who using astro iptv

why everyone complain astro iptv ??
nexona88
post Jan 3 2017, 09:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,409 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 3 2017, 08:38 PM)
They are cutting costs,home made Rojak is cheaper,we will end with more of such content and wont be surprised if more stand alone channels removed! Infact our ITV is another Rojak of various versions of ITV! Quite surprised to note some customer patterns here, In House channels are hardly  removed cos the support remains! Customers are still going for Astro First ,Astro Best and very soon SVOD! hmm.gif
Astro first & best also kinda useless I see..
Not interesting offering too bangwall.gif
But that's me, I guess some see it as good offering especially the Malay content.. By third week from cinema released already in astro first..

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jan 3 2017, 09:53 PM
joshhd
post Jan 3 2017, 11:31 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(szb @ Jan 3 2017, 09:16 AM)
Thank you for your explanation.  thumbsup.gif

Sometimes some HD channels will lost its signal even I'm not recording any programme, e.g. 831 (HD) no signal but 832 (HD) has it / 309 (HD) no signal but 310 (HD) has it

Do you know what is the reason?  hmm.gif
Some HD channels are in low frequency, some are high frequency. You can only receive (also including recording) either low or high frequency from ONE port only, remember?

If Tuner 1 is already on 831 (high freq), then Tuner 2 can only receive 721 (high freq) HD channels

If Tuner 1 is already on 831 (high freq), then Tuner 2 can't receive 306 (low freq) HD channels

I suggest you do something about this, because this can make your TV experience miserable. Plus, don't make these technical s**t ruin your TV experience.

Get 2 separate satellite ports for your PVR, no splitter! Or, connect own satellite dish installed at balcony if your building management allows. Or upgrade to Astro IPTV. Or try ask if your building management, see if your building's centralised dish supports DCSS, which is similar to SatCR, it requires only 1 cable and it can powered to multiple satellite inputs/decoders (also known as Unicable). (Sorry if I am being too technical into this).

Don't understand what I am talking? Simple, call Astro customer service and see what they can help you.
joshhd
post Jan 3 2017, 11:44 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Jan 3 2017, 06:40 PM)
No new channel but more potong channels:

Astro continuously reviews its content proposition to offer the best choices and a variety of compelling content for our customers. To this end, we regret to inform that ITV Choice Channel (Ch 735) will cease transmission from 16th January 2017 at 00:15 hours as the viewership trends for ITV have not been within expectation. However, we will be showing selected titles via Subscription On Demand (SVOD) pack
In my opinion, since they decided to drop ITV Choice due to low viewership, then.... What else can we do?

Pay TVs (not only Astro) chose to drop the channel due to low viewership is most probably because they are not getting much revenue/profit by offering the channel. So they rather focus on other channels that they can earn more profit. Since there is only minority of viewers watches the channel, as if not many viewers are interested to watch the channel, Astro is more likely to not somehow renew their channel agreement with the channel provider (ITV Choice). It could mean that Astro has already realised this for a very long time (based on their statistics and stuff), so Astro just continue providing the channel to viewers, and when the time comes (agreement period going to end), they will drop the channel.

So at the end of the day, it is not about whether the viewers want to watch or whatsoever, it is all about business, it is all about money.
izwanikhsan
post Jan 3 2017, 11:49 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 4 2017, 12:44 AM)
In my opinion, since they decided to drop ITV Choice due to low viewership, then.... What else can we do?

Pay TVs (not only Astro) chose to drop the channel due to low viewership is most probably because they are not getting much revenue/profit by offering the channel. So they rather focus on other channels that they can earn more profit. Since there is only minority of viewers watches the channel, as if not many viewers are interested to watch the channel, Astro is more likely to not somehow renew their channel agreement with the channel provider (ITV Choice). It could mean that Astro has already realised this for a very long time (based on their statistics and stuff), so Astro just continue providing the channel to viewers, and when the time comes (agreement period going to end), they will drop the channel.

So at the end of the day, it is not about whether the viewers want to watch or whatsoever, it is all about business, it is all about money.
The point is Astro is so used to arbitrarily drop channels without any replacement and maintain the package price. Like Starhub even if they remove certain channels, they will bring in new channels to calm down customers.
joshhd
post Jan 4 2017, 12:04 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Jan 3 2017, 11:49 PM)
The point is Astro is so used to arbitrarily drop channels without any replacement and maintain the package price. Like Starhub even if they remove certain channels, they will bring in new channels to calm down customers.
You can't directly compare with Singapore's Starhub TV...

You know Singaporeans, their priority is quality of service, and yeah, "kiasu" (afraid of losing) (No offence to Singaporeans). So for them, keeping customers happy are part of their priority for sure, unlike Astro. If the customers dissatisfied with Starhub TV, most probably the customers will not choose to re-contract their subscription with them, and they will either terminate the service or move to Singtel TV. Their company reputation is important, that's why.

In Singapore, they have competition. Malaysia? We got monopoly.

Monopoly business are unhealthy, and you know that. They won't care much about customer's satisfaction as long they keep paying their bills on time. Astro has over 5 million customers. Some of the customers cancel a package won't affect them much. Even Astro's company is ruined to some people, so what? What they want is people keep paying them money. Don't like Astro? Want to cancel Astro? Okay, so if you cancel Astro, do you have other pay TV to subscribe to, that can provide good channels as Astro? Hypp TV? Does their channels suit your "taste"?

See the difference now? Sorry to say, but this is true.
izwanikhsan
post Jan 4 2017, 07:30 AM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 4 2017, 01:04 AM)
You can't directly compare with Singapore's Starhub TV...

You know Singaporeans, their priority is quality of service, and yeah, "kiasu" (afraid of losing) (No offence to Singaporeans). So for them, keeping customers happy are part of their priority for sure, unlike Astro. If the customers dissatisfied with Starhub TV, most probably the customers will not choose to re-contract their subscription with them, and they will either terminate the service or move to Singtel TV. Their company reputation is important, that's why.

In Singapore, they have competition. Malaysia? We got monopoly.

Monopoly business are unhealthy, and you know that. They won't care much about customer's satisfaction as long they keep paying their bills on time. Astro has over 5 million customers. Some of the customers cancel a package won't affect them much. Even Astro's company is ruined to some people, so what? What they want is people keep paying them money. Don't like Astro? Want to cancel Astro? Okay, so if you cancel Astro, do you have other pay TV to subscribe to, that can provide good channels as Astro? Hypp TV? Does their channels suit your "taste"?

See the difference now? Sorry to say, but this is true.
And as usual the chapter on Unfair Contract Terms in the Consumer Protection Act only looks good on paper.
szb
post Jan 4 2017, 09:19 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 3 2017, 11:31 PM)
Some HD channels are in low frequency, some are high frequency. You can only receive (also including recording) either low or high frequency from ONE port only, remember?

If Tuner 1 is already on 831 (high freq), then Tuner 2 can only receive 721 (high freq) HD channels

If Tuner 1 is already on 831 (high freq), then Tuner 2 can't receive 306 (low freq) HD channels
I suggest you do something about this, because this can make your TV experience miserable. Plus, don't make these technical s**t ruin your TV experience.

Get 2 separate satellite ports for your PVR, no splitter! Or, connect own satellite dish installed at balcony if your building management allows. Or upgrade to Astro IPTV. Or try ask if your building management, see if your building's centralised dish supports DCSS, which is similar to SatCR, it requires only 1 cable and it can powered to multiple satellite inputs/decoders (also known as Unicable). (Sorry if I am being too technical into this).

Don't understand what I am talking? Simple, call Astro customer service and see what they can help you.
Thanks again. thumbsup.gif I did liaise with my building management and they also sent an astro technician to my place for checking, at the end using splitter is my only option as individual satellite dish installation is not allowed.

IPTV might be a better option for me but I don't think it is available at my 6 months old building, currently no Unifi, Maxis and Time fibre...
TSskylinelover
post Jan 4 2017, 11:02 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Jan 4 2017, 07:30 AM)
And as usual the chapter on Unfair Contract Terms in the Consumer Protection Act only looks good on paper.
Haha its all seasoning only laugh.gif doh.gif
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 4 2017, 05:10 PM

628 posts

Hari Ini 8 mulai 5 Januari 2017.

NEW CONTENT FOR ASTRO AWANI

nexona88
post Jan 4 2017, 07:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,409 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Jan 4 2017, 05:10 PM)
Hari Ini 8 mulai 5 Januari 2017.

NEW CONTENT FOR ASTRO AWANI
still in SD format dry.gif bruce.gif
smileguy
post Jan 4 2017, 08:31 PM

3,147 posts

How far can local News or Press go in malaysia? How Tajam,How Meluas or Terperinci can they get in a country where the govt. controls the main media!
ffederick
post Jan 4 2017, 10:04 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Jan 3 2017, 06:40 PM)
No new channel but more potong channels:

Astro continuously reviews its content proposition to offer the best choices and a variety of compelling content for our customers. To this end, we regret to inform that ITV Choice Channel (Ch 735) will cease transmission from 16th January 2017 at 00:15 hours as the viewership trends for ITV have not been within expectation. However, we will be showing selected titles via Subscription On Demand (SVOD) pack
i allready removed metro pack after they suddenly downgrade FYI to SD. i think not woth it anymore. haha
epipongi
post Jan 4 2017, 10:47 PM

42 posts

Hi Guys, quick question but a little bit newbies question i guest.
I'll move to a new house next month, planning to get IPTV/android box. The problem is, soon to be my area is not within unifi coverage. Is there any option for me to proceed with IPTV without unifi?

dannielshazmeer
post Jan 4 2017, 11:01 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(epipongi @ Jan 4 2017, 11:47 PM)
I'll move to a new house next month, planning to get IPTV/android box. The problem is, soon to be my area is not within unifi coverage. Is there any option for me to proceed with IPTV without unifi?

ermm use broadband
CTU
post Jan 4 2017, 11:44 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Jan 4 2017, 11:01 PM)
ermm use broadband
What broadband can give stable speed to watch IPTV and not have limited quota? I also want to know this coz want to help my parents potong astro too
joshhd
post Jan 5 2017, 02:47 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(epipongi @ Jan 4 2017, 10:47 PM)

Are you sure your area doesn't have Unifi? Well, why would you want to buy that house??? You should check for fibre broadband coverage of that house before you buy house next time.

Is Streamyx available in your area?
smileguy
post Jan 5 2017, 05:34 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Jan 4 2017, 11:44 PM)
What broadband can give stable speed to watch IPTV and not have limited quota? I also want to know this coz want to help my parents potong astro too
I am on 8MB screamyx at RM148 offer inlusive GST,so far so good
smileguy
post Jan 5 2017, 05:39 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 5 2017, 02:47 AM)
Are you sure your area doesn't have Unifi? Well, why would you want to buy that house??? You should check for fibre broadband coverage of that house before you buy house next time.

Is Streamyx available in your area?
TM and other HSBB players policy, they target rich men area first while the poor/middle classs get 1 -4 MB streamyx,this is the trend here. When they launch unifi they target the Taman with rich people ! cry.gif My place unifi launched only town area and selected housing areas so had to take 8MB which is for my Taman! cry.gif
izwanikhsan
post Jan 5 2017, 07:10 AM

1,217 posts

They slash the price of NJOI installation fee. Perhaps they realize the way to grow the users base is through NJOI and prepaid subsciption, not pay TV.

213 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:18 AM