229 Pages « < 152 153 154 155 156 > » Bottom

Multiple Signs of Malaysia Property Bubble V20

fun_feng
post Jun 18 2020, 04:34 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Hi guys, how to calculate the latest RGPT??

House bought pre-2010
scorptim
post Jun 18 2020, 04:59 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Jun 6 2020, 08:03 PM)
which development showroom?
QUOTE(mroys@lyn @ Jun 6 2020, 08:09 PM)
can't disclose. i was told police visited the showroom later. some visitors made reports.
QUOTE(anangryorc @ Jun 6 2020, 09:30 PM)
Tipu 1 la, most probably ppl queueing up at shopping mall
Not surprised to see people queueing at those property showrooms because the trick these developers use to lure people. Usually they will say something like early bird first 100 units get this and that freebies or special price. Then people come already they will say early bird finish la, promo units finish la and try to convince people to buy at actual price. That’s why people complain when going to these things.

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 18 2020, 10:05 AM)
Sleepless nights – that would best describe the mental state of Alex, a property investor, these past few months. He had been optimistic about three years ago when he bought several properties on the advice of a “property guru”. Property prices will go up, you can enjoy bulk discounts and benefit from the rebates now, he was told. He was assured of great options for short or long-term rent to cover the mortgage, plus a lot of cash in hand. 

The good days have come to an end and the promises have turned into a nightmare. With the current economic situation, what will it mean for Alex and his family if he is unable to service his mortgages when the six-month moratorium ends in September?

He is but one of many individuals going through such a situation.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/cove...-under-pressure
Someone should really make some laws to charge these scammer property gurus.
MAGAMan-X
post Jun 18 2020, 09:35 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jun 18 2020, 02:45 PM)
My first house bought at RM68k, sold off at RM180k, second house bought at RM330k and off at RM740k.
So you called me a liar . . . . .lol.

That's not the right logic. In that case, you might want to consider gambling in Genting an investment.

QUOTE(scorptim @ Jun 18 2020, 04:19 PM)
Properties are an investment, provided you buy it at the right location for the right price. Similar to any other investments.
What you had just described is the definition of speculation. Investment is something where the value (not the price) of what you invested in increases. E.g. you buy shares in company, company performs well, it reflects on your share price. Bricks and mortar themselves not increase in price, because they do not gain value.
etan26
post Jun 18 2020, 10:02 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Jun 18 2020, 09:35 PM)
That's not the right logic. In that case, you might want to consider gambling in Genting an investment.
What you had just described is the definition of speculation. Investment is something where the value (not the price) of what you invested in increases. E.g. you buy shares in company, company performs well, it reflects on your share price. Bricks and mortar themselves not increase in price, because they do not gain value.
The land my boy is an investment.
scorptim
post Jun 18 2020, 10:49 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Jun 18 2020, 09:35 PM)
You must be dreaming if you think shares are not based on speculation. How can you guarantee 100% that the company shares you bought will perform well? It’s still based on speculation. Likewise for property you buy based on the development potential of the area. It’s the same thing, what increases is not the brick and mortar but the value of the location.
MAGAMan-X
post Jun 18 2020, 11:39 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jun 18 2020, 10:02 PM)
The land my boy is an investment.

Depends on what you build on that land lah. Besides, if this logic pans out, why do apartment prices go up 100% also.

QUOTE(scorptim @ Jun 18 2020, 10:49 PM)
You must be dreaming if you think shares are not based on speculation. How can you guarantee 100% that the company shares you bought will perform well? It’s still based on speculation. Likewise for property you buy based on the development potential of the area. It’s the same thing, what increases is not the brick and mortar but the value of the location.
You're partially right, share prices are also based on speculation in the secondary market. Ultimately, analysts will then judge whether they're over/under valued based on the fundamentals.
bearbearwong
post Jun 18 2020, 11:42 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Jun 18 2020, 04:34 PM)
Hi guys, how to calculate the latest RGPT??

House bought pre-2010
so long.. i think no matter what also 5% kena as per LGE guidelines havent changed...
Pain4UrsinZ
post Jun 19 2020, 12:33 AM

1,861 posts

now even got free first year installment after VP
etan26
post Jun 19 2020, 09:26 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Jun 18 2020, 11:39 PM)
Depends on what you build on that land lah. Besides, if this logic pans out, why do apartment prices go up 100% also.
You're partially right, share prices are also based on speculation in the secondary market. Ultimately, analysts will then judge whether they're over/under valued based on the fundamentals.
Now you are saying it . . . . .properties price do go up . . . rclxm9.gif
fun_feng
post Jun 19 2020, 09:38 AM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jun 18 2020, 11:42 PM)
so long.. i think no matter what also 5% kena as per LGE guidelines havent changed...
Apparently there is. The property gain is not based on your selling price minus buying price but based on the market value at 2013.
But how the heck to know the market value at 2013?

Does anyone knows? Or is there some new stuffs?

https://loanstreet.com.my/learning-centre/rpgt-in-malaysia

Budget 2020
As per the Budget 2020 announcement, the government had revised the RPGT imposed on the disposal of properties after a five-year period, by individual citizens and permanent residents, by setting the market value on 1 January 2013 as the property acquisition price for properties acquired before the said date, compared to the current base year of 1 January 2000.

This means property owners will have lower tax payment especially to those who bought the property before 1 January 2000.

For a clearer picture, take a look at below scenario as an example:

Jared bought a house in 1990 for RM150,000. In January 2020, he sold it for RM600,000.

Let’s assume that the market price on 1 January 2000 was RM300,000, while the market price for 1 January 2013 was RM480,000. The following is a calculation of RPGT without regard to other costs that are eligible for deduction.

Before Budget 2020:
RM600,000 - RM300,00 = RM300,000
RPGT = RM300,000 x 5% = RM15,000

After Budget 2020:
RM600,000 - RM480,000 = RM120,000
RPGT = RM120,000 x 5% = RM6,000

As you can see, Jared saved RM16,500. That’s a lot!
MAGAMan-X
post Jun 19 2020, 10:36 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jun 19 2020, 09:26 AM)
Now you are saying it . . . . .properties price do go up . . . rclxm9.gif
Price goes up, value stays the same. In other words, you're overpaying, at some point, there will be a correction. Ie still speculation.
Syie9^_^
post Jun 19 2020, 11:03 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Jun 19 2020, 12:06 PM)
Price goes up, value stays the same. In other words, you're overpaying, at some point, there will be a correction. Ie still speculation.
And the property gurus will say: your bank valuation will be higher laugh.gif do you want to buy another one? brows.gif brows.gif
MAGAMan-X
post Jun 19 2020, 11:08 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jun 19 2020, 11:03 AM)
And the property gurus will say: your bank valuation will be higher laugh.gif do you want to buy another one? brows.gif  brows.gif
Other people's money how they want to spend it is up to them, when banks loan more, I buy more bank shares only brows.gif

After all, managing my portfolio from my computer is much easier than dealing with tenants and agents and lawyers. puke.gif
Syie9^_^
post Jun 19 2020, 11:10 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Jun 19 2020, 12:38 PM)
Other people's money how they want to spend it is up to them, when banks loan more, I buy more bank shares only brows.gif

After all, managing my portfolio from my computer is much easier than dealing with tenants and agents and lawyers.  puke.gif
totally agree with you! dont forget this in 6 months time biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Syie9^_^: Jun 19 2020, 11:10 AM
TSicemanfx
post Jun 19 2020, 01:07 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 29 2019, 12:56 PM)
Owner bought via subsale at 450k last year.
Today, the same unit lelong at only 324k now. Possible no taker and drop to below 300k next?

C-18-7, Type F, Hedgeford 10
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 324,000🔥🔥
Freehold
562sqft, 1 car park slots
Corner/End lot unit
Auction: End of Nov 19
*Occupied unit (tenant staying)

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 19 2020, 12:25 AM)
No bidder at 252k. Further price drop.
Updated price as below:

C-18-3, Hedgeford 10
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 226,800🔥🔥
Freehold
556sqft, 1 car park slot
Highest floor unit
Auction: 25-Jun-2020 (Thu)
*Non bumi lot

Owner bought subsale 520k in 2018.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 19 2020, 01:08 PM
jason83
post Jun 21 2020, 01:35 PM

890 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 19 2020, 01:07 PM)
Went to see that place. Still a bit expensive at 300k+. At least now more reasonable at 200k+ but this is lelong price. 500k is just too much.
prophetjul
post Jun 21 2020, 01:45 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 19 2020, 01:07 PM)
That is going to hurt!
alexkos
post Jun 21 2020, 01:48 PM

2,275 posts

500swft studio KL rm200k got?
TSicemanfx
post Jun 25 2020, 09:08 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 29 2019, 12:56 PM)
Owner bought via subsale at 450k last year.
Today, the same unit lelong at only 324k now. Possible no taker and drop to below 300k next?

C-18-7, Type F, Hedgeford 10
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 324,000🔥🔥
Freehold
562sqft, 1 car park slots
Corner/End lot unit
Auction: End of Nov 19
*Occupied unit (tenant staying)

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 19 2020, 12:25 AM)
No bidder at 252k. Further price drop.
Updated price as below:

C-18-3, Hedgeford 10
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 226,800🔥🔥
Freehold
556sqft, 1 car park slot
Highest floor unit
*Non bumi lot

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 25 2020, 06:55 PM)
Unit sold at 236k just now.
Very good catch.  :thumbsup:
Bought 520k in June 2018 and auctioned for 236k.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 25 2020, 09:09 PM
TSicemanfx
post Jun 26 2020, 02:42 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 21 2020, 01:53 PM)
Cheap lelong unit check in.
Brand new unit.
Non bumi lot.
Drop from 620k.
Now at 200k++ below bank value.

B-13-02, Block B, Twin Residences
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 401,800🔥🔥
Freehold
1156 sqft, 2 car park slots
Auction: 09-Jun-2020 (Tue)
*Non bumi lot
*Brand new unit condition

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 19 2020, 12:41 AM)
Not sure what happened. Less than 300 units in total. But 10% units here enter lelong already. Recommended by property guru?

Anyway, got many units below 400k now.
This is the 2 available cheapest unit.
1 non bumi lot.
1 bumi lot below 300k.  shocking.gif

B-13-02, Block B, Twin Residences
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 321,500🔥🔥
Freehold
1156 sqft, 2 car park slots (side by side)
*Non bumi lot

A-23-01, Block A, Twin Residences
Reserve price 🔥🔥RM 298,890🔥🔥
Freehold
871 sqft, 2 car park slots (but tandem arrangement)
*BUMI lot

229 Pages « < 152 153 154 155 156 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:27 AM