QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Oct 16 2020, 09:37 PM)
I got it bundle with motherboard. If I remember it correctly they selling at RM1.4k for CPU alone.AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform
AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform
Oct 17 2020, 10:33 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Oct 16 2020, 09:37 PM) I got it bundle with motherboard. If I remember it correctly they selling at RM1.4k for CPU alone. edmund_yung liked this post
Oct 31 2020, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Oct 31 2020, 02:37 AM) 3950x + 5700xt Monitor is Asus ROG Strix XG32VQR?using latest chipset & gpu driver feel lag in game, got free synce enabled, 100-200fps, but still feel lag. already make sure no cool boot issue. after some try, I notice that lag is gone when i use windows built in "High performance" power profile, the "AMD Ryzen High Performance" will have lag, not sure why, previous driver no prob, and the cool boot issue happen more frequently even thought I disabled fast boot in bios. I will just stay with windows built in 1, since can't notice the different oso Already try these settings as recommended by AMD? https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/free-sync-settings I follow this guide to set 3 FPS limit below display’s maximum refresh rate. https://blurbusters.com/gsync/gsync101-inpu...nd-settings/14/ It's for Nvidia but can also be applied to AMD https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/elurd...timal_settings/ You can read more about stutter and tearing by clicking the drop down button on that blurbusters page. |
Nov 1 2020, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(climacool @ Nov 1 2020, 11:59 AM) Heavy usage only in gaming, other than that just work/youtube/streaming ... If gaming then better wait see independent 5600X benchmark how much better it will be for gaming.I guess 5600x pretty good enough If what AMD hype happens to be true, might be worth to pair it with Radeon card. |
Nov 2 2020, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Icecoolz93 @ Nov 2 2020, 11:56 AM) ![]() From Ideal Tech Ryzen stock alot sold out is it mean they clear way for Ryzen 5000 series coming out in few days? |
Nov 4 2020, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 4 2020, 01:06 AM) I'm aware that the six and eight cores have weak value vs the 12/16 core variants. Still on the fence with the CPU though. If you for game you don't need until 8 cores so 5600X is enough, if you want CPU processing then 5900X with 50% more cores at extra 20% price makes more value. So yeah, 5800X is really poor value.Re: the G.skill kit, what RAM die is it using, based on checks with Thaiphoon etc? My only concern is pricing vs Micron revE - I found a Crucial Ballistix 32GB 3200 C16 kit at US$159 on Amazon after shipping/taxes. I don't mind paying a bit more for stock from a local distributor, but as long as the price makes sense relative to the competition. |
Nov 11 2020, 12:49 AM
Corsair got good offer for RAM from 12AM until 2AM
Nov 11 2020, 01:27 AM
Nov 11 2020, 06:49 PM
Nov 12 2020, 06:47 PM
Nov 12 2020, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Nov 12 2020, 07:01 PM) Thaiphoon Burner famous for false detections Got other program for better detection?You can try to set TRFC to 288 n see if it posts. If it does those are B-Die's. But probably it won't cuz there's Samsung C-Dies on it so be prepared for a CMOS reset This RAM is dual rank right? |
Nov 12 2020, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Nov 12 2020, 07:01 PM) Thaiphoon Burner famous for false detections Didn't POST. You can try to set TRFC to 288 n see if it posts. If it does those are B-Die's. But probably it won't cuz there's Samsung C-Dies on it so be prepared for a CMOS reset Man, this RAM is a real b1tch. Change a bit timing and it won't POST. Touch anything and it won't POST. My ex CJR will POST with almost any setting albeit fail mem test. Only change I manage to do is tighten timing to 16-17-17 Now running mem test |
Nov 12 2020, 08:57 PM
Nov 13 2020, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(llk @ Nov 12 2020, 10:23 PM) Check the sticker on your ram, A bit hassle to take out. I guess is b die but low quality one, read it Samsung now also produce lower quality cheap b die.Ver3.21 = Micron 4Gbit Rev.B Ver3.22 = Micron 4Gbit Rev.F Ver3.31 = Micron 8Gbit Rev.B Ver4.23 = Samsung 4Gbit D-die Ver4.24 = Samsung 4Gbit E-die Ver4.31 = Samsung 8GBit B-Die Ver5.20 = Hynix 4Gbit AFR Ver5.29 = Hynix 4Gbit MFR Ver5.30 = Hynix 8Gbit AFR Ver5.32 = Hynix 8Gbit CFR (they are probably either AFR or MFR) Ver5.39 = Hynix 8GBit MFR ![]() QUOTE(nrw @ Nov 12 2020, 11:12 PM) C-Dies possibly then. They can do 3600 reasonably well. If you want I can drop you some timings. Yes, please. Using DRAM Calculator setting also can't boot.But the thing is they've got quite some variance so they are annoying to OC. |
Nov 20 2020, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Nov 20 2020, 08:35 PM) My experience with Amd ryzen since last year is a mix bag. That doesn't sound positive for my X470 giga board. Got a 3900x first, went dead barely one month of use ( it's not even oc yet). Luckily I have a spare unused 3700x to test. No issues with the 3700x and the mobo. Then got the 3950x when launched last year. Works well. Then have high hopes on zen 3. Bought a 5950x . But it's a disappointment. It can't work stable on the aorus Xtreme with random windows Bsod due to Whea errors. No issues with the old 3950x. Went back to the shop, got the chip into another customer dark hero mobo with the same result, Bsod. So shop refunded back via credit note. Could be a faulty chip, no one can really answer. Cos I pose the question to giga support, they can't really give me an answer. Putting the blame on windows and driver s instead. Been checking on other international sites as well, found out that 5000 series is a hit and miss affair. If it works with your configuration, u re ok. If it doesn't, it will be a nightmare. The current agessa and 5000 series support is crap. Wish Amd has done extensive testing on it. According to shop technician, they're having most compatibility issues with giga boards. Morale of the story, cutting edge tech but the hype exceeds the reality. AMD boleh. 6800 experience anyone ? Frame rates aside, overall experience is important. Drivers stability ? Wish Amd would deliver more with it's products. Overall customer satisfaction and experience counts and not the high frames, high benchmark scores and the marketing hype. |
Nov 24 2020, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(jbcoder @ Nov 24 2020, 06:03 PM) Asrock just removed all references to ryzen 5000 series in their bios page and cpu support list for the b450 board. You can still download the latest bios though, just vague description. My Giga board got new bios, description is very vague "Enhance CPU compatibility"Must've been sounded out by AMD hahahha because this would wreck b550 board sales. if you've an asrock board and want to use 5000 series cpu, download quick before they pull the actual bios download as well. |
Nov 25 2020, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 25 2020, 02:38 PM) IMO, if building new system, just get latest gen, especially you're compare to same range. You mean now using 5600x, video convert is slower than 1700? Albeit small difference?I'm from 1700 8c16t to 5600x 6c12t and no regret. Even video convert that's more core the better, I'm not seeing significant longer conversion time. |
Dec 11 2020, 03:56 PM
Dec 11 2020, 04:51 PM
Dec 15 2020, 08:56 AM
Dec 24 2020, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Dec 24 2020, 04:31 PM) xxboxx Hi,Hi What makes you choose to use AMD Ryzen? Compared to Intel processors? My 1st rig was AMD. Then changed to Intel. That time I bought Ryzen 2700X, it got 8 cores 16 simultaneous multithreading (SMT). I choose it instead of my old rig with Intel i5 which only got 4 cores and no SMT. |
| Change to: | 0.2354sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:33 AM |