126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

THE BROADBAND RANT SINK, Rant about anything and everything here!

HeHeHunter
post Mar 7 2007, 12:45 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 7 2007, 12:32 AM)
Reading your blog entry, it occurs to me that what we really need is some real record-keeping to prove exactly what is happening.

I think it needs a few parts:

1) An online database with web site for viewing the statistics.

2) Small client programs that periodically do speed and ping tests, and upload results to the online database.

3) Volunteers to run the client program on their machines.

Then we can get real data that proves just how lousy Streamyx service is. At the moment, they just wave their hands and suggest that a small bunch of whiners is making all the noise, and then they change the subject and talk about how 10% of the people are using 90% of the bandwidth, to create the impression that the over-users are the same bunch as the whiners.

In point of fact, I am a fairly low user compared to almost anyone here. On my last bill I had downloaded 2 gigabytes in the month. But I suffer a lot from the crap service that they provide, and so I must assume that there are thousands more like me.

Until we can show it with cold hard numbers, they will ignore us. When we can go to the newspaper and show that "the typical Streamyx user gets less than 30% of their paid-for service more than 80% of the time" (or whatever the numbers turn out to say), it will hopefully get some attention.
Actually you can get number of disconnection you get...

today, 8pm to 9pm my internet disconnected 19 times.
How I know?
I called up 1300-88-9515 and asked the Cs to check number of connections.
Yesterday 8pm to 9pm number of disconnections is 35.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/422777
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/419792
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/406441
yangxi
post Mar 7 2007, 12:50 AM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

Tuesday, March 06, 2007
SERVICE INTERRUPTION

TM Berhad wishes to inform our tmnet streamyx customers that it will be performing a service maintenance exercise on its Streamyx system from 5 March 2007 till 16 March 2007 in various areas nationwide.

The date of the exercise and its affected areas are detailed below:

NickedAsy
post Mar 7 2007, 01:55 AM

~: 6-Star Space Marshall :~
1,898 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 7 2007, 12:50 AM)
Tuesday, March 06, 2007
SERVICE INTERRUPTION
TM Berhad wishes to inform our tmnet streamyx customers that it will be performing a service maintenance exercise on its Streamyx system from 5 March 2007 till 16 March 2007 in various areas nationwide.

The date of the exercise and its affected areas are detailed below:
Must have found new ways to slow down the network.
BlitzAce
post Mar 7 2007, 01:59 AM

Fanboy? Naw.
1,061 posts

Okay.. maybe thats why I haven't been able to login at all today till this very minute. Doesn't make sense from the date, though..
titansgoz
post Mar 7 2007, 02:15 AM

Wah luckily Klang area de almost finish liao sleep.gif
pennzoil
post Mar 7 2007, 09:48 AM

492 posts

tmnut always have service maintenance exercise but i dont see any thing change after every exercise.
sommore i now in sabah but alot frens of mine seem like super slow until cant browsw and some even cant connect at all.

it says 16th for sabah maintenance? but here the problem i mention above start from last week....

PS: 60.52.x.x really slow like hell when browsing...took 5min ++ to load a simple site...

This post has been edited by pennzoil: Mar 7 2007, 09:49 AM
tanleeseng
post Mar 7 2007, 10:24 AM

69 posts

Dam...the disconnecting bug strikes again. Everything is fine around 8pm or so but when the clock strikes 1am I can't access any webpage....even TMNut webpage. When I do a ping test to TMNut I get frequent timeouts. I am too fed up to complain to them anymore about the same problem happening again and again. The last time I complained they say that I wasn't even connected.

I tested the connection this morning and I am able to access the internet again (although at less than optimum speed). This problem always happen after 1am and last till early morning. Can anyone tell me what is causing this problem ? The rain ? TMNut maintenance ? Physical cabling problem ? BT Throttling ? My guess is "Over Subscription & Usage" !!

(P.S. I am in the Taman Maluri , Cheras area)

This post has been edited by tanleeseng: Mar 7 2007, 10:26 AM
qwerty79
post Mar 7 2007, 02:36 PM

1,907 posts

Pahang at 15th, but I got problem since yesterday afternoon. Get connected at night but my frenz still got problems.
SUSMuhammad Nur Hanief
post Mar 7 2007, 05:10 PM

555 posts

I'm feeling this toot right now. Whadaboutcha?
qwerty79
post Mar 7 2007, 08:03 PM

1,907 posts

Test again to night. Get connected only after a few try. Sometime need to wait very long.
warez
post Mar 7 2007, 09:46 PM

Team Ayu 「浜崎あゆみ」
1,868 posts

shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
barry80
post Mar 7 2007, 10:41 PM

490 posts

crap! no wonder yesterday & today can't do streaming radio(Hinet) & bnet is freakin lag... icon_question.gif
vincent09
post Mar 7 2007, 10:45 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

damn lag lag lag lag line now ,
About my send report mail to tmnet, they dont know do what on my line nothing happen at all......
pmg
post Mar 7 2007, 11:41 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(NickedAsy @ Mar 7 2007, 01:55 AM)
Must have found new ways to slow down the network.
yes. that's normally the case with these "maintenance" thingies.

then again, what else are they going to clamp down on ? bt, emule, youtube, rapidshare, ftp & irc have all been murdered, raped and mutilated thanks to their unfair bandwidth shaping.

maybe they want to limit email this time ... or normal surfing maybe ?

gila ...............

streamyx : pay 1MB get 5kB

lohmk
post Mar 8 2007, 10:39 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(pmg @ Mar 7 2007, 11:41 PM)
streamyx : pay 1MB get 5kB
so true

i think they screw up the connection to US again.
my speedtest embarassingly showed 3xxk/1.5M
IDIOTS...
socratesman
post Mar 8 2007, 01:14 PM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 6 2007, 10:19 PM)
The fact that every day it requires a different IP range to get decent service is also very frustrating.
This is my NUMBER ONE frustration with streamyx. My DSLAM can only give me 219.95.* which you all know is the lamest of them all.

Added on March 8, 2007, 1:16 pmAnd, www.testmy.net says it best

"Ouch, are you on dial-up or something?"

CODE
:::.. Download Stats ..:::
Download Connection is:: 54 Kbps about 0.1 Mbps (tested with 97 kB)
Download Speed is:: 7 kB/s
Tested From:: http://testmy.net/ (Server 1)
Test Time:: 2007/03/07 - 10:12pm
Bottom Line:: 1X faster than 56K 1MB Download in 146.29 sec
Tested from a 97 kB file and took 14.711 seconds to complete
Download Diagnosis:: May need help : running at only 13.3 % of your hosts average (net.my)
D-Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/stats/id-AK63UO794
User Agent:: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727) [!]

This post has been edited by socratesman: Mar 8 2007, 01:16 PM
SUSMuhammad Nur Hanief
post Mar 8 2007, 05:30 PM

555 posts

I'm waiting for 1AM today.

This post has been edited by Muhammad Nur Hanief: Mar 8 2007, 05:30 PM
Evangelistica
post Mar 8 2007, 09:09 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Nur Hanief @ Mar 8 2007, 05:30 PM)
I'm waiting for 1AM today.
your signature is the best, bro..
v i n c
post Mar 8 2007, 09:11 PM

496 posts

wtf is wrong with streamyx now? lag like hell for international site

And my report done last thursday, until today also havent call me
ad2000
post Mar 8 2007, 10:52 PM

405 posts

If u guys got frequent disconnect, maybe u wpuld like to give this a try..

Some ISP's disconnect dial-up or even DSL users after short inactivity. Re-connecting is irritating. If you have this problem, you can easily solve it by downloading StayLive 2000 from

http://www.gregorybraun.com/StayLive.html

It's a very small proggy that sends a short signal at intervals you specify.

126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:12 PM