166 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Malaysian Estimated Weekly RON95/RON97 Price, RON95 ◆, RON97 ◆ on 7/3 (Estimation)

voscar
post May 14 2018, 07:31 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ May 14 2018, 07:08 PM)
suppose you got your gen2 cheap also right...why sell since thats already a saving...
use until when need change...then can consider swap...

unless they move away from CC as tax and measure...
maybe u can start seeing some B-C seg, conti or not...showing up with 1.0-1.3L range...
e.g. HRV maybe will show up as 1.0T?
Civic 1.8 maybe get replace with 1.0T version? lol

else maybe if they finally swap to like how others doing, use emission scale, or use HP scale...

nothing is perfect and no 100% right...so its up to gov which to focus first....
nope, i bought my gen2 @35k new stock unit 4 years kept at proton warehouse. loan 7 years this month finish loan. FC 11-13L/100km. If CC or Energy Saving Vehicle only eligible for fuel subsidy, selling off my car and get new car with fresh loan just for sake of fuel subsidy isn't worth it. I mean this sort of policy isn't feasible at all to those whom driving old car >1300CC, plenty of old wira waja on the road and those B40 group probably bought it used.

"maybe u can start seeing some B-C seg, conti or not...showing up with 1.0-1.3L range...
e.g. HRV maybe will show up as 1.0T?
Civic 1.8 maybe get replace with 1.0T version? lol"
This lagi worse, if I can afford those car, why would I making complain here? lol

so imo, just maintain fuel subsidy applicable to all, not based on such funny funny policy such as below 1.3, strictly B40, only national car continental car not entitle etc.

haha, btw just for discussion purpose and voicing out my opinion.
SUSjasonhanjk
post May 14 2018, 07:44 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ May 14 2018, 06:34 PM)
Read the PH manifesto. B40 family & below 1.3L cc cars are eligible.
I do not belong to the T, M or B category. Maybe I should file my first income tax with my rental income. The government won't get any income from me as I fall under the double taxation category.

2 weeks I only drive 300km with my Axia, use very little petrol so unlikely I will benefit a lot.
TSisr25
post May 14 2018, 08:01 PM

1,263 posts

Ok... I think you really need to read the manifesto itself. It may just be all vehicle owners riding motorcycles 125cc and below, as well as cars 1300cc and below will receive the subsidy, and not just B40 and lower M40. I really dunno and can only speculate until they actually implement this.

If they only use the engine capacity as the indicator, then will the VW Beetle 1.2L (RM148k) owners also benefit?

http://kempen.s3.amazonaws.com/manifesto/M...festo_PH_EN.pdf
voscar
post May 14 2018, 08:50 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ May 14 2018, 08:01 PM)
Ok... I think you really need to read the manifesto itself. It may just be all vehicle owners riding motorcycles 125cc and below, as well as cars 1300cc and below will receive the subsidy, and not just B40 and lower M40. I really dunno and can only speculate until they actually implement this.

If they only use the engine capacity as the indicator, then will the VW Beetle 1.2L (RM148k) owners also benefit?

Yup, that's the flaw...
With petroleum price forecast to exceed USD100 this year, none qualified subsidy people will be pumping 2.80-3.00 per litre?

This post has been edited by voscar: May 14 2018, 08:54 PM
voscar
post May 14 2018, 08:51 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ May 14 2018, 07:44 PM)
I do not belong to the T, M or B category. Maybe I should file my first income tax with my rental income. The government won't get any income from me as I fall under the double taxation category.

2 weeks I only drive 300km with my Axia, use very little petrol so unlikely I will benefit a lot.
Your legacy persona dah jual?
SUSjasonhanjk
post May 14 2018, 09:44 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 14 2018, 08:51 PM)
Your legacy persona dah jual?
Mistaken identity bro. I'm Jason Bourne.

Currently still a lot of unknown. I really hope they just simplify to one mykad peg to one car below 1.3 and give a cap subsidy. Digging into the income from hasil may take even longer time to implement and a portion of Malaysians don't file income tax.

LGE in charge of petrol price?

This post has been edited by jasonhanjk: May 14 2018, 09:56 PM
dinozilla
post May 14 2018, 09:55 PM

1,680 posts

Aside from Perodua, and Proton 1.3 Iriz etc, i can only find these below 1300
Ford Fiesta 1.0 Sports
Peugeot 208 1.2 PureTech
Renault Captur TCe 120
Renault Clio GT 1.2T
VW Vento
Kia Picanto

Not small number also....
anyway...they also excluded Electric car in that sense...
but anyway all these above and e-Car is definitely not B40 range...M40 may try for it...until whole pic clear...no point debating...
aside from looking at affordability, should we also start looking at fuel it burns....

SUSjasonhanjk
post May 14 2018, 09:57 PM

1,068 posts

We just shiok shiok chit chat lah. biggrin.gif

What do you mean fuel it burns?

This post has been edited by jasonhanjk: May 14 2018, 09:57 PM
voscar
post May 14 2018, 11:13 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ May 14 2018, 09:55 PM)
Ford Fiesta 1.0 Sports
Peugeot 208 1.2 PureTech
Renault Captur TCe 120
Renault Clio GT 1.2T
VW Vento
Kia Picanto

but anyway all these above and e-Car is definitely not B40 range...M40 may try for it...until whole pic clear...no point debating...
aside from looking at affordability, should we also start looking at fuel it burns....
Yes, and the main concern shall be "if" subsidy only for smaller CC car, with oil price forecasting exceeding USD100, what would be the retail unsubsidized price? Over RM3/ltr? Like that most people in the country will bankrupt. You think so easy for whole nation to sell off old Saga, old Wira Waja and get Axia within a month?

Just speculation but I seriously doubt the feasibility of such move.
TSisr25
post May 14 2018, 11:28 PM

1,263 posts

Assuming crude oil is USD100 per barrel, the MOPS95 price would be around USD110 per barrel (historically, it’s been around USD8-10 more than crude).

Assuming too that the exchange rate is USD1 = MYR4, and the APM calculation remains unchanged, RON95 would be
((USD110 x MYR4)/159)+0.32=RM3.09
raquinz
post May 15 2018, 12:16 AM

266 posts

If you browse through FB post about fuel price,Many are restless that PH still hasn't announced fuel price reduction..PH have really put themselves in a quandary here..Many people expect price to come down below rm 2...A Lot of kampung folks don't know or care about global oil price..What they want is cheap oil prices...I don't know people will trust PH is they reneged on their promise
TSisr25
post May 15 2018, 06:25 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(raquinz @ May 15 2018, 12:16 AM)
If you browse through FB post about fuel price,Many are restless that PH still hasn't announced fuel price reduction..PH have really put themselves in a quandary here..Many people expect price to come down below rm 2...A Lot of kampung folks don't know or care about global oil price..What they want is cheap oil prices...I don't know people will trust PH is they reneged on their promise
I also thought they will reduce to RM1.50. But it seems that it was the previous promise before they introduced their manifesto. Now it’s promise to stabilize the fuel price. By capping it to the current value, I’m already happy, since the fuel price at the moment is indeed higher. If they remove the GST, RON97 will be even lower - RM2.33 vs RM2.47 atm.

This post has been edited by isr25: May 15 2018, 06:26 AM
Lone Wolf X
post May 15 2018, 08:45 AM

728 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 14 2018, 06:42 PM)
many will start to regret when they start implementing this...
educated younger gen easily falls in M40 category, and they contributed majority of car usage... onsite engineer, sales etc..

so if i'm falls in B40 category also, i would need to sell my gen2 @RM7k and purchase a Saga/Myvi 1.3 @30k above to entitle for subsidy? Many B40 category still driving Wira 1.5 i foresee...
QUOTE(dinozilla @ May 14 2018, 09:55 PM)
Ford Fiesta 1.0 Sports
Peugeot 208 1.2 PureTech
Renault Captur TCe 120
Renault Clio GT 1.2T
VW Vento
Kia Picanto

Upon further reflection & thought on the valid point you have raised.

That assistance should go to people who are worse off or marginalized communities which are negatively effected by the price of petrol.

I agree with your argument that subsidies should be based on an income principle.

I'm happy to see this discussion going on in a objective and open manner.

#For A Better Malaysia!!! thumbsup.gif
LostAndFound
post May 15 2018, 09:54 AM

6,266 posts

QUOTE(raquinz @ May 15 2018, 12:16 AM)
The 'restless' ones are mostly middle class or at least urban. Social media not a good gauge for this sort of thing. Targeted subsidy is always better than blanket, frankly if can drive a car already better than the truly-worst-off people.
dinozilla
post May 15 2018, 10:56 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Lone Wolf X @ May 15 2018, 08:45 AM)
Upon further reflection & thought on the valid point you have raised.

That assistance should go to people who are worse off or marginalized communities which are negatively effected by the price of petrol.

I agree with your argument that subsidies should be based on an income principle.

I'm happy to see this discussion going on in a objective and open manner.

#For A Better Malaysia!!!  thumbsup.gif
IC can be one to be used...but u can't pay fuel with it i assume...
anyhow one of the best reference in the industry is the fleet card
e.g. Petrol company (like Shell) has been given their employee a type of credit-card like card (Shell card?)
When employee refuel with that card, rebate is credit on top at bill cycle n settle by employee...

In this case gov actually can create some kind of B40 card, maybe in the form of prepaid.
holder of the card can use that to pay on refuel
and i pretty sure of coz to avoid abuse, a certain cap/max ceiling usage can be control from there (aside from commercial 1, personal usage shouldn't go too far off)

What I can envision is to have
RON95 is float in a bucket range (gov maintain it within a certain range based on their capability to contain it to help the ppl ease through)
B40 will get the card which can allow them to pay for it at a discounted price vs the above general public (with a cap like probably 200L/mth?)
RON97+ (mainly premium car use) unsubsidised or a lower subsidy %
voscar
post May 15 2018, 02:08 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ May 15 2018, 10:56 AM)
IC can be one to be used...but u can't pay fuel with it i assume...
anyhow one of the best reference in the industry is the fleet card
e.g. Petrol company (like Shell) has been given their employee a type of credit-card like card (Shell card?)
When employee refuel with that card, rebate is credit on top at bill cycle n settle by employee...

In this case gov actually can create some kind of B40 card, maybe in the form of prepaid.
holder of the card can use that to pay on refuel
and i pretty sure of coz to avoid abuse, a certain cap/max ceiling usage can be control from there (aside from commercial 1, personal usage shouldn't go too far off)

What I can envision is to have
RON95 is float in a bucket range (gov maintain it within a certain range based on their capability to contain it to help the ppl ease through)
B40 will get the card which can allow them to pay for it at a discounted price vs the above general public (with a cap like probably 200L/mth?)
RON97+ (mainly premium car use) unsubsidised or a lower subsidy %
this is by far the best idea for subsidy implementation thumbup.gif
dinozilla
post May 15 2018, 06:35 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 15 2018, 02:08 PM)
this is by far the best idea for subsidy implementation thumbup.gif
Unfortunately i m not part of Council of Elders lol
6UE5T
post May 15 2018, 07:16 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 14 2018, 07:31 PM)

so imo, just maintain fuel subsidy applicable to all, not based on such funny funny policy such as below 1.3, strictly B40, only national car continental car not entitle etc.

haha, btw just for discussion purpose and voicing out my opinion.
Agree. Targeting fuel subsidy for the people who need them the most is a noble ideal but in practice can be difficult to implement to ensure it's still fair and no loop holes for abuse and corruption, or generating a new black market for fuel. Indonesia for example has been tinkering with this idea for the longest of time but until now still not able to implement it due to such various challenges, hence still just subsidize for all. So not sure if Malaysia can do it in such short time frame too.
eddievh
post May 16 2018, 07:46 AM

3,219 posts

So this midnight still same price ?
Chrix
post May 16 2018, 02:53 PM

1,187 posts

will the prince of petrol make an appearance?, since we are in new frontier

166 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top