KB5006746 is the Windows 11 update to fix L3 cache latency. After update, become build 22000.282
AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform
Oct 22 2021, 08:35 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
KB5006746 is the Windows 11 update to fix L3 cache latency. After update, become build 22000.282
Oct 26 2021, 12:33 PM
AMD's 3D V-Cache-refreshed Ryzen chips are slated to start production in November, hints tipster
QUOTE In AMD's initial announcement, Team Red claimed that the new CPUs could deliver as much as 15 percent higher performance thanks to the V-Cache technology. Those that planning to buy 5000 series, better wait few more months. |
Oct 28 2021, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 27 2021, 04:10 PM) hai. zen ppl report report. Not me. But I also think it's not good to trash talk competitors product just because you don't like it.3d cache just going to make things worse see intel fiasco from 8700k to 10900k cache upping. QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 27 2021, 04:18 PM) Actually don't have high hopes for their 3D v-cache either. Zen 3 is complicated enough as is, just tacking on massive amounts of L3 isn't going to alleviate the problems it already has. This is just a stop gap for AMD so they can have something to compete with ADL (eventhough it's a futile attempt) so that they have a buffer before launching Zen 4. Maybe it to complement their SAM.The main disadvantage I see with Ryzen compare to ADL is it doesn't have efficiency cores to handle background task when main cores doing intensive work. Anyway, ADL hype train marketing have started in the media now. |
Apr 4 2022, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 4 2022, 02:40 PM) Secondary PC with a 3700X died. Sent it for warranty claim, was told it was OOS. They gave me options to pick either a 5600X or to top up RM300 for a 5800X. If me I'll top up. 5800X more longevity. Want to sell next time also got better price and maybe better demand than 5600XShould I top up or go down to 6 cores? This setup only has a Wraith Prism for cooling, so not sure if going to 8 is worthwhile without tweaking power usage with Hydra/CO etc. yimingwuzere liked this post
May 11 2022, 07:38 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ May 10 2022, 02:40 PM) Indeed, it does seem so. And I did turn off PBO in BIOS, seems.. not much different when in loads. Still spikes up to 95 limit in CPU-Z test. Perhaps.. getting a SFX psu and a tower cooler is the way to go after all. Will do so, if everything else I try fails. This AXP-90 mounting is silly, as well. There's no indicator as to when to stop screwing it in, and I do not want to bend my board, obviously. Try setting higher CPU fan speed in BIOS. Idle 40-50c I think is normal for AMD. Some programs will continuously running process which causes the CPU to not enter idle state, usually those poorly optimize programs such as RGB controller. |
May 17 2022, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 17 2022, 11:31 AM) Was planning to buy a cheapo 2nd hand Ryzen3 cpu+mobo but what a turn off when looking around. I think for the price they are asking, better buy i3 12th gen. Ya current Ryzen pricing not workable anymore. I was aiming 5900x but 12700k perform similar or better and still cheaper by few hundreds. |
May 23 2022, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(antaras @ May 22 2022, 02:28 PM) Currently have X570 mobo + R5 3600 + 16GB ram. If you upgrade to 5900x, CPU performance will be double. If change platform you need to buy motherboard, higher cost or if maintain same cost then not much higher performance.Working with Adobe Photoshop/Illustrator and occasionally Premier/After Effects. Am feeling the proc "could" be a lil better. Am not really sure which/what to upgrade first for best bang for buck upgrade at the moment. Or is sticking with AMD still the right way forward. edmund_yung and antaras liked this post
Jun 2 2022, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(hihi @ Jun 1 2022, 05:39 PM) How about 3600 + B450? Thinking to upgrade because my cpu utilisation until 90% when I do many multitasking. I'm not sure what's the price for 3600 these days. Preferably you should upgrade to 5000 series since it's faster. Since you also going to get motherboard, check out Intel too, 12th gen only. AMD or Intel older gen, unless the price is a lot cheaper, not worth to get. |
Jun 3 2022, 10:31 PM
Aug 30 2022, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 30 2022, 06:23 PM) Wow wasn't expecting that $100 price drop for the 7950x ($699 vs $799 on the 5950x). If they announce a 7950X3D in the future to fill the $799 price point, ooh that would so tempting to pick up. I wait till my neck long for 5700x last time.Great that AMD also avoided the mistake of selling an eventual "7800x" for $449 from day 1 unlike what they did with the 5800x. They went with a 7700x for $399 instead, which is the magic price target for most core PC gamers. $399 is $100 more than 5700x launch price, this price is competing with 12700k but whether it can perform better or not. |
Sep 27 2022, 10:23 AM
Those that want max computing power, only 7950x seem to be worth it. If main concern is gaming, best choice would still be 5800x3D. 7700x is meh.. Despite same price with 12700k, it can't match it's computing performance. Also means already know it will lose to 13th gen. christina1 and John Chaser liked this post
Sep 28 2022, 01:02 PM
I was expecting new MB will start using ATX3 power supply. That probably going to raise MB price further.
Oct 10 2022, 10:35 AM
7950X getting 40k score on Cinebench R23 That's Threadripper and Epyc entry level. |
Jan 10 2023, 08:49 AM
Lower price and much lower power draw but only slower by 5% in gaming and slower 10% in productivity. 7900 only 40c in Prime95, that's very low temperature. |
| Change to: | 0.2372sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:01 PM |