AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

edmund_yung
post Apr 30 2019, 12:48 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 30 2019, 12:28 PM)
Thanks for your recommendation..i was thinking to buy 2 more 140mm fans put at front..and top/rear put 120mm..see how is perform..
Another problem is..what type of fan is good to put at front for intake? high air flow or static pressure?  doh.gif
I will take the high SP ones because I can reuse them as fan for radiator in the future, that's just me. It's perfectly fine to take the AF one.
I agree 2x 140mm because even though 3x120mm moves more air, the 3rd bottom fan only cools the self contained compartment below.
edmund_yung
post May 1 2019, 11:21 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 1 2019, 10:22 AM)
Problem is the stock cooler.
Not the ventilation of casing.

Get a mid-end HSF.
He mentioned the temperature drop significantly with open case. I suggest improving the intake would help.
Seems like the heat from the GPU is being fed into the CPU before they can hit the exhaust fan.

This post has been edited by edmund_yung: May 1 2019, 11:22 AM
edmund_yung
post May 1 2019, 11:26 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 1 2019, 11:24 AM)
I will test it (Ryzen 5 2600) later today and let you know if I encounter the same. smile.gif

What casing are you using again?
Here you go

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 30 2019, 08:15 AM)
Thermaltake Versa H17

I got 3 Delta high flow fans..extremely noisy..4000 or 4500rpm..not ideal for home use..  rclxub.gif
I gotta say, Invision Power Board UI isn't great for this sort of long discussion. Quite difficult to read back.

This post has been edited by edmund_yung: May 1 2019, 11:27 AM
edmund_yung
post May 2 2019, 06:06 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 2 2019, 09:34 AM)
See attachment, this is my office PC setup with 2x120mm inflow fans (on 240mm AIO radiator) and only cheaplug 1x120mm exhaust fan (default fan came with Tecware casing).

What is the difference?
The CPU cooler.
I don't think you can compare your AIO temperature to his stock heat sink temperature. You rad is feeding cool fresh air, while his stock headsink may have been fed with hot recycled air from GPU/CPU.

I do agree with you on your set up, he can try move one of his exhaust fan as an intake for a test.

I still think using 2x140mm intake even @1500rpm may solve his problem.
edmund_yung
post May 5 2019, 10:33 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ May 4 2019, 10:54 AM)
CPU temp at idle not much diff, if got also 2-3'c at around 44-48'c..
GPU temp at idle is around 37-42'c..

When load game, CPU go up to 76'c..GPU go up to 81'c..
I guess i should just let it be, no point to spend so much.. sweat.gif
Congrats, CPU not 80C++ anymore, improving the airflow in the case helps. Not a bad case after all.
edmund_yung
post Jun 11 2019, 08:14 PM

1,198 posts

Do you guys plan to run the 6 - 8 cores Ryzen 3 with last gen X470/B450 motherboard? The new X570 seem to be very expensive.
edmund_yung
post Sep 12 2019, 11:31 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 11 2019, 09:29 PM)
I wouldn't downgrade the RAM size for upgrades. Especially 4 sticks for an upgrade. It may have compatiblity issue for certain models.
I'm on 2700X, 16GB 3200MHz RAM. I'm thinking of getting 2 sticks of 16GB 3600MHz but worried if they can reach 3600MHz or not.
edmund_yung
post Sep 12 2019, 06:59 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 12 2019, 03:12 PM)
IMO, no point going for 2x16gb 3600 ram for your 2700X

whether can hit 3600 also depends on your mobo as well

in fact, 32Gb of RAM is a bit of overkill, your current 16Gb + 2700X should be sufficient for 90% of the apps usage out there

not only it's expensive, but the price performance ratio imo it's not worth it
Thanks, I’ll stick with my 16GB then. I always see the RAM usage hit 100% while using Lightroom, just wondering if doubling will improve the performance or not.
edmund_yung
post Sep 26 2019, 06:46 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(MrRaiden @ Sep 26 2019, 06:04 PM)
Hi sifu, just wondering. Is the stock cooler for ryzen 5 3600 is loud when playing game? (GTA V - High Setting). It quite annoy me to hear the fan sound.. Any idea how to solve this issue? Tqsm
Your Dell 7447 is 40dB on load, the Ryzen 5 3600 stock Wraith Stealth cooler is 47dB on full speed. Your desktop case should be able to lower the noise, but yeah it will be noisy.
edmund_yung
post Oct 3 2019, 12:24 PM

1,198 posts

I expect the RX5500 to top the 1660 at the same price if not less, just like how the 5700 tops the 2060 Super.
edmund_yung
post Nov 1 2019, 03:57 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Nov 1 2019, 01:23 PM)
Personally I'd drop the X570 for a decent B450 - some budget X570 has poor VRM cooling:

Also I highly doubt the GPUs will saturate PCI-E 4.0 anytime soon - even PCI-E 3.0 x4 still barely bottlenecks a RTX 2080 Ti:

Then use the additional funds to upgrade to a 3700X icon_idea.gif
I think the only reason someone wanted to get X570 today is for the faster NVME drives, which is pointless for gamers. Like you said, that money is better spent on other components if there is limited budget.

If there's no limit, heck, why not just go for the latest~
edmund_yung
post Nov 2 2019, 08:35 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Nov 2 2019, 01:14 PM)
It's not really that "expensive" . What makes the local component  prices we are seeing today is the sickening exchange rates. It totally erodes the purchasing power of the RM.

Bottom line is we have to pay more for hardware now .  That's the reality of life here, whether you like it or not.
The X570 price premium is there over the B450 no matter the exchange rate whether you like it or not.
edmund_yung
post Jan 6 2020, 09:53 AM

1,198 posts

I wonder if the Ryzen 1600 AF is coming to Malaysia? Not that I want to buy it myself, but it look like a good choice for people on a budget instead of buying the 3400G APU. Looks like great pairing with GPU such as 1650 super.
edmund_yung
post Jan 9 2020, 08:51 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jan 9 2020, 12:53 AM)
oof, closing both icue and synapse immediately drops my voltage to 0.85v.

rclxub.gif
My 2700X is always hovering around 1.45V. Took me a long time getting use to this kind of numbers coming from an Intel.
edmund_yung
post Jan 13 2020, 11:32 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 12 2020, 05:41 PM)
My 2700X is about 0.8V when idle. I use Power Saver in Power Options.
Closing unnecessary backgroud apps also does help.
Wow that’s very low idle voltage. I’m using the Ryzen balance, I know the idle clock is set never go down below 90% not sure how useful is that. I’ll try undervolting it some day...
edmund_yung
post Jan 14 2020, 09:57 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 14 2020, 09:41 AM)
My CPU idle at 2.13Ghz, CPU temp 38c in non air-conditioning room, if in air cond it's 33c. But it takes a few seconds for it to kick into using all 16 threads to max boost so there's a trade off. Only when doing very high demanding processing will encounter such situation, such as encoding video. Normal usage don't feel any difference, even when editing picture or decode/encode audio files it doesn't need to fully boost.

The issue is a lot of background programs that is constantly monitoring or keep processing every few seconds that causes the CPU to spike. When using Balanced I noticed the CPU speed keep going up and down between 2.4Ghz and 3.0Ghz even when I'm not doing anything. This also causes my fans speed to keep going up and down. When using Power Saver the CPU wait for few seconds even when busy before boosting so those background programs usually just take 1 second or less already finish process before needed for the CPU to kick into boosting.
That’s the problem with my temp right now as well, it spike up and down 10C when I’m not doing anything. So far I’ve set the CPU fan to delay 5 sec before spooling up or down to avoid the annoying noise. I’ll also try resetting the cooler soon, and if that doesn’t work, I’ll try the Power Saving plan like yours.
edmund_yung
post Jan 14 2020, 02:18 PM

1,198 posts

What monitoring software do you guys use to check the temperature without it going boost all the time? I’m already modding the fan curve like what you said too.
edmund_yung
post Jan 15 2020, 07:19 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jan 14 2020, 06:56 PM)
Core temp. But nowadays i really don't care how the voltage and temp spiked, it is kind of sick keep monitoring and worrying that.
QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jan 14 2020, 08:39 PM)
ryzen master
Okay got it, just find it weird that the idle voltage is so high, and it gets lower slightly during full benchmark load. Thanks guys, I'll leave it at it is for now.
edmund_yung
post Jan 16 2020, 12:32 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Jan 15 2020, 10:05 PM)
When ur in true idle voltage is low.
When even just small tasks are running the voltage will raise (up to 1.5v) so single core boosts are as instantanious as possible. Makes everything snappy.
All this is no issue as you are not pushing many Amps through during this state.
Under full load these high voltages cant be sustained and are dropped so temps are not as high,...

You're fine.
thanks very much for the explanation!
edmund_yung
post Feb 1 2020, 09:15 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 31 2020, 10:18 PM)
Because those high speed tight timing RAM is extremely expensive.

Example:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/G-SKILL-Trident-Z-...N-/133187012814
Right and most people will spend the extra RM500 on getting a better GPU than getting RAM with CL16 or 3800MTS

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.2337sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:33 AM