127 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

hypermax
post Apr 10 2009, 05:26 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(MBChB @ Apr 10 2009, 11:06 AM)
I would say that doing IMU-PMS option give you much more option compare to other medical schools. It is the only private medical school in Malaysia that can offer so many options to so many places (Australia, NZ, UK, Canada, US).
Yup, IMU's PMS programme is by far the best private medical programme in Malaysia. However, it costs a bomb and the students don't actually save much when compared to their counterparts doing full course at the respective universities which they are twinned to.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Apr 10 2009, 05:49 PM
Visualize
post Apr 10 2009, 06:45 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 10 2009, 02:14 PM)
Btw, anyone considering opening V2. I'm thinking to make a lots of link in the first or second post related to medicine as I think they should be some summary before they post opinion here.
V2 not allowed until this thread reaches 2,500 posts.

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 10 2009, 05:26 PM)
Yup, IMU's PMS programme is by far the best private medical programme in Malaysia. However, it costs a bomb and the students don't actually save much when compared to their counterparts doing full course at the respective universities which they are twinned to.
If the oz dollar continues to rise.... like now.... then there'll be a significant difference. The same applies to the pound sterling.
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 10 2009, 07:11 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Ah, so another 50 pages more. I thought it only needed 2k post.

Pound is falling hard now but when the fee also increasing at the same time, the difference is very little.
hypermax
post Apr 10 2009, 11:42 PM

2,524 posts

Anyway, doing IMU-PMS or full course overseas is very expensive, and pls prepare at least RM600K. Might be more.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Apr 11 2009, 12:00 AM
MBBS siang
post Apr 10 2009, 11:43 PM

582 posts

Hi! All senior here I want to know something about my future?

I want to know the SLAI is only for IPTA medical graduate or not? biggrin.gif

Will I have the chances to obtain Specialty training in IPTA after graduate? smile.gif
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 11 2009, 02:05 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
Anyway, doing IMU-PMS or full course overseas is very expensive, and pls prepare at least RM600K. Might be more.
Yeah the funny thing is that I could do the full training in like University of Manchester with the same amount of money with the whole course spend there plus cost of living. Funny to see why some opt for IMU-PMS unless their qualification is not AAB or more.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 11 2009, 03:19 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 11 2009, 02:05 PM)
Yeah the funny thing is that I could do the full training in like University of Manchester with the same amount of money with the whole course spend there plus cost of living. Funny to see why some opt for IMU-PMS unless their qualification is not AAB or more.
well i dont know bout you, but i calculated outside london expenses to be 1 million ringgit and above. Most of the time dont use the universities "guideline". my dad stayed in uk for nearly 10 years. most of his time in manchester and a year or so in london, it is very costly. when i did my estimate vs imu, even with australia, one can save around 300 to 400k . as the fee's in imu really helps. over here one year i pay about 60K, as opposed to before (uk pound sterling @ 1 pound to 7 ringgit), some where like 18K ( correct me on the fees if i am wrong, this was a year ago ) pounds. even with the pound dropping, this universities will revise the fees slightly. so can you imagine how much in the long run you're saving.

universities will offer you one year hostel stay, after that when you go into private apartment, heating bills and laundry will take a huge toll especially in uk, manchester rains every other day, and being asians we cant cope in the cold for sure.

but this is opposed to one forumer by the name of optiplex commenting that the difference is only 80K. between twinning and full training overseas. he did mention, that the particular student that did full training there had to work during weekends and holidays, so its not a real comparison. as the money he earned paid for living expenses. its alot of money saved on that end.

but i advice anyone who's parents want them to go straight, please do so. its very different, the asian mentality vs the caucasian mentality. they are more balanced, and are open to studies and other activities, sports etc which really develops a person on a whole. so of my batch mates in imu, they really dont know whats going on in the world around them. politics economy etc also dunno. but you blast them something like name me all the histamine 1 antagonist and functions they'll answer.

This post has been edited by Cristiano-Ronaldo-7: Apr 11 2009, 03:23 PM
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 11 2009, 04:15 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Yeah, I guess you could save something. But I went to edufair recently and calculate that if in Belfast, ireland for example, the cost of course plus living expenditure is around 680k excluding if we work on summer vacation which could maybe lower the cost to around 600k.

But I think this is more higher in Manchester where yearly cost of living is 6k pound.

I heard PMS stream fee could be up till RM1 million. Is this true especially when we do 3 year here in Malaysia as oppose to 600k if we do there exclusively?

Right now I'm considering St. Andrew Foundation route although it might cost RM1 million....
chingwooi
post Apr 11 2009, 05:06 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 11 2009, 04:15 PM)
Yeah, I guess you could save something. But I went to edufair recently and calculate that if in Belfast, ireland for example, the cost of course plus living expenditure is around 680k excluding if we work on summer vacation which could maybe lower the cost to around 600k.

But I think this is more higher in Manchester where yearly cost of living is 6k pound.

I heard PMS stream fee could be up till RM1 million. Is this true especially when we do 3 year here in Malaysia as oppose to 600k if we do there exclusively?

Right now I'm considering St. Andrew Foundation route although it might cost  RM1 million....
So expensive? My brother went to Edinburgh straight after A lvl and the Uni fees+living cost for 5 years is less than RM 1.5 million taking the currency exchange rate at Rm7=1 pound.
hypermax
post Apr 11 2009, 06:04 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 11 2009, 05:06 PM)
So expensive? My brother went to Edinburgh straight after A lvl and the Uni fees+living cost for 5 years is less than RM 1.5 million taking the currency exchange rate at Rm7=1 pound.
1.5 million is cheap for you? Studying in IPTS plus cost of living here only rounds up to about RM400K.
chingwooi
post Apr 11 2009, 07:30 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 11 2009, 06:04 PM)
1.5 million is cheap for you? Studying in IPTS plus cost of living here only rounds up to about RM400K.
Nono, coz i see the senior up there says it costs around Rm1 million with PMS which is 2 and a half year only right whereas my brother's doing 5 years straight there and it costs only Rm 1.5 million. So i feel it's kinda expensive to do PMS.
hypermax
post Apr 11 2009, 09:14 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 11 2009, 07:30 PM)
Nono, coz i see the senior up there says it costs around Rm1 million with PMS which is 2 and a half year only right whereas my brother's doing 5 years straight there and it costs only Rm 1.5 million. So i feel it's kinda expensive to do PMS.
RM1 mil is for the whole course, not only 2.5 years in UK. Therefore, 1.5 mil is still a lot if compared to 1 mil.

Anyway, my friend in Aberdeen told me that the cost of living there is much cheaper than London and Manchester.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 12 2009, 01:12 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 11 2009, 07:30 PM)
could go up to 1 million depending on what city you are in. some people claim going to melbourne U could be as expensive as 800 to 900K. but it depends on your extra cost. do you club and spend alot of money shopping. maintaining a car etc.

so its hard to say. but the guidelines i follow would be the uni's suggest living expenses and bump it up more( maybe 20 to 30%) and think of extra expenses you might incure. alot of place dont give internet connection. and that can be hefty overseas depending on your needs. telco line fees etc.

Ibrahimovic, 680K is pretty cheap even for belfast. hmm.gif

St.Andrew's foundation is only for a year i have a friend doing maths and physics foundation, and another who might start this sept. but if you have the money might as well, but i think your ABBB from STPM can def get you a spot in IMU. but 680K i also go already...
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 12 2009, 09:23 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Apr 10 2009, 06:45 PM)
V2 not allowed until this thread reaches 2,500 posts.
If the oz dollar continues to rise.... like now.... then there'll be a significant difference. The same applies to the pound sterling.
Even when Sterling Pound was at RM7, the differences is about 15% more. Not a lot if you look at the big picture.

Reasons are:
1. The very expensive part of the IMU/PMS clinical are done in UK anyway.
2. The only saving is the Pre Clinical done in Malaysia but IMU/PMS is a 2.5 yrs course whereas direct UK is only 2 yrs.

And if you are really hard pressed for money, doing part time work in UK give you significant earning to contribution towards your education, at least the living cost part. But doing it in Malaysia, you are paid peanut that will not even pay your rent and food. So forget about it's contribution toward your education.

Added on April 12, 2009, 9:29 am
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Apr 11 2009, 03:19 PM)
but this is opposed to one forumer by the name of optiplex commenting that the difference is only 80K. between twinning and full training overseas. he did mention, that the particular student that did full training there had to work during weekends and holidays, so its not a real comparison. as the money he earned paid for living expenses. its alot of money saved on that end.
That figure was given to me by a parent who's children is doing medicine in UK (of course, not in super expensive place like London but in areas with low living cost) and those figure are current. Not 10yrs ago figure.

And no, that figure does not take into consider the part time job pay. So even without part time pay, the difference is only RM80K for the entire 5 years course. And of course, you can not live like a king or queen with parties on weekend and traveling lah.

Added on April 12, 2009, 9:33 am
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Apr 12 2009, 01:12 AM)
could go up to 1 million depending on what city you are in. some people claim going to melbourne U could be as expensive as 800 to 900K. but it depends on your extra cost. do you club and spend alot of money shopping. maintaining a car etc.
Places like Melbourne Uni (before the graduate entry thing) is 6 years. Some other Australian uni and all UK uni are only 5 yrs so you save 1 yrs tuition fee + living expenses. I think this is one reason why Melb Uni is more expensive.

Added on April 12, 2009, 9:49 am
QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 10 2009, 05:26 PM)
What do you think about comparing it to Monash Malaysia?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Apr 12 2009, 09:49 AM
hypermax
post Apr 12 2009, 05:45 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 12 2009, 09:23 AM)
What do you think about comparing it to Monash Malaysia?
Comparing in terms of?
In terms of recognition, IMU PMS is obviously better, but Monash Malaysia is not bad either as it is recognised by AMC.

In terms of cost, i think Monash Malaysia is slightly cheaper, as cost of living in Malaysia is really cheap if compared to UK or Aussie.
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 12 2009, 05:57 PM

12,696 posts

Some people said IMU/PMS is easier back door entry to overseas university. Any truth in that?

limeuu
post Apr 12 2009, 06:24 PM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 12 2009, 05:57 PM)
Some people said IMU/PMS is easier back door entry to overseas university. Any truth in that?
yes......many of imu students are those who have applied direct to these med schools and failed to secure a place, especially to oz undergrad med schools......eg, someone with ter 94 will have no chance of getting direct entry, but after imu, have a reasonable chance of getting oz.......althought the winds of change has swept through the landscape, oz is now the fav destination, not uk anymore with the new immigrations rules.....and it becomes that much harder when almost everybody puts oz as their top choices........
chika138
post Apr 12 2009, 11:10 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 12 2009, 06:24 PM)
yes......many of imu students are those who have applied direct to these med schools and failed to secure a place, especially to oz undergrad med schools......eg, someone with ter 94 will have no chance of getting direct entry, but after imu, have a reasonable chance of getting oz.......althought the winds of change has swept through the landscape, oz is now the fav destination, not uk anymore with the new immigrations rules.....and it becomes that much harder when almost everybody puts oz as their top choices........
true plus jpa is allocating (forcing) some of the students to put all oz unis for their top 6 choices
for m207 at least 10-15 jpa scholars will put oz as 1st 6 choices (we cant put UQ and sydney) while there are only around 25 places of oz unis (excluding queensland and sydney)

This post has been edited by chika138: Apr 12 2009, 11:11 PM
MBBS siang
post Apr 12 2009, 11:13 PM

582 posts

I wonder why NUS never twinning its medical degree with any foreign uni but those top uni of uk,or aussie do that? NUS world ranking is higher and the quality of medical school is excellent also! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 12 2009, 11:15 PM
Ibrahimovic
post Apr 12 2009, 11:15 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Apr 12 2009, 01:12 AM)

so its hard to say. but the guidelines i follow would be the uni's suggest living expenses and bump it up more( maybe 20 to 30%) and think of extra expenses you might incure. alot of place dont give internet connection. and that can be hefty overseas depending on your needs. telco line fees etc.

Ibrahimovic, 680K is pretty cheap even for belfast.  hmm.gif

St.Andrew's foundation is only for a year i have a friend doing maths and physics foundation, and another who might start this sept. but if you have the money might as well, but i think your ABBB from STPM can def get you a spot in IMU. but 680K i also go already...
Well it is 680k if you eat a pittance like my elder brother who almost become a vegetarian there and buy many near expired food (70% off). This include buying food,bill shared with many friends. And he live in Edinburgh. Belfast is more cheaper. I think Muslim got free food in fasting month from mosque if we lucky.

Btw, I talk to a IMU in edufair wh said my ABBA (A for GP and Biology) cannot get into IMU. IMU is actually my choice before I know my STPM result sad.gif CAn't even get IMU on appeal huh?

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 12 2009, 06:24 PM)
Hey in Australia, is the criteria is much stricter than UK? How more expensive is it there?

127 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0288sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:00 AM