Scissorshand
post Oct 19 2020, 10:34 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(wchinwai @ Oct 14 2020, 05:49 PM)
Hi Sifus,
I own a Mecool MS8 Pro L TV Box.
Been trying various versions on Astro Go but could get it to work properly.
Able to login and get to the menu but cant play any channels/video....something about playback issue or screen is just black.

Just would like an advise on which is the working version and i can google it from there.

Thanks in advanced.
I've same box but I don't use aotg but I tried playtv from store can't use. I suspect the box is rooted but I've no problem with KM3 KM9

Anyway my neighbor also got his new KM1 DELUXE (photo fro him)

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
azrilyp
post Oct 19 2020, 10:42 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Oct 19 2020, 10:34 AM)
I've same box but I don't use aotg but I tried playtv from store can't use. I suspect the box is rooted but I've no problem with KM3 KM9

Anyway my neighbor also got his new KM1 DELUXE (photo fro him)
I'm using a factory rooted box but managed to run aotg using the mod version.
QuickFire
post Oct 19 2020, 11:28 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Hi guys. I read the full posts on the first page...and realized it was last updated in 2017. I presume it's quite a bit outdated now, although it did provide me with some good info.

Anyway, I'm looking for a capable android box that fulfills the following:
- lag-free 4K video, Dolby vision is preferable
- runs Netflix 4k / YouTube 4k
- good 1080p upscaling capability
- comes with LAN port
- possibility of installing ahem apps for my wife (oh well)
- Chromecast if possible
- budget RM300-600 (can stretch a bit if needed)

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Oct 20 2020, 01:11 PM
wchinwai
post Oct 20 2020, 03:52 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Oct 19 2020, 10:42 AM)
I'm using a factory rooted box but managed to run aotg using the mod version.
Do you mind sharing which modded version you are using?
Please PM me.

GuyM
post Oct 20 2020, 08:23 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 19 2020, 11:28 PM)
Hi guys. I read the full posts on the first page...and realized it was last updated in 2017. I presume it's quite a bit outdated now, although it did provide me with some good info.

Anyway, I'm looking for a capable android box that fulfills the following:
- lag-free 4K video, Dolby vision is preferable
- runs Netflix 4k / YouTube 4k
- good 1080p upscaling capability
- possibility of installing ahem apps for my wife (oh well)
- Chromecast if possible
- budget RM300-600 (can stretch a bit if needed)

Latest Google Chromecast
QuickFire
post Oct 20 2020, 12:11 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 20 2020, 08:23 AM)
Latest Google Chromecast
Thanks. What's the advantage of getting the other brands like mecool, himedia, etc over an official Chromecast?

Oh and it's wireless. I think I'd prefer one with an ethernet port for stability.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Oct 20 2020, 01:11 PM
GuyM
post Oct 20 2020, 03:06 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 20 2020, 12:11 PM)
Thanks. What's the advantage of getting the other brands like mecool, himedia, etc over an official Chromecast?

Oh and it's wireless. I think I'd prefer one with an ethernet port for stability.
None will meet your cheap expectation budget... Google for more
QuickFire
post Oct 20 2020, 03:38 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 20 2020, 03:06 PM)
None will meet your cheap expectation budget... Google for more
What's a good budget for those features? I was under the impression that a premium price tag for media players is around 1,000 somewhere along the lines of Nvidia Shield. So a budget of 600 I thought was pretty decent.
megahertz
post Oct 20 2020, 05:17 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

with ur requirement on the netflix 4k. not much device able to support this except only running on normal SD since netflix 4k certification quite hard to get.
and with that budget, i think latest google chromecast with google tv is good option.
another would be mi box s. but its not support dolby vision
QuickFire
post Oct 20 2020, 07:35 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Oct 20 2020, 05:17 PM)
with ur requirement on the netflix 4k. not much device able to support this except only running on normal SD since netflix 4k certification quite hard to get.
and with that budget, i think latest google chromecast with google tv is good option.
another would be mi box s. but its not support dolby vision
Oh well. What options do I have if I skip Netflix 4K?

By the way, Chromecast with Google TV is still not available here yet I suppose? Even the official Google landing page redirects to the 3rd gen Chromecast...
QuickFire
post Oct 20 2020, 08:04 PM

2,867 posts

Hmm I found an Nvidia Shield Pro for 899 on shopee. Thinking if I should just get that, since it has Netflix and YouTube at 4k. Ethernet port. Dolby vision. AI upscaling. Only lacks Chromecast I suppose...
excaliburcombo
post Oct 20 2020, 08:44 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 20 2020, 08:04 PM)
Hmm I found an Nvidia Shield Pro for 899 on shopee. Thinking if I should just get that, since it has Netflix and YouTube at 4k. Ethernet port. Dolby vision. AI upscaling. Only lacks Chromecast I suppose...
Nvidia Shield Pro Youtube app only support 1080.
QuickFire
post Oct 20 2020, 10:19 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Oct 20 2020, 08:44 PM)
Ah shit. And here I was thinking 4k should be pretty standard these days...
QuickFire
post Oct 20 2020, 11:52 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Oct 20 2020, 08:44 PM)
https://www.nvidia.com/en-gb/shield/compare/

It does support YouTube 4K.
excaliburcombo
post Oct 21 2020, 04:47 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 20 2020, 11:52 PM)
sorry what i meant is no support for 4k hdr.
megahertz
post Oct 21 2020, 08:53 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 20 2020, 08:04 PM)
it does hv chromecast. if ur budget permit, shield pro is the best android tv box u would get.
GuyM
post Oct 21 2020, 11:26 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Oct 21 2020, 04:47 AM)
sorry what i meant is no support for 4k hdr.
Have u gugu FireTV CUBE 2

BTW I'm even cheapskate since I've no 4k TV bur watch Netflix 1080, I settled with KM3 KM9 boxes for under $300😆

This post has been edited by GuyM: Oct 21 2020, 11:35 AM
wei
post Oct 21 2020, 12:35 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 8 2020, 07:57 PM)
Nice...Do update how it goes.. Recently been looking into the various smart home ecosystems and devices.. Just browsing around, haven't begun buying anything just yet. A lot to digest.. sweat.gif
Just got myself Nvidia Shield TV Pro. Great device. Plex 4K local stream ran smoothly. Before this having issue with audio codec and subtitles.
excaliburcombo
post Oct 21 2020, 02:57 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Oct 21 2020, 12:35 PM)
Just got myself Nvidia Shield TV Pro. Great device. Plex 4K local stream ran smoothly. Before this having issue with audio codec and subtitles.
Yes nvidia shield pro run smooth and steady while play plex but the only issue that bother me got stuttering when play netflix/disney+ etc. refresh rate app help a bit but it is still there.
wei
post Oct 21 2020, 03:17 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Have not notice frame rate issue. Just Netflix doesn't get steady 4k stream, it always does below. Can tell from blurry images. Strangely it only appear on some show. Will try to ponder around and see what is wrong.

369 Pages « < 329 330 331 332 333 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:51 PM