17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Suggestion on proposal ring

tjayy09
post Jan 11 2017, 12:33 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 10:06 AM)
Between RM 4000 - RM 5000 for a pair at local jewellery store. Might get cheaper if you buy everything there - Engagement ring + wedding bands. You can also consider non-mainstream stores like Tailored Jewel or iDo Jewellery as well. Go search for them on Facebook and tell them your budget.  smile.gif
Thanks. Probably to non mainstream stores. Less judgements smile.gif . Plus my gay partner and I have no plans on engagement anytime soon so she suggested wedding bands instead. Thanks for the info!
kambingkoh
post Jan 11 2017, 04:54 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jan 11 2017, 12:33 PM)
Thanks. Probably to non mainstream stores. Less judgements smile.gif . Plus my gay partner and I have no plans on engagement anytime soon so she suggested wedding bands instead. Thanks for the info!
No problem. Have fun finding/making your wedding bands! wink.gif
tabs
post Jan 11 2017, 08:43 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 10:00 AM)
May I know what are the specs and price like for Hemera?

As far as I know, Hemera is 101 facets (Modified Modern Round Brilliant) instead of the traditional 57 facets. According to what I read, extra facets can create more brilliance and scintillation (sparkle), but at the expense of fire (dispersion). Read:
1. http://www.heartsonfire.com/guidance/words...erformance.aspx
2. http://niceice.com/what-is-the-sparkliest-diamond-cut/

If you prefer 57 facets (Standard Modern Round Brilliant) and max budget is around RM 6000, you may be able to get:
1. 0.40ct E VS2 from Tailored Jewel, together with a 18K White Gold Setting. This will cost you RM 5900. Just search Tailored Jewel on Facebook. Do request for the GIA cert number first before making any purchase. With that, you are able to identify the proportions of the diamond. Also, request for the Hearts and Arrows images from him as well. He is able to provide it. Do request for ASET and IdealScope images because they will show you the performance in terms of light return.

Read:
http://beyond4cs.com/step-by-step-guide/ev...ith-idealscope/
http://beyond4cs.com/2014/12/aset-reference-charts/
http://beyond4cs.com/cut/difference-betwee...l-scope-images/

Usually, I noticed it is hard to get ideal proportions for promotion items as suggested by a lot online diamond education sites, but then, try ask for it. This is especially important for Crown and Pavilion angles:
http://niceice.com/diamond-buying-secrets/...buying-success/
Total depth between 59 – 61.8%
Table diameter between 53 – 58%
Crown angle between 34.3 – 34.9 degrees*
Pavilion angle between 40.6 – 40.9 degrees

Lower girdle facets between 75 – 78%**
Star facets between 45 – 50%***
Girdle thickness between thin and slightly thick
Culet: AGS pointed or GIA none

2. If you don't mind sacrificing weight to get super ideal cut (aka Hearts and Arrows), you may consider WhiteFlash A-Cut-Above series (ACA):
[attachmentid=8388349]
For 0.3ct, after conversion and GST and ring setting from iDo Jewellery, you probably can get a F VS2 for around RM 5600, and a D VS1 for around RM 6500. Personally, I will got for D VS1 because although VS2 may be eye-clean, you might see the tiny inclusions if you inspect closely, especially if the inclusion gets reflected around within the diamond. Personally, I still think that VS2 will be give the best bang for the buck, so if the VS2 has inclusions that are hard to see really up-close and with a picky mindset, I may consider it. Anyway, once you wear it, or look at it like a normal person, it is very very rare that VS2 inclusions are noticeable.

For online shopping, you may try Brian Gavin (http://www.briangavindiamonds.com/) as well. It is similar to WhiteFlash. So I won't elaborate further on it. But do check it out do get a general idea.

3. If you prefer stores, you may visit Wah Chan or HABIB, both of them sell GIA graded diamonds and I heard that their price is quite competitive.

You can always do price research on those online stores (WhiteFlash, Brian Gavin, Audrey's -http://audreys.com.my/audreys/diamondsearch.php) and Facebook (ZCOVA, Eumayco, iDO Jewellery, Tailored Jewel).

Hope this helps and good luck!
Omg. This is so much information to understand. Thanks!!!

Need some advice on the following quotation

Specifications:
R 002
18K White Gold
1D – 0.25ct
F, VS2
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
With GIA certificate
~8D – 0.08ct
From RM 5,800
http://www.idojewellery.com/product/r-002/

R 217 *
18K White Gold
1D – 0.25ct
F, VS2
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
With GIA certificate
~14D – 0.25ct
From RM 6,000
http://www.idojewellery.com/product/r-217/

R 363
18K White & Rose Gold
1D – 0.25ct
F, VS2
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
With GIA certificate
2D – 0.04ct
~14D – 0.20ct
From RM 6,300
http://www.idojewellery.com/product/r-363/

Which is worth?

JLSon
post Jan 11 2017, 09:27 PM

I got my engagement ring and wedding band from Audrey diamonds in Kuala Lumpur . They have an online website like bluenile where prices are listed online.
I found it to be cheapest comparasion to retailers and almost same price as bluenile, so I bought with them. The website is www.audreys.com.my , its well worth a visit and the after sales service is also great
kambingkoh
post Jan 11 2017, 10:27 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Jan 11 2017, 08:43 PM)
Omg. This is so much information to understand. Thanks!!!

Need some advice on the following quotation

Specifications:
R 002
18K White Gold
1D – 0.25ct
F, VS2
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
With GIA certificate
~8D – 0.08ct
From RM 5,800
http://www.idojewellery.com/product/r-002/

R 217 *
18K White Gold
1D – 0.25ct
F, VS2
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
With GIA certificate
~14D – 0.25ct
From RM 6,000
http://www.idojewellery.com/product/r-217/

R 363
18K White & Rose Gold
1D – 0.25ct
F, VS2
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
With GIA certificate
2D – 0.04ct
~14D – 0.20ct
From RM 6,300
http://www.idojewellery.com/product/r-363/

Which is worth?
It seems that you like side diamonds, we called it melee diamonds tongue.gif

I don't like the front look of the last ring: Attached Image It has the bee hive look, which is good, but 0.25ct is too small to carry such design in my opinion. Also, if possible, go with 4 prongs for anything that is below 1 carat, it will make the diamond look "bigger" and won't hinder it from sparkling. Of course, these are just my opinions, final decision is yours. Get what you and your partner desire is the most important.

Also ~14D - 0.20ct means carat total weight (CTW) for the side diamonds? Am I right?

For the 2nd design, it is also 6 prongs, so my opinion is the same as above. Also, I can't seem to find its front view.

This leaves me with the only design (the first one), which I think is pretty okay. If I were to choose from these 3, the 1st one will be my choice. wink.gif

Using ring 3 as example, if 2D – 0.04ct + ~14D - 0.20ct means CTW, then the melee won't cost that much, probably few hundreds bucks (I guess). So this makes your diamond + ring to be around 5400. At this price, you can almost get a 0.3ct Hearts and Arrows diamond. Remember that each 0.1 will have a big jump, therefore, I may say 0.25ct is slightly not that worth it. I said slightly because the carat weight is still not that big, so we still won't feel the "not that worth" impact that much. Anyway, quick check on Audrey's shows that a 0.25 D VVS2 may cost you around 3100: Attached Image , unless we can be sure your diamond is of good quality with diamond image, ASET image, IdealScope image. If not, I think your diamond is slightly overpriced. Why don't you check how much will the individual 0.25ct with iDo Jewellery and see.

On the bright side, iDo Jewellery's workmanship is pretty good. Perhaps that will bring up the "worthiness" of the whole experience.

kambingkoh
post Jan 11 2017, 10:30 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(JLSon @ Jan 11 2017, 09:27 PM)
I got my engagement ring and wedding band from Audrey diamonds in Kuala Lumpur . They have an online website like bluenile where prices are listed online.
I found it to be cheapest comparasion to retailers and almost same price as bluenile, so I bought with them. The website is www.audreys.com.my , its well worth a visit and the after sales service is also great
Great to hear that, mind to share how was the experience with Audrey's? How do you select the diamond and ring setting? smile.gif
tabs
post Jan 11 2017, 11:31 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 10:27 PM)
It seems that you like side diamonds, we called it melee diamonds tongue.gif

I don't like the front look of the last ring: Attached Image It has the bee hive look, which is good, but 0.25ct is too small to carry such design in my opinion. Also, if possible, go with 4 prongs for anything that is below 1 carat, it will make the diamond look "bigger" and won't hinder it from sparkling. Of course, these are just my opinions, final decision is yours. Get what you and your partner desire is the most important.

Also ~14D - 0.20ct means carat total weight (CTW) for the side diamonds? Am I right?

For the 2nd design, it is also 6 prongs, so my opinion is the same as above. Also, I can't seem to find its front view.

This leaves me with the only design (the first one), which I think is pretty okay. If I were to choose from these 3, the 1st one will be my choice. wink.gif

Using ring 3 as example, if 2D – 0.04ct + ~14D - 0.20ct means CTW, then the melee won't cost that much, probably few hundreds bucks (I guess). So this makes your diamond + ring to be around 5400. At this price, you can almost get a 0.3ct Hearts and Arrows diamond. Remember that each 0.1 will have a big jump, therefore, I may say 0.25ct is slightly not that worth it. I said slightly because the carat weight is still not that big, so we still won't feel the "not that worth" impact that much.  Anyway, quick check on Audrey's shows that a 0.25 D VVS2 may cost you around 3100: Attached Image , unless we can be sure your diamond is of good quality with diamond image, ASET image, IdealScope image. If not, I think your diamond is slightly overpriced. Why don't you check how much will the individual 0.25ct with iDo Jewellery and see.

On the bright side, iDo Jewellery's workmanship is pretty good. Perhaps that will bring up the "worthiness" of the whole experience.
haha. in diamond ring i am a totally newbie but i going to check Audrey. just want to check if i want to get a shinning diamond what should i look? so can you advise me what is the best important for an diamond ring if i want the ring look shinning like a diamond laugh.gif

i checking on Audrey now. it look cheaper and better.

can teach me on this? Symmetry and Fluorescence what is this?

This post has been edited by tabs: Jan 11 2017, 11:39 PM
kambingkoh
post Jan 11 2017, 11:41 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Jan 11 2017, 11:31 PM)
haha. in diamond ring i am a totally newbie but i going to check Audrey. just want to check if i want to get a shinning diamond what should i look? so can you advise me what is the best important for an diamond ring if i want the ring look shinning like a diamond  laugh.gif
1. Cut (Hence, proportions of the diamond, especially crown angle and pavilion angle)
2. Light Return (Hence, request for ASET/IdealScope images)

Reference:
1. http://niceice.com/diamond-buying-secrets/...buying-success/
2. http://www.prosumerdiamonds.com/how-to-pick-diamond/
3. http://beyond4cs.com/shapes/round/ideal-proportions/
tabs
post Jan 11 2017, 11:45 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 11:41 PM)
1. Cut (Hence, proportions of the diamond, especially crown angle and pavilion angle)
2. Light Return (Hence, request for ASET/IdealScope images)

Reference:
1. http://niceice.com/diamond-buying-secrets/...buying-success/
2. http://www.prosumerdiamonds.com/how-to-pick-diamond/
3. http://beyond4cs.com/shapes/round/ideal-proportions/
Master, Audrey is more worth value according to print screen.

about the print screen is that worth? i add diamond + ring is only RM 5500. thumbup.gif

Just want to ask what is Fluorescence?

kambingkoh
post Jan 11 2017, 11:52 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Jan 11 2017, 11:45 PM)
Master, Audrey is more worth value according to print screen.

about the print screen is that worth? i add diamond + ring is only RM 5500.  thumbup.gif

Just want to ask what is Fluorescence?
Read:
https://www.pricescope.com/wiki/diamonds/di...nd-flourescence
http://beyond4cs.com/grading/fluorescence/...parency-issues/

What I have read before:
- When expose to UV light, diamond with fluorescence may emit a colored glow.

- It may cause haziness/milky appearance for the diamond.

- It may make lower colour grade diamonds look higher grade.

- Not many people is a fan of fluorescence hence the lower price for fluorescence stone.
TSjacky91
post Jan 12 2017, 08:56 AM

DJ
1,780 posts

bb100 and kambingkoh ... do you guys know roughly how long would the wire transfer take to reach the recipient bank?
kambingkoh
post Jan 12 2017, 09:06 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Jan 12 2017, 08:56 AM)
bb100 and kambingkoh ... do you guys know roughly how long would the wire transfer take to reach the recipient bank?
Like... immediate? Probably there are some banking procedures involved they delayed the process. Anyway, I wired my money through Maybank around 4:40/4:50pm and they said they received it at 12+ am. I think it was faster and the reason they replied me slower is because it is out of their office hours. Just follow-up closely with them and see, you may also check with your bank.
TSjacky91
post Jan 12 2017, 09:48 AM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 12 2017, 09:06 AM)
Like... immediate? Probably there are some banking procedures involved they delayed the process. Anyway, I wired my money through Maybank around 4:40/4:50pm and they said they received it at 12+ am. I think it was faster and the reason they replied me slower is because it is out of their office hours. Just follow-up closely with them and see, you may also check with your bank.
Weird...i called Maybank up just now...and they say they would first send the money to London branch and then from there on only they will transfer the money to the recipient's bank...process might take 2 to 3 working days rclxub.gif
kambingkoh
post Jan 12 2017, 11:04 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Jan 12 2017, 09:48 AM)
Weird...i called Maybank up just now...and they say they would first send the money to London branch and then from there on only they will transfer the money to the recipient's bank...process might take 2 to 3 working days  rclxub.gif
Did you transfer via Maybank2U? Or you visited their branch?
bb100
post Jan 12 2017, 12:06 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 10:00 AM)

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 11:41 PM)

Bro, a friendly suggestion for you. Instead of bombing clueless forummers with links and more links, it would be helpful to just provide your own response to their queries. I am sure you have the capacity to do so after so many years of reading and learning about diamonds.

I believe they don't have the time to read what the real diamond experts write on their website. That's why the turn to us, the guys who did all the hard work, for quickfire answers to clear their doubts.
kambingkoh
post Jan 12 2017, 12:54 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jan 12 2017, 12:06 PM)
Bro, a friendly suggestion for you. Instead of bombing clueless forummers with links and more links, it would be helpful to just provide your own response to their queries. I am sure you have the capacity to do so after so many years of reading and learning about diamonds.

I believe they don't have the time to read what the real diamond experts write on their website. That's why the turn to us, the guys who did all the hard work, for quickfire answers to clear their doubts.
Lol. Not many years. Just more than half a year.

I am also giving short answers (I think is short la). Links are included for reference purpose only.

I also know I have been repeating myself for quite abit. Maybe I should just blog it haha.

Thanks for your suggestion though. wink.gif
TSjacky91
post Jan 12 2017, 01:38 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 12 2017, 11:04 AM)
Did you transfer via Maybank2U? Or you visited their branch?
Maybank2u.. Haha.. I will check again tmr
Mac Wai
post Jan 12 2017, 03:16 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 11 2017, 11:52 PM)
Read:
https://www.pricescope.com/wiki/diamonds/di...nd-flourescence
http://beyond4cs.com/grading/fluorescence/...parency-issues/

What I have read before:
- When expose to UV light, diamond with fluorescence may emit a colored glow.

- It may cause haziness/milky appearance for the diamond.

- It may make lower colour grade diamonds look higher grade.

- Not many people is a fan of fluorescence hence the lower price for fluorescence stone.
Iinm, I read it somewhere that looks higher grade only under the right condition where the presence of UV light, perhaps during clubbing.

tabs
post Jan 12 2017, 11:31 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 12 2017, 09:06 AM)

Master, i done choosing from audrey it is cheaper then other place. do you think this expensive on this?
KageBunshi
post Jan 12 2017, 11:41 PM

158 posts

I brought mine at Audrey as well. their diamond was cheaper but not so sure bout ring setting.
But I did a customize ring setting with them. I was really happy with the outcome but it cost alot for ring setting.
Stone cost me 3k and the ring setting also 3k.
Anyhow i think is worth it as my wife have a unique ring.

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:35 PM