229 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Bottom

Multiple Signs of Malaysia Property Bubble V20

kevyeoh
post Jan 16 2022, 12:01 AM

4,721 posts

exactly... but i guess those who problem bubble and still waiting to buy...never try monitor or buy property at prime area....
and also maybe they looking for quick bucks? cuz if buy and hold long term at prime area, i think risk already very minimize already even if really bubble burst...

QUOTE(ericangtzeann @ Jan 15 2022, 04:46 PM)
Wake me up when I can buy ttdi landed at 500k 🤭 oh wait bubble doesn't exist in prime areas
SUSNew Klang
post Jan 16 2022, 12:08 AM

4,998 posts

Wake me up when I can buy ttdi landed at 500k 🤭 oh wait bubble doesn't exist in prime areas
My area prices has risen about 18% last year after dropping 8% in 2020.

$$$ come
IJustWantToAsk
post Jan 16 2022, 12:16 AM

216 posts

Covid hits also x burst

Deng
KingArthurVI
post Jan 16 2022, 12:45 AM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

What to expect during a burst? Can sapu at good bargain? Then again, what's a good bargain at the time when everyone's trying to liquidate their properties?
TSicemanfx
post Jan 18 2022, 10:08 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 18 2022, 09:15 AM)
It’s a bit irrelevant to contrast luxury high rise market as the potential market for those have been greatly diminished. This market segment has the power of choice and could easily rent out a fully furnished landed if they wanted to or bargain down the asking rental. I’ve seen almost 2000 sqft KLCC property go for 3k/+ month rent.

The genuine market is of course the local populace. Your sub 1 mill units. There’s a tonne of choice for a 2k rental 3 bed/2 bath place. It’ll just depend on how many months of vacancy an owner can tolerate.
prophetjul
post Jan 18 2022, 10:27 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 18 2022, 10:08 AM)

WoW...i used to rent a KLCC property at 1060 sq feet for RM5,300 back in 2015/16 ! shocking.gif

TSicemanfx
post Jan 18 2022, 10:29 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 18 2022, 10:27 AM)
WoW...i used to rent a KLCC property at 1060 sq feet for RM5,300 back in 2015/16 !   shocking.gif
Poorperly rental is a lead indicator of poorperly price.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 18 2022, 10:30 AM
Thasmita
post Jan 18 2022, 10:30 AM

758 posts

Bubble may not exist in prime areas but you maybe lucky enough to bump into a desperate seller.

Bought a unit in bukit Ceylon - 1335 sq feet at rm 240k in 1999. Condition was cash purchase. MV then was rm 600k or that’s what the stamping office charged the stamp duty value as. Owner was disposing of close to 14 units at one go- financial crisis - heavy losses from margin calls. Sold of in 2004 at rm 600k.

Same year my cousin landed a double storey in Terasek. 24x 110. Rm 270k. Desperate seller wanted cash.

Cavatzu
post Jan 18 2022, 11:23 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 18 2022, 10:27 AM)
WoW...i used to rent a KLCC property at 1060 sq feet for RM5,300 back in 2015/16 !  shocking.gif
I’m not saying all KLCC property are the same. There was a lot of leverage here to bargain since this property is facing the kampung baru mrt and u can complain about noise etc. Ultimately, the rent is just used to pay for management fees which for these types of units are like 50c psf or more.

After 2 years of vacancy, most owners will just hire the bullet and take what they can get. It’s truly a buyer’s/tenant’s market.
prophetjul
post Jan 18 2022, 11:26 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 18 2022, 11:23 AM)
I’m not saying all KLCC property are the same. There was a lot of leverage here to bargain since this property is facing the kampung baru mrt and u can complain about noise etc. Ultimately, the rent is just used to pay for management fees which for these types of units are like 50c psf or more.

After 2 years of vacancy, most owners will just hire the bullet and take what they can get. It’s truly a buyer’s/tenant’s market.
The KLCC property market collapse with oil in 2016. Many expats had to leave and vacate the properties there when the jobs evaporated with the oil market. It is probably picking up again with the rising oil and gas prices.
TSicemanfx
post Jan 18 2022, 11:08 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(HereToLearn @ Jan 18 2022, 08:18 PM)
My bad, I shouldnt have picked luxury units for case study. One can always include the non-luxury units as case studies to get more data.

Redoing calcs, with a non-luxury unit.
E.g. Hamilton, Wangsa Maju

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-li...othman-34027755
Rent 1.8k for 1000 sqft = 1.8 psf

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-li...jc-tai-34116035
Asking price 550k for 1000 sqft = 550 psf

ASSUME maintenance fee of 0.35 psf

For it not to be negatively geared at the interest rate of 3%, (1.8 - 0.35)*12/0.055 = 316 psf.

316/550 = 58%, hence a drop of 42% is required to not negatively gear this unit.

I do agree that not buying a property now is a wise choice. Invest elsewhere, the return can easily cover the rent, and will still have extra cash on hand after paying the rent for other uses
QUOTE(HereToLearn @ Jan 18 2022, 09:15 PM)
thumbsup.gif  EXACTLY.

For me personally, I like to see things in numbers; with numbers, I am able to make a more sound decision (less affected by emotions). Also, I did the calcs with a random listing from auction, just to answer the below, and at the same time to show that even properties on auctions are not necessarily worth buying. A lot of property gurus turn into auction gurus, preaching others to BBB, telling them that auctions are 'cheap' and even bid higher than subsale price  rclxub.gif
The market value for one of my father's properties bought at 700 to 770k is now ~ 400k
Just sharing, so less people become waterfishes
TSicemanfx
post Jan 19 2022, 09:39 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(LoTek @ Jan 19 2022, 09:27 AM)
Your points are very valid bro, but, when it comes to my hard earned money, yes now I only take the sure 99% win approach, or as sure as I can damnably assure myself of. If that lowers the returns so be it.

Let me share my property story.. in my late 20s now. First property is my greatest regret, bought new from dev during the MRT hype in 2015 at 700k, as with most young people, stupidly attracted by cashback and future "mall". Highest rent I got was 2.8, currently it's 2. I'll be lucky to be fetch over 650k for disposal now. After that picked up two old subsale condos as university hostels average price of 700+. After renovation costs of 50+, 7-8% yield. Then covid struck. Rented to shop workers/interns at 60% the old rent and much lower capacity. This year Thank God, should be 6-7% barring a new lockdown. Last purchase, a klcc subsale studio for 500k for airbnb. Maybe I got a bad manager, but for the first year net yield never went over 2.5 which was disappointing, so rented it out to an expat, at 2.5. He got retrenched a few months back, and had to drop to the current market rate to get it tenanted immediately, which is 1.5. Current mkt value? 400k.

Would I still buy another property? Yes, but it would have to tick so many boxes. And anyway I'm much more interested in moving money (and myself) out of Malaysia at this point.
blek
post Jan 19 2022, 05:58 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 19 2022, 09:39 AM)

Damn sad story. He went out from another hole and jump into another hole. Digging the hole even deeper.
kevyeoh
post Jan 20 2022, 11:11 PM

4,721 posts

the question is during burst...will you sapu? brows.gif

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 16 2022, 12:45 AM)
What to expect during a burst? Can sapu at good bargain? Then again, what's a good bargain at the time when everyone's trying to liquidate their properties?
SUSFenix98
post Jan 20 2022, 11:16 PM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

Oil up...

Be advised.

Location location location.

Cash back, glitzy fully furnished 900psf NU NY = GG

Landed. Freehold. Prime locations.

Popety is viewed as long term horizon.

Minimum is 5 years and you'd prolly not get ROI in today's market. However mad inflation is here....

Oil UP.... UPPPP UPPPPPPPP

This post has been edited by Fenix98: Jan 20 2022, 11:17 PM
Syie9^_^
post Jan 20 2022, 11:17 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ Jan 21 2022, 12:46 AM)
Oil up...

Be advised.

Location location location.

Cash back, glitzy fully furnished 900psf NU NY = GG

Landed. Freehold. Prime locations.
Are you buying for me? rclxm9.gif
SUSFenix98
post Jan 20 2022, 11:19 PM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jan 20 2022, 11:17 PM)
Are you buying for me?  rclxm9.gif
wink.gif
Syie9^_^
post Jan 20 2022, 11:24 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Jan 19 2022, 07:28 PM)
Damn sad story. He went out from another hole and jump into another hole. Digging the hole even deeper.
Will find Gold!! keep on digging mega_shok.gif BUT why still, want to move money out Malaysia? confused.gif

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ Jan 21 2022, 12:49 AM)
wink.gif
wub.gif ohhh pweeeaaase blush.gif

Michaelbyz23
post Jan 20 2022, 11:26 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,558 posts

Take it easy, do your due diligence. There will be good bargains out there, need to hunt patiently.
SUStikaram
post Jan 20 2022, 11:32 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 21 2022, 12:26 AM)
Take it easy, do your due diligence. There will be good bargains out there, need to hunt patiently.
Ye ke?

All item in restaurant price Up

Econsave barang also price Up

Construction material Up

Shipping cost Up 40%

Rumah price down pulak

This post has been edited by tikaram: Jan 20 2022, 11:43 PM

229 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:35 AM