Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

liquidsny
post May 3 2018, 10:38 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 3 2018, 10:26 PM)
Yep, latest reports by owner GuyM is that Netflix displays up to 1080p on the M8S Pro. How long? Hopefully forever. There's a list on Netflix's site for certified devices. Doesn't mean that those not on the list won't stream at FHD or UHD-HDR.. But that they aren't officially supported and Netflix won't do nothing about complaints made for such devices. So the list themselves aren't exhaustive.

Sos 1...Main
Sos 2...Click the "Netflix in HD" tab.
Sos 3... Wiki
Thanks for the list bro. It helps a lot thumbsup.gif
Fak3-1234
post May 4 2018, 02:47 PM

262 posts

any thought on this android box?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1333432...lFlag=true&mp=1
Andrewtst
post May 5 2018, 10:35 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

So happy finally dimsum support Android TV OS. biggrin.gif

A good paid services Asia channel for Android TV Box.

voncrane
post May 5 2018, 01:28 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Fak3-1234 @ May 4 2018, 02:47 PM)
I'm not a fan of that AMLogic S905W processor..

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 5 2018, 10:35 AM)
So happy finally dimsum support Android TV OS. biggrin.gif

A good paid services Asia channel for Android TV Box.

Nice..
Andrewtst
post May 5 2018, 04:04 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 5 2018, 01:28 PM)
Nice..
Ya dimsum very care and listen to customer. I comment at play store mentioned their cast to TV not working in proper and prefer Android TV support.

Dimsum later reply and mentioned Android tv is support just in their next release. Maybe coicident but very cool! smile.gif
voncrane
post May 5 2018, 04:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 5 2018, 04:04 PM)
Ya dimsum very care and listen to customer. I comment at play store mentioned their cast to TV not working in proper and prefer Android TV support.

Dimsum later reply and mentioned Android tv is support just in their next release. Maybe coicident but very cool! smile.gif
Probably a coincidence that it's due for release soon. But at least they responded nicely and unlike TM. TM will tell you that your device is the problem laugh.gif Hopefully, this service can be sufficient for those who want simple fuss free Asian content. Similarly to how Netflix is king in its category.
chubbyqq
post May 5 2018, 04:31 PM

442 posts

Hi experts and sifu for Android Box, would need your help!

I want to take away my current astro and replace with one. Not sure how to start with. Constraints as follows:

- budget of RM300~RM500
- preferably to have usb port (watch movies from hard disk
- preferably to have available shows from tvb, cantonese, new dramas etc
voncrane
post May 5 2018, 04:35 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ May 5 2018, 04:31 PM)
Hi experts and sifu for Android Box, would need your help!

I want to take away my current astro and replace with one. Not sure how to start with. Constraints as follows:

- budget of RM300~RM500
- preferably to have usb port (watch movies from hard disk
- preferably to have available shows from tvb, cantonese, new dramas etc
I would prefer that you at least go through page one and the last 10 or more pages.. In less than 30 minutes, you'll have information worth years of our experiences. Do that first.. Return when you are more knowledgeable. icon_rolleyes.gif
Andrewtst
post May 5 2018, 04:36 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 5 2018, 04:11 PM)
Probably a coincidence that it's due for release soon. But at least they responded nicely and unlike TM. TM will tell you that your device is the problem  laugh.gif  Hopefully, this service can be sufficient for those who want simple fuss free Asian content. Similarly to how Netflix is king in its category.
Yup at least it reply nicely. The quality of dimsum is good not like Rakuten which is too low bitrate until image often pixelate and not smooth especially in fast action scenes. Rakuten really should re-decide their video output stream quality.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 5 2018, 04:39 PM
Fak3-1234
post May 6 2018, 01:44 AM

262 posts

[quote=voncrane,May 5 2018, 01:28 PM]

S912 not bad right
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1335063...lFlag=true&mp=1

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1622214...lFlag=true&mp=1
voncrane
post May 6 2018, 02:28 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Fak3-1234 @ May 6 2018, 01:44 AM)
Yes the S912 is quite good. It's the better successor to the S905 found in the Minix Neo U1 than the S905W. Advantages includes better 3D graphics performance (noteworthy if you plan to game a lot), Android 6.0 firmware by default, 4K VP9 hardware decoding, and HDR (High Dynamic Range support). If you don't care much about the advantages, then a cheaper S905 box might be sufficient. IMO, I care about such cuz future proofing even though I don't need em now but will in a couple years.

If between just the 2 above, I'd go with the T95Z Plus instead. I remember there's been a couple discussions about it and if it's worthy. So did a search and you should infer from the results and pay attention to an earlier post of mine.

Alternatively, how about the T9 S912 - 2gb / 16gb? See Muncheno's review and our discussions towards it. It's a cheaper buy, though requires a more hands on approach.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: May 6 2018, 02:33 AM
muncheno
post May 6 2018, 08:29 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 6 2018, 02:28 AM)
Yes the S912 is quite good. It's the better successor to the S905 found in the Minix Neo U1 than the S905W. Advantages includes better 3D graphics performance (noteworthy if you plan to game a lot), Android 6.0 firmware by default, 4K VP9 hardware decoding, and HDR (High Dynamic Range support). If you don't care much about the advantages, then a cheaper S905 box might be sufficient. IMO, I care about such cuz future proofing even though I don't need em now but will in a couple years.

If between just the 2 above, I'd go with the T95Z Plus instead. I remember there's been a couple discussions about it and if it's worthy. So did a search and you should infer from the results and pay attention to an earlier post of mine.

Alternatively, how about the T9 S912 - 2gb / 16gb? See Muncheno's review and our discussions towards it. It's a cheaper buy, though requires a more hands on approach..  biggrin.gif
T9 S912 no more cheap buy, seller jack up back to RM2XX range.
muncheno
post May 6 2018, 09:02 AM

736 posts

If I check lazada now, the next cheapest S912 2gb/16gb
Is KM8 pro.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/newest-k...-s25167357.html

It can run same firmware from T95Zplus or T95K 2gb box, however you will need to look firmware for correct wifi. China manufacturer today will use 3 type of wifi chip.
Hence it will require fair bit of hands on for cheap box to get it unroot.

T95Z plus 3gb box is not recommended from me as there limited support for custom firmware.
H96 pro+, i own one, lucky to get Superceleron software running but did abit of coolling mod to cool CPU from 68+ to now 54+ for normal use.

For the T95z plus in your link come preconfigure with apps, it is very subjective and normally for us this app grt our self if we know the app name.

For cheap brand boxes, it always involved fair bit of firmware upgrade to maximize the performance or usage.

If you prefer hassle less, my advise go branded box like Minix.

voncrane
post May 6 2018, 11:34 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ May 6 2018, 08:29 AM)
T9 S912 no more cheap buy, seller jack up back to RM2XX range.
Haha.. Perhaps got ppl read your review and go buy. Suddenly seller sees spike in orders and increase price.
muncheno
post May 6 2018, 11:53 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 6 2018, 11:34 AM)
Haha.. Perhaps got ppl read your review and go buy. Suddenly seller sees spike in orders and increase price.
Cheap buy now, X92 is back.
Rm242 S912 3gb/32gb

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/x92-tv-b...s250322651.html
lucaswjk
post May 6 2018, 03:10 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

recently i bought Skyworth 55" android tv which support 4k.

but my youtube and kodi only show max FHD resolution.
is my tv graphic hw didn't support 4k?
or it is limited to android it self, or i need some setting?

--

also how do i get the default android home screen or to hdmi.
coz everytime i boot up, it show google play movie channel.

--

i tried to side load apk using chrome, but installing failed.
any other options? (dolphin emu)
adamw
post May 6 2018, 10:05 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,353 posts

Any idea if this box can switch to English?
KingBox ZR1
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....ene=taobao_shop
demogorgon
post May 7 2018, 08:18 AM

105 posts

hi. if anyone remember i recently had a problem with my minix neo u1 bought during lazada sale. the unit just died for no reason and i was suspecting the power adapter to be the culprit there. turns out i was right (thank god) - no issue with the box, just the power unit.

anyways, i've been searching for replacement for the PSU all around kl but couldnt find it. believe me i looked everywhere for minix brand PSU and also any 3rd party PSU at hardware shop, electrical shop, computer stores, digital mall, lowyat plaza all not selling the right type (5V 3000ma)

if anyone knows any local seller that sells minix brand PSU please let me know. if online i only found the ones shipped from china. this time around i prefer minix brand and local seller. easier to replace if anything happens. if no choice then only i will resort to purchase online from china
fruitie
post May 7 2018, 08:54 AM

Rise and Shine
72,845 posts

QUOTE(demogorgon @ May 7 2018, 08:18 AM)
hi. if anyone remember i recently had a problem with my minix neo u1 bought during lazada sale. the unit just died for no reason and i was suspecting the power adapter to be the culprit there. turns out i was right (thank god) - no issue with the box, just the power unit.

anyways, i've been searching for replacement for the PSU all around kl but couldnt find it. believe me i looked everywhere for minix brand PSU and also any 3rd party PSU at hardware shop, electrical shop, computer stores, digital mall, lowyat plaza all not selling the right type (5V 3000ma)

if anyone knows any local seller that sells minix brand PSU please let me know. if online i only found the ones shipped from china. this time around i prefer minix brand and local seller. easier to replace if anything happens. if no choice then only i will resort to purchase online from china
I bought a third party one and put it in hometown, works well with my box.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ac-100-2...s145736117.html
Ngto
post May 7 2018, 09:07 AM

4,350 posts

Just buy same specs adapter , local or not, no need same brand.

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 7 2018, 09:07 AM

369 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:08 PM