475 Pages « < 436 437 438 439 440 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 02:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 24 2022, 11:02 PM)
struggling on amd or intel
plan x670e asus extreme and 7900x or 13900k asus hero.
any advice sifu ? currently using 5900x formula + 4090
Let's put it this way.

If you go with AM5 (i.e x670E), sure the platform would be supported until... perhaps say Zen 6, maybe even 7. That sounds like a long time, probably 5 years of upgrade options. Sounds nice on paper, but x670E is riddled with problems just like x370 was when it launched AM4. It was promised that x370 would support future AM4 based CPUs and it did, but not entirely.

Even the x370 boards that did finally support Zen 3 wasn't a smooth plug and play scenario, it required a lot of work arounds to get ahead of issues that shouldn't happen (Zen 1 CPUs had no USB drop outs, suddenly dropping in a Zen 3 CPU caused USB drop outs for example).

So we don't really know how AM5 would shape out in the future. AMD isn't your friend, they'd be more than incline to sell you x770 or x870 or whatever when the latest AM5-based Zen CPU gets released 5 years from now.

On the other hand LGA1700 is EOL now. But at least you can rest assured that z690 is a mostly stable platform and a 13900k will last you 3 years, easy. By then, you can decide again if AM5 has proven itself to be a stable platform or not to jump back into AMD.
crazyfatt
post Oct 25 2022, 02:27 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 25 2022, 02:00 PM)
Let's put it this way.

If you go with AM5 (i.e x670E), sure the platform would be supported until... perhaps say Zen 6, maybe even 7. That sounds like a long time, probably 5 years of upgrade options. Sounds nice on paper, but x670E is riddled with problems just like x370 was when it launched AM4. It was promised that x370 would support future AM4 based CPUs and it did, but not entirely.

Even the x370 boards that did finally support Zen 3 wasn't a smooth plug and play scenario, it required a lot of work arounds to get ahead of issues that shouldn't happen (Zen 1 CPUs had no USB drop outs, suddenly dropping in a Zen 3 CPU caused USB drop outs for example).

So we don't really know how AM5 would shape out in the future. AMD isn't your friend, they'd be more than incline to sell you x770 or x870 or whatever when the latest AM5-based Zen CPU gets released 5 years from now.

On the other hand LGA1700 is EOL now. But at least you can rest assured that z690 is a mostly stable platform and a 13900k will last you 3 years, easy. By then, you can decide again if AM5 has proven itself to be a stable platform or not to jump back into AMD.
Thx for the info. will wait longer and decide coz intel need chg mobo for next gen.

SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 02:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 25 2022, 02:27 PM)
Thx for the info. will wait longer and decide coz intel need chg mobo for next gen.
You planning to upgrade every gen? If so, then nothing is actually "future proof". AMD may require you to get x770 too when Zen 5 comes around, just so the problems from x670 be eradicated. That's the typical AMD procedure, release something new, sweep old shit under the rug and hope people forget.
crazyfatt
post Oct 25 2022, 02:41 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 25 2022, 02:35 PM)
You planning to upgrade every gen? If so, then nothing is actually "future proof". AMD may require you to get x770 too when Zen 5 comes around, just so the problems from x670 be eradicated. That's the typical AMD procedure, release something new, sweep old shit under the rug and hope people forget.
i from 9900k stick amd till now. every gen did upgrade but intel this time seems not so worthy and ddr5 ram still unstable.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 03:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 25 2022, 02:41 PM)
i from 9900k stick amd till now. every gen did upgrade but intel this time seems not so worthy and ddr5 ram still unstable.
A 13900k and a Z690 board will last you the next 3 years, easily. DDR5 is not unstable, who told you otherwise? doh.gif

It's up to you if you wanna ride the beta-test phase of AM5 now really. Zen 4 has issues like random BSODs, clock stretching, slow boot up times, and poor handling of CCDs on Win 11. So if you're ok with dealing on those issues, then go ahead with AM5 + Zen 4.
crazyfatt
post Oct 25 2022, 03:38 PM

117 posts

i mean those ram announced but not yet appear in market to buy. guess now juz stick with 5900x first. tq for all the info.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 03:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Like which RAM? Not available here doesn't mean not available everywhere.

I'm skipping both Zen 4 and Raptor Lake too, will stick with 5900x. Happy with it for now.
crazyfatt
post Oct 25 2022, 04:02 PM

117 posts

itchy brain 🥲 convincing myself stay first. haha
raydenex
post Oct 25 2022, 07:13 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 25 2022, 03:52 PM)
Like which RAM? Not available here doesn't mean not available everywhere.

I'm skipping both Zen 4 and Raptor Lake too, will stick with 5900x. Happy with it for now.
Exactly what I'm doing - sticking with 5900x and do nothing this generation.
Vannus
post Oct 25 2022, 07:54 PM

Geeks
909 posts

Same to me; exactly what I'm doing - sticking with 5900x and do nothing this generation.

Suddenly i feel the 5900x is more stable and it runs cool at only 105W tdp, despite it slower than the new gen proc. Looking forward to next year CPU new releases.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 09:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Oct 25 2022, 07:13 PM)
Exactly what I'm doing - sticking with 5900x and do nothing this generation.
Rule of thumb - never buy the first release of a any "next-gen" stuff. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Vannus @ Oct 25 2022, 07:54 PM)
Same to me; exactly what I'm doing - sticking with 5900x and do nothing this generation.

Suddenly i feel the 5900x is more stable and it runs cool at only 105W tdp, despite it slower than the new gen proc. Looking forward to next year CPU new releases.
Yeah same here. Tuned up my 5900x really well too, maxed out my stability with FCLK at 1900mhz 1:1, super tight timings on the RAM. Chilling like a cucumber in basic desktop use cases under 95w TDP @ ~35c.

I see zero reason to move on from the 5900x at this point.
SUSipohps3
post Oct 25 2022, 09:26 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Oct 25 2022, 07:54 PM)
Looking forward to next year CPU new releases.
have a feeling next year wont have new gen desktop CPU. most only will have refresh of current gen and AMD X3D. if want next gen desktop CPU from either blue or red team need wait till first half of 2024.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Oct 25 2022, 09:31 PM
Vannus
post Oct 25 2022, 09:33 PM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 25 2022, 09:23 PM)
Rule of thumb - never buy the first release of a any "next-gen" stuff.  laugh.gif
Yeah same here. Tuned up my 5900x really well too, maxed out my stability with FCLK at 1900mhz 1:1, super tight timings on the RAM. Chilling like a cucumber in basic desktop use cases under 95w TDP @ ~35c.

I see zero reason to move on from the 5900x at this point.
Exactly bro!! cool and chill, no sweat at all this processor and never even fail me once like hang, bsod or auto restart. blush.gif

If got gen7 amd, significant amount money spend, added heat, and instability (this stability i can't tolerate). Play game half way hang or restart is the worst thing to happen in life, or working on your apps half way then restart before able to save the work... doh.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 09:41 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Oct 25 2022, 09:33 PM)
Exactly bro!! cool and chill, no sweat at all this processor and never even fail me once like hang, bsod or auto restart.  blush.gif

If got gen7 amd, significant amount money spend, added heat, and instability (this stability i can't tolerate). Play game half way hang or restart is the worst thing to happen in life, or working on your apps half way then restart before able to save the work...  doh.gif
Yeah that's why it's always best to buy the last releases of previous gen stuff, doesn't matter which platform. All major issues has been (mostly) ironed out.

Stability > performance.
crazyfatt
post Oct 25 2022, 09:54 PM

117 posts

i’m using 5900x+ asus formula mobo. randomly get issue processor suddenly drop to 500mhz. need shut down pc and restart only back to normal. wondering what’s prob 🥲
SSJBen
post Oct 26 2022, 04:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 25 2022, 09:54 PM)
i’m using 5900x+ asus formula mobo. randomly get issue processor suddenly drop to 500mhz. need shut down pc and restart only back to normal. wondering what’s prob 🥲
This is an old windows power plan problem.

Too many variables to list how this has happened but the main culprits are:

1) Installing a Zen 3 CPU over a Zen 2 CPU without reinstalling Windows. The Zen 3 CPU can be stuck using the Ryzen power plan that was only meant for Zen 2.

2) A windows update in 2020 and 2021 changed how the stock windows power plan works with Zen 3 CPUs, this could error out and the OS is still telling the CPU to use the non-updated power plan.

3) Mobo reporting wrong voltage due to EDC bug (AGESA 1.2.0.6), Windows wrongly sets the CPU in the wrong power state.
crazyfatt
post Oct 26 2022, 06:30 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 26 2022, 04:36 PM)
This is an old windows power plan problem.

Too many variables to list how this has happened but the main culprits are:

1) Installing a Zen 3 CPU over a Zen 2 CPU without reinstalling Windows. The Zen 3 CPU can be stuck using the Ryzen power plan that was only meant for Zen 2.

2) A windows update in 2020 and 2021 changed how the stock windows power plan works with Zen 3 CPUs, this could error out and the OS is still telling the CPU to use the non-updated power plan.

3) Mobo reporting wrong voltage due to EDC bug (AGESA 1.2.0.6), Windows wrongly sets the CPU in the wrong power state.
i did a reinstall windows last few months. will try to check the 2/3 mentioned. tq sifu. this is so annoying while gaming sudd drop to 500mhz

SSJBen
post Oct 26 2022, 06:40 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 26 2022, 06:30 PM)
i did a reinstall windows last few months. will try to check the 2/3 mentioned. tq sifu. this is so annoying while gaming sudd drop to 500mhz
Personally I just use bitsum high perf power plan, have no issues with it.

Also do you have Ryzen Master installed an enabled? I read on reddit before some were saying that it causes odd power boosting or down clocking. I'm not sure though since I've never dabbled with Ryzen Master.
crazyfatt
post Oct 26 2022, 07:13 PM

117 posts

i tried installed or uninstall ryzen master also same. so weird. wondering is it got software conflict.

i got asus armory
logitech hub
icue
TristanX
post Oct 26 2022, 09:36 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 26 2022, 07:13 PM)
i tried installed or uninstall ryzen master also same. so weird. wondering is it got software conflict.

i got asus armory
logitech hub
icue
iCUE keeps your CPU power hungry. Disable it from startup using task manager.

475 Pages « < 436 437 438 439 440 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:36 AM