1554 Pages « < 389 390 391 392 393 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Aug 11 2017, 05:50 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Aug 11 2017, 05:15 PM)
If you mean that you rather not invest in funds just because they are denominated in RM, the idea is incorrect.

For a company, it does not matter what currency the stock is denominated in; what matters is where the revenue of the company is generated. If facebook is listed in KLSE, do you think its long term prospects are poor because of long term depreciation of RM? What about a malaysian company that lists in Singapore's stock exchange?

Same thing with funds. If a fund has units in both SGD and MYR, returns of both are the same, since the underlying investments are the same. It would be different if the MYR fund is a feeder fund, in which case there might be extra management fees, and if the MYR fund is hedged to the ringgit.
Eg. Fund A available both in Malaysia and SG. Both can give you 10%
- Now if I put in money into Fund A via Malaysia, when I withdraw, I will get back RM. If I put money via SG, when I withdraw, it will pay me back in SGD.
- Overtime, the one who put money in Fund A via SG will gain more than the one who put money via Malaysia (both received same returns but different currency)

Eg. If Facebook is listed in Malayisa, revenue in USD but payout in RM, won't be much of a problem. The problem is revenue in RM but payout in SGD. That's when problem comes in. Are there such companies on SGX, of course. Did I touch them? No. Will I touch them in the future? No. However I have no problem with companies business is in IDR, but payout in SGD. Why?
- For years, the company have been shown to be profitable (they have managed to hedge the currency well)
- IDR is not as weak as RM.

For those want to find out more, these are the companies mentioned
- Silverlake Axis (revenue in RM but payout in SGD)

- First reit
(Base rent of leases for Indonesia properties are pegged to Singapore Dollar so rental income is relatively unaffected by Rupiah fluctuations
Leases for Singapore properties are denominated in Singapore Dollar
Lease for South Korea property is denominated in US Dollar)

For me, any currency can as RM have been shown to drop against all currency over time sad.gif
Red_rustyjelly
post Aug 11 2017, 05:51 PM

867 posts

Hi all, I am new to FSM, I tried looking for the transaction faqs, but couldn't find any info.

How do they transfer the money back to your bank account after you sell a fund?

Sorry, ayam too much CDS stock player. Dont know FSM.
Muhammad Abdul Latif
post Aug 11 2017, 05:55 PM

Hi Gurus,

I have a question. I have RHB Islamic Bond in my portfolio. This fund has 1% redemption fee if redeemed within the first 1 year. My question is from when do they count that 1 year. I have first bought this fund in August 2015 and then continued occasional top-ups. When I tried the FSM switch calculator, it shows I am subject to pay 1% redemption fee.

Any information will be appreciated.

Avangelice
post Aug 11 2017, 06:28 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Aug 11 2017, 05:51 PM)
Hi all, I am new to FSM, I tried looking for the transaction faqs, but couldn't find any info.

How do they transfer the money back to your bank account after you sell a fund?

Sorry, ayam too much CDS stock player. Dont know FSM.
yo brother!!! welcome to fsm!

you can select to get them to transfer them to your cash management fund or your bank account.

MUM
post Aug 11 2017, 06:36 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Abdul Latif @ Aug 11 2017, 05:55 PM)
Hi Gurus,

I have a question. I have RHB Islamic Bond in my portfolio. This fund has 1% redemption fee if redeemed within the first 1 year. My question is from when do they count that 1 year. I have first bought this fund in August 2015 and then continued occasional top-ups. When I tried the FSM switch calculator, it shows I am subject to pay 1% redemption fee.

Any information will be appreciated.

hmm.gif if I can remember.....someone posted this before....
looks like those units that you had purchased and held before the maturity of redemption period would be subjected to the redemption fees..
those units that are held after that is not subjected to redemption fees..
they have the data to do that....can ask FSM before you redeem.
Red_rustyjelly
post Aug 11 2017, 06:49 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 11 2017, 06:28 PM)
yo brother!!! welcome to fsm!

you can select to get them to transfer them to your cash management fund or your bank account.
Thanks biggrin.gif
ok time to bam Eastspring balanced. being studying this for quite sometime.

This post has been edited by Red_rustyjelly: Aug 11 2017, 06:49 PM
skynode
post Aug 11 2017, 06:59 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 11 2017, 05:50 PM)
- Now if I put in money into Fund A via Malaysia, when I withdraw, I will get back RM. If I put money via SG, when I withdraw, it will pay me back in SGD.
- Overtime, the one who put money in Fund A via SG will gain more than the one who put money via Malaysia (both received same returns but different currency)

Eg. If Facebook is listed in Malayisa, revenue in USD but payout in RM, won't be much of a problem. The problem is revenue in RM but payout in SGD. That's when problem comes in. Are there such companies on SGX, of course. Did I touch them? No. Will I touch them in the future? No. However I have no problem with companies business is in IDR, but payout in SGD. Why?
- For years, the company have been shown to be profitable (they have managed to hedge the currency well)

For those want to find out more, these are the companies mentioned
- Silverlake Axis (revenue in RM but payout in SGD)

- First reit
(Base rent of leases for Indonesia properties are pegged to Singapore Dollar so rental income is relatively unaffected by Rupiah fluctuations
Leases for Singapore properties are denominated in Singapore Dollar
Lease for South Korea property is denominated in US Dollar)

For me, any currency can as RM have been shown to drop against all currency over time  sad.gif
Ramjade, a better way would be to stay in JB. Work in Singapore daytime and go back to JB at night. Bring your own food to work. Earn all the money and spend zero cents in Singapore. Only spend in Malaysia. Oh... and put all your investments in Sing dollars. I guarantee, you will HUAT faster. thumbup.gif

But, worth it or not depends on you.

puchongite
post Aug 11 2017, 07:01 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 11 2017, 06:36 PM)
hmm.gif if I can remember.....someone posted this before....
looks like those units that you had purchased and held before the maturity of redemption period would be subjected to the redemption fees..
those units that are held after that is not subjected to redemption fees..
they have the data to do that....can ask FSM before you redeem.
People have discovered that a fund such as RHB Islam Bond, you can never be totally free from redemption fees because every year, the fund gives out distribution a few times, and the money gets converted into new units and reinvested with a newer date, and hence every year you will have some amount of units below the 1 year maturity.

So these funds with redemption will be pretty 'generous' in giving out distribution to lock you down or to earn some redemption money from you. rclxm9.gif
Holyboy27
post Aug 11 2017, 07:40 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(newdnewd @ Aug 11 2017, 03:15 PM)
Anyone going for the Interpac Q&A event?
May I know when is it happening?

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 11 2017, 03:28 PM)
Please go and ask why they aren't going up any further ?  devil.gif

If can still go up, when ?
Asking the important questions hahaha
tchau83
post Aug 11 2017, 07:45 PM

62 posts

Again, the currency of your investment does not matter, what matters is the value of holdings of the fund. If RM suddenly depreciates 50%, your portion of the fund will double in RM terms.

Unless you meant that your prefer holding SGD cash instead of RM in your portfolio, then its another matter entirely.

If you avoid RM funds because you think that Malaysia's companies are not going to perform well, fair enough.

For the past two years or so, yes. Over the long term, no.

MUM
post Aug 11 2017, 07:56 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 11 2017, 07:01 PM)
People have discovered that a fund such as RHB Islam Bond, you can never be totally free from redemption fees because every year, the fund gives out distribution a few times, and the money gets converted into new units and reinvested with a newer date, and hence every year you will have some amount of units below the 1 year maturity.

So these funds with redemption will be pretty 'generous' in giving out distribution to lock you down or to earn some redemption money from you.  rclxm9.gif
if this is true....
if the dividend is 6% in value....then 1% redemption of this of this 6% =
RM10000 x 6% = RM600 (new units)
RM600 x 1% = RM 6

puchongite
post Aug 11 2017, 08:02 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 11 2017, 07:56 PM)
if this is true....
if the dividend is 6% in value....then 1% redemption of this of this 6% =
RM10000 x 6% = RM600 (new units)
RM600 x 1% = RM 6
Precisely. The investor need to be able to know the amount involved might not be that big. If he has 10 fold the amount above, then it will be rm60. Don't let the smaller amount hold up the decision.

I supposed if he choose to partial sell, the system will sell the 'older' units ? wink.gif

This post has been edited by puchongite: Aug 11 2017, 08:04 PM
Avangelice
post Aug 11 2017, 09:24 PM

5,272 posts

So many fake accounts lately saying they are beginners in unit trust investing. Then magically they become wiser after a few days. Wow either we are good teachers or previous members who come back to taunt us.

skynode
post Aug 11 2017, 09:29 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 11 2017, 09:24 PM)
So many fake accounts lately saying they are beginners in unit trust investing. Then magically they become wiser after a few days. Wow either we are good teachers or previous members who come back to taunt us.
"Haunting" is more appropriate. The creation of Annabelle.
Red_rustyjelly
post Aug 11 2017, 09:35 PM

867 posts

i know u, u know me, we are happy family.
xuzen
post Aug 11 2017, 09:48 PM

4,436 posts

Gua ingat so many newbies come in because they love us..... wub.gif

BUt ultimately, recycled account only.... cry.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 11 2017, 09:59 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 11 2017, 03:40 PM)
There is only one reason why an investor want to put his money in a fund, is to see it go up.

If it is spent, cannot go up any further ( and worse, is coming down ), then apa guna lagi ? Pull out the money and go somewhere else !  biggrin.gif
And that is why there is the danger of chasing hot funds lor!

By the time you notice its hawtness, it would have gone up a few notches already....

Lai lai, stick to Lee Sook Yee wub.gif wub.gif UTF. That auntie fund is good for all occasion.

This UTF is like a mother's touch, no matter rain or shine, when you go home , you will know that warm dinner is served on time, the bed is made ready and the lights are switched on.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 12 2017, 12:38 PM
puchongite
post Aug 12 2017, 07:36 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 11 2017, 09:59 PM)
And that is why there is the danger of chasing hot funds lor!

By the time  you notice its hawtness, it would have gone up a few notches already....

Lai lai, stick to Lee Sook Yee  wub.gif  wub.gif UTF. That auntie fund is good for all occasion.

Xuzen
We have to wait for everyone to ride out of the storm first. Now KGF is itself isn't that much better.
Young People
post Aug 12 2017, 09:18 AM

117 posts

Hi All,

Im new in FSM started about 3 months and I only invest in this funds:

1. Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund
2.Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund
3.Kenanga Growth Fund

Are these funds better for 3-5years return?
Avangelice
post Aug 12 2017, 09:50 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Young People @ Aug 12 2017, 09:18 AM)
Hi All,

Im new in FSM started about 3 months and I only invest in this funds:

1. Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund
2.Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund
3.Kenanga Growth Fund

Are these funds better for 3-5years return?
go to the fund comparison tool in fundsupermart and run the numbers. what you are suppose to aim is for funds that have lower risk and better return based on their same asset class.

1554 Pages « < 389 390 391 392 393 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:08 AM