00 MOBO: GIGABYTE B360M AORUS GAMING 3 RM 380.00 RAM: G.SKILL AEGIS SERIES 8GB DDR4 2400MHZ RM 389.00 SSD: GALAX GAMER SSD L 240GB RM 269.00 HDD: WD BLUE 1TB RM 190.00 PSU: EVGA 500BV 80+ BRONZE RM 219.00 CASE: TECWARE NEXUS M RM 149.00 TOTAL: RM2,329 (E Tech prices: http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/easyit2u.htm) |
May 30 2018, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(Kristal.S @ May 30 2018, 07:45 AM) Ahhh I see. Well new gen gpu should be coming out by end of this year. I5 good enough for vr too? Maybe for future investmentIf you’re only looking to game, Intel still dominates Ryzen in terms of fps. For gaming, i5 is good enough. You could either go for higher clock speed i5 8600 / 16gb of ram / a better psu / a better casing. |
Jul 14 2018, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(Kristal.S @ May 29 2018, 08:20 PM) How are you gonna game without a GPU now though? GPU prices almost back to normal. Sifu, plan to buy very soon but some question again.CPU: INTEL CORE I5-8400 RM 733.00 MOBO: GIGABYTE B360M AORUS GAMING 3 RM 380.00 RAM: G.SKILL AEGIS SERIES 8GB DDR4 2400MHZ RM 389.00 SSD: GALAX GAMER SSD L 240GB RM 269.00 HDD: WD BLUE 1TB RM 190.00 PSU: EVGA 500BV 80+ BRONZE RM 219.00 CASE: TECWARE NEXUS M RM 149.00 TOTAL: RM2,329 (E Tech prices: http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/easyit2u.htm) CPU: INTEL CORE I5-8400 RM 733.00 - should i stretch abit to 8600k? Worth? MOBO: GIGABYTE B360M AORUS GAMING 3 RM 380.00 - getting this, but in event i plan to get 8600k or i 7 8700, can use also right? RAM: G.SKILL AEGIS SERIES 8GB DDR4 2400MHZ RM 389.00 - Any reason not to go for 2666mhz? It seems cheaper but higher speed ( hyper X performance ram) SSD: GALAX GAMER SSD L 240GB RM 269.00 - Rushed and bought sandisk same capacity but at rm 170 @ shopee ><( might get another 480 in future) HDD: WD BLUE 1TB RM 190.00 - getting 2TB instead CASE: TECWARE NEXUS M RM 149.00 - GPU - adding budget 2K for this. GTX 1070 TI from galax or palit seems able to fit in the budget. Any reason not getting these brand? Because rest of the brand kinda like 2.3k ish. Or should i go Ryzen instead? PSU: EVGA 500BV 80+ BRONZE RM 219.00 - Dilemma here. Is it enough power if i get i7 or it 8600k, 2SSD instead of one, and additional of GTX 1070 ti? Cooler master 550w bronze seems to be around this budget too. Any advantages if i go for EVGA? Thanks Sifu |
Jul 14 2018, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jul 14 2018, 08:01 PM) should i stretch abit to 8600k? Worth? I think my choice down to these 2. Need a bit more advice. - If you plan to OC, then yeah 8600k will be worth it. But keep in mind that unlocked processors means you gotta splurge more for a cooler as well. You will require a decent cooler to keep it cool if you want to OC. getting this, but in event i plan to get 8600k or i 7 8700, can use also right? - If you're going for 8600k, you will have to pair it with Z series mobo as only Z series mobo allows OC. H/B series mobo can't OC. But if i7 8700 then yes, can use this also. Any reason not to go for 2666mhz? It seems cheaper but higher speed ( hyper X performance ram) - You can go for 2,666mhz but don't go any higher if you're getting that mobo as H/B mobo only supports up to 2,666mhz. If getting Z series, then can go even higher like 3,200mhz. Rushed and bought sandisk same capacity but at rm 170 @ shopee ><( might get another 480 in future) - This is just a reference. If you find better deals else where by all means go ahead! Haha getting 2TB instead - Nice! GPU - adding budget 2K for this. GTX 1070 TI from galax or palit seems able to fit in the budget. Any reason not getting these brand? Because rest of the brand kinda like 2.3k ish. Or should i go Ryzen instead? - Nvidia cards still gives better performance in terms of FPS and they are more value for the money as of now. No reasons not to go for these brands. In fact, I am also using a Galax and I am more than happy with it. Of course there are many models for every brand, some may be okay, some may be better. PSU: EVGA 500BV 80+ BRONZE RM 219.00 - Dilemma here. Is it enough power if i get i7 or it 8600k, 2SSD instead of one, and additional of GTX 1070 ti? Cooler master 550w bronze seems to be around this budget too. Any advantages if i go for EVGA? - No advantages/disadvantages as 1070ti minimum requirement is 500w and it is enough even if you go with 8600k. However, I personally like better grade PSU for lower noise and it cools better. If you can add maybe RM100-RM200 more for PSU, do consider these: SUPER FLOWER 550W LEADEX 80+ SILVER RM 301.00 FSP 550W HYDRO GE 80+ GOLD RM 349.00 SUPER FLOWER 650W LEADEX II 80+ GOLD RM 414.00 NO OC ( RM2234) CPU: INTEL CORE I5-8400 RM 709.00 MOBO: GIGABYTE B360M AORUS GAMING 3 RM 359.00 RAM: KINGSTON HYPER X DDR4 8GB 2666MHZ RM335 SSD: SANDISK SSD PLUS 240GB RM170 HDD: WD BLUE 2TB RM 230.00 CASE: TECWARE NEXUS M RM 130.00 - GPU - 2k budget pending choice 1070ti or gtx 11 series PSU: SUPER FLOWER 550W LEADEX 80+ SILVER RM 301.00 With OC ( RM2699) adding rm466 for future gaming proof CPU: INTEL CORE I5-8600K RM 1000.00 MOBO: GIGABYTE z370M DS3H 479 or D3H 529 ( which better? Aorus one is too expensive, and what is Aorus anyway?) RAM: KINGSTON HYPER X DDR4 8GB 3200MHZ RM389 SSD: SANDISK SSD PLUS 240GB RM170 HDD: WD BLUE 2TB RM 230.00 CASE: TECWARE NEXUS M RM 130.00 - Should i go for different casing for overclocking purpose? GPU - 2k budget pending choice 1070ti or gtx 11 series PSU: SUPER FLOWER 550W LEADEX 80+ SILVER RM 301.00 ( If OC need to upgrade this too? ) I might consider Ryzen 2 2600X since it just launch and able to overclock. Beside the mobo, the rest can use back the same right? Never has an amd proc before, kinda wanted on despite lower performance in game.. Wondering how much different if i buy before sst and after sst comes back. pect: This post has been edited by hpares: Jul 15 2018, 02:17 AM |
Jul 15 2018, 12:12 PM
Jan 22 2022, 09:09 PM
Hi All,
Is the following build okie? INTEL Corei5 11400 2.6GHz 12MB 6C/12T, B460M mATX mainboard, XPG 16GB RGB 3200MHz RAM, crucial/adata 512GB RGB M.2 NVMe PCI SSD, wd 1TB SATA HDD, inno3d RTX3060 12GB 192bit Display Card, mATX Casing, RGB Exhaust Fan System, 1000WPSU (RM6779) Recommended by a friend. By the way, inno3d RTX3060 12GB 192bit Display Card cost rm3.5k? Alternatively, any good suggestion for 5 to 6k budget? CPU only. Thanks. This post has been edited by hpares: Jan 22 2022, 09:14 PM |
Jan 22 2022, 10:17 PM
Feb 26 2024, 01:11 PM
Hi all sifu,
Helping friend ask. Need to build a pc with 3k to 3.5k budget only include monitor. Usage Light adobe ilustrator for work purposes. Gaming at 1080p ( Call of duty type of game mostly) but with 27 inch monitor. Any brand or part i should avoid? |
Feb 27 2024, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 26 2024, 09:01 PM) Low budget makes it hard to be selective. Thanks bro. Some question, as i refer to viewnet price list and not all available, if i swapTry Core i5-12400F - 599 MSI B760M-E - 455 Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 Arktek RTX 3060 12GB - 1199 Adata SX8200 Pro 512GB - 199 MSI A650BN - 204 Montech Air 100 lite case - 169 Dell SE2722H - 579 (Dell) RM3588 total Mobo to GIGABYTE B760 B760M D2H DDR4 rm549 ( in case no stock ) Gpu to inno3d or zotac brand same spec/ or 4060 8gb (is it 8gb not enough nowdays?) ( in case no stock ) Nvme to kingston nv2 rm184 ( in case no stock) Psu to FSP HV PRO 550w rm 219 ( in case no stock ) Monitor to samsung LS27AG320/viewsonic VX2728J/ Aoc 27g2sp gaming (all around rm650 with 160 hz, while dell se2722h is 75 hz) Do you think it is okay? I plan to buy all in one shop because easier to claim warranty if anything happen. Helping an 64 years old uncle to buy pc, and he is really into call of duty. 😂 |
Feb 28 2024, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 27 2024, 11:56 PM) Stay away from Giga mobo (backdoor bios), Giga PSU (exploding bomb), Giga Eagle GPU (noisy & subpar cooling) Thanks bro. Then i stick to 650 watt. When i try to use online psu calculator, it seems around 400 watt only do i assume 550 watt should be enough. I have no idea though nvme got two type, probably will try to get the with Dram one.For high FPS games, better to have bigger VRAM to reduce game stutter. Nvme to kingston nv2 - very bad idea. DRAMless crap SSD if going to use as OS bootdrive. Psu to FSP HV PRO 550w - not so good idea, FSP HV PRO also got 650W unit so bare minimum 650W 160 hz, while dell se2722h is 75 hz - monitor is overspec as the system will not able to push up to 165FPS on 1080P native resolution. Perhaps a 144Hz monitor can be cheaper ![]() Where are you? If around klang valley, sifu Myway can help. |
Feb 28 2024, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 28 2024, 12:07 AM) Like I said, low budget. Very hard to pick parts....The issue with buying everything from same shop is some parts are overpriced. Thanks bro. Den i stick with 3060 probably go with zotac brand if unable to find the recommended brand.Do not listen to salesman. RTX 4060 8GB... Still giving 8GB on 2024. Games getting really hungry with VRAM. Viewnet has some RTX 3060 12GB in stock. Rather sacrifice a bit of performance for VRAM. When you run out of VRAM, you get slideshow, or crap looking graphics. Watch 8GB part here: Kingston NV2? No Value V2! Forgettable SSD. SX8200 Pro will laugh at it even with PCIE 3.0. Go for WD SN580. Its the best DRAMless SSD available. This is a rig suggestion thread. Asking for monitor is off topic. I don't really keep track with monitors, just randomly pick one. For ssd i try to find from other shop for sx8200. Just knew nvme got 2 different type, and viewnet price list doesnt seems to indicate which one with dram and which one without. |
| Change to: | 0.0737sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:44 AM |